If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

We're in the worst possible solution right now with gov massively subsidising private landlords and paying extortianate rents to them. It is time for a largescale public housing building programme.

Have you a costing for this to the tax payer?

Personally I don’t want my taxes been spent building free houses for leeches and spongers who don’t even pay the 40 euro a week rent.

No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

She is whinging about 4 LUAS trips a day for school runs, what happened to the €10k motor she was looking to buy last February as per her Facebook page?

Is she now looking for a free travel pass for herself and each of the childer?
    The facebook page posted on tgis thread is not her

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Here's the real problem: if nothing is done to discourage ...

Here's the thing. Absolutely NOTHING will be done. Nothing.

As much as I agree with the sentiment of this thread, it will ultimately be forgotten in a couple of months.

On this thread and others that have sprung up in it's wake, there have been calls to boycott the media, complain to local representatives, start a new political party etc.

None of that will happen.

As bad as the media have been with this story, they got one thing right. The criticism and real questions have come from "keyboard warriors".

As much as that term seems dismissive, I would say it's right. A few thousand posts with a few hundred thanks is all we can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,767 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I really feel sorry for people living in that neck of the woods.

You really shouldn't, it's a sh1thole of a town because the people there make no effort to improve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

The facebook page posted on tgis thread is not her

Her own Facebook page that showed everything before she put it on private is where the €10k car comment was, not the link posted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,712 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

You really shouldn't, it's a sh1thole of a town because the people there make no effort to improve it.

Outside of the towns around Manchester like Stockport, Oldham, Bolton, Bury, Warrington etc, is there a bigger collection of shtholes in such close proximity in Western Europe? Ballinasloe, Athlone, Longford, Birr, Portumna, Roscommon etc.

Thing is who will replace her that is suitable?

Can’t be any worse that her surely.

Here's the thing. Absolutely NOTHING will be done. Nothing.

As much as I agree with the sentiment of this thread, it will ultimately be forgotten in a couple of months.

On this thread and others that have sprung up in it's wake, there have been calls to boycott the media, complain to local representatives, start a new political party etc.

None of that will happen.

As bad as the media have been with this story, they got one thing right. The criticism and real questions have come from "keyboard warriors".

As much as that term seems dismissive, I would say it's right. A few thousand posts with a few hundred thanks is all we can do.

Make the thread an After Hours sticky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,677 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Good question and one I can't answer, the hard left loons and SF just want to hammer people who work with taxes and the main parties are too spineless to criticize people like Cash.

Great. At least there is now the mass realisation that fg talking about looking after the workers was Leo the liar talking more s**t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

backspin. wrote: »
    Hard to know what they teach at journalism school these days but getting to the truth doesn't seem to be on the program.

A sensationalist headline is more important,they gotta get the clicks. What's more sensational during a housing crisis than a mother and 7 kids sleeping in a cop shop. Just don't bother investigation into the back story and her apparently refusing a house before this stunt.
    The follow up stories are just as bad, you'd swear it was some kind of triumph for humanity as she got a top dollar 3 bed apartment in the city that "doesn't really suit".

I can see Leo getting into bed with Mary Lou after the next election, then there’ll be mayhem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Great. At least there is now the mass realisation that fg talking about looking after the workers was Leo the liar talking more s**t!

Any suggestions of a better alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I can see Leo getting into bed with Mary Lou after the next election, then there’ll be mayhem

Car crash coalition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭wetlandsboy

I would love if Cash did an interview with Niall Boylan. Check out this interview he did with the British woman who was living with her 9 kids on a beach in Cork, in which he asks all the questions that Miriam would run a mile from.

http://www.theniallboylanshow.com/podcasts/interview-mother-9-living-makeshift-tents-cork-beach-family/

I would love if Cash did an interview with Niall Boylan. Check out this interview he did with the British woman who was living with her 9 kids on a beach in Cork, in which he asks all the questions that Miriam would run a mile from.

http://www.theniallboylanshow.com/podcasts/interview-mother-9-living-makeshift-tents-cork-beach-family/

Ms Jones got very upset on Facebook after that interview. In plain English he destroyed her, something only Vincent Browne is capable of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,516 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Donald Trump type (Michael O’Leary) . A person who doesn’t give a fcuk who they offend. That’s the way it’s headed. The unemployment rate was at close to 15% and the social welfare spend was €20b. It’s now at 5-6% and this figure hasn’t budged. So obviously the dip in unemployment payments have beenreplaced with something else. None of the clowns in power have the balls or inclination to tackle this.

It’s easier for Trump to win it.
    There’s really only 2 parties in the US ; Democrats and Republicans.
    And you vote for whichever candidate your party nominates.
    As someone said you don’t need to campaign for your side. It’s the 20% of voters in the middle who you need to campaign for.
    Here we’re not really like that. I voted FG the last two elections. The first time to make sure FF didn’t get in and the second time because we didn’t want to upset the recovery which a lot of middle class did. No matter what SF say they would hammer the middle and upper class to provide all their voters with fre houses etc etc. they want everything for free and anyone esrnomg over 40k to pay for it.
    Labour has an opportunity but they quickly showed their colors in one of the most despicable turnabouts I’ve ever seen in a party.
    FF can’t be trusted yet and FG are showing their true colors also. A despicable party who don’t give a crap about anyone. And Vradkar is continuing that role...
    The time is for a new party in the middle who promises to tackle welfare, public sector, crime and tax.
    Sure we might pay a bit more but in the long term it would be worth it I hope.

Any suggestions of a better alternative?
    Yes. Renua. As many will sneer at that.(despite them being against welfare increases and rewarding workers) which is what this thread is about. Let’s all rejoice in being able to keep thigs exactly as they are come next election ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Omackeral wrote: »
    Do you have a job? Do you work? Do you work hard? Do you get up early? Do you come home late? Do you miss putting your kids to bed because you've been at work? Do you work through the night ever? Do you do back to back shifts? Do you work weekends? Bank holidays? Christmas Day? Do you ever sh*t yourself because there's another bill coming in and you're wondering how you're gonna pay it?

If the answer to any of the above is yes, well then all I can say is you're either the most understanding person I've ever encountered..... or a complete walkover deluded mug.

Yes to all of the above apart from the mug bit... nor do I think that Margaret Cash didn t know what she was doing when she went public with her situation and like other posters have stated got what she was entitled to. She hasn t broken the law... I know people are angry and disillusioned with working hard and feeling unfairly treated so am I , especially knowing that this time next month it's liable to be dark, dreary and drizzly going and coming to work with the onset of a long winter but I'm ****ed if Im going to stand by and watch this young one and her children be scapegoated by a mob ... There are **** loads of reforms needed in this country so that hard working people are rewarded for working hard the social welfare system is just one small part of it....but punishing the poor and treating this woman and those like her as if she were a David Drumm, or a Charlie Haughey or even a Kinihan is part of the problem. So if you think that s the words of a walkover deluded mug so be it. I 've my own impression of you and your life from your posts but Ill hold on to it, there s enough agitation and anger already in this thread, and I'm too long in the tooth to be making faces at strangers on the internet.

Here we go, 4/5 bed log log cabins from a supplier on donedeal for e15,000. 3 beds are ten k. Imagine what these could be bought for in bulk from Eastern Europe... before people say you’ll only get ten -twenty years out of them, LOL, don’t talk through your ass. The state has masses of land in Dublin, there is virtual free shell of a house. Fit it out and furnish it for another few thousand...

https://www.donedeal.ie/gardensheds-for-sale/4-5-bedroom-log-cabin-1250sq-ft/19574341

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,485 ✭✭✭Damien360

Enough of the let's send her to Ballinasloe or Longford. Kids schools are hard enough to get into and resettle kids into. Those areas have their own collection of layabouts without sending more to them.

In her case, Dublin has excellent public transport and it is not unreasonable to ask her to be anywhere in Dublin for her "forever" home. But, she shouldn't have a choice when it comes for free and at taxpayers expense.

Council flats are a non-runner. It has been tried in Galway (Rahoon), Ballymun and inner city Dublin. It doesn't work.

People need to be making large contributions to their home even when subsided as it then seen as your own and you will care for it. But 4 walls should be the entire contribution, white goods are your problem, leaks after a time (let's call it a warranty) all your own problem. You need to work to pay for all that. Lots of older council estates with good people all working and not creaming it off.

Large scale council homes developments with priority to low pay taxpayers. It would also take the wind out of the sails of the out of control rents which are also effecting working taxpayers.

Danny I would agree with you in so far as that, it’s the politicians supporting and enabling her behavior and the system. Honestly, what she did is a no brainer. She spent a night in a Garda station with her kids for one night and by doing that , ensured a fantastic outcome for herself and family ... also the politicians have created this outrageous housing crisis, that wasn’t her doing as much as it wasn’t any of ours posting here ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Blazer wrote: »
    Nice attitude. Regardless of the op’s job role and whether he’s on boards or not during it he’s still paying usc,prsi and paye which is a damn sight more than Mrs Cash is or is ever likely to.
    Not only is she coining it in to the tune of 55k a year but it’s cost us around 80-100k to keep her husband in jail.
    Also from the numerous robberies her husbands taken part in they’re obviously bringing in a bit of cash on the side as well. I doubt they’re declaring that to revenue.
    Point is they’re leeches on society and provide no service to humanity whatsoever.

You think people with your attitude towards people are providing a service to humanity or something?

Personally, I find your attitude towards other people despicable. It may get you plenty of thanks and all, but what have you actually accomplished or done for humanity? The answer IMO, is nothing. I wouldn’t want to live in the sort of society you envision if that’s how you regard people, but I never actually have to worry about that because as much as you’ll ever do is just complain and point fingers. Action certainly won’t be any part of your manifesto. You expect everyone else to take action, while you sit back and enjoy the fruits of their labour.

