If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,149 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

[QUOTE=Huntergonzo;107884003
    The reality is, this story should never have been reported, it was a publicity stunt by a leech on society and now the local authorities and homeless services are shrambling around to accommodate this useless cúnt just so they don't look bad.[/QUOTE]

The fight back must begin. Against a one sided media, a Government that wants workers to pay more to sustain this entitlement culture and so on.

To the barricades mes amis :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

The fight back must begin. Against a one sided media, a Government that wants workers to pay more to sustain this entitlement culture and so on.

To the barricades mes amis :D

Nah i don't bother with any of that stuff, anyway we'd only **** it up, we always do. Infact I tend to defend the government, not because I have a notion about anything they do but purely because it annoys people when they're on party political rants :-)

I think it's very dangerous to have a system like this. Consider a 16-year-old who followed the standard parental and teacherly advice to study hard, get a good Leaving Cert, go to college, get a job, work hard, and avoid getting pregnant until she has the means to support a child. After more than a decade of doing things the "right" way, she potentially winds up in her 30s despairing of ever being able to afford children or buy a house in Dublin.

Then look at people like Ms. Cash, who didn't even go to secondary school. She has never worked, and has devoted herself since age 16 to getting pregnant and having kids. She's raking in the welfare payments, and now has South Dublin County Council bending over backwards to find her a permanent home in an area of her choosing. She'll undoubtedly go on to have more kids, meaning more welfare.

Given this calculus, how do we explain to young people why they should live responsible lives? What's their incentive to study, work, and get up at 7 every morning only to wake up in their 30s and feel like the only people who get rewarded in society are those who refuse to contribute and demand everything for free?

This is simply not a healthy society. Those who defend it in the interests of "fairness" are ignoring the fact that it's not fair to have one sector of society who contribute everything and get nothing, and another sector of society who contribute nothing and get everything.

This..

Nah i don't bother with any of that stuff, anyway we'd only **** it up, we always do. Infact I tend to defend the government, not because I have a notion about anything they do but purely because it annoys people when they're on party political rants :-)

TBH i'd be similar to yourself. I tend to defend the government because when have they done any different? Why expect anything better than the muck they've consistently handed out? The problems don't rest with the government or politicians because it is society that has demanded the ever increasing benefits of the welfare state and screams bloody murder when any previously given benefit is reduced or removed. Just like these demands over the housing crisis, and the expectation for results but little concern over long-term costs/negatives.

Nah. I'm of the mind that nothing will change in Ireland until you can get the people of Ireland actively interested, and maintain their interest long enough to get stuff done. So, in other words, we're stuck with what we have. :D

Still. I don't see why we can't start with the Travellers and enforcing change upon them, because there isn't really that much support for them to stay as they are. Their push to be recognised as a separate ethnic group actually helps. The bitterness in Irish people towards travellers is well established and could be encouraged in order to push for reforms in welfare regarding "disadvantaged" ethnic groups that don't really deserve to be helped (considering the lack of results over at least three decades).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Stories like this is why I don't read newspapers, articles or watch the news. It just ends up pishing me off!

As quoted above, I am one of those people who worked hard, never claimed a cent I didn't work for, never needed the Government for anything, single male currently living at home looking after my elderly parents (but not in a 'care' sense, so I don't get money for it). I never want kids. For this reason, I'm entitled to nothing from the Government. I'll never get a free house, money off bills, rent allowance, anything. Include the fact that while I'm lucky to have a job which gives me money towards health insurance, I have to have a plan that includes cover for my non-existent partner or kids. I don't need it, but the Government passed a law saying that everyone has to have that minimum cover even if it's not needed. My policy is loaded so people who do have kids don't have to pay as much.

Being honest, being a working single male is the group that will get nothing from the Government. And it grates me something fierce. As quoted above, it makes me question why I work. I'm on 27k, and having a BA in Policing is no good for any jobs other than being a Garda, and because of that BA, I'll get no financial support to go back to college to do a different course. I can go and do a Masters, but on what? What course could I just jump into as Masters level and successfully complete? I've never even considered going on the dole, but I find myself regularly contemplating it, and I reckon I could just about survive on the dole. If it wasn't for my love of gaming, I reckon I'd give the dole a go.

I dunno, all this crap makes me give up. Not on life, but on trying. The unfairness of it gets me down, and I have suffered from anxiety for a while, leaving the Gardaí more or less sorted that, but I find it coming back now. I can't afford help for it, even with my unfair health insurance, as I had an unsustainable mortgage after I left the Guards and instead of whining I should be left stay in it, I did the adult thing and sold it and took the hit. Will be paying back the balance for a while. Meanwhile this absolute waste of air gets everything for free because she can't keep her crusty fanny shut. Sickens my shite. I'm despaired by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,578 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I have just come across a huge anomaly and discrimination on the social welfare system that angers me

Job seekers benefit is for those who have worked and paid credits and tax ,But they now take the history of pay for that person from 2016 .So lets say a person age 30 earned less in 2016 for any reason ie maternity benefit , looking after a sick child etc .His benefit is reduced in 2018 because of that .He is now reduced to €155 a week

Weekly Jobseeker's Benefit payment from 22 March 2018

Average weekly earnings Personal rate

€150 - €219.99 €127.80
    €220 - €299.99 €155.10
    €300 or more €198.00

Now take Job seekers Allowance .Given to those with not enough credits , never worked a day , never paid tax .Age 30

Jobseeker's Allowance rates from 21 March 2018
    Age Maximum personal rate I
    Aged 26 and over €198.00
    Aged 25 €152.80
    Aged 18-24 €107.70

So the one who worked for 10 years and earned a bit less in 2016 gets less money than the one who never worked a day in their life .
    This is an absolute disgrace , its discrimination towards the one who worked and now finds themselves without a job due to circumstances .

Yeah but there are a couple of posters here on boards who defend that on the basis that if you don't give the leeches that amount of money or more they will steal it from us.

No really, that's the argument.

So it's a hostage situation. The people who defend it are doing so because they are scared of what would happen to them if it was taken away.

I would add I am absolutely delighted to see the growing anger not only here but all over the place from people who are just getting disgusted and rightly pissed off at how their money is being spent on the subset of total scroungers in this country. That gives me hope that change is not as far away as we think. People need to continue contacting their representatives and let them know exactly how they feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Yeah but there are a couple of posters here on boards who defend that on the basis that if you don't give the leeches that amount of money or more they will steal it from us.

I'm sure the residents of Enniscorthy will confirm that despite being in receipt of such a vastly sum from the Irish state Ms Cash is a criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Ah stop, no one tells lies or makes up stuff on Boards or the internet .

You vanished very quickly!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

What did her partner do?

I asked the same question, i asked about her own criminal past. Links were posted about both of them verifying everything...removed from boards.ie moderation within minutes. No idea why. The censorship here is frightening stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭irishproduce

jjmcclure wrote: »
    What I am sending to Regina

Dear Minister Doherty,

I am a Meath East constituent who voted for you in the last general election. I have worked at a senior level in multinational companies in Ireland for many years and have supported significant job creation and retention. As I write to you today I am incensed by the blatant unfairness in the Irish social welfare and taxation systems.

The recent coverage of the Margaret Cash affair has highlighted the ridiculous entitlement culture that exists among a significant subsection of our population. While I have great sympathy for her children Ms Cash deserves no such sympathy. A convicted criminal with access to significant disposable income but no will to support herself or her children. The liberal media in Ireland are fawning over Ms Cash with our state broadcaster at the forefront. Where is the hardworking tax payer, who pays for Ms Cash’s lifestyle represented. The answer is that they are not, neither by our public representatives or the main stream media.

It has recently been reported that you and the government intend to raise PRSI in the upcoming budget, presumably to pay for ne’er do wells such as Ms Cash and other citizens who have never worked a day in their life or contributed a penny to the social welfare system continue to bleed the hard working citizens dry.

The anger among the working public is palpable! Regarding social welfare I have specific questions I would like answered:-

1. What are the government’s plans to create a fair social welfare system where contribution to the public purse is rewarded and people are weaned off long term benefits?
    2. What do you intend to do about social welfare fraud?
    3. How will you reduce the social welfare burden on the tax payer?

Secondly regarding taxation.

I would like to highlight a portion of the Irish Tax Institute’s 2016 report regarding the “progressiveness” of the Irish tax system

A worker on €120,000:
    Earns 6.7 times the amount of a person on €18,000 and pays over 83 times the amount of tax.
    Earns almost 4.8 times the salary of a person on €25,000 but pays 14.8 times the tax.
    Earns almost 3.4 times the salary of a person on €35,000 but pays 7.6 times the tax.

While the figures will have changed very slightly they are broadly the same in 2018. What are your thoughts on this topic. How much more can the working public pay? When will we see success and hard work rewarded. There is no strong voice supporting the hard working public however we have AAA/PBP Sinn Fein and others constantly suggesting people earning €100k + are “wealthy” and should be taxed more. Who will stand up for us?

Unfortunately based on some of your extremely left leaning policies, and I refer to you specifically, I will be unable to vote for you in any upcoming election and will encourage other working people to do the same. However I believe if someone/some party stands up for those generating the funds which support Ms Cash and others like her they will achieve a landslide victory in the next election.

I await your reply.

Yours faithfully

Excellent letter. Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭irishproduce

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I have just come across a huge anomaly and discrimination on the social welfare system that angers me

Job seekers benefit is for those who have worked and paid credits and tax ,But they now take the history of pay for that person from 2016 .So lets say a person age 30 earned less in 2016 for any reason ie maternity benefit , looking after a sick child etc .His benefit is reduced in 2018 because of that .He is now reduced to €155 a week

Weekly Jobseeker's Benefit payment from 22 March 2018

Average weekly earnings Personal rate

€150 - €219.99 €127.80
    €220 - €299.99 €155.10
    €300 or more €198.00

Now take Job seekers Allowance .Given to those with not enough credits , never worked a day , never paid tax .Age 30

Jobseeker's Allowance rates from 21 March 2018
    Age Maximum personal rate I
    Aged 26 and over €198.00
    Aged 25 €152.80
    Aged 18-24 €107.70

So the one who worked for 10 years and earned a bit less in 2016 gets less money than the one who never worked a day in their life .
    This is an absolute disgrace , its discrimination towards the one who worked and now finds themselves without a job due to circumstances .

Good spot, a joke isn't it.
    They preside over this shít

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

A nice copy-paste letter would be great.

We can all mass fire it out to local TD's.

Then, we can post the weasel-dodging replies as to why they won't tackle the issue (aka "political suicide blah blah" ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,579 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Taylor365 wrote: »
    Then, we can post the weasel-dodging replies as to why they won't tackle the issue (aka "political suicide blah blah" ).

But some should, it's when politicians have the balls to step up to so called non PC issues that they actually get elected, Trump being a prime example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I'm sure the residents of Enniscorthy will confirm that despite being in receipt of such a vastly sum from the Irish state Ms Cash is a criminal.

Guess where the house they got caught having robbed is situated? Right in the middle of a traveller stronghold. The irony of it.
    If she had a job to get up to, she'd have been in bed instead of pissed up travelling around with a gang of thieves......of course she was painted as a victim of circumstance and is now held up by the majority of the media as a poster girl for the fight against homelessness. Did they ask her about the house she refused previously in Tallaght?

This woman is probably on far more money off us than the the men/women working in welfare helping her!

It's fcuking ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

28 with 7 kids?

Has anyone told her it's a vagina and not a ****ing clown car???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

https://www.whoismytd.com

check that if you want to send an email to your local TDs expressing your dissatisfaction at the immoral treatment of working people and the ever decreasing tax base. Unfortunately my constituency is represented by the following;
    Aengus Snodaigh (Sinn F)
    Joan Collins (Independents 4 Change)
    Catherine Byrne (Fine Gael)
    BrSmith (People Before Profit Alliance)

so I don't hold out much hope.

the everything for free / tax the bollix out of workers brigade have about as much financial acumen as a soiled nappy and FG are delighted to have an out of control housing market as it makes the economy look strong while telling lies about helping those who get up in the morning at election time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Uriel.

https://www.whoismytd.com

check that if you want to send an email to your local TDs expressing your dissatisfaction at the immoral treatment of working people and the ever decreasing tax base. Unfortunately my constituency is represented by the following;
    Aengus Snodaigh (Sinn F)
    Joan Collins (Independents 4 Change)
    Catherine Byrne (Fine Gael)
    BrSmith (People Before Profit Alliance)

so I don't hold out much hope.

the everything for free / tax the bollix out of workers brigade have about as much financial acumen as a soiled nappy and FG are delighted to have an out of control housing market as it makes the economy look strong while telling lies about helping those who get up in the morning at election time.

Hahaha that's some **** hole constituency situation you got there. If that was my constituency representation I'd have zero motivation to engage in any politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Uriel. wrote: »
    Hahaha that's some **** hole constituency situation you got there. If that was my constituency representation I'd have zero motivation to engage in any politics
    lets say a fair amount of my neighbours would not be income tax payers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

sightband wrote: »
    I asked the same question, i asked about her own criminal past. Links were posted about both of them verifying everything...removed from boards.ie moderation within minutes. No idea why. The censorship here is frightening stuff.

As her partner is on remand in Cloverhill for serious criminal charges and the case is yet to be heard, posts with details would be prejudicial and hence would have to be deleted.

It will be interesting to see if the media will report on it with the same gusto as his wife's story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,147 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

CeilingFly wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see if the media will report on it with the same gusto as his wife's story.

We all know the answer to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

As her partner is on remand in Cloverhill for serious criminal charges and the case is yet to be heard, posts with details would be prejudicial and hence would have to be deleted.

The attitude of the mainstream Irish Media,in this particular instance,has been seriously deficient.

It would appear that Ms Cash,in concert with others active in the Homelessness Sector decided upon a certain course of action in terms of publicising her situation,and thereby drawing attention to the broader issue.

Having decided to post her photographs on Social Media,it then appears the Media rushed to grasp the opportunity to satsify Ms Cash's intentions.

At no point,does it appear,any Reporter,Sub Editor or Senior Person in either the Print or Broadcast media chose to crosscheck or verify any of Ms Cash's claims.

A competent and/or proffessional reporter would have followed up on the inconsistencies,particularly surrounding the reasons for this particular bout of Ms Cash's bad luck.

Given that ms Cash has been very clear,on how she has no difficulties with her role as standard bearer,or spokesperson for homeless families generally,it therefore stands to reason that she is also open to some more robust scrutiny than a person who specifically requested anonymity,as many in her predicament do.

https://www.herald.ie/news/mum-and-six-kids-forced-to-sleep-in-garda-station-given-beds-by-a-charity-37209313.html
    Many internet trolls demanded information about the children's father, but according to Ms Cash: "He's not relevant."

Speaking to the Sunday World, she said: "He's not on the scene. I separated from him last year."

The 28-year-old's former long-term partner, John McCarthy, was remanded in the custody of Cloverhill Prison on July 25.

He is facing charges of assault at Westmoreland Street on June 24, engaging in threatening, abusive or insulting behaviour and possession of an offensive weapon, involving a sharpened tent spike.

To be fair to Ms Cash,she has stated that she is no longer in a relationship with Mr McCarthy.
    His current situation,including the details of his arraignment are a matter of public record,and references to the generality of that situation are quite permissable.

It is galling however to see the broad accusation of "Trolling" levelled against those responding to Ms Cash's claims,in the manner which the same Media should have.

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/troll
    * someone who leaves an intentionally annoying message on the internet, in order to get attention or cause trouble

* a message that someone leaves on the internet that is intended to annoy people:

The Herald,or any other Irish Media outlet,has absolutely NO means of satisfying the definition of "Trolling" in this instance,and the accusation being made by reporter Ian Begley and Herald.ie management,is quite simply unsusatainable in general terms.

The suggestion in the Herald.ie article,that such "Trolls" were demanding information on her partner,and childrens Father Mr McCarthy is disingenuous at the very least,and would appear to be used to deflect scrutiny of the Media's very obvious shortcomings in the reporting of this Family's situation.

At this point,it may well fall,yet again,to UK media organs,to follow through with the questions which may lead to the actual situation becoming known.

Ms Cash has carried herself through this situation admirably,and I would be slow to criticise her for having the focus to achieve her goal as she has done.

However,the broader question of just how this particular occurence will impact on the chances of other,less media savvy or strident,homeless families to secure accomodation remains open for discussion.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Based on revenues figures this woman "earns" more than 95% of the population ( who also most likely have mortgages )
    Very well off.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

The time of the frog Ward trial I heard a traveller in the post office referring to farmers saying “der takin all er munnies” whilst brandishing a white social services card in his hand.

The links provided were from various media sites that had disclaimers with “alleged” etc.

There was also a link with details of her own criminal past which was deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The links provided were from various media sites that had disclaimers with “alleged” etc.

Mods leave notes if something has been removed for legal reasons.

I think your not telling the truth about censorship

Gatling wrote: »

Mods leave notes if something has been removed for legal reasons.

I think your not telling the truth about censorship

As in I am making up that I posted something which requested links detailing her criminal past and her partners, which was replied to with links and both have been removed?

Does anyone really care? Like seriously.

Like seriously like bro? Like I mean, like seriously?