Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

I can’t answer for you, but the reason why I don’t claim benefits is because I wouldn’t want to be on the other side of the counter to you when I’d be claiming benefits to which I am legally entitled and you’re eyeballing me like it’s coming out of your own pocket :pac:

If your question was meant to be asking why do you bother complaining about it, I don’t know.

I don’t work in a public office. I don’t judge anyone, only an exception or two when clearly people take advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Its about time they brought in the benefits cap here in Ireland like they have in the UK. There should be no incentive to have a very large family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,138 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

rom wrote: »
    Its about time they brought in the benefits cap here in Ireland like they have in the UK. There should be no incentive to have a very large family.

Amen to that. And the funny thing is the majority of people supported it and some thought it was still too high a figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭SpaceRocket

It's all kicking off now on her FB. ICHH and herself have a "plan" in place according to the CEO and this is why she is turning down the nightly accommodation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

It's all kicking off now on her FB. ICHH and herself have a "plan" in place according to the CEO and this is why she is turning down the nightly accommodation...

The politest way I could describe that Flynn lad would be to say that he has a great welcome for himself.

Don't see that but there should be a limit to how often you can try to help someone and them saying no - basically we offered somewhere five times, they refused so we now class them as not needing help from the homeless services.
    Move on to the next real homeless family

fritzelly wrote: »
    Don't see that but there should be a limit to how often you can try to help someone and them saying no - basically we offered somewhere five times, they refused so we now class them as not needing help from the homeless services.
    Move on to the next real homeless family

It's in the comments under this post

**UPDATE** so the council have been on to me they've offerd me nite by nite service.
    I have refused this as i have been going nite by nite for the last year. It wud mean i have to leave ay 9 in the mornin and i cant go back until after half 8 at night. In hail snow or rain they want me to walk dublin city wit 7 small kids and i cant do it no more im not able and the kids r not able😈😈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,745 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I thought you only had 3 refusals before you went back down the list.

But of course if you are a high profile case in the media eye, what council housing official would have the balls to tell this woman she's off down the list?

None.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭mikemac2

I see someone on her facebook is going to setup a crowdfunding/gofundme page to get her somewhere private

Anyone want to contribute? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,578 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I don’t work in a public office. I don’t judge anyone, only an exception or two when clearly people take advantage.

That gave me a giggle at least, it’s like the new “I’m not a racist, but...” :D

More to the point however is the fact that nobody is taking advantage of anything if they are simply claiming something to which they are legally entitled to claim for. You can’t blame individuals for claiming something which they are legally entitled to claim for. You would have a point if they were fraudulently claiming for something to which they are not entitled, but even people in employment are entitled to claim for financial assistance for various reasons from the State, so this idea that someone in employment wouldn’t receive as much in financial assistance from the State as someone who is unemployed, well there are reasons for that.

The number one reason of course is that they simply aren’t entitled to claim for payments to which they are not entitled. That would be fraud, and there has been no evidence of fraud in this particular case, so everyone appears to be getting their knickers in a bunch and venting their frustration at the wrong target. The individual in this particular case, or the individuals you refer to, aren’t taking advantage, and the main reason I can think you bother is because you wouldn’t want to be anything like them in their circumstances.

You really don’t have a legitimate grievance about anyone else’s circumstances if you’re only picking and choosing the bits that suit you. It makes you no different than someone who is claiming that they should have a house because they see everyone else has a house, completely ignoring the fact that people are entitled to own or rent property of their choosing when they’re paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

That gave me a giggle at least, it’s like the new “I’m not a racist, but...” :D

More to the point however is the fact that nobody is taking advantage of anything if they are simply claiming something to which they are legally entitled to claim for. You can’t blame individuals for claiming something which they are legally entitled to claim for. You would have a point if they were fraudulently claiming for something to which they are not entitled, but even people in employment are entitled to claim for financial assistance for various reasons from the State, so this idea that someone in employment wouldn’t receive as much in financial assistance from the State as someone who is unemployed, well there are reasons for that.

The number one reason of course is that they simply aren’t entitled to claim for payments to which they are not entitled. That would be fraud, and there has been no evidence of fraud in this particular case, so everyone appears to be getting their knickers in a bunch and venting their frustration at the wrong target. The individual in this particular case, or the individuals you refer to, aren’t taking advantage, and the main reason I can think you bother is because you wouldn’t want to be anything like them in their circumstances.

You really don’t have a legitimate grievance about anyone else’s circumstances if you’re only picking and choosing the bits that suit you. It makes you no different than someone who is claiming that they should have a house because they see everyone else has a house, completely ignoring the fact that people are entitled to own or rent property of their choosing when they’re paying for it.

You mean you can’t blame individuals for taking the piss out of our country? I suppose you’re right, we should all sit back, not work, mindlessly have kids and rake in the cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

NIMAN wrote: »
    I thought you only had 3 refusals before you went back down the list.

But of course if you are a high profile case in the media eye, what council housing official would have the balls to tell this woman she's off down the list?

None.

I don't think it's council houses she is turning down, not many council houses would fit that many people!

