If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,692 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Blazer wrote: »
    Nice attitude. Regardless of the op’s job role and whether he’s on boards or not during it he’s still paying usc,prsi and paye which is a damn sight more than Mrs Cash is or is ever likely to.
    Not only is she coining it in to the tune of 55k a year but it’s cost us around 80-100k to keep her husband in jail.
    Also from the numerous robberies her husbands taken part in they’re obviously bringing in a bit of cash on the side as well. I doubt they’re declaring that to revenue.
    Point is they’re leeches on society and provide no service to humanity whatsoever.

When people dont want to change this "unjust" system then why should others feel bad for them?

The same people spend years moaning about the same things :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,516 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

pjohnson wrote: »
    When people dont want to change this "unjust" system then why should others feel bad for them?

The same people spend years moaning about the same things :pac:

It’s very hard to change the system. Any new party coming onboard faces not only hostile opposition but a hostile media as well who are basically lapdogs of the last few governments.
    Plus the people who want change are people who are already working to provide for their families.
    It’s not like they’re teachers or workers in the public sector who can have their jobs held open for them if they did indeed run for election.
    The whole political scene in Ireland is set up for family dynasties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,766 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It’s very hard to change the system. Any new party coming onboard faces not only hostile opposition but a hostile media as well who are basically lapdogs of the last few governments.
    Plus the people who want change are people who are already working to provide for their families.
    It’s not like they’re teachers or workers in the public sector who can have their jobs held open for them if they did indeed run for election.

If enough of voters voiced their opposition at the next election to the way this country is turning into a welfare state then they would take notice.

Tell them the money should be spent on those who genuinely need it and not leeches like Cash and her scumbag husband who doesn't seem to know what a rubber is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

If enough of voters voiced their opposition at the next election to the way this country is turning into a welfare state then they would take notice.

Tell them the money should be spent on those who genuinely need it and not leeches like Cash and her scumbag husband who doesn't seem to know what a rubber is for.

Genuine question, who do we vote for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Her initial elation of having a place to stay can't last. Seven in an apartment? All those young kids. Nowhere to let off steam. I don't think this story is finished yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,692 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Then use social media. Trump overcame the big mean "fake news"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Donald Trump type (Michael O’Leary) . A person who doesn’t give a fcuk who they offend. That’s the way it’s headed. The unemployment rate was at close to 15% and the social welfare spend was €20b. It’s now at 5-6% and this figure hasn’t budged. So obviously the dip in unemployment payments have beenreplaced with something else. None of the clowns in power have the balls or inclination to tackle this.

bobbyss wrote: »
    Her initial elation of having a place to stay can't last. Seven in an apartment? All those young kids. Nowhere to let off steam. I don't think this story is finished yet.

I’m not sure but I think that you can only turn down accommodation a certain number of times. She may be stuck there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I’m not sure but I think that you can only turn down accommodation a certain number of times. She may be stuck there

For council houses this is true but I'm not sure that rule applies to emergency housing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We definitely haven't heard the last of this one, thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Viscosity1 wrote: »
    I think that's the way things will continue to go. From what I've read, the council inspect the property and the landlord is responsible for maintenance from the proceeds. Goes back to my point that its the back-end of this that makes it unsustainable for local authorities.

I think its whether we accept that these homes won't be held by tenant for the rest of their days. Rental market is chaotic. No easy solution unfortunately.

We're in the worst possible solution right now with gov massively subsidising private landlords and paying extortianate rents to them. It is time for a largescale public housing building programme.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

It's like that old joke,the mother and father are in the iron and steel business. The mother irons and the father steals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Has anyone had the balls to ask Cash in her interviews why doesnt she try work and rent her own abode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Field east

arctictree wrote: »
    A number of conflicting reports as to why she was homeless in the first place. She says the house she was renting was repossessed. Others say that she was evicted for not paying her part of the rent. Anyone know the truth?

Will you ‘ get up the yard’ with that aul nonsense and destroy a good all banter for all of us boardies. The next thing you will be asking is how many fathers’ were involved- if more than one. Then you will be asking the weekly maintenance contributions made from that source. You will then be on to the level of the POTENTIAL family support around Ms Cash , re providing accomodation, if any - such as parents, brothers, sisters, uncles , aunts, grand parents, god parents ( to herself, partner/s, and her seven children) first/second cousins, friends
    And for good measure you will be then asking about her previous accomodation record over, say , the last 10 years.
    You should know by now that the media have no interest in delving into those areas because it could kill a ‘ good story’ stone dead

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,415 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It is time for a largescale public housing building programme.
    How exactly will that solve the problem of lazy spongers looking for a forever home whilst genuine cases are pushed down the list.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You are daft if you think our media would :

1) Do a proper investigation of this case
    or
    2) Ask her any serious and difficult questions

No harm but listening to this girl chat, she doesn't come across as bright. Any interviewer worth their salt could destroy her in a radio interview with a handful of simple questions we all want asked:

1) So Margaret, tell us about your criminal record
    2) So Mags, how much does the father contribute to your kids upkeep
    3) Tell us exactly how you came to lose your last accommodation
    4) Why didn't you accept that property you were offered the night before you dragged your kids to a police station
    5) how many jobs have you applied for in your life
    6) Do you want work
    7) Why did you decide to have so many kids when you have no permanent accommodation and have been on a housing list for 11 years....or is it 6yrs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭HIB

they have to occupy productive accommodation, because they need accommodation. hence they are in accommodation. all accommodation is productive. they are in the county that funds them, because it's where they are from, and it has the resources to deal with them. the rest of the country has it's own people needing help, so people like miss cash from dublin, are your problem.

