Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Serena's meltdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I've tried google translate but it's still unclear what you're trying to say.

I think you're saying I have an issue with her warning for coaching. You'd be right. I think it's ridiculous. And it happens at every match. A simple hand gesture. That she claims she didn't even see as coaching. But i've said all this over and over again.

I was referring to the weakness of your arguments ("he never coached!") and your lack of awareness of tennis rules ("ok, so he did coach - but it's allowed!) is hardly the stance with which one can criticise the input of other posters.
    The rules need to change and be clarified. Or a camera needs to be put on coaches and any hand movements or gestures result in a warning for their player.

Wouldn't disagree with you here.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Still to the roll eyes smileys

Mod: Ok, enough. Don't post here again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

I was referring to the weakness of your arguments ("he never coached!") and your lack of awareness of tennis rules ("ok, so he did coach - but it's allowed!) is hardly the stance with which one can criticise the input of other posters.

I never said either of those "quotes", I said she didn't receive coaching, because she didn't. According to her, she didn't see it. The rules imply that even an attempt at coaching by a coach can be punished, which is absolute horse sh!t as many of the pros and ex pros have also pointed issue with.

You'd swear she had a 10 minute meeting with her coach the way some of ye are blabbering on about it. The fact she was punished for her coach making a very vague gesture with his hands is absolutely ridiculous.

I believe her, and I think she was 100% correct to defend her name. Could she have done it in a better manner? Sure. The rules need changing, at least you agree on that, so common sense isn't completely lost on you.

Nixonbot wrote: »

Oh i'm done :D

Second last time I post in the cesspool that is AH!

What a bunch of inbreds! :pac:

If you insist then...

RIGOLO wrote: »
    And after posting over 70 times here, you have certainly displayed your true personality and all of the above traits...
    cue 70 more posts...

Make sure the kids aren't watching the sports news there boss :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Nixonbot wrote: »

A pity he's going, funny guy.

The only sexism in the sport is that one gender does only 60% of the work the other does, but gets paid the same.

To the people saying a ban would be an overreaction to her threatening the umpire with never being on the court with her again, I'd love to hear the justification for the biggest person in the sport bullying umpires to the point where they'd be afraid to penalise her in a game, lest they lose their chance to do the biggest events, the finals she's playing in.

It is mindboggling that anyone thinks that's acceptable, in rage mode or not. The fact it entered her mind at all is worrying, nevermind the fact she said it.

We're going to see her getting away with more stuff now as every umpire will know millions of mongs around the world will support her no matter what. It will be an orchestrated campaign against a black woman if she gets called out on her rule-breaking and racket-smashing.

And if you're going to reply to this saying it's an overreaction, explain how and why, with some logic. I reckon in any sport, if a player threatens the very bodies that are the sport, and puts doubt on their credibility, they should be gone.

A friend of mine on twitter is fully supporting Serena on this. Usually I can bite my tongue on contentious gender issues but I really don't think this is contentious at all. I'm really disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Niles Crane

thebaz wrote: »
    WTA association is backing Serena for calling out Sexism - what about Osaka's rights ?? she is a woman also - perhaps umpire did favour Osaka , but how it is deemed Sexism is beyond me , in that umpire would only be favouring another woman - is it that that some women are more equal than others ?? The crazy state of Political correctness gone mad , and people wonder how someone like Trump comes to Power , perhaps people are just fed up with uber Political correctness madness.

Obnoxious behaviour seems to be an admired quality these days and we see that from the ridiculous support Williams has received in America (mainly) and the fact that Trump won the election while being a complete asshole, the popularity of Conor McGregor etc etc.

It's quite sad that being an asshole seems to be the way to be popular these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭DrWu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭AllForIt

DrWu wrote: »

Anyone who follows tennis doesn't need to read that article to know this to be true. Venus was the first I noticed at that. Loosing graciously is not something that comes naturally to them. The only other sports person I know off who does that regularly is Ronnie O Sullivan in Snooker.

I was heartened last night to hear a live interview on radio with Annabel Croft, a former UK player and now commentator say she did not agree with the sexism argument. She actually sounded totally distraught and incredulous about the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

I reckon in any sport, if a player threatens the very bodies that are the sport, and puts doubt on their credibility, they should be gone.

You ever watched a football match?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Just realised her initials are SJW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Just realised her initials are SJW.
    I just realised that a few minutes ago so came to post it, but you beat me to it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Patww79 wrote: »
    She had a baby? She's not mentioned it.

Should be repeated. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

In my opinion the worst she said was the fact he'll never umpire her again. And she sounded confident about that so she runs tennis now? Forget the fine make him the umpire for her next 10 matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭Greyfox

To the people saying a ban would be an overreaction to her threatening the umpire with never being on the court with her again, I'd love to hear the justification for the biggest person in the sport bullying umpires to the point where they'd be afraid to penalise her in a game.. if a player threatens the very bodies that are the sport, and puts doubt on their credibility, they should be gone.