I think it's emergency housing and private houses with the landlord accepting HAP that she has been turning down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

And cash blocked the one that wanted to set up a Go fund me, called her a troll. Pmsl

mikemac2 wrote: »
    I see someone on her facebook is going to setup a crowdfunding/gofundme page to get her somewhere private

Anyone want to contribute? :pac:

It was already setup but ended after a few minutes, no idea why

https://www.gofundme.com/margaret-amp-her-7-children-need-you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭Odelay

Any screen shots?

tuxy wrote: »

They got £5 - mission accomplished

Because they have a plan in place.
    It's on the comments on one of her post's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

They got £5 - mission accomplished

Another traveler stole the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

TAPlank wrote: »
    The demand for free housing is ever increasing, there are many reasons.

1. Minimal emigration in the critical years. They have since produced children here, contributing to the population rise.

2. Not building social housing when the government was awash with money.

3. Ireland going broke when the housing demand started rising.

4. Inability or unwillingness by all sides to deal with the Elephants in the room, of (The bulk of which are modern day ones)

a} Broken homes,

b} Single parent families.

c} Benefits increasing with family size.

d} Irresponsible parenthood. (Have children when you can provide for them).

e} Unacceptance of entitlements being balanced by responsibilities.
    Help should only be given to those who are unable to help them selves and to those who want to restart their lives. All should, in their own way, try to better themselves and in turn, the country

Those who may think that I'm right wing, couldn't be more wrong.

My qualifications: For much of my 85 years, as I made my way through life, I never relied on the state, I paid my taxes, had a lowish paid job, and the top marginal tax rate was then 62%, and "I looked the whole world in it's face, for I owed not any man."

How many realise, or even want to accept, that the helping hand they need is to be found at the end of their arm.

Here endeth the lesson.

You missed Large amounts of Immigration by unskilled "Economic Migrants" with no means of supporting themselves or their families and still they apply for family reunification who Houses them?

The girl "Lulu" set up a gofundme, but Mags and the CEO of ICHH Anthony Flynn got her to take it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,578 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

You mean you can’t blame individuals for taking the piss out of our country? I suppose you’re right, we should all sit back, not work, mindlessly have kids and rake in the cash.

I would only see someone as taking the piss if they were attempting to claim something which they aren’t entitled. I’d also think they were taking the piss if they were only complaining and at the same time unwilling to do anything about the circumstances which they are complaining about. Children don’t pay for themselves, so while you might be raking in the cash as it were, you’ll probably find that depending upon your standard of living that you may want to provide for your thirteen children, said cash doesn’t be long disappearing, leaving you in a rather precarious financial position. If attempting to raise thirteen children hasn’t driven you completely nuts, but just mildly nuts, your medical card will barely cover your medical expenses, but you’ll have plenty of time to mull that over while you’re on the waiting list to see a mental health professional.

Would I wish her circumstances on my worst enemy? No, and the reasons for that should be obvious by now at least, and I don’t think you would genuinely want to switch places with her either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

deco nate wrote:
    And cash blocked the one that wanted to set up a Go fund me, called her a troll. Pmsl

An ugly troll at that ! Poor Margaret she's fit for a 'strait jacket '. My heart bleeds for her .

On a post or 2 below that in the comments she made a comment that made me piss my pants...

how much do they spend on country people ? R how much do they spend on forners? (dont no how to spell lol)

Fecking racist....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

deco nate wrote:
    how much do they spend on country people ? R how much do they spend on forners? (dont no how to spell lol)

Don't know how to spell lol mags Ur gas !! I know what you CAN do though.... f*ck off and clean up your own mess . Sick of looking at her and hearing about her . Parasite .

deco nate wrote: »
    On a post or 2 below that in the comments she made a comment that made me piss my pants...

Fecking racist....

Shame she has put most her facebook on private.

She was really excited about the looting that happened to Lidl during the storm but then disappointed when she found out that the blacks got most the loot!

Still trying to work out does she mean farmers?

So, I'm new to this story, maybe someone can help me here.. The whole media frenzy over the constructed photos in the papers of the kids in the Garda station... Was that the brainchild of Anthony Flynn CEO of ICHH and Mags?
    She was homeless for a year, then one random night this media frenzy exploded. Was it a plan they came up with so that she could collect her forever home in time for Xmas? He did mention they have 'plan' which includes Mags rejecting emergency accommodation. Which is exactly what she did the night of the photos!!! It's all adding up ...

So, I'm new to this story, maybe someone can help me here.. The whole media frenzy over the constructed photos in the papers of the kids in the Garda station... Was that the brainchild of Anthony Flynn CEO of ICHH and Mags?
    She was homeless for a year, then one random night this media frenzy exploded. Was it a plan they came up with so that she could collect her forever home in time for Xmas? He did mention they have 'plan' which includes Mags rejecting emergency accommodation. Which is exactly what she did the night of the photos!!! It's all adding up ...

Tbf, the "plan" happened after the cop shop incident.
    Lets not read between the lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

Was this lady not offered a house in some county outside Dublin and wouldn't take it... I've no link to confirm this. I just heard it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,745 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Still trying to work out does she mean farmers?

That's what I thought it was meant to be at first, then I phonetically said it and got foreigners

I would like to see her overt racism challenged.

Travellers aren't long playing that card if they think they are being snagged off about anything.