If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If she had a job at any stage shed be well used to a couple of trips a day like the rest of us...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Iwouldinmesack

If she had a job at any stage shed be well used to a couple of trips a day like the rest of us...........

Never mind a job, well used to travelling when off on the rob on her trips to wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

It's all very well to go on about education, but the traveller population from which Ms Cash hails routinely thumbs its nose at it, despite the state financing everything from junior infants through to a university degree. The majority of travelers leave school before the age of 15. Only 8 percent of traveller children sit the Leaving Cert, and fewer than 1 percent of travellers has a third-level qualification.

The blunt reality is that traveller culture doesn't support education. Quite the opposite. At the age when settled children are studying for their Leaving Cert, travelers are expected to get married and start popping out babies, exactly as Ms. Cash did.

So if education is the answer, but travelers refuse to participate or let their children participate in formal education beyond their mid-teens, what is the state to do? Accept that this population will be perpetually uneducated and have perpetually high rates of long-term unemployment? And that, because of their early marriages, high fertility rates, and fervent Catholicism, they will continue to have large families to be raised by the taxpayer?

This is a scam. Travelers refuse to educate their children because they know that if traveller children went on to get degrees, they'd be expected to get jobs, contribute to society, and integrate into the mainstream population. Educated travelers would no longer be able to live in a lawless way on the fringes of society, doing whatever they want, living however they want, having as many children as they want, and expecting that the taxpayer will pick up the bill. In short, education would kill traveler "culture" within a couple of generations.

So what do we do? Just keep on funding their lifestyle and raising their kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,989 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Seems like she's back in the media, having lost whatever apartment they had and being forced to move. Perhaps they can provide a caravan somewhere...

https://www.thesun.ie/news/3013268/margaret-cash-move-out-apartment-error-dublin-city-council/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Igotadose wrote: »
    Seems like she's back in the media, having lost whatever apartment they had and being forced to move. Perhaps they can provide a caravan somewhere...

https://www.thesun.ie/news/3013268/margaret-cash-move-out-apartment-error-dublin-city-council/

They could have lived in the tent, only de father thought a better use of the pegs was to attack people with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

There is litteraly hundreds and thousands of people in town for the meeting of world familys, no doubt she is snowed under with offers of charity......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    She definitely has some car anyway

TRESPASSING ARREST Homeless mum Margaret Cash tells how she was arrested after trying to live in caravan in abandoned yard

Margaret and her kids made international headlines this week after she released photos of her family having to sleep overnight on hard chairs in a Garda station

NINTCHDBPICT000425705220.jpg?strip=all&w=720&quality=100

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2972064/homeless-mum-margaret-cash-arrested-caravan/

Trust the Sun to find a photo where her cleavage is on show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

There is litteraly hundreds and thousands of people in town for the meeting of world familys, no doubt she is snowed under with offers of charity......

Front page of the Irish Examiner on Monday morning will be a photo of Ms Cash and the Pope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,176 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Front page of the Irish Examiner on Monday morning will be a photo of Ms Cash and the Pope.

'Blessed be the fruit......'

Trust the Sun to find a photo where her cleavage is on show.

Now if that isn't click bait I don't know what is :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

In one way, she'll get charity alright.
    Her, and the members of her extended family will be busy down the country with all the empty houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We are just chatting here at home and one point that really is so unfair . If you are on any SW benefits you get additional payments for each child . Yet if you work for 40 years and pay tax and USC etc , it matters not a jot how many children you have . My pay if I work will be the same regardless if I have one child or 14 children . Why do my children not matter ?

There used to be extra tax credits per child but that was taken away some years ago when they put the childrens allowance up so the people working effectively ended up with the same amount and the people not working ended up with much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,148 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

It's all very well to go on about education, but the traveller population from which Ms Cash hails routinely thumbs its nose at it, despite the state financing everything from junior infants through to a university degree. The majority of travelers leave school before the age of 15. Only 8 percent of traveller children sit the Leaving Cert, and fewer than 1 percent of travellers has a third-level qualification.

The blunt reality is that traveller culture doesn't support education. Quite the opposite. At the age when settled children are studying for their Leaving Cert, travelers are expected to get married and start popping out babies, exactly as Ms. Cash did.

So if education is the answer, but travelers refuse to participate or let their children participate in formal education beyond their mid-teens, what is the state to do? Accept that this population will be perpetually uneducated and have perpetually high rates of long-term unemployment? And that, because of their early marriages, high fertility rates, and fervent Catholicism, they will continue to have large families to be raised by the taxpayer?

This is a scam. Travelers refuse to educate their children because they know that if traveller children went on to get degrees, they'd be expected to get jobs, contribute to society, and integrate into the mainstream population. Educated travelers would no longer be able to live in a lawless way on the fringes of society, doing whatever they want, living however they want, having as many children as they want, and expecting that the taxpayer will pick up the bill. In short, education would kill traveler "culture" within a couple of generations.

So what do we do? Just keep on funding their lifestyle and raising their kids?

Sorry for quoting a long post, but this poster raises a very important point here.

Travellers keep themselves in a self perpetuating cycle of dependence through lack of education and wanting to live their lives unlike the rest of us.

I remember watching one of those c4 or c5 trashy big gypsy documentaries a few years ago. There was a young girl who really loved school and wanted to go to university and get a proper career, but she was distraught because all her family didn't want her to do this, they wanted her to keep some menial part-time job, clean the caravan and produce babies. It made for a sad watch.

Id say any notions young travellers get of an actual education and career is soon knocked out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,491 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Maybe my memory fails me but didn't she say she gave up the travellers way but is now campaigning for travellers rights (read give me an house)

Make your mind up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,572 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

There's been increases to the pension in the last two budgets. It's slowly reducing it they need to be doing if they say there won't be a state pension in 20-30 years

FG don't want to piss off the grey vote.

