The Frederick St protest and reaction

I asked how they identified a balaclava wearing guard, seeing as how they were masked, and another poster said via the numbers.

There's a Garda wearing his mask too high up on his head. Someone used some facial recognition software and it brought up a picture of the Garda from a news story/article he was involved in before, where he was named.

Apparently that's how it was done. Only one has been ID'ed as far as I know and it's that one that had too much of his face visible, and a pre-existing photo online of his unmasked face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

There's a Garda wearing his mask too high up on his head. Someone used some facial recognition software and it brought up a picture of the Garda from a news story/article he was involved in before, where he was named.

Apparently that's how it was done. Only one has been ID'ed as far as I know and it's that one that had too much of his face visible, and a pre-existing photo online of his unmasked face.

Seems a bit OTT, just because he or she attended the scene where the enforcement was being carried out, but the world is full of idiots as my dad would say.

Personally, I actually have great admiration for the Gardai, I think they do a fairly good job, and the morons plastering them over social media is a worrying trend that admittedly needs to be tackled.

None the less, I think the masked men resembling paramilitaries in this incident was a PR disaster for them (IMO), remember the policing authority has said they will be taking it up with the commissioner, so it's not over yet either.

Inevitably, it will (most probably) eventually be leaked who exactly the masked lads were, and if/when that happens, it could result in the poo hitting the big mechanical spinning thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I'm calling bull**** on that claim of facial recognition software.

More like a bunch of ****heads having regular deading with Gardai put 1+1 and got 12

Gatling wrote: »

More like a bunch of ****heads having regular deading with Gardai put 1+1 and got 12

My thoughts too.

Something needs to be done to stop this happening, if they can introduce laws on trolling and revenge porn etc, I don't see why something similar cannot be done to prevent shyte like this happening on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

this is f*cking disgraceful. when you see people doing this nonsense, then the gardai and anybody else carrying out law enforcement, are 100% entitled to protect their identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Really plssed off with the constant use of the word 'evicted' here. It's as if this is being likened to people being put out of their homes. These are gob****es illegally entering someone's property and being removed on foot of a court order for breaking the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

That's not public information though. You can't just google a badge number.
    The numbers are there if you want to complain about a Garda. But the crusties can keep an eye out for certain numbers (that would be displayed on the Gardai shoulders) to match them up with the protest. Then they can use facial recognition software to get help the get the name of the Gardai.
    see attached.

2Lftx.jpgOne of the protestors was handing these out on Frederick Street a couple of weeks back.
    So the crusties want Soviet Style CPO to transfer privately owned properties to the state. Not much of a surprise.

=-=

I think the Brazilians that were evicted from the other property were illegals, and this is why there have been no cases brought against the landlord via the RTB. I have heard of such lettings in Dublin where multiples of illegals from one country rent a place together as they get paid below minimum wage by unscrupulous employers who employ the illegals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,363 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Really plssed off with the constant use of the word 'evicted' here. It's as if this is being likened to people being put out of their homes. These are gob****es illegally entering someone's property and being removed on foot of a court order for breaking the law

Using the proper word 'removed from their illegal occupation ' doesn't quite fit in with the leftie agenda though, does it?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Using the proper word 'removed from their illegal occupation ' doesn't quite fit in with the leftie agenda though, does it?

The Gardai hardly have a leftie agenda do they :confused:
    Earlier, gardai insisted that the removal of protesters from the building by men wearing balaclavas was "a peaceful eviction".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

She.

It's relevant in that your analogy to some old dear who's just a bit fond of her property is redundant here.

The same place all compulsory purchase of land comes from, the Central Fund.

How on earth could the activists have housed 20 students? I assume they are not slum landlords.

Anyway, there were over 100 people evicted in total from the five neighbouring properties owned by the O'Donnells. but who cares, right? Something, something entitlement.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/homes-and-property/o-donnells-of-gorse-hill-behind-1-85m-killiney-house-purchase-1.3385749

Are these the O'Donnells, beloved of the freemen and the left, who fought lengthy battles against the banks? I thought they were to be admired and defended?

Or is it some other O'Donnell?

Gatling wrote: »

Well I'm only telling you what I seen on Facebook.

This is what i seen on Facebook. I've edited it, so hopefully it's okay to post, as I don't feel it's at all ID'ing the Garda.

Picture Link:

https://s15.postimg.cc/6qdb6pkgr/gardafaceedit.jpg

As an aside, I'd like to see the Gardai find out who is using the FB page that 'outed' this Garda. Surely there's a crime committed here?

The 'peaceful protestors' are all giving out that the Gardai and Security lads didn't identify themselves, and are full of 'we've no issue with them doing their job, we just think it'd be safer for everyone if they showed their faces', but the minute they actually do figure out the ID of a Garda, the witch hunt immediately begins.

Utter scum bags through and through. They deserve a good hiding in my opinion. But unfortunately, instead will likely get a free house in a high-demand area instead.

I see footage of John Connors on the Late Late show aswell calling the Gardai scum. This is the same chap that was lolling it up at Lidl getting torn apart by the JCB in the snow incident that time. Wish they'd stop giving that moron air time.

This is what i seen on Facebook. I've edited it, so hopefully it's okay to post, as I don't feel it's at all ID'ing the Garda.

Picture Link:

Why did you blur out the name of the poster?

To keep it from being pulled by a mod/s, to not ID anyone online etc. playing it safe. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

No matter what side of this you are on.

