Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

dav3 wrote: »
    It has been reported long before this story even appeared that hotels won't overcrowd their rooms for obvious reasons. A large family usually requires a suite in a hotel.

This leaves the family with only a handful of choices after all avenues have been exhausted.

1) Sleep rough on the streets.
    2) Leave one or more children behind to fend for themselves.
    3) Follow the advice of the person on the end of the phone and head to your nearest Garda station with the hope of sorting accommodation for the following night (which is what happened in this case).

There are still plenty of people in this thread who believe the children were in their school uniforms and this was all staged. I'm not sure these people are open to looking at the bigger picture.

The only thing that appears staged, is the obvious coordinated attacks, across the internet, that follows any person claiming they are homeless lately.

4) When offered a free fooking house, take it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

blackwhite wrote:
    RTA offences can be either summary offences or indictable offences. The vast majority are summary offences, but there are a number of indictable ones as well. The evidence in Court didn't distinguish which types of convictions she has on her previous record - but it's not surprising to see you determined to jump to the conclusion that's most favorable to this criminal - and yet again claiming that your conclusions are undisputable facts, whilst demanding (and ignoring ) links from anyone who dares disagree with the narrative you are trying to peddle

I can't link to as I'm on my phone but go back to the court article. It says that her ONLY previous convictions were for traffic offences. That's a fact.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

blackwhite wrote: »
    Garda Brauders is restricted in what he can state in evidence to the court - we aren't in a criminal court here, and anyone with half a brain can understand exactly why she was in the car.

It's telling the select few trying to tie themselves in knots to defend the actions of such lowlifes. Shows how little respect they have for actual law-abiding folks.

Did no one ask why as she is pleading penury - how she has access to so many motor vehicles to commit these offences in ???

Sorry, forgot we're not allowed to ask questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I can't link to as I'm on my phone but go back to the court article. It says that her ONLY previous convictions were for traffic offences. That's a fact.

Traffic offences can be either summary or criminal. Again - you are making a massive leap in logic to say that her numerous traffic offences were not criminal offences.

You've tried repeated to state as fact that they definately were not criminal offences - please back that up with a link or withdraw it.

For someone who demands that others provide links to back up every minute detail (which you will then ignore) - you seem determined to repeatedly make grandiose claims and refuse to back them up yourself. We've already seen you misrepresent the provisions of the Probation Act - seems like the various RTAs are the next on your hitlist on your crusade to protect this criminal.

Did no one ask why as she is pleading penury - how she has access to so many motor vehicles to commit these offences in ???

Do the Garda, courts or socal welfare usually ask these questions?

Why do you expect that they ask in this case?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

DkQdBw_X0AURJRy.jