Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Melendez wrote: »

They had no evidence that she played any part in the robbery of the goods that were found with her - because when the Gardaí disturbed them it was another robbery they were scouting out.

Of course - for some on here she just happened to be unlucky enough to innocently accept a lift (in the middle of the night - a long distance from her home and kids) with a few ruffians who were up to no good, and didn't realise what was going on when they took a detour to see if they could find somewhere good to break into :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

As someone who has lived through bullying, you should be ashamed of yourself for accusing working people criticising a scam artist of "bullying".

Ah will you stop. PlaneSpeaking called out blackwhite for lying. That's not defending cash.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

Something I was wondering an all. In general, do travellers actually like living the caravan lifestyle? Maybe I'm wrong but it's only in the last decade or so I've seen this thing of travellers commonly occupying standard council housing and private rentals sourced via HAP and similar schemes. When I was growing up they all seemed to live in fields by the roadsides, they'd occupy a car park for a few weeks, school grounds during the summer when they'd be left alone, and the rest of them lived in purpose built halting site housing and caravans on the site.

The roadside living seems to be all but gone now, but you commonly see caravans parked adjacent to their bungalows on the sites, or parked in the garden of standard housing they live in. I'm loathe to giving out freebies to any of them but being a state that doesn't let anyone starve to death or have children living on the streets we are spending god knows how much on hotels and rip off deals with private landlords. Are they now in standard housing because the state hasn't provided enough halting sites in this century and the roadside living is a dead art, or do they prefer living in it?

If they're open to the idea, surely buying them a cut price caravan and a space on a site is a better idea? Along with some clause that if they take the caravan, sell it, and turn up the next day begging for more housing assistance their children be taken into care?

https://www.donedeal.ie/caravans

I mean, there's caravans for sale here that are the same price as a fortnight in some of these hotels. Each and every one is much cheaper long term than these scams the state engages in with private landlords.

Of course, the lefties who previously claimed that the state was trying to assimilate and destroy traveller culture by forcing them off the roadsides is probably today saying that living in a caravan is no way to live and that they all deserve a bricks and mortar house.

They're the same mob that 20 years ago would have complained that putting social housing applicants in standard council estates creates ghettoisation, address discrimination when it comes to jobs, and leaves residents more exposed to drug culture. 20 years later they're demanding the state build entirely social estates rather than mixed income developments. They're absolute spoofers who can't make up their own mind.

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Bkackwhite is stretching the truth to say the least.

Coming from a proven peddler of lies like yourself :rolleyes:

Tell us - what piece of legislation are you going to re-write next and claim as "fact"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

Contributing and working hard. Shame on you, shame on us all! :D:D:D

since we're all being questioning in this thread i'm starting to get really curious about how you have the time to post constantly in this thread, as well as thank seemingly every post, when you've said you have an exhausting full-time job that barely leaves you enough spare time. it's completely bizarre, almost like you're exaggerating your circumstances or you've no self-awareness. is your full-time job posting on boards by any chance?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Ah will you stop. PlaneSpeaking called out blackwhite for lying. That's not defending cash.

Eh ?

Point out a lie I've posted?

Or is this another of your "facts"

Patently obvious what you are trying to spin, no different to previous threads.

Funny how it's the same posters over and again who will bend over backwards to defend all types of low-life and criminality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Every time the media look for a poster child for homelessness, it always blows up on them

Jonathan Corrie: already had 2 houses and squandered them
    Jack Watson: Nonce
    Erica Flemming: Fraud
    Margaret Cash: Fraud

I'm starting to think that the fake news media actually think that the vast bulk of "Homelessness" isn't just women trying to gain the system.

since we're all being questioning in this thread i'm starting to get really curious about how you have the time to post constantly in this thread, as well as thank seemingly every post, when you've said you have an exhausting full-time job that barely leaves you enough spare time. it's completely bizarre, almost like you're exaggerating your circumstances or you've no self-awareness. is your full-time job posting on boards by any chance?

Not that it is any of your beeswax but the boss has decided it's too distracting to be in the office today and is sending jobs to me by email in a peacemeal fashion.

Add that my ability to multitask and hence the extra time on Boards; the fact that I have a rerun of last night's PGA on and I am updating my fantasy football team.

