If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

Dannyriver wrote: »
    ............You think these are in the top 1% do you?

Well in 2013 the top 1% earned over €140k so the bunch or workers I reeled off would indeed fall into that category in many cases.

I'm using specifics unlike vague spoofy statments like "run of the mill worker" though so you no doubt are a tad challenged ......it's ok, we understand and aren't all all surprised :)

You reckon loads of folk in the IFSC on PAYE aren't in the top 1% of earners?
    Folk running companies (directors are PAYE) employing 10+ builder type folk aren't?
    Production managers in Pfizer etc etc
    HTH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Augeo wrote: »
    Well in 2013 the top 1% earned over €140k so the bunch or workers I reeled off would indeed fall into that category in many cases.

I'm using specifics unlike vague spoofy statments like "run of the mill worker" though so you no doubt are a tad challenged ......it's ok, we understand and aren't all all surprised :)

You reckon loads of folk in the IFSC on PAYE aren't in the top 1% of earners?
    Folk running companies (directors are PAYE) employing 10+ builder type folk aren't?
    Production managers in Pfizer etc etc
    HTH

Cheers for that here are other stories from 2013 if you are interested

1]Alberta floods – 23.87%
    2) Lac-Megantic disaster – 10.59%
    3) Death of Nelson Mandela – 10.08%
    4) Rob Ford's crack admission – 9.39%
    5) Boston Marathon Bombing – 7.97%
    7) Senate expenses – 6.59%
    8) Birth of Prince George – 5.28%
    9) Typhoon Haiyan hits the Philippines – 4.55%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Snowseer

sightband wrote: »
    Sorry but the likelihood is that not a single one of them will amount to sh*t in their lifetime.
    tomofson wrote: »
    I would agree with you if they weren't from a certain minority, we all know the sort of morals travellers have and what they think is right and wrong.

They will most likely raise their children to spot the vulnerable and pounce, this is the way these people are and we all know it, they are predators.

I do hope the children break the cycle but it is highly unlikely they will.

Well, you both could very well be right. If this is how these children are raised, then this is how they will behave. So - is it their fault? Are they just doing what they were taught? Should they be vilified for something completely outside of their control?

It's all - "Won't somebody think of the children?", until it's all "Who the fcuk do they think they are?" But, who cares, as long as we can judge from our high horses, right?
    And rightly so, why should you care about someone elses upbringing you have your own problems.

Someone else's bad upbringing is not your fault and you should not have to suffer because of it.

I wouldn't dare ask you to give a ****, I had a difficult upbringing but I would never target a vulnerable person like this because my parents thought me targeting the vulnerable and elderly is wrong. As I said my family would disown me if I was to do such a thing.

What if they hadn't taught you that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Snowseer wrote: »
    Well, you both could very well be right. If this is how these children are raised, then this is how they will behave. So - is it their fault? Are they just doing what they were taught? Should they be vilified for something completely outside of their control?

It's all - "Won't somebody think of the children?", until it's all "Who the fcuk do they think they are?" But, who cares, as long as we can judge from our high horses, right?

Do you really think people need to be told picking on the vulnerable is wrong ???

What sort of monsters are they ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

As much as I detest them supporting the likes of Cash, SF/AAA/PBP etc are not to blame for this. 90+ years of FF/FG/Labour are.

Those in here saying they are voting Fine Gael are like the old grannies throughout Ireland who stick with Eircom even though they’ve sold them USA calls or broadband packages when they don’t own nor know how to use a computers.

Margaret Cash is unfortunately entitled to all these payment thanks to Fine Gael and they aren’t going to change that. Fianna Fáil will try buy her types votes by increasing child benefit and perks.

FG = We’re all screwed
    FF = we’re still screwed
    SF = still screwed
    LP = screwed
    Independents are on so many sides of this we haven’t got a hope or a voice.