Unfortunately not true. She’s not just the problem of people from Dublin. All our tax contributes towards housing her, regardless of where we are from.

She should be housed in the cheapest place possible I.e. outside Dublin. And tough if she doesn’t like it. You can’t get everything you want. Especially not when you’re depending on the charity of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

rafatoni wrote: »
    Has anyone had the balls to ask Cash in her interviews why doesnt she try work and rent her own abode?

Don't be asking silly questions.people who work are only f*****g idiots.no sympathy to be gained from the media for such a novel idea.

Good question and one I can't answer, the hard left loons and SF just want to hammer people who work with taxes and the main parties are too spineless to criticize people like Cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭HIB

And another point worth making:

She gets a little over 2500/mth in welfare payments, by my reckoning.

Working off my own family budget(and making appropriate adjustments to food and clothing budgets to account for 6 kids), that’s more than enough to pay for everything she needs, including the running of a car, and she’ll still have up to 50-75 euro/ week left over for whatever luxuries she wants.

She could live in the arse end of nowhere. She doesn’t need any extra ‘resources’ or help.

Although anyone in Regina Doherty's constituency should ask her about hiking up taxes to pay for the welfare spent when she comes to the door looking for their number 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

She is whinging about 4 LUAS trips a day for school runs, what happened to the €10k motor she was looking to buy last February as per her Facebook page?

Is she now looking for a free travel pass for herself and each of the childer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Donald Trump type (Michael O’Leary) . A person who doesn’t give a fcuk who they offend. That’s the way it’s headed. The unemployment rate was at close to 15% and the social welfare spend was €20b. It’s now at 5-6% and this figure hasn’t budged. So obviously the dip in unemployment payments have beenreplaced with something else. None of the clowns in power have the balls or inclination to tackle this.

Agreed. We need someone with the balls to enact massive reform of our welfare system and who doesn’t give a ****e about the bleeding heart liberals..

Instead we keep getting gutless weasels..

There has to be a tipping point for those of us funding this laziness, incompetence and greed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Although anyone in Regina Doherty's constituency should ask her about hiking up taxes to pay for the welfare spent when she comes to the door looking for their number 1.

Doherty has shown herself to be an arrogant something or another while in the dail. Combined with her business going tits up if she is re-elected then I question the mentality of the constituents unless they are all in Ms Cash’s class which would explain it.

HIB wrote: »
    And another point worth making:

She gets a little over 2500/mth in welfare payments, by my reckoning.

Working off my own family budget(and making appropriate adjustments to food and clothing budgets to account for 6 kids), that’s more than enough to pay for everything she needs, including the running of a car, and she’ll still have up to 50-75 euro/ week left over for whatever luxuries she wants.

She could live in the arse end of nowhere. She doesn’t need any extra ‘resources’ or help.

Lots of houses in Ballinasloe for 800 per month and all the support she needs from the members of the ethnic minority there.

She would feel right at home.

Lots of houses in Ballinasloe for 800 per month and all the support she needs from the members of the ethnic minority there.

She would feel right at home.

I really feel sorry for people living in that neck of the woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Here's the real problem: if nothing is done to discourage the financial rape of the country by the lazy, able bodied, non contributors of society, constantly pumping out future non contributors, at some point the balance will tip the whole thing on it's head. At that point the people paying for this mess will either have to join the taking side, as they can't afford to give any more, or leave the country for work, somewhere they can afford to have a life as well as work.

What happens then? When the money just isn't there to fund the scroungers? We must be very close to that point already. As a country, we are spending more than we generate. When there are less generators, the whole thing will surely collapse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Squatter

Melendez wrote: »

If that are left with those two parents then it's probably only a matter of time. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

NIMAN wrote: »
    You are daft if you think our media would :

1) Do a proper investigation of this case
    or
    2) Ask her any serious and difficult questions

No harm but listening to this girl chat, she doesn't come across as bright. Any interviewer worth their salt could destroy her in a radio interview with a handful of simple questions we all want asked:

1) So Margaret, tell us about your criminal record
    2) So Mags, how much does the father contribute to your kids upkeep
    3) Tell us exactly how you came to lose your last accommodation
    4) Why didn't you accept that property you were offered the night before you dragged your kids to a police station
    5) how many jobs have you applied for in your life
    6) Do you want work
    7) Why did you decide to have so many kids when you have no permanent accommodation and have been on a housing list for 11 years....or is it 6yrs?

Hard to know what they teach at journalism school these days but getting to the truth doesn't seem to be on the program.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Doherty has shown herself to be an arrogant something or another while in the dail. Combined with her business going tits up if she is re-elected then I question the mentality of the constituents unless they are all in Ms Cash’s class which would explain it.

Thing is who will replace her that is suitable?