There is something seriously wrong going on within our garda force. A young man left in a vegetative state after being run over by a motorcycle with witnesses and they say they can't do anything. A landlord wants people evicted from his property and they are out in full force.

It's just so fecking messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

There is something seriously wrong going on within our garda force. A young man left in a vegetative state after being run over by a motorcycle with witnesses and they say they can't do anything. A landlord wants people evicted from his property and they are out in full force.

Not sure if you're trying to be misleading but the Irish Times reports that investigations are ongoing for the horrible scrambler incident.

How many Gardai should show up for the protestors? Two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,363 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I know in the UK police have called on people who made inflammatory comments online, and people have been charged with offences.

Not sure if could or would do this in Ireland?

If answer is yes, then it's about time that naming and giving addresses of guards online is made a criminal offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

RobbieMD wrote: »
    Not sure if you're trying to be misleading but the Irish Times reports that investigations are ongoing for the horrible scrambler incident.

How many Gardai should show up for the protestors? Two?

The Garda should be there to protect everyone including the protestors. Not to hide their faces and help a private security company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

The Garda should be there to protect everyone including the protestors. Not to hide their faces and help a private security company.
    And that is exactly what they did. Wearing the balaclavas appears to have been necessary.

Ahhh.. you had a good point, but then rubbished it all for the 'private security' angle. :(

Besides, trespass is a criminal issue, the Gardai shouldn't have needed the private security, it should have been the Gardai themselves that were firing people out the door.

I reckon the only reason the masked security were there in the first place, was to avoid the visual of a Garda throwing a protestor out the 1st floor window like an episode of the A-Team (which is how I personally would have liked it to have happened, as I feel the Gardai repeatedly show themselves up as being weak and afraid, instead of having a proper, intimidating presence at these scenes).

I'd presume the 'private security' were just Gardai in a mask.

What law was broken by the scrambler?

The Gardai should not be subject to their families and children being harrassed and intimidated by the protestors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The government have just pushed this too far, what did they expect I’m surprised it took this long. I hope it blows up on a scale a multiple water protest, this scandal is infinitely bigger! Fair play to those occupying the properties, it’s a hell of a lot more than most are doing about this housing catastrophe, I suppose they should just wait for another few years though ? And according to the Irish government, things will be ok. L! O! L!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

davo10 wrote: »
    What has his profession got to do with anything? He is a citizen of the state not breaking any law? Is there any evidence he is a slum landlord?

The house in Summerhill is empty, the protesters called for compulsory purchase by the state, so the protesters want us the taxpayers to buy properties costing hundreds of thousands just because they are empty? Where is that money going to come from? I'd prefer it to be spent on the health and education system, not making property owners in Dublin wealthy.

What happened to the 20 Brazilians staying in Summerhill, did the protesters house them? They have probably moved on to another over occupied house where rent is cheap relative to other properties. Also, if you go over to the accommodation forum, you will find cases where LLs have rented their properties only to find out later that there are twice as many people staying there than they were aware of, are they slum landlords?
    What do you mean where will it come from ? Where will the few billion in extra funding on budget 2019 come from? Stop hiking welfare for a start, would pay for a lot of things...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

Personally I don't think the Gardai should be there at all. But you didn't answer my question. How many Gardai should show up to a protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

There is something seriously wrong going on within our garda force. A young man left in a vegetative state after being run over by a motorcycle with witnesses and they say they can't do anything.
    He was found, arrested, and then let go, with a file sent to the DPP. Most likely the scum was underage, so they couldn't hold him.
    blanch152 wrote: »
    What law was broken by the scrambler?
    Hit & run.
    Idbatterim wrote: »
    Fair play to those occupying the properties, it’s a hell of a lot more than most are doing about this housing catastrophe
    For protesting in houses that have planning permission to be turned into apartments, instead of in a NAMA property?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

The government have just pushed this too far, what did they expect I’m surprised it took this long. I hope it blows up on a scale a multiple water protest, this scandal is infinitely bigger! Fair play to those occupying the properties, it’s a hell of a lot more than most are doing about this housing catastrophe, I suppose they should just wait for another few years though ? And according to the Irish government, things will be ok. L! O! L!

Scandal???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Picture Link:

As an aside, I'd like to see the Gardai find out who is using the FB page that 'outed' this Garda. Surely there's a crime committed here?

The 'peaceful protestors' are all giving out that the Gardai and Security lads didn't identify themselves, and are full of 'we've no issue with them doing their job, we just think it'd be safer for everyone if they showed their faces', but the minute they actually do figure out the ID of a Garda, the witch hunt immediately begins.

Utter scum bags through and through. They deserve a good hiding in my opinion. But unfortunately, instead will likely get a free house in a high-demand area instead.

I see footage of John Connors on the Late Late show aswell calling the Gardai scum. This is the same chap that was lolling it up at Lidl getting torn apart by the JCB in the snow incident that time. Wish they'd stop giving that moron air time.

A comment from under that picture.

Big dirty pigs should stop all the fighting and feuds and go to war with the Garda start murdering the bastards I'm not afraid there uniforms I'll do life for 1 them scum

Didn't even conceal his identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

Facial recongnition software to identify gardai. Hitting qanon levels of hysteria here folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

But, but, but the gardai were wearing balaclavas, not their hats?!?!

I wonder if someone was having a shyte on the street would the Garda have had to use his bally to catch it, since he didn’t have his hat??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

You want anarchy yeah?

No law and order and every scrote can do as he pleases?