Sadly he is back tomorrow.

blackwhite wrote: »
    Point out a lie I've posted?

Or is this another of your "facts"

Patently obvious what you are trying to spin, no different to previous threads.

Funny how it's the same posters over and again who will bend over backwards to defend all types of low-life and criminality

By the way balckwhite - I have zero idea why my name is there, I have not called you out for lying as I agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

My God! Poor old PlaneSpeeking has just been savaged by a dead sheep! :eek:

Turnipman wrote: »
    My God! Poor old PlaneSpeeking has just been savaged by a dead sheep! :eek:

As the dear mother was want to say - never battle wits with an unarmed man, it's like having an arse kicking contest with someone with a peg leg.

Completely unsavaged, but thanks.

mickdw wrote: »
    I think it's time a new political party ran on a fair deal for workers ticket and to take a hard line stance on it.
    The country is going to sh1t.
    Woman taking home what a worker on 85k per year would take home and her sitting on her hole all day.
    It clearly not right. Add in medical card, and all the other bonuses and it's clear something needs to change.

The Irish voter isn't intelligent enough to see the benefits of a Viktor Orban or, sure why not, Donald Trump.

I'm actually ashamed of myself that I believed Leo claiming he would be the Taoiseach for the people who get up early. Firing ahead with minimum alcohol pricing, letting Shane Ross run amok with his learner driver laws while there's a test backlog, suggesting we increase our EU migrant intake in the middle of a housing crisis, his comical suggestion and bravado over Brexit, suggesting restrictions on UK flights. He's been an absolute failure who had the luck to inherit an improving economy, the sooner he phucks off to his new job in Brussels the better.

Mike Hoch wrote: »
    The Irish voter isn't intelligent enough to see the benefits of a Viktor Orban or, sure why not, Donald Trump.

I'm actually ashamed of myself that I believed Leo claiming he would be the Taoiseach for the people who get up early. Firing ahead with minimum alcohol pricing, letting Shane Ross run amok with his learner driver laws while there's a test backlog, suggesting we increase our EU migrant intake in the middle of a housing crisis, his comical suggestion and bravado over Brexit, suggesting restrictions on UK flights. He's been an absolute failure, the sooner he phucks off to his new job in Brussels the better.

I'd be concerned as to who we get next.

Retired after. 40 years working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Doesn't really matter who we get. We're completely phucked regardless.

The lunatics now run this asylum.

Turnipman wrote: »
    Doesn't really matter who we get. We're completely phucked regardless.

The lunatics now run this asylum.

There's a definite boon to being 49 next birthday, menopause aside - not long left of this s**t show to endure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

Every time the media look for a poster child for homelessness, it always blows up on them

Jonathan Corrie: already had 2 houses and squandered them
    Jack Watson: Nonce
    Erica Flemming: Fraud
    Margaret Cash: Fraud

I'm starting to think that the fake news media actually think that the vast bulk of "Homelessness" isn't just women trying to gain the system.

Or the Swedish girl who attempted to prevent an Afghan wife beating child abusing jailbird being deported.

Or Ibrahim Halawa. It's at the stage where the fact he lied about nearly every facet of his story, from stumbling into the protest, to his father's background, to his hunger strike, to his torture in prison, his hand taking a bullet, his sectarian video on Facebook. Not a bit of this mattered to O'Gorman and the rest of the muppets.

Or when Justin Tredeau went nuclear about an attack on a Muslim schoolgirl that never happened.

The ability to conduct due diligence and fact checking is completely absent from any cause celebre they jump on. It probably explains why they utterly tank any economy they're given the reins of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

Not that it is any of your beeswax but the boss has decided it's too distracting to be in the office today and is sending jobs to me by email in a peacemeal fashion.

Add that my ability to multitask and hence the extra time on Boards; the fact that I have a rerun of last night's PGA on and I am updating my fantasy football team.

Sadly he is back tomorrow.

boxsets, PGA, fantasy football...just hardly sounds like someone whose every waking hour is spent against the grindstone. maybe i've caught you on a rare good week. i think it is relevant when you're going on about the misery of being a full-time working stiff so much in this thread. just like this woman's personal life or facebook posts is relevant to the new story.

