New England Patriots Thread Mod Warning Post #253

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭TOss Sweep

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    He's had no luck since he was traded to the bills.

Injuries the reason the Pats released him

paulie21 wrote: »
    Sony Michel suffered injury at practice camp. If it’s his knee have to doubt he’ll comeback and a waste of 1st round pick

He was walking by himself and didn't look to be in too much pain. Don't jump to conclusions the way some in the media are already doing. Injuries happen especially at RB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,783 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I've an honest question for pats fans. I'm not hoping this happens anytime soon btw but I saw it asked on another forum so said I'd ask it here.

What happenes to the patriots when belichick and Brady do retire(and it will happen) ? I mean do the structures and culture that have been there for their time there keep the franchise to the very lofty heights it's been at, or does it become like Manchester United after Sir Matt busby and Alex ferguson, still a big club but not as successful ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭JaMarcus

Eric Decker signed to a 1 year deal.

We're all thinking the same thing. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Shedite27

I've an honest question for pats fans. I'm not hoping this happens anytime soon btw but I saw it asked on another forum so said I'd ask it here.

What happenes to the patriots when belichick and Brady do retire(and it will happen) ? I mean do the structures and culture that have been there for their time there keep the franchise to the very lofty heights it's been at, or does it become like Manchester United after Sir Matt busby and Alex ferguson, still a big club but not as successful ?
    With the rate that players turnover I'd be surprised if they could keep up the same level. Depends on who the new head coach is as much as anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,047 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

As long as Bob Kraft is healthy and owns the Patriots it will be good. When he goes I'll get worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,783 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

eagle eye wrote: »
    As long as Bob Kraft is healthy and owns the Patriots it will be good. When he goes I'll get worried.

Are you saying son of Bob won't do a good job ? From the interviews I've seen of the two, the apple hasn't fallen that far from the tree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Depends on what is left behind when they retire. Ferguson didn't leave a great squad when he went, and they've struggled since.
    The current Patriot Way is Bills Way. And it'll very likely change when he goes.
    When Brady goes, the drop to the next QB will be huge (even if he's very good) as you lose the greatest QB. Just look at the rest of the teams in AFC East since Brady's time; getting a very good QB isn't easy. Green Bay have Arron Rodgers, and still only have made it to one SB in his time (10 years).

So what'll happen? No idea. It certainly won't be another 20 years like the one we have had. But that's ok. They'll still be the Pats :)

Like any sport it all depends on who the next coach is and how good he is at finding talent. There will always be transition. Kraft seems to know whats up about managing his organization so you know he will be trying to find the next best coach to fill extremely large shoes.

Really hard to say though what will happen so many factors play into it. Sure the Pats could fall of the radar for a few years but they could also hit jackpot with another solid coach. Who knows at this point. Joys and tribulations of any team really that enjoyed long periods of success.

Mitchell has been released

JaMarcus wrote: »
    Mitchell has been released

Injury concerns and no one wanted to trade for him no surprises. He will be snapped up though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,047 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Very disappointed about Mitchell, I had high hopes although they were stating to wane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

eagle eye wrote: »
    Very disappointed about Mitchell, I had high hopes although they were stating to wane.

I wonder if he'll continue to pursue a career. Apparently he passed his last medical for the team. He was a player I was excited to see after 51, damn shame that injuries have plagued him.

We're not having much luck with our offensive players so far. I hope Dorsett and Patterson can carry thru their camp performances into the season.

Defence looking very good, we actually appear to have a pass rush :eek:

Clayborne in particular has been excellent. Getting constant pressure on Foles and just had a strip sack which we returned for a TD.

However, in news that will surprise nobody, our other first round draft pick looks to have suffered a significant injury. Isaiah Wynn helped off the field, then taken from the sideline on a cart. Potentially an ankle or achilles injury. That's our 2 first rounders out for the foreseeable future.

Bentley looks fairly sharp and reads the game well. If he can carry that into the regular season our front 7 could be very aggressive for once.

Going to be interesting who our CBs end up being. Picture Jason McCourty getting cut to be honest not great in camp and hasn't shown a lot in this game anyways.

Love how we are using Patterson. Short passes and Screen passes and letting his speed and movement do the work on the ground

Wynn out for the season with a torn achilles :rolleyes:

Fook sake

Thing is though I think we will be fine without him. Brown has shown he is good enough at LT and Cannon on the Right and we have enough help on the inside. Should be fine barring no more OL injuries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

TOss Sweep wrote: »
    Thing is though I think we will be fine without him. Brown has shown he is good enough at LT and Cannon on the Right and we have enough help on the inside. Should be fine barring no more OL injuries
    Agreed. What we can't afford to lose is anyone on defense. Brady (nice to see him moving well in the pocket) will do enough with the offense. The defense just has to be better this year to stand a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

TOss Sweep wrote: »
    Bentley looks fairly sharp and reads the game well. If he can carry that into the regular season our front 7 could be very aggressive for once.
    I was very excited by his pick in the draft, he seems to be living up to the film so far.
    We've lacked that aggressive, downhill force from our backers in recent years, really promising start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,798 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

https://twitter.com/ezlazar/status/1031625414014365698?s=21

Saw this on reddit earlier on - always a good sign when one of your defensive leaders is saying something like this.

Kenny Britt joins Mitchell and Matthews in the dole queue - he's been cut.

Fairly slim on the ol' WRs lads! Must be some confidence in Patterson and Dorsett. I'd add Decker to that list but I'd read he's been really struggling to pick things up.

Here's hoping Berrios makes the team, though he missed some time this week too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Fairly slim on the ol' WRs lads! Must be some confidence in Patterson and Dorsett. I'd add Decker to that list but I'd read he's been really struggling to pick things up.

I think he'll at least make the Practice squad. Very much in the mold of Danny. I think he could be very good down the line.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Dez is on the way...

https://www.cbssports.com/nfl/news/dez-bryant-sounds-like-he-might-be-interested-in-playing-for-the-patriots/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

There is a reason that he is a still a FA and even the Browns won't even pick him up, he's a locker room cancer and well past is best. Pats won't touch him.

Matthew Slater currently terrified he'll actually have to line up on offense this season.

We wont sign Bryant. Many reports saying we don't want him.

He doesn't fit our scheme at all, slow, can't get separation, and hobbled by injuries.

I think we'll be Grand for receiving threats this year. Dorsett, Hollister, Patterson could all be excellent options. Then there's rookies like McCarron and Berrios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,520 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Hazys wrote: »
    There is a reason that he is a still a FA and even the Browns won't even pick him up, he's a locker room cancer and well past is best. Pats won't touch him.
    Like Moss was? :pac:

Although I don't think Bryant's current ability would justify the locker room risk