Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

My money is on the 4/1 shot "the neighbours were racist".

The housewarming will be a blast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

The country needs more like you - do not get despondent.

Thank you Plane. I'm not being a martyr here because I know there are so many like me.

Her attitude really really peed me off. She was practically sneering at people who were criticising her (she doesn't care about abuse online or on social media cos she got what she wanted) she'll have another gaggle of kids once her fella gets out of Cloverhill and she'll demand an even bigger house. The traveller way might be for the woman to cook clean and have kids (her words) but why not be the one to say hang on I'll make something of myself..

As long as Ministers/their cronies have vested interests in the rental market then nothing will ever be done about rent caps or forcing landlords to accept HAP tenants but that's one side if it. Someone needs to take the bull by the horns and turn off this ever flowing welfare tap and make wholesale changes to the benefits system in this country so that those who genuinely need it most get it and those who don't need it as much get less

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

The housewarming will be a blast!

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Just call the Guards now!

It's not the forever home she's entitled to.

She wants the whole block.

Thank you Plane. I'm not being a martyr here because I know there are so many like me.

Her attitude really really peed me off. She was practically sneering at people who were criticising her (she doesn't care about abuse online or on social media cos she got what she wanted) she'll have another gaggle of kids once her fella gets out of Cloverhill and she'll demand an even bigger house. The traveller way might be for the woman to cook clean and have kids (her words) but why not be the one to say hang on I'll make something of myself..

As long as Ministers/their cronies have vested interests in the rental market then nothing will ever be done about rent caps or forcing landlords to accept HAP tenants but that's one side if it. Someone needs to take the bull by the horns and turn off this ever flowing welfare tap and make wholesale changes to the benefits system in this country so that those who genuinely need it most get it and those who don't need it as much get less

Well said. My auntie was around for the start of the Welfare State in the UK - her mam benefitted from a few extra shillings to help with the kids and with the NHS, health improved.

How it got from that to this situation I have no idea.

She wants the whole block hole blocked.

Took the liberty of fixing that Od - hope you don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Its on “trial”. You bet it “wont work out”.

"No room to display the crystal, nowhere to put the trampoline."

It's a cultural thing. You have it, they haven't. They want it so they just take it, and absolutely nothing is being done about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    To be fair, if you're an RTE Presenter then the amount Ms Cash gets off the taxpayer is in the ha'penny place, so Miriam probably does feel sorry for her.

Does Ms Cash pay TV license?

Took the liberty of fixing that Od - hope you don't mind.

Ha ha. Ya bollix, just spilled me coffee ....:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Silent Running

na1 wrote: »

She doesn't even pay for her TVs FFS.

Doesn't need one...she's homeless doncha know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Didn’t realise they were related.

Isn’t Miriam a qualified barrister herself?

Has a degree in law and briefly practiced as a solicitor before lucky old Tom McGurk (13 years her senior!) nabbed her.

It's a cultural thing. You have it, they haven't. They want it so they just take it, and absolutely nothing is being done about it.

We're a nation of grafters, of navvies - sure my own granddad hitched from the North to Cobh to get a boat to the US to work at the turn of the last century.

We emigrate when there is no work to places where we can get jobs.

As a nation we have a "culture" of hard work - why are these people not part of that ? I can only assume that they don't want to work and have never done so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

What's the answer to all this, and is this thread really reflective of a broader society view.

From what I hear welfare rates are going to be increased further in the budget. What will it take to change the system and do we really have the appetite to do so?

I hate to be negative but I think it's already a last cause and the growing shift further left, particularly in the media, it seems unlikely that there will ever be a public or political will to make tough choices and tackle this ****e.

As long as we have band aid Dáil we'll never get anywhere as well. People in this country are terrified to give any party a majority. Leaving aside individual political parties, the reality always is that compromise is required because of coalition, or worse, minority governments.

I find the whole thing, along with the justice system to be completely sickening to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Young wan on the LUAS earlier reading The S** and making comment to her boyfriend about how "evil people are" and how "when she is in charge everyone will have a house and an income and be safe and secure". (I think that'a the gist I was trying not to take any notice but the coverage slipped on the phone and the next choon hadn't started!).

