If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Vizzy wrote: »
    Thinly disguised as I can't

It’s not thinly disguised as anything. In the same way I’m not interested in Blazer justifying themselves and I’m not interested in their personal circumstances, I’m not interested in having Ms. Cash justify herself or her personal circumstances. It’s not anything to do with whether I can or can’t, I’m just not interested in doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,516 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

It’s not thinly disguised as anything. In the same way I’m not interested in Blazer justifying themselves and I’m not interested in their personal circumstances, I’m not interested in having Ms. Cash justify herself or her personal circumstances. It’s not anything to do with whether I can or can’t, I’m just not interested in doing so.

If you’re so just not interested in doing so why not stay out of the thread then??? Because you can’t practise what you preach..that’s why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Humour me - give me one way that Ms Cash contributes to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Ms Jones got very upset on Facebook after that interview. In plain English he destroyed her, something only Vincent Browne is capable of.

How come that story didn't get the media attention that Mags Cash did?

There's 2 more children involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭juneg

Humour me - give me one way that Ms Cash contributes to society.

She spends all her money locally keeping it in the local economy ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭digzy

rafatoni wrote: »
    Has anyone had the balls to ask Cash in her interviews why doesnt she try work and rent her own abode?

It’s the obvious question.
    However, she’s be mad to work. This ridiculous state giver her approx 1k per week. She’d need a job that pays her €80k to justify the move ( probably more given childcare costs). She’s unemployable and will never have a job....I doubt her kids ever will either.
    She’s staying on the dole forever.

The time to change this nonsense was back when the imf were in. Sort the public sector and the extortionate professional fees too. There’s no government gonna tackle this nonsense unfortunately

Blazer wrote: »
    Well you did ask me if I was contributing to society.
    In other words you are contributing nothing to this thread then. Why are you even here then?

No, I didn’t ask you what you were contributing to society. I asked you what you were contributing to humanity. The answer as far as I’m concerned in spite of you rattling off that list is still nothing. Why am I here contributing to this thread? I don’t have to justify my reasons for that to you either. I’m perfectly entitled as you are to disagree with your opinion, and to point out that I’m one of these taxpayers constantly referred to in this thread who doesn’t support your ideas. I’m in a better position than Ms. Cash to tell you your opinion isn’t shared by everyone in Irish society. You can have your high moral ground because I don’t want to be up on that pedestal with you in case anyone got the impression that I shared your opinions regarding other people who are part of Irish society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Damien360 wrote: »
    Enough of the let's send her to Ballinasloe or Longford. Kids schools are hard enough to get into and resettle kids into. Those areas have their own collection of layabouts without sending more to them.

In her case, Dublin has excellent public transport and it is not unreasonable to ask her to be anywhere in Dublin for her "forever" home. But, she shouldn't have a choice when it comes for free and at taxpayers expense.

Council flats are a non-runner. It has been tried in Galway (Rahoon), Ballymun and inner city Dublin. It doesn't work.

People need to be making large contributions to their home even when subsided as it then seen as your own and you will care for it. But 4 walls should be the entire contribution, white goods are your problem, leaks after a time (let's call it a warranty) all your own problem. You need to work to pay for all that. Lots of older council estates with good people all working and not creaming it off.

Large scale council homes developments with priority to low pay taxpayers. It would also take the wind out of the sails of the out of control rents which are also effecting working taxpayers.

What actually is the position regarding maintenance and council provided houses? Is furniture provided? What happens if they need new beds are needed and all that? I have seen virtual forests outside in gardens of some houses. Houses that are lived in but no one cutting the grass, weeds everywhere, totally unkempt. Whose responsibility is it to maintain gardens? Who provides the lawnmowers etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,516 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

No, I didn’t ask you what you were contributing to society. I asked you what you were contributing to humanity. The answer as far as I’m concerned in spite of you rattling off that list is still nothing. Why am I here contributing to this thread? I don’t have to justify my reasons for that to you either. I’m perfectly entitled as you are to disagree with your opinion, and to point out that I’m one of these taxpayers constantly referred to in this thread who doesn’t support your ideas. I’m in a better position than Ms. Cash to tell you your opinion isn’t shared by everyone in Irish society. You can have your high moral ground because I don’t want to be up on that pedestal with you in case anyone got the impression that I shared your opinions regarding other people who are part of Irish society.

Oh look at you all high and mighty. Looking at most posters on this thread shows that most working are disgusted by what’s she getting. We’re disgusted with the system.
    I’d quite happily fund all these if it made a difference in the long run but it doesn’t.
    It’s just encouraging more people to sit on their asses for a free home.
    Answer me this? How long can this continue on?
    What are the long term impacts of the government not addressing this right now?

bobbyss wrote: »
    What actually is the position regarding maintenance and council provided houses? Is furniture provided? What happens if they need new beds are needed and all that? I have seen virtual forests outside in gardens of some houses. Houses that are lived in but no one cutting the grass, weeds everywhere, totally unkempt. Whose responsibility is it to maintain gardens? Who provides the lawnmowers etc?

Typically a house will be provided without furniture. The tenant can seek a grant from DSP towards the cost of same.
    There will be a list of maintenance issues that are the responsibility of the tenant and a list of the issues that are the responsibility of the Council.
    These will vary from Council to Council

Keeping lawns tidy would be the tenants responsibility

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

NIMAN wrote: »
    How come that story didn't get the media attention that Mags Cash did?

There's 2 more children involved?

Ms Jones has 9 children, 3 by 3 men.

Her partner has 4 more by somebody else, 13 kids in total but only 9 classed as homeless.

They are both looking for houses of their own and do not plan on living together.

While it did get national coverage, it didn't get the same level of coverage as Ms Cash as it is now proven that Ms Cash outwitted the entire homeless population by camping out in a garda station with children knowing she couldn't be turned away and turned the media circus into her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 LarryMurphy69

And loook! She got a house.

Would rather see some genuine people get taken care of instead.

Relevant

7783_420e_500.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Ms Jones got very upset on Facebook after that interview. In plain English he destroyed her, something only Vincent Browne is capable of.

Sweet Lord, I listened to that podcast...yer woman is another major drain on our society and finances.

Between her and Cash, they are 2 real basket cases.

And loook! She got a house.

Would rather see some genuine people get taken care of instead.

The Gardaí are looking for you Larry

Nice first post by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,485 ✭✭✭Damien360

bobbyss wrote: »

Typically a house will be provided without furniture. The tenant can seek a grant from DSP towards the cost of same.
    There will be a list of maintenance issues that are the responsibility of the tenant and a list of the issues that are the responsibility of the Council.

White goods are always supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 LarryMurphy69

The Gardaí are looking for you Larry

Nice first post by the way

There's actually a hurler called Larry Murphy..... I realize now that my name looks really stupid LOL.

Imagine the exceptional needs payment for Ms Cash. What is the average payment from the Welfare for furnishing properties nowadays?

Not by the Council

There's actually a hurler called Larry Murphy..... I realize now that my name looks really stupid LOL.

Yes the Wexford hurler, even he must feel awkward being in the county next door.

Ask an admin for a name change given the current media frenzy about him, that is usually only for subscribers but i'm sure an exception would be made in your particular case.

Not by the Council

The council just hand you the 4 walls, the welfare hand you 'the cash'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

I would love if Cash did an interview with Niall Boylan. Check out this interview he did with the British woman who was living with her 9 kids on a beach in Cork, in which he asks all the questions that Miriam would run a mile from.

http://www.theniallboylanshow.com/podcasts/interview-mother-9-living-makeshift-tents-cork-beach-family/

That's a pretty good interview. He asks the questions but is fair on the whole in his presentation. It's the answers and rationale given for the family situation that really shed light on the thinking. I don't think anyone in RTE is capable or allowed to run that type of interview, maybe Paddy O'Gorman in a roundabout kinda way.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Sweet Lord, I listened to that podcast...yer woman is another major drain on our society and finances.

Between her and Cash, they are 2 real basket cases.

