Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Frederick St protest and reaction

arrested, yes. the shít kicked out of you, not tough titties as it's asalt.

Who had the sh*t kicked out of them? I’m sure that if any of the protesters had, that the videos would have been up on social media within minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,224 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Who had the sh*t kicked out of them? I’m sure that if any of the protesters had, that the videos would have been up on social media within minutes.

Ironically, one of the protesters, who had just spent their time wasting Garda time and money, turned up at A&E with a minor cut to their hand, which could have been treated at home (let alone by a pharmacy or GP) and complained on social media about the waiting times in A&E.

Apart from the biggest problem in A&E being the idiots who turn up with minor injuries treatable at home, the second biggest problem is the lack of money because there are other pressures on public services such as policing idiotic protests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Today alone in the news I seen 3 proposed housing developments rejected by Dublin city council.

In the midst of a housing crisis.

But it’s Eoghan Murphys fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

Miriam on about it now with that nut Ruth Coppinger.

Has Miriam had work done on her mug? She looks weird

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

I get emails from uplift.ie because i have supported a couple of their campaigns. They've just sent me one on the topic at hand. it starts off with

The [1] footnote leads to two articles in the irish times. Neither article mentions the gardai allowing the men in balaclavas to assault peaceful protestors. It is the last time uplift.ie get any support from me.

Aye. But theyll still have plenty of idiots left to support them. It's like Saurons army only with idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Today alone in the news I seen 3 proposed housing developments rejected by Dublin city council.

over 1000 objections went in last year stopping the development of around 1100 homes in south Dublin. this is happening all over the City. the social/modular houses in North Dublin were objected to. Already was reference to 500 houses stopped in Raheny.

Thats 3 recent examples where the development of ~1600 houses was stopped by the public. Alot of people are whinging, yet when it comes to solutions, nobody wants to do anything about it and actually stop progress.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,312 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Typical soft interview, no hard questions asked of Coppinger.

She was on The Tonight Show last night and got her ass handed to her by Niall Boylan, he might be hard to listen to sometimes but he he's spot on on this topic.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

Coppinger as usual avoiding any questions that don't suit her, or her self promoting agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Its ok though. Today I think I saw a site being cleared in Kilcock.

Shur Kilcock is ideal if your working in the city. :mad::mad::mad:

Iodine1 wrote: »
    Coppinger as usual avoiding any questions that don't suit her, or her self promoting agenda.

Oh how I wish people in dun laoire don’t vote her back in and she vanishes.

Offers absolutely nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Iodine1 wrote: »

I wish she was in that constituency and not have her calling at my door in Dublin West

AGC wrote: »
    I wish she was in that constituency and not have her calling at my door in Dublin West

My bad

• Registered Users Posts: 8,523 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Coppinger is based in Blanchardstown. Dub Laoghaire has the privilege of Richard Boyd Barrett and his own merry band of morons.

To be fair though, I don’t want Coppinger booted out of the Dail. If she does then she returns to teaching, and I wouldn’t inflict that level of luncacy on any child

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

While i do agree something has to be done about the housing crisis, i dont think they should be taking over peoples properties, if you had a holiday home in wexford that was vacant for a few months of the year would you be happy if people broke in and occupied it. They're trying to make out that landlords are evil and heartless, like in the old days with evictions from the british landlords etc, which is all crap. i think that buildings need to be built higher nearer the city, its ridiculous that they cant build nice big apartment blocks that they have in other cities. They need to a major overhaul of the social welfare system, its seem that people think theyre entitled to a house or an apartment just because they have a baby. They also need to start deporting layabouts, criminals and anyone else who comes into this country and is a burden on the taxpayer.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

What if you go out to get milk and come home to find a million crusties have moved in. Then while taking your wife to hospital to give birth there's more of them blocking the road and she has to give birth in the car but now you are afraid to leave the car because crusties will move into it and you have to live in the car but the placenta is starting to rot and you can only eat food at drive throughs. What then !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

20Cent wrote: »
    What if you go out to get milk and come home to find a million crusties have moved in. Then while taking your wife to hospital to give birth there's more of them blocking the road and she has to give birth in the car but now you are afraid to leave the car because crusties will move into it and you have to live in the car but the placenta is starting to rot and you can only eat food at drive throughs. What then !!!!!!!!