Budgets are there to benefit the likes of Margaret Cash and give working people nothing.

And every party is the same so voting this lot out would make no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,572 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

seamus wrote: »
    Taking away welfare to encourage someone to better themselves is standing on their head while telling them to swim.

No it would be encouraging them to get off their lazy arses and get a job, or in this case stop breeding when she has no income other than living off the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭DublinHun72

NIMAN wrote: »
    Sorry for quoting a long post, but this poster raises a very important point here.

Travellers keep themselves in a self perpetuating cycle of dependence through lack of education and wanting to live their lives unlike the rest of us.

I remember watching one of those c4 or c5 trashy big gypsy documentaries a few years ago. There was a young girl who really loved school and wanted to go to university and get a proper career, but she was distraught because all her family didn't want her to do this, they wanted her to keep some menial part-time job, clean the caravan and produce babies. It made for a sad watch.

Id say any notions young travellers get of an actual education and career is soon knocked out of them.

I remember seeing that too. She wanted a better life and not a hope was she allowed. Next time you see her she’s been taken out of school to help at home. Until travelers start to see this is so unjust then nothing is gonna change. I suspect there’s an element of actually not wanting to opt in.

I read somewhere on line about 12-15 years ago that there was actually one solitary member of the travelling community who was a serving Garda.

I think he since packed it in though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Icsics

Travellers are only interested in education up to a point. Free preschool, back to school allowances & then pay for nothing in school while posting pics of 'my hole world' first day at school type photos on fb. They have zero interest in passing exams & now because the 'traveller teacher' is gone they are 'integrated' into normal classes. They cause absolute chaos & intimidate the whole school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

There is a small secondary school at the back of Coolock/Clonshaugh area in North Dublin that is a secondary school for travellers and it is being closed soon because there is about 30 kids in it in first year and only 2 in it in 5th year.
    In other words what is the point of a secondary school that only has 2 doing the Leaving Cert?
    i really feel sorry for a bright child especially a girl who has to grow up in this crap, it's 2018 ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Does that mean she can’t look for somewhere herself?
    Thats like, too much work....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,148 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There is a small secondary school at the back of Coolock/Clonshaugh area in North Dublin that is a secondary school for travellers and it is being closed soon because there is about 30 kids in it in first year and only 2 in it in 5th year.
    In other words what is the point of a secondary school that only has 2 doing the Leaving Cert?
    i really feel sorry for a bright child especially a girl who has to grow up in this crap, it's 2018 ffs!
    Its another form of child abuse.

Why exactly is there a separate school for travellers? Never heard that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Its another form of child abuse.

Why exactly is there a separate school for travellers? Never heard that before.

No idea why its there, there is a very large halting site on the road from Clare Hall to the start of the M50 just around the corner.

You can bet your bottom dollar it is being well funded though, it must be heart breaking to be a teacher there though and see a really intelligent kid leave without a leaving Cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

What the?

Regina is ensuring that people pay pensions. Attackingbworrking classes me hole.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

What the?

Regina is ensuring that people pay pensions. Attackingbworrking classes me hole.

So you think it’s right that working people pay into/pay more for pensions while Ms Cash and her ilk sit on their arse/lie on their back, mass reproduce, never work and still are ‘entitled’ to pensions at the end of it all having never paid into the pot to contribute to the running of the country like those who go out and work for a living?

Righteo then Joseph .T. Parrot I’ll get my coat :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

I think I've posted before that my College has a Traveller Access Programme and the two lads who are through it did quite well, I've no idea if they are still practicising but they did get their medical degree and well done. Was not easy with family pulling them in a vastly different - and worse - direction but proud of them for standing by their dreams.

We had a female student in between who although she seemed to have tons of potential and initially did quite well, tailed off after a year or so and was failing.
    Ultimately she didn't do very well, refused to accept help (aside from financial) and last I heard - as she lives near me - is married with four kids.

What can we do ? Whilst I've suggested financial penalties, is there a way to engage Travellers in education ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

What the?

You really don't get it do you ?

What if you are able to provide a personal pension ? You are stung for hundreds of euro to get out of this compulsory scheme.

Plus did you miss the part where ONLY workers pay ? Those who refuse will end up getting a pension for nothing whilst leeching off the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭farmerwifelet

Financial incentives. Pay young travellers to stay in school boys and girls and go to further education. Give girls a payment for getting the patch or coil or implant. Then they can break the cycle of being baby factories. If school earns more money for the family than dole then school is where they will go. I would include disadvantaged areas and places with low secondary school attendances in the scheme as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

What the?

So you think it’s right that working people pay into/pay more for pensions while Ms Cash and her ilk sit on their arse/lie on their back, mass reproduce, never work and still are ‘entitled’ to pensions at the end of it all having never paid into the pot to contribute to the running of the country like those who go out and work for a living?

Righteo then Joseph .T. Parrot I’ll get my coat :rolleyes:

I pay big money a month into my private personal pension, by choice. I will retire early 60s on a comfortable income.
    Although anyone that doesn't take control of their own future and gets enrolled into a one size fits all default retirement plan is nuts anyway.

Travelers do not generally live to claim pensions. Thankfully. They get enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,176 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

You really don't get it do you ?

What if you are able to provide a personal pension ? You are stung for hundreds of euro to get out of this compulsory scheme.

Plus did you miss the part where ONLY workers pay ? Those who refuse will end up getting a pension for nothing whilst leeching off the rest of us.

Nothing new here. Same as those who work and pay PRSI and are then 'encouraged through penalties' to take out private health insurance also.

Don't bother working or contributing like the subject of this thread and you're granted a medical card however.
    That's equality and fairness for you.