Ms Cash's husband is doing porridge at Michael D's pleasure and Ms Jones 'significant other' is an unemployed grafter.

Don't forget the traveller couple in Fermoy as well on top of these 2 cases.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    That's a pretty good interview. He asks the questions but is fair on the whole in his presentation. It's the answers and rationale given for the family situation that really shed light on the thinking.
    RTE wouldn't dream of doing an interview like that as in their eyes it isn't 'value for money for the licence fee payers'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

There will be no enforcement whatsoever. Take a walk a round any of the estates and have a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Grand Canal Dock area - rents are e3500 for a 2 bedroom apartment, yet 40% of housing in the area is social housing tenants.
    Thats pretty extreme.

Well I'll bet the social housing was there long before the area was redeveloped and became fashionable.

Blazer wrote: »
    Oh look at you all high and mighty. Looking at most posters on this thread shows that most working are disgusted by what’s she getting. We’re disgusted with the system.

Accusations of high and mighty are going to get us nowhere for a start. You’re acting all high and mighty with regard to Ms. Cash, and you think I’m acting all high and mighty with you because I point out that for all you think you’re contributing to humanity you actually haven’t contributed anything. I guess we measure our humanity by different standards.

I’m looking at this thread and it’s been a handful of pretty much the same contributors throughout. How you can extrapolate that to imagine they represent the opinions of the vast majority of people in employment in Ireland is based upon nothing more than simply what you want to believe must be true of other people. I’m simply pointing out to you that your belief is on very shaky foundations.

I’d quite happily fund all these if it made a difference in the long run but it doesn’t.
    It’s just encouraging more people to sit on their asses for a free home.
    Answer me this? How long can this continue on?
    What are the long term impacts of the government not addressing this right now?

You’re not funding anything. That’s the point. The funding for any services or assistance which is provided by the State is funded by Revenue. You would still be paying the same amount of tax even if all people who are categorised as homeless were housed, and you would have no choice in how much taxes are deducted from your income to fund Government income and expenditure. There’s plenty of initiatives and policies I don’t support the Government funding, but I understand they are necessary for what is referred to in the Irish Constitution as the State acting in the interests of achieving ‘the common good’ of Irish society.

How long can it continue on? As long as Government aren’t willing to adequately address the issue, which appears to be what motivated Ms. Cash to take the actions she did. She wants to be part of the settled community and wants her children to be educated and wants to try and keep them in a mainstream school, and in that way she is contributing to society, but she too, like yourself, feels that she isn’t receiving adequate support from Government.

What are the long term impacts of Government not addressing these issues right now? Well, you’re seeing them, because since the foundation of the State, Governments have never adequately addressed these issues, and that’s why you still have people in this thread making the same comments people did about how to deal with the people they saw as the underclass nearly 100 years ago when the Poor Laws were introduced in 1831 that led to the establishment of workhouses which later became the Mother and Baby homes and which we now like to pretend people in society then didn’t know what was going on. They did, but then, as now, they just didn’t care as long as it didn’t affect them - out of sight, out of mind.

I think Ms. Cash has done a great service to humanity by highlighting the issue and putting herself forward to be slaughtered on social media. Whether one agrees or disagrees with her actions, there can be no doubt that she has done more to highlight the issue of homelessness than any of the three-piece suit brigade playing respectability politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Imagine the exceptional needs payment for Ms Cash. What is the average payment from the Welfare for furnishing properties nowadays?

What is exceptional needs payment? Another payment?

Ginger83 wrote: »
    What is exceptional needs payment? Another payment?
    Yes it is a one off payment for exceptional needs such as furnishing a property,clothes etc. It can run into a few thousand, I've seen figures on here before of single people getting 5k in the boom times, no idea what a mother of 7(8?) would get now as it has apparently changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Yes it is a one off payment for exceptional needs such as furnishing a property,clothes etc. It can run into a few thousand, I've seen figures on here before of single people getting 5k in the boom times, no idea what a mother of 7(8?) would get now as it has apparently changed.

Jesus :eek: what a soft touch we really are