How you imagine your attitude is any different to the people you’re criticising is beyond me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,413 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Rennaws wrote: »
    Agreed. We need someone with the balls to enact massive reform of our welfare system and who doesn’t give a ****e about the bleeding heart liberals..

Instead we keep getting gutless weasels..

There has to be a tipping point for those of us funding this laziness, incompetence and greed.

The problem is, our politicians have one aim in their political career, and thats to get re-elected next time round....and so on.

They have zero interest in the greater good of the country. Thats irrelevant to them.
    Make things better? No interest.
    Do away with waste? No interest.
    Make systems more efficient? No interest.

One goal, themselves. Look after No.1.

You think people with your attitude towards people are providing a service to humanity or something?

Personally, I find your attitude towards other people despicable. It may get you plenty of thanks and all, but what have you actually accomplished or done for humanity? The answer IMO, is nothing. I wouldn’t want to live in the sort of society you envision if that’s how you regard people, but I never actually have to worry about that because as much as you’ll ever do is just complain and point fingers. Action certainly won’t be any part of your manifesto. You expect everyone else to take action, while you sit back and enjoy the fruits of their labour.

How you imagine your attitude is any different to the people you’re criticising is beyond me tbh.

Well I estimate over my working life so far I’ve contributed over 500k to the taxpayers coffers.
    I don’t engage in criminal behavior such as preying on the weak and elderly or rob them of their savings etc.
    I don’t expect society to pay my way and in 30 years of working I’ve only been on welfare twice for a combined period of 3 months.
    I didn’t have qualifications stating out, worked long hard hours in bar work till I make a move into a company and worked my way up through at least 7 promotions to where I am today.
    So all in all I’m a pretty productive member of society.
    So there’s a few reasons on my behalf.
    And if you had read my previous posts you’d know I’m not against welfare or social housing..we should provide for those less well off... but there’s a huge difference between being looked after and being entitled to everything.

Tell you what...give me just one way she contributes to society for Mrs Cash???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭alias no.9

NIMAN wrote: »
    The problem is, our politicians have one aim in their political career, and thats to get re-elected next time round....and so on.

They have zero interest in the greater good of the country. Thats irrelevant to them.
    Make things better? No interest.
    Do away with waste? No interest.
    Make systems more efficient? No interest.

One goal, themselves. Look after No.1.

Well it is often said that most public representatives know exactly what needs to be done, they just have no idea how to get re-elected afterwards.

Maybe the core of the problem is that we have career politicians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Well I estimate over my working life so far I’ve contributed over 500k to the taxpayers coffers.
    I don’t engage in criminal behavior such as preying on the weak and elderly or rob them of their savings etc.
    I don’t expect society to pay my way and in 30 years of working I’ve only been on welfare twice for a combined period of 3 months.
    I didn’t have qualifications stating out, worked long hard hours in bar work till I make a move into a company and worked my way up through at least 7 promotions to where I am today.
    So all in all I’m a pretty productive member of society.
    So there’s a few reasons on my behalf.
    And if you had read my previous posts you’d know I’m not against welfare or social housing..we should provide for those less well off... but there’s a huge difference between being looked after and being entitled to everything.

Tell you what...give me just one way she contributes to society for Mrs Cash???

You shouldn't even have dignified that post with a response. Nothing wrong with your attitude - it's one that's shared by many hard working people throughout the country. No need to justify yourself to a random boards.ie user seeking some sort of morale high ground.

Oh yeah. But I want to see if he can provide one :)
    The problem is these are the people who are shouting loudest while the rest of us are keeping our heads down and working away. He is right in thAt regard but I had already addressed that in a previous point.
    As many people were hoping Renua would be a viable party but they have religious zealots on their side which I refuse to associate with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Oh yeah. But I want to see if he can provide one :)
    The problem is these are the people who are shouting loudest while the rest of us are keeping our heads down and working away. He is right in thAt regard but I had already addressed that in a previous point.
    As many people were hoping Renua would be a viable party but they have religious zealots on their side which I refuse to associate with.

Moral high ground me bollix. I didn’t ask you to justify yourself at all, I’m not interested in your personal circumstances or what you think means you’re making a contribution to society. It’s your attitude towards other people that stinks. I don’t have to justify anything on Ms. Cash’s behalf either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Moral high ground me bollix. I didn’t ask you to justify yourself at all, I’m not interested in your personal circumstances or what you think means you’re making a contribution to society. It’s your attitude towards other people that stinks. I don’t have to justify anything on Ms. Cash’s behalf either.

Thinly disguised as I can't

Well you did ask me if I was contributing to society.
    In other words you are contributing nothing to this thread then. Why are you even here then?