It’ll be up to us through protesting to have some sort of voice. The majority of people not on boards.ie from the farms, little bungalows to big houses in the country side or those making a killing on rents in the major towns and cities don’t care about the likes of Cash and her ilk breeding children like rabbits for financial gain.

We have no alternative or no voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Where's she gonna be allocated a house this weekend?

Snowseer wrote: »

I can see you re fighting the good fight Snowseer but I feel with respect you are being dragged into an argument that validates the stereotype of all travelers go around robbing old people when clearly thy don t , just like all Irish didn t carry bombs around with them in the 80s like some in the UK might have painetd us.

The proportion of law breaking Travellers is WAY higher than the proportion of Irish bombers.

Fair play for missing the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

In politics the lads fighting "for the cause" were Sinn Fein.
    The travellers are Me Fein.

Fair play for missing the point

Ah you'd love it if that were the case but sadly no.

I get the point - my reaction was that it's not a fair comparison.

We were tarred with the same brush as the 'ra due to prejudice.

Travellers being robbing scumbags is not prejudice, it's knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Travellers make up less than 1% of the Irish population, yet 90% of people you ask will have had at least one negative experience with them.

How could it realistically just be a small amount of travellers who are bad when you take into consideration those statistics?

Travellers make up less than 1% of the Irish population, yet 90% of people you ask will have had at least one negative experience with them.

How could it realistically just be a small amount of travellers who are bad when you take into consideration those statistics?

Plus the prison statistics are a dead giveaway.

Ah you'd love it if that were the case but sadly no.

I get the point - my reaction was that it's not a fair comparison.

We were tarred with the same brush as the 'ra due to prejudice.

Travellers being robbing scumbags is not prejudice, it's knowledge.

Of course it s a fair comparison sterotyping is stereotyping no matter what way you want to intelectualise it ...How do you feel about Muslims by the way?

• Site Banned Posts: 210 ✭✭Sardine

Of course it s a fair comparison sterotyping is stereotyping no matter what way you want to intelectualise it ...How do you feel about Muslims by the way?

When I lived in London half my team at work were Muslims. Hard working tax paying lovely guys. Never met any travellers with real jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Snowseer

Do you really think people need to be told picking on the vulnerable is wrong ???

What sort of monsters are they ?

I'm not sure why you ventured into the world of monsters, but, yes. People are not born with a sense of empathy, or a sense of right and wrong. They learn this as they develop. They are taught. Do you disagree?

Thanks Dannyriver. For me, this has nothing to do with travellers. It just annoyed me when I saw people insulting some children for absolutely no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

As much as I detest them supporting the likes of Cash, SF/AAA/PBP etc are not to blame for this. 90+ years of FF/FG/Labour are.

Those in here saying they are voting Fine Gael are like the old grannies throughout Ireland who stick with Eircom even though they’ve sold them USA calls or broadband packages when they don’t own nor know how to use a computers.

Margaret Cash is unfortunately entitled to all these payment thanks to Fine Gael and they aren’t going to change that. Fianna Fáil will try buy her types votes by increasing child benefit and perks.

FG = We’re all screwed
    FF = we’re still screwed
    SF = still screwed
    LP = screwed

It’ll be up to us through protesting to have some sort of voice. The majority of people not on boards.ie from the farms, little bungalows to big houses in the country side or those making a killing on rents in the major towns and cities don’t care about the likes of Cash and her ilk breeding children like rabbits for financial gain.

We have no alternative or no voice

Bang on! you can forgive old people and expect some level of ignorance, many cant use or access the net and rely on RTE for their "news" LOL There is no excuse here for the young and IT literate. Saying theyll vote FG to enact change, good aul likeable Leo will look after us. That guy is as big a self serving snake as they come! And you are right, Ca$h hasnt created this welfare wonderland farce, that is 90 years or whatever, of FG, FF and Labour!

People here saying they will vote FG for change! HA! I was that idiot two elections ago... Fool me once, fool me twice, but you need to be fooled a third time?!

Cheers for that here are other stories from 2013 if you are interested

1]Alberta floods – 23.87%
    2) Lac-Megantic disaster – 10.59%
    3) Death of Nelson Mandela – 10.08%
    4) Rob Ford's crack admission – 9.39%
    5) Boston Marathon Bombing – 7.97%
    7) Senate expenses – 6.59%
    8) Birth of Prince George – 5.28%
    9) Typhoon Haiyan hits the Philippines – 4.55%

lol

Not a great reply........... you were struggling anyway to deal with actual facts so I didn't expect much tbh :)

Augeo wrote: »
    lol

Not a great reply........... you were struggling anyway to deal with actual facts so I didn't expect much tbh :)

Who was struggling me or you...even this article is 3 years old now, Mr Fact boy :rolleyes:

http://www.thejournal.ie/top-1-in-ireland-1940955-Feb2015/

Who was struggling me or you...even this article is 3 years old now, Mr Fact boy :rolleyes:

http://www.thejournal.ie/top-1-in-ireland-1940955-Feb2015/

Anyway I'm off out to help a traveler friend of mine from the halting site near where I live who struggles with reading with some forms he needs filled out. He teaches my 2 young kids horse riding on Saturday mornings. Ill get back to it later , ;)

Remember, roads are for traffic, not horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

A
    FG = We’re all screwed
    FF = we’re still screwed
    SF = still screwed
    LP = screwed

and yet, you actually blame FG/FF for this, despite you saying there is no alternative.

political correctness and virtue signalling will never see any changes, a cut on S/W is seen as an "attack on the poor" and no politician ever wants to be labelled as that.

this country needs a voice for tax payers, people who want proper justice system etc etc but it will never change as anybody who wants the country to thrive, will be labelled a right winger or a fascist.

its the likes of Sinn Fein thats driving us in a welfare state however and theres enough votes for their type, to keep that Welfare state in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

If you understand what the word "friend" means, you would know full well no traveller is ever your friend.

I am guessing only one person benefits from whatever relationship you and this traveller person have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

and yet, you actually blame FG/FF for this, despite you saying there is no alternative.

political correctness and virtue signalling will never see any changes, a cut on S/W is seen as an "attack on the poor" and no politician ever wants to be labelled as that.

this country needs a voice for tax payers, people who want proper justice system etc etc but it will never change as anybody who wants the country to thrive, will be labelled a right winger or a fascist.

its the likes of Sinn Fein thats driving us in a welfare state however and theres enough votes for their type, to keep that Welfare state in place.

renua agree with you on rewarding work and the farce that is called the "justice system" here. But dont let that get in the way of saying there is no alternative... If you dont want to vote for them and carry on as is with the current options, fair enough, but dont say there isnt an alternative...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I'm always telling the missus to look into vaginal renua. A party we can all get behind.

Are you not doing it wrong there ??? :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Thephantomsmask

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Vote renua then. They are against welfare hikes and more of the usual. Voting fg gets more of the same ...

Unfortunately Renua party members/election candidates post things like this, they might be right wing enough to stop the welfare state but pink triangles on armbands may come with it.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=240107613344830&id=100020367781196

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,991 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Unfortunately Renua party members/election candidates post things like this, they might be right wing enough to stop the welfare state but pink triangles on armbands may come with it.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=240107613344830&id=100020367781196

Unfortunately Renua never vetted or coached anyone who joined, either as members or candidates. In fact some people went on to set up social media accounts that were completely unofficial but looked official, @renuamaynooth was one. There were a lot of loose canons and no-one to reign them in, so very quickly the whole thing started to go downhill.

Remember, roads are for traffic, not horses.

You re wasted here love you should be writing for Brendan O Carroll and his ilk. Original comic spirit like that needs an outlet.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I’m not on Twitter but it seems Erica Fleming layed into Niall Boylan, his response is a good one!!!