If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

And there you have the reason why a third generation Shinner like myself is now voting FG at the next election.

I'm not happy with that, I've been called a "f**king Tory bitch" but what else can be done ?
    Are you serious? Who’s presided over recent welfare hikes? Who’s doing me nothing to change the welfare system? Who may hike prsi on workers in the budget? Answer is all Fg. Who’s done nothing about the housing crisis, doing horrendous mental and financial damage to hundreds of thousands in Dublin ? That’s right, it’s also fg...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Are you serious? Who’s presided over recent welfare hikes? Who’s doing me nothing to change the welfare system? Who may hike prsi on workers in the budget? Answer is all Fg. Who’s done nothing about the housing crisis, doing horrendous mental and financial damage to hundreds of thousands in Dublin ? That’s right, it’s also fg...

Believe me it would be a lot worst under Sinn Fein.

She said last night they would double the money been spent on social housing if in power.

You think you’re paying a lot of tax now, you have no idea.

ELM327 wrote: »
    Yeah, my family and outlaws on herself's side came from the north. Her father was shot at by the british up north and we'd both remember (with our respective childhoods) taking trips up north and seeing the british soldiers everywhere and the disgusting treatment meted out to catholics and southerners.

Yet even my partner now coming from a lifetime and generational situation where the whole family voted SF regardless, will no longer vote SF due to their bleeding heart bearded lefty nonsense.

I was an FF voter since the days of Haughey but now have no one to vote for. (Due to FF stance on the 8th). But there's no party that is for the working public.
    I was watching reeling in the years 1980 on RTE last night and there were protests from 600,000 PAYE workers at the taxation rates. Can we not do that!!!
    ha really? This from a renua election candidate yesterday “No more taxes on working people please Mr Donohoe … PRSI is the new USC.

Paschal Donohoe has obviously not heard the term squeezed middle, either that or he just doesnt care; ‘’his Departments secret plans to impose further tax increases on working people is unacceptable’

It’s proposals on PRSI indicate that the Finance Minister is not in control of his own Department. The notion that working people should have a further increase of 0.5% in PRSI defies all logic. This is the economics of Alice in Wonderland.

It is a complete denial of the reality that working people, middle income earners in Ireland are taxed at a higher rate than any other European country.

Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe needs to challenge the culture of his Department.
    It is clear this culture is anti-enterprise, hostile to the self-employed and indifferent to the needs of small start-up companies.

Nothing epitomizes this more than the treatment of the self-employed when it comes to PRSI. This has evolved into a stealth tax as distinct to a protector of working people.

It is the new USC in disguise which treats the self-employed like a fiscal colony.
    Mr Donohoe should gather his courage into his trembling hands and say ‘no more taxes’ because if he doesnt the people may soon say ‘no more Paschal’’.”

If you think fg and Leo the liar have any interest in workers. lol. Last year a worker on 30,000 received a e1.50 weekly usc reduction. All welfare recipients received a5 per week and their f*king bonus. Yeah vote fg, that’ll show em ...

She said last night they would double the money been spent on social housing if in power.

That might be true. But fg can do one. As can ff, if they think they’re is any justification for future outrageous welfare hikes from an already insane welfare spend. (The only justification being itvwill buy them votes) Sure don’t we keep hearing from fg about near full employment etc? Why hike welfare? There are vulnerable on the hospital trolleys and working their ass off and they are far more deserving and vulnerable than the scrotes that many parties will target for their vote !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

They d also insist that corporations do a deal with the revenue that suits both them and us, then ye could all stop focusing on the welfare spongers and realise the real enemy. Ye mightn t like the Cashes and their ilk but if ye think they re anything but a drop in the ocean compared to how the rich are screwing us ye are sadly deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Sardine wrote: »
    I live in a council estate where people wear pyjamas etc. during the day. They put up signs about hunger strikers on lampposts etc. I bought my house but many of my neighbours don’t work. Between their love for all things IRA and promise of free housing these are the demographic that will vote for Sinn Fein. Is there any chance of them getting enough votes to even share power?

I would have said yes up until the Margaret Cash fiasco. But working people are angry now. They’re angry with the people defending her even if Cash is being used as a gambit to attack the government. The vote doesn’t transfer to SF under PR in the Republic. It will be even less in the next election.

Dannyriver wrote: »
    They d also insist that corporations do a deal with the revenue that suits both them and us, then ye could all stop focusing on the welfare spongers and realise the real enemy. Ye mightn t like the Cashes and their ilk but if ye think they re anything but a drop in the ocean compared to how the rich are screwing us ye are sadly deluded.
    No they wouldn’t. They’d never be the majority party here. Corporate welfare is a hell of a lot harder to tackle than the bottom feeder welfare, over twenty billion a yearon this small rock. It’s lowering my living standards and many of you here!

The rich?

The top 1% pay 60% of the total tax intake in Ireland.

Give over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

The rich?

Give over.

Careful there now. You’re developing a bad habit of telling the truth.

The rich?

Give over.

Yeah and how much do they pay their workers , and what other 'favours' are they given along the way so that they can hide earnings and wealth so it doesn t appear on the books. People on here focusing on travelers as the problem ye ve swallowed it hook line and sinker. Q E ****ing D

Nothing epitomizes this more than the treatment of the self-employed when it comes to PRSI. This has evolved into a stealth tax as distinct to a protector of working people. ............. ...

I reckon most self employed folk have much more pressing issues to concern themselves with then PRSI.

Self employed folk (I'm one) have a fairly significant saving in so far as we don't pay into the dole fund as such through PRSI, obviously that has implications for receipt of Jobseeker's Benefit but if and when given the choice I reckon many self employed won't opt in to contribute to that anyway........ that speaks volumes IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

True - Northern Ireland even without the issue of sky high property prices has an almost equal problem of homelessness with about 5,000 deemed homeless and about 40,000 people a year (20,000 households) presenting as homeless every year.

And SinnFein have not been able to do much about that as the figures have been steadily rising over the past few years.

Its one of the reasons they don't shout too loudly about it down here as their own record on homeless in NI is not good

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Lesser of several evils sadly.

Voting was always instilled into me as a privilege denied to many of my people, so not voting is not an option.

Yeah and how much do they pay their workers , and what other 'favours' are they given along the way so that they can hide earnings and wealth so it doesn t appear on the books. People on here focusing on travelers as the problem ye ve swallowed it hook line and sinker. Q E ****ing D

You seem to know the answers to your questions, enlighten us please?

mmmmmm

Very extreme views going from the mega rich to travellers........

"according to the Irish Tax Institute, in 2017 workers on €35,000 will pay 12.5 times the tax of someone on €18,000, .........Workers on €75,000 will pay over 51 times the tax of someone on €18,000 - up from a multiple of 44 times the tax before to the budget"

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/personal-finance/why-one-in-three-earners-pays-no-income-tax-1.2841652

Augeo wrote: »
    mmmmmm

Very extreme views going from the mega rich to travellers........

"according to the Irish Tax Institute, in 2017 workers on €35,000 will pay 12.5 times the tax of someone on €18,000, .........Workers on €75,000 will pay over 51 times the tax of someone on €18,000 - up from a multiple of 44 times the tax before to the budget"

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/personal-finance/why-one-in-three-earners-pays-no-income-tax-1.2841652

If you have access to any accountant who works with corporations and can get them to speak off the record they ll tell you how money and wealth is moved around so that they get a great deal of that tax back by other means,
    as Bob dylan succinctly put it

Steal a little and they ll throw you in jail
    Steal a lot and they ll make you a king

Lesser of several evils sadly.

Voting was always instilled into me as a privilege denied to many of my people, so not voting is not an option.

Vote renua then. They are against welfare hikes and more of the usual. Voting fg gets more of the same ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

Clowns like you make me laugh. I have created and supported 2000+ skilled jobs in Ireland. All the workers are paid at or above market rates and have access to significant benefits such as health care, pension, on going training.

The rumor that the rich are screwing the guy in the street is bullsh1t. Guys like Dermot Desmond, Michael O'Leary etc have done no end of good for the people of Ireland. Yes they got rich from it, but that is to be admired not vilified!

If you have access to any accountant who works with corporations and can get them to speak off the record they ll tell you how money and wealth is moved around so that they get a great deal of that tax back by other means,

Stealing is a matter of perception. Is it stealing because our government sat so. I’d call this massive over the top confiscation of workers wealth immoral wealth stealing. But hey, I’m not looking to buy off votes! For every high Earner, there are probably 99 low earners and all our votes count the same. You’re a politician , who are you going to bend over backwards for ?

The rich?

Give over.
    Yeah and how much do they pay their workers...............

Corporations?
    I thought the top 1% of earners in Ireland were being talked about? Loads of them would be PAYE to a large extent :)

In 2013, "The top 1% of individuals in the income distribution have an income of more than €140,000 per annum" .......... lots of relatively normal ish folk in that category. Hard working no doubt but they'd be pottering about in 520d and shopping in SuperValu etc ....... and paying fook loads of tax as a % relative to their earnings.

http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/high-earner-ireland-755580-Jan2013/

Corporations?
    I thought the top 1% of earners in Ireland were being talked about? Loads of them would be PAYE to a large extent :)

They all feed out of the same trough , they make the rules to suit themselves that s why they hate the dissenting voices and they adore the 'clowns' that focus on the spongers and welfare cheats takes the heat of them, it s been going on for years

Comedy gold!! PAYE workers making the rules for themselves, stop, please :D:D

I wouldn't really think that lads and ladies heading into the IFSC doing a bit of fund management etc or production managers in factories or project managers in Sisks, Jacobs, BAM etc (not to mind a chap or lady with a team of 10 tradesmen etc employed in their small building company) would fall into that tiny category of folk you refer to but your views would of course appeal to many ....... they're sort of how would I say, ah yes, populist horse****ish :)

jjmcclure wrote: »
    Comedy gold!! PAYE workers making the rules for themselves, stop, please :D:D

Glad to be of amusement, Who mentioned the run of the mill PAYE worker?

Corporations?
    I thought the top 1% of earners in Ireland were being talked about? Loads of them would be PAYE to a large extent :)...................
    Glad to be of amusement, Who mentioned the run of the mill PAYE worker?

I did and you encompassed them in your little speel :)

Eh you did!!

I did and you encompassed them in your little speel :)

Easy on the caps tiger ... the top 1% are not run of the mill. Mirriam Websters is a good source for definitions but any good dictionary would work for you.

As I've detailed so so many of the top 1% are in fact run of the mill PAYE workers........."lads and ladies heading into the IFSC doing a bit of fund management etc or production managers in factories or project managers in Sisks, Jacobs, BAM etc (not to mind a chap or lady with a team of 10 tradesmen etc employed in their small building company)"

Seems as you are being a pedant, I didn't use any caps :)

A good dictionary might be of use for yourself, look up large, bold & capital to get an understanding of the basics :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

from that Irish Times article

"920,700 people will be exempt from paying income tax in 2017."

you want to talk about inequity in Irish society? this is it. How is this seen as left wing or progressive? It's literally anti social, it prevents certain workers from contributing.

Everyone earning an income of any size should be paying tax on it once.

As I've detailed so so many of the top 1% are in fact run of the mill PAYE workers........."lads and ladies heading into the IFSC doing a bit of fund management etc or production managers in factories or project managers in Sisks, Jacobs, BAM etc (not to mind a chap or lady with a team of 10 tradesmen etc employed in their small building company)"

Seems as you are being a pedant, I didn't use any caps :)

A good dictionary might be of use for yourself, look up large, bold & capital to get an understanding of the basics :)

Yeah I know you reeled off a bunch of workers and decided I was referring to them and then presented it as if I actually said it ...You think these are in the top 1% do you?