They can go down and occupy themagdalen Laundry in Sean Mcdermott St now the council won't sell. No hotel. No social housing. Let the people of inner city wallow in memories of misery and neglect instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wonder if they will occupy land in a certain park in raheny that was to have 500 homes built on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Gatling wrote: »
    Wonder if they will occupy land in a certain park in raheny that was to have 500 homes built on it

They should occupy the houses of fake Socialists like Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, who went on Twitter today to boast about it.

https://twitter.com/AodhanORiordain/status/1040180568334495745

Someone please just tell me when this right 2 housing is been brought in so I can stop paying my mortgage, cheers lads.

No sign of Brendan Ogle in any of this. I'd have thought he'd be front and center here along with Glen Hansard :D

Next up bord gais.

How dare they make a profit off people been cold in the winter.

They should give us gas for free.

Next up, dunnes stores.

Food is a basic human right, how dare they make profit off hungry people.

Let’s occupy dunnes stores.

Awh I dunno anymore, country has lost its mind or maybe just me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Leo says he'll build 150,000 houses today. Sorted, well done protesters.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

20Cent wrote: »
    Leo says he'll build 150,000 houses today. Sorted, well done protesters.
    Only 150000. That shows a complete lack of ambition. Kathleen Cash wants 15 for herself to start with

rosser44 wrote: »
    The gardai were not concerned with the trust fund crusties inside the house
    Yah, just the trust fund that owns it, right?

You guys seem so obsessed with the private schools that a small number of activists attended, whilst defending the elephant in the room ... the huge value of the residential property, a stone's throw from the city's main thoroughfare, which lies idle.

Ye seem full of sympathy for millionaire speculators, but spare no ire for anyone whose parents sent them to a fee-paying school.

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

Yah, just the trust fund that owns it, right?

You guys seem so obsessed with the private schools that a small number of activists attended, whilst defending the elephant in the room ... the huge value of the residential property, a stone's throw from the city's main thoroughfare, which lies idle.

Ye seem full of sympathy for millionaire speculators, but spare no ire for anyone whose parents sent them to a fee-paying school.

Wow, that's a **** load of words to put in my mouth. Maybe you should just write all my posts for me from now on, seeing as you know my innermost thoughts and opinions even better than I do. Gold (or is it red?) star for you!!!

Oh, and that "small number of activists" who will never know what poverty is due to their extremely privileged upbringing, funny how they always end up running the show isn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,030 ✭✭✭✭Esel

The private agents should wear this type of balaclava, so members of the public won't confuse them with Gardaí.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Balaclava_3_hole_black.jpg

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Next up bord gais.

How dare they make a profit off people been cold in the winter.

They should give us gas for free.

Next up, dunnes stores.

Food is a basic human right, how dare they make profit off hungry people.

Let’s occupy dunnes stores.

Awh I dunno anymore, country has lost its mind or maybe just me.

If food was in short supply and became hugely expensive, and companies like Dunnes decided to hoard it instead of selling it - thus pushing the prices up even further - would people be justified in protesting against them?

rosser44 wrote: »
    Wow, that's a **** load of words to put in my mouth.
    it isn't all about you, rosser. I was quoting your post and then making a broader point about the fixation, on this thread, with the backgrounds of the activists.

the backgrounds of certain activists has come up on this thread a number of times, and the irony seems lost on most people, given that they're defending the rights of a property-speculator who seems to be a millionaire.

dont see anyone defending millionaires, presumed or otherwise

wouldnt confuse despising rabblerousers who want everything provided from a system they only clog up with defending millionaires though

that would seem to me to be different things

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

it isn't all about you, rosser. I was quoting your post and then making a broader point about the fixation, on this thread, with the backgrounds of the activists.

the backgrounds of certain activists has come up on this thread a number of times, and the irony seems lost on most people, given that they're defending the rights of a property-speculator who seems to be a millionaire.
    Ye seem full of sympathy for millionaire speculators

I haven't shown support for any millionaires, I just detest people who abuse the property of others. Be they rich or poor. Is that such a hard concept to grasp?

Do you own your own home? Do you have to work every day to pay a mortgage?