Were we all that dumb as teenagers ????

Ah to be an idealistic youth. I was probably the same at 15

In a few years when she is paying her own rent and checking deductions from her pay slip she will change

She doesn't even pay for her TVs FFS.

Donated by a hardworking, mortgage paying homeowner from Wexford.

I'm going to guess "while they were out/asleep" ???

I don't think it took them too long!

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0209/851399-irish-traveller-genetics/

Waste of, well everything!

I think the cutest part is thinking 30 years is a generation to Travellers!
    Travelling community, representing 0.6% of the total population.

Would they do a stats of travelling community presence in the crime rate, or is it considered to be xenophobic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

We're a nation of grafters, of navvies - sure my own granddad hitched from the North to Cobh to get a boat to the US to work at the turn of the last century.

We emigrate when there is no work to places where we can get jobs.

As a nation we have a "culture" of hard work - why are these people not part of that ? I can only assume that they don't want to work and have never done so.

"Work and income
    According to the 2002 Irish census, "the labour force participation rate for male Travellers (72%) slightly exceeded that for total males (70%) while the rate for female Travellers (38%) was considerably below that for females in general (47%). Unemployment among male Travellers measured 73 percent according to the self-assessed principal economic status question on the census form. The national measure of unemployment for males on a comparable basis was 9.4 per cent according to the 2002 census results. Corresponding rates for females were 63 percent for female Travellers and 8 percent for the female population overall." [70]

Many Travellers are breeders of dogs such as greyhounds or lurchers and have a long-standing interest in horse trading. The main fairs associated with them are held annually at Ballinasloe (County Galway), Puck Fair (County Kerry), Ballabuidhe Horse Fair (County Cork), the twice yearly Smithfield Horse Fair (Dublin inner city) and Appleby (England).[71] They are often involved in dealing scrap metals, e.g., 60% of the raw material for Irish steel is sourced from scrap metal, approximately 50% (75,000 metric tonnes) segregated by the community at a value of more than £1.5 million. Such percentages for more valuable non-ferrous metals may be significantly greater.[72]

Since the majority of Irish Travellers' employment is either self-employment or wage labour, income and financial status varies greatly from family to family. Many families choose not to reveal the specifics of their finances, but when explained it is very difficult to detect any sort of pattern or regular trend of monthly or weekly income. To detect their financial status many look to the state of the possessions: their trailer, motor vehicle, domestic utensils, and any other valuables.[33](p63)"

I'm going to guess "while they were out/asleep" ???

Good guess

Its on “trial”. You bet it “wont work out”.
    I bet it will be unsuitable to live in within 12 months.

Turnipman wrote: »
    "Work and income
    According to the 2002 Irish census, "the labour force participation rate for male Travellers (72%) slightly exceeded that for total males (70%) while the rate for female Travellers (38%) was considerably below that for females in general (47%). Unemployment among male Travellers measured 73 percent according to the self-assessed principal economic status question on the census form. The national measure of unemployment for males on a comparable basis was 9.4 per cent according to the 2002 census results. Corresponding rates for females were 63 percent for female Travellers and 8 percent for the female population overall." [70]

Many Travellers are breeders of dogs such as greyhounds or lurchers and have a long-standing interest in horse trading. The main fairs associated with them are held annually at Ballinasloe (County Galway), Puck Fair (County Kerry), Ballabuidhe Horse Fair (County Cork), the twice yearly Smithfield Horse Fair (Dublin inner city) and Appleby (England).[71] They are often involved in dealing scrap metals, e.g., 60% of the raw material for Irish steel is sourced from scrap metal, approximately 50% (75,000 metric tonnes) segregated by the community at a value of more than £1.5 million. Such percentages for more valuable non-ferrous metals may be significantly greater.[72]

Since the majority of Irish Travellers' employment is either self-employment or wage labour, income and financial status varies greatly from family to family. Many families choose not to reveal the specifics of their finances, but when explained it is very difficult to detect any sort of pattern or regular trend of monthly or weekly income. To detect their financial status many look to the state of the possessions: their trailer, motor vehicle, domestic utensils, and any other valuables.[33](p63)"

And no mention of criminality - hello Martin Collins' editing Wikipedia there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

"No room to display the crystal, nowhere to put the trampoline."