Or the Swedish girl who attempted to prevent an Afghan wife beating child abusing jailbird being deported.

Or Ibrahim Halawa. It's at the stage where the fact he lied about nearly every facet of his story, from stumbling into the protest, to his father's background, to his hunger strike, to his torture in prison, his hand taking a bullet, his sectarian video on Facebook. Not a bit of this mattered to O'Gorman and the rest of the muppets.

Or when Justin Tredeau went nuclear about an attack on a Muslim schoolgirl that never happened.

The ability to conduct due diligence and fact checking is completely absent from any cause celebre they jump on. It probably explains why they utterly tank any economy they're given the reins of.

At least Emma Thompson (her of the hug an asylum seeker fame) finally embracing a good cause. Cried me eyes out today reading this:

https://www.greenpeace.org/new-zealand/press-release/dame-emma-thompson-leads-celebs-to-give-global-brands-500-day-warning-stop-forest-destruction-for-palm-oil-and-save-orangutans/

People generally are the architects of their own misfortune. I much prefer animals.

Simon Coveney is the obvious next FG choice and he's an even worse EU lapdog than Leo is (I was backing Leo in the leadership race), but I can't see Leo abdicating unless FG are voted out.

SF might eventually be a victim of their own popularity now that they're potential kingmakers via coalition- I honestly believe SF will not exist in its current form within the next 5 years. Mary Lou is not a republican and she is not a radical left winger, she's at best centre left, shes a failed FF activist who, to use a housing analogy, bought at the right time when she latched on to SF. I can see the party splitting between her movement and the older, socialist left wing republican guard, a world she has nothing at all to do with.

boxsets, PGA, fantasy football...just hardly sounds like someone whose every waking hour is spent against the grindstone. maybe i've caught you on a rare good week. i think it is relevant when you're going on about the misery of being a full-time working stiff so much in this thread. just like this woman's personal life or facebook posts is relevant to the new story.

So you DON'T begrudge a wagon abusing the system to get get 50 grand a year tax free and have a lifestyle most dream of but you DO begrudge a taxpayer who has 20 hours of commuting to kill and relaxes watching TV ?

Oh and for full disclosure ? The telly is a 42" job and I saved for four months to buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Anyone would be better than Leo.....hell even someone like Michael Lowry would be better than Leo which is something I never thought I’d say. He’s crooked as fuk and will take a backhander for everything but at least we’d get stuff done in rural areas.
    Leo is completely incompetent and seems only concerned about his image and the colour of his socks.
    And one more thing...people should never elect single people into power. They lack empathy and are always more selfish. Look at Teresa May in the UK, when her opponent t for the PM role said she would make a better PM than May as she has children and therefore has more empathy for people she was slaughtered for it. And she was right. Even my mate who’s a die hard Tory and hates the welfare class with a passion have stated May went completely overboard with welfare cuts and put vulnerable people below the poverty line.
    It’s not till they settle down and have kids do they realize there’s more to life than themselves.
    I know I learnt this.

Simon Coveney is the obvious next FG choice and he's an even worse EU lapdog than Leo is (I was backing Leo in the leadership race), but I can't see Leo abdicating unless FG are voted out.

SF might eventually be a victim of their own popularity now that they're potential kingmakers via coalition- I honestly believe SF will not exist in its current form within the next 5 years. Mary Lou is not a republican and she is not a radical left winger, she's at best centre left, shes a failed FF activist who, to use a housing analogy, bought at the right time when she latched on to SF. I can see the party splitting between her movement and the older, socialist left wing republican guard, a world she has nothing at all to do with.

My support for SF waned after several of their members referred to a higher rate taxpayers as "akin to the 1%, we should squeeze them and make them pay" (sorry I can't recall who it was, it was on a late night political show).

I'm a third gen Shinner and yet when they resent working people, I'm done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

blackwhite wrote:
    Anyone else posts something that disagrees with your narrative/agenda - multiple links required before you will even pretend to see them

You are making this up as you go along.

Quick story
    My nephew was stupid enough to protest the water meters. Enda Kennys car was slowly making its way through the crowd. There was a Garda walking backwards on each side of the car. The Garda would abruptly stop causing a protester to walk into them. The Garda then pulls the protester off to the side & arrested them for assault. Meanwhile more Gardai take his place, stop, causing another person to walk into them.