She doesn't have the power to stop the umpire been on court with her again and if she does that's a problem with the tennis association. A fine is punishment enough. Eejits defending her actions on Twitter.. well that's social media. Things like this, Zidane head butting a player or a manager slating a referees decision are very bad but not on the same level as lance been a drug cheat or McGregor attacking a bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

This is societys fault really, in the western 'liberal' world we've basically been conditioned to believe that if you're a white man then your an oppressor and if you're in any other group then you're the victim.

So why wouldn't Serena play the sexism card, you can't lose when you're a woman and you play the ole sexism card. Just look at all the tools coming out to support her.

Of course the real victims here are the umpire and especially Naomi Osaka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

This is societys fault really, in the western 'liberal' world we've basically been conditioned to believe that if you're a white man then your an oppressor and if you're in any other group then you're the victim.

So why wouldn't Serena play the sexism card, you can't lose when you're a woman and you play the ole sexism card. Just look at all the tools coming out to support her.
    What complete horses1t. "This is society's fault".

She gets into a temper tantrum because things aren't going her way, throws out a few ridiculous remarks (as people tend to do when they're seeing red) and suddenly it's "society's fault". Fcuking spare me.
    Of course the real victims here are the umpire and especially Naomi Osaka.
    Even after the fact, Williams taking the mic and saying things like, "Stop booing, we can get through this". What an egotistical asshole.

She should make a very public apology to the umpire and Osaka for her behaviour.

To the people saying a ban would be an overreaction to her threatening the umpire with never being on the court with her again, I'd love to hear the justification for the biggest person in the sport bullying umpires to the point where they'd be afraid to penalise her in a game, lest they lose their chance to do the biggest events, the finals she's playing in.
    An umpire is appointed and paid to be impervious to players' outbursts. If they cannot handle that kind of pressure, they have no business sitting in a high chair.

I haven't read the entire thread, but it's pretty clear that nobody has their hands permanently super-glued to their cheeks over John McEnroe's or Novak Djokovic's (or countless other male players') unsportsmanlike behaviour on the court.

Yes, Serena Williams went way over the top, but can people not stand back and ask whether male players have attracted similar pages of debate for doing so? And why might that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,405 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I dont get the amount of support for Serena on this (listening to Newstalk) seems like she can do no wrong. How is it sexism when your opponent is also female??

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

seamus wrote: »
    What complete horses1t. "This is society's fault".

She gets into a temper tantrum because things aren't going her way, throws out a few ridiculous remarks (as people tend to do when they're seeing red) and suddenly it's "society's fault". Fcuking spare me.

Even after the fact, Williams taking the mic and saying things like, "Stop booing, we can get through this". What an egotistical asshole.

She should make a very public apology to the umpire and Osaka for her behaviour.

That's how I see it, if you disagee then fair enough but relax a bit, not good to be that wound up by a post on Boards :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Lisa Tierney-Keogh (it begins with the ridiculous double-barrel name) has written an article for the Irish Times on the matter and unsurprisingly, given her history with articles, she has gone off on some personal agenda, making ridiculous points about Serena standing up to sexism by pointing her finger at the man of an umpire etc. She links the whole thing to the MeToo movement and rapists together with sexual harassment then, predictably for such a self-absorbed weapon, she spends the last third of the article talking about herself and her returning from emigration (clearly she had to leave due to a lack of employable skillset). She appears to have zero context to the whole incident with Serena andto tennis in general! Genuinely, to attempt to reason with someone like her would be the equivalent to hammering one's head into a brick wall.

An umpire is appointed and paid to be impervious to players' outbursts. If they cannot handle that kind of pressure, they have no business sitting in a high chair.

I haven't read the entire thread, but it's pretty clear that nobody has their hands permanently super-glued to their cheeks over John McEnroe's or Novak Djokovic's (or countless other male players') unsportsmanlike behaviour on the court.

Yes, Serena Williams went way over the top, but can people not stand back and ask whether male players have attracted similar pages of debate for doing so? And why might that be?

Because she is refusing to take responsibility and cried sexism. Have any males players done that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

The umpire handled her outburst perfectly. ........that was what her problem was. She is used to getting away with her bullying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I dont get the amount of support for Serena on this (listening to Newstalk) seems like she can do no wrong. How is it sexism when your opponent is also female??

This thing is like a religion.

It's not supposed to make sense to non believers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Because the other players who went over the top didn't rant and rail that they were being discriminated against?

Sorry, it was unclear whether your question was rhetorical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Because they didn’t blame sexism when chastised.

What’s more sickening is the way the feral crowd reacted at the award winning ceremony.