"Can't get the piebald up the stair boss".

Would they do a stats of travelling community presence in the crime rate, or is it considered to be xenophobic?

Oh very much so!

Yet of interest I would say.

Nearest as this but is still a whiny, poor mistreated us nonsense!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/disproportionate-number-of-travellers-in-prison-population-1.3263524

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

I was reared by hard working parents too, although when I say reared by my parents I use the term loosely as I was more reared by my next door neighbour. While both my parents worked hard, they also took out their frustration and stress on their children whenever they were around. But of course none of the neighbors saw that side of them. Having been reared by a very kind neighbour still didn’t preclude me from finding myself homeless at 16 and there’s about a decade of my life is a bit sketchy due to alcoholism and drugs and what not. In all that time of course I too was judged as I would never make a good parent and all the rest of it and yada yada, pretty much the same stuff that’s been said about the woman in question here.

The thing is, the same people condemning this woman are the same people who will give it wellly about the terrible state of mental health services in this country and how people are suffering and nobody knows what it’s like and all the rest of it. While it’s true that nobody else could possibly know what their life is like or what’s going on in their heads, the very same standards apply to the woman in question in this particular case.

I don’t mind admitting that I absolutely did want to get this thread shut down, from the very opening post, because I think Boards generally holds itself to a higher standard than these kinds of mob witch hunts against people who aren’t as fortunate as they are. I think it’s fair to say that none of us here, for all the condemnation and giving out that’s been done about her, would want to be in her circumstances.

This particular case isn’t making a mockery of anyone, it’s people themselves who are choosing to make a mockery of the woman in question in this particular case, because her life doesn’t fit with their perception of people who ‘deserve’ help from the State. It shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone that someone who finds themselves in those circumstances will never make for good PR as they too have a past, and they aren’t cookie cutter model citizens or they generally wouldn’t be homeless in the first place, let alone have a whole plethora of issues with their mental health.

As for what does or doesn’t make a decent person, given that we really know nothing of this woman, I also think it’s fair to say that I have no idea what she’s like as a person, I’ve no idea what people here are like, but given some of the comments in this thread from some posters who went way OTT IMO, ‘decent’ is not the first word that comes to mind tbh. I don’t agree with the woman in question in this particular case, but I also don’t agree with the way she has been torn apart and vilified on social media, and worst of all here, where I expected that people who go on so much about mental health and abuse and so on, wouldn’t be so quick to pass judgement on someone who is clearly experiencing difficulties in their life.

You are missing the central point in that she has SEVEN children by the age of 28. Their father/fathers are not in a position/unwilling to support the children they help create. This is not judging this is fact. It is not the job of the working to provide for those who create life in a reckless fashion. The reason most working couples have smaller families 2/3 kids is the cost of bringing them up.
    As for mobs and witch hunt the fact of the matter is those of who work are sick and tired of the entitlement culture which is endemic in this country. I have no ill will towards this woman and to an extent the social welfare system is to blame as well but she is not blameless.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/disproportionate-number-of-travellers-in-prison-population-1.3263524%3fmode=amp

“Travellers make up 0.6 per cent of the population yet account for 10 per cent of the male prisoner population and 22 per cent of the female prison population.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/disproportionate-number-of-travellers-in-prison-population-1.3263524%3fmode=amp

“Travellers make up 0.6 per cent of the population yet account for 10 per cent of the male prisoner population and 22 per cent of the female prison population.”

Any figures on the social welfare population they account for? Or the total value?

Oh very much so!

Yet of interest I would say.

Nearest as this but is still a whiny, poor mistreated us nonsense!

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/disproportionate-number-of-travellers-in-prison-population-1.3263524

I blame xenophobic judges!

Somehow can't see the feminist mob trumpeting this one!