If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

https://twitter.com/davidhall75/status/1030898398176530432?s=19

The story this links to really fupping annoyed me. Where is the evidence Larissa Nolan has that "progressive liberals" were among the woman's critics? Obviously they'd be the ones championing her cause but what do Indo writers care about accuracy when a shouty, preachy story is on the cards? Or the fact that the indo can be pretty unashamedly right wing economically. And the tweets agreeing with it - no critical thought at all. I would like to know who the last guy is addressing. If he means Irish people then I assume he's including himself. I assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Does anyone really care? Like seriously.
    Probably the star guest on the Late Late when it returns. Family will be put up in a Dublin 4 hotel at the licence payers expense.
    The gob****es foot the bill as usual. The audience will be bought off with passes to Tayto Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,145 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

.. or hopefully she will be last months news and the media will move on to some other story.

She's had her 15mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

https://twitter.com/davidhall75/status/1030898398176530432?s=19

The story this links to really fupping annoyed me. Where is the evidence Larissa Nolan has that "progressive liberals" were among the woman's critics? Obviously they'd be the ones championing her cause but what do Indo writers care about accuracy when a shouty, preachy story is on the cards? Or the fact that the indo can be pretty unashamedly right wing economically. And the tweets agreeing with it - no critical thought at all. I would like to know who the last guy is addressing. If he means Irish people then I assume he's including himself. I assume.

Wtf does progressive liberal even mean?

These morons have no clue about the real world, wrapped in a bubble of some posh college and a cocktail bar in d4.

Nauseating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

These morons have no clue about the real world, wrapped in a bubble of some posh college and a cocktail bar in d4.

Nauseating.
    And the dishonesty of the headline - among other dishonest elements. Most people don't think it's ok to sneer at single mothers. Many people have a problem with manipulative, exploitative, irresponsible, self entitled freeloaders, whether single mothers or otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

And the dishonesty of the headline - among other dishonest elements. Most people don't think it's ok to sneer at single mothers. Many people have a problem with manipulative, exploitative, irresponsible, self entitled freeloaders, whether single mothers or otherwise.

Correct, most people don't think it's okay. Framing it as an attack on women is the tonic for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

I usually buy the Indo every Sunday. Not tomorrow and not again. Sick of this bull**** lefty agenda. Also have it delivered to work for the employees every day. Quite a few copies. That is also over.

I encourage others to do the same,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

jjmcclure wrote: »
    I usually buy the Indo every Sunday. Not tomorrow and not again. Sick of this bull**** lefty agenda. Also have it delivered to work for the employees every day. Quite a few copies. That is also over.

Gave up buying the rag when they employed the man of the people also known as the eyebrow beautician of Cold Blow Lane

Is there any rational partial journalists nowadays?????

Every day it’s homeless this government this.

Nothing about the person or persons responsibility or life.

Just blame the government.

Newspapers are that desperate for sales these days, they don't want to offend anyone.

The Gov are an easy target though. Blame them for everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

More sense in this thread than any paid journalist has printed.
    The permanently offended would hound any journalist out, look at what happened to poor George Hook when he suggested women should be more careful, the victim blaming crowd bayed for blood.

Journalism is no longer about reporting facts or the truth. It's about how many clicks online you can get.

Do we have a reputable news outlet in Ireland anymore? Genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Do we have a reputable news outlet in Ireland anymore? Genuine question.
    Some of the local non-national newspapers can be good.

This 10,000 homeless people is an absolute farce,

Let’s audit each of them like every self employed person is in this country and see what comes back.

Leeches.

I was listening to a radio report the other day and it was about students looking for somewhere to live due to lack of places available.

A female student was being interviewed and she threw in the line "technically I am homeless". Is it now so well used, that people are convincing themselves they are something they aren't.

Did the interviewer challenge the statement? Of course he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

This 10,000 homeless people is an absolute farce,

Let’s audit each of them like every self employed person is in this country and see what comes back.

Leeches.

It’s higher than your thinking but it’s nobody with children. True homelessness is the young single men squatting in derelict buildings, sheds and near river banks that I’ve seen in Thurles and Nenagh throughout the past 20-30 years. Tragically one lost his life in a fire recently. He was earlier that evening turned away from the local homeless action.

In this gynocentric society of ours men are bottom of the list when it comes to housing and healthcare. Just walk around any large town in this country and you’ll come across homeless men with severe mental health/drug problems in sleeping bags. Meanwhile if you have the ability to give birth to children you’re almost guaranteed an unlimited income for life. Let them run feral with bad teeth and sugary snacks, sit on your ass and spend it on drink/car insurance/wedding etc. They’re certainly not spending it on healthy food, childrens education or clothing.

FG*/FF/SF*/Rte/indo will defend you in the mainstream media.

* to be fair to Sinn Féin and Fine Gael, at a local town/county council level some of their councilors share a lot of our views. These are a minority though.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

She's out now and getting a new place in Drumcondra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

But will it be big enough? And will there be enough room for a horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

the_syco wrote: »
    But will it be big enough? And will there be enough room for a horse?

Fuck your Honda Civic

She has a horse outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,579 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

But she wanted a house in Tallaght, what kind of a country gives a house in Drumcondra to someone who wants one in Tallaght?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,473 ✭✭✭alias no.9

NIMAN wrote: »
    I was listening to a radio report the other day and it was about students looking for somewhere to live due to lack of places available.

A female student was being interviewed and she threw in the line "technically I am homeless". Is it now so well used, that people are convincing themselves they are something they aren't.

Did the interviewer challenge the statement? Of course he didn't.

I'm like literally homeless, I'm like going to have to stay in with my folks in Stillorgan and get the bus to UCD, homeless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,509 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Nauseating.

I hope they give her a house right beside that cvnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

alias no.9 wrote: »
    I'm like literally homeless, I'm like going to have to stay in with my folks in Stillorgan and get the bus to UCD, homeless!
    I'm like literally homeless too.
    I mean apart from the appreciating asset that I live in and pay mortgage on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Was there not a article in the star newspaper yesterday about a boyfriend or some male staying with miss Euro in the 3 bed apartment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Is the Drumcondra house on a trial basis? She's lucky to have such a central and nice place. I really would not like to be her neighbour. It's further from Tallaght and schools. No Luas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I’d be happy if the state gave a 4 bedroom house to the single UCD student vs the leech and others. Fair play to the girl furthering her career.

jjmcclure wrote: »

First, it's unequivocally disturbing that anybody buys that egregious heap of abject shít. Mindboggling. Second, that rag "lefty". Jesus sake, will some people get a grip? From the Lockout in 1913 to its demonisation of the Irish in the Six Counties over decades, the Sunday Independent has always, always, always been to the right of everything. Not to mention the absolute superstar cúnts of oligarchs - William Martin Murphy and Anthony O'Reilly being the most notorious - who have used their ownership to advance their control in Irish society and undermine Irish democracy.

That rag only supports mass immigration because it keeps labour costs low for the rightwing employers whose interests they push and because the immigrants will not exactly be coming here to threaten people in network-heavy jobs like journalism, never mind living next door to them in Blackrock or wherever. The same cannot be said for Irish people in menial jobs who can be easily replaced by the new, cheaper immigrants who will live in their poorer areas. The hypocrisy is rank from our supposed "liberals".

However, people blaming the economic "leftwing" for the mass immigration that benefits the indigenous wealthy and undermines the indigenous poor are the ultimate puppets on a string for the wealthy and their agenda. Stupidity and gullibility of Brexiteer proportions. There are loads of these thoughtless misguided simpletons on this website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

But she wanted a house in Tallaght, what kind of a country gives a house in Drumcondra to someone who wants one in Tallaght?

You could get two houses in tallaght for the price of one in drumcondra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/were-living-in-fear-family-of-nine-facing-homelessness-as-vulture-fund-repossesses-landlords-house-37241657.html

Ok the above story by none other than the indo. Gutter journalism at it's best trying to prove there's a crisis where there isn't one.

Says they have 7 kids, but oldest is 23. That's not a kid and I don't know how many are grown up but the government shouldn't be responsible for a 23 year old

Says vulture fund threatened imprisonment where they have no more powers than an Irish bank if they don't vacate

House is in Ballycanew Co Wexford. Went on daft and saw a large 3 bed semi there for 185k and several large dormer bungalows for approx 260k
    A 185k house would require a joint salary of 50k only to secure the requisite mortgage to purchase

It's another bleeding heart story about people not willing to pay their way and expecting tax payers to fund them.
    Council in wexford blamed here this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,364 ✭✭✭Damien360

Quick Google of that name Gary Breen gives man with 100 convictions at the age of 22 in 99. Jailed 8 years for slashing someone on the Dart. Then 2008 aged 31 case thrown out of boiling water thrown on him in prison. Same guy ?