My nephew was arrested and charged with assault. He is yet another autistic person in my family, has epilepsy and suffers from extreme anxiety so I went to court with him exact time. About seven visits in total.

Six Gardai were in court as witnesses. The only garda that saw what happened was the Garda that my nephew bumped into. One garda was the dri bringing him to the station. He said that my nephew was agitated. The desk seargent witnessed that he didn't give his name. It went on and on.

This is how the Gardai & DPP work. They push the hardest case they can & rightly so.

Gardai don't without important information from the judge. I'd imagine it's actually an offence to do so. Withholding information perhaps?

Gardai can be selective with their information if the defendant has helped them with a case by giving information (rating someone out). If you are suggesting that cash did this then I suggest that she did the state some service.

As stated before there was nothing compelling the Garda from stating (under oath I assume) that she didn't steal the goods. I don't believe for a second that the Gardai withheld important information from the judge.

Stop making stuff up. If she has other convictions please provide links

Blazer wrote: »
    Anyone would be better than Leo.....hell even someone like Michael Lowry would be better than Leo which is something I never thought I’d say. He’s crooked as fuk and will take a backhander for everything but at least we’d get stuff done in rural areas.
    Leo is completely incompetent and seems only concerned about his image and the colour of his socks.
    And one more thing...people should never elect single people into power. They lack empathy and are always more selfish. Look at Teresa May in the UK, when her opponent t for the PM role said she would make a better PM than May as she has children and therefore has more empathy for people she was slaughtered for it. And she was right. Even my mate who’s a die hard Tory and hates the welfare class with a passion have stated May went completely overboard with welfare cuts and put vulnerable people below the poverty line.
    It’s not till they settle down and have kids do they realize there’s more to life than themselves.
    I know I learnt this.

This.

For all his faults I think Enda Kenny was a nice, if somewhat incompetent man. He could have done better, but I think he genuinely cared for the state of the nation.

Leo is, frankly, a weirdo (in my own opinion, of course) I get the distinct feeling that he has few, if any, friends outside of the FG movement, and certainly none who could currently be described as working class people. His every move is calculated on his career advancement, as opposed to the advancement of his people.

Quick story
    My nephew was stupid enough to protest the water meters. Enda Kennys car was slowly making its way through the crowd. There was a Garda walking backwards on each side of the car. The Garda would abruptly stop causing a protester to walk into them. The Garda then pulls the protester off to the side & arrested them for assault. Meanwhile more Gardai take his place, stop, causing another person to walk into them.

My nephew was arrested and charged with assault. He is yet another autistic person in my family, has epilepsy and suffers from extreme anxiety so I went to court with him exact time. About seven visits in total.

Six Gardai were in court as witnesses. The only garda that saw what happened was the Garda that my nephew bumped into. One garda was the dri bringing him to the station. He said that my nephew was agitated. The desk seargent witnessed that he didn't give his name. It went on and on.

This is how the Gardai & DPP work. They push the hardest case they can & rightly so.

Gardai don't without important information from the judge. I'd imagine it's actually an offence to do so. Withholding information perhaps?

Gardai can be selective with their information if the defendant has helped them with a case by giving information (rating someone out). If you are suggesting that cash did this then I suggest that she did the state some service.

As stated before there was nothing compelling the Garda from stating (under oath I assume) that she didn't steal the goods. I don't believe for a second that the Gardai withheld important information from the judge.

I see the weasel words are back to try and pretend she has no convictions at all again.

Transparent as ever - a bit of honesty wouldn't go astray now and again you know.

Being accused of "making stuff up" by a poster who has been caught out claiming that his opinion is actual legislation :pac::pac:

Quick story

Back at ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

My support for SF waned after several of their members referred to a higher rate taxpayers as "akin to the 1%, we should squeeze them and make them pay" (sorry I can't recall who it was, it was on a late night political show).

I'm a third gen Shinner and yet when they resent working people, I'm done.

Exactly, SF are no friends of the working class as they see through the bull**** SF promise. The only people who support them are the welfare and low income class who all want their slice of the pie promised by SF. And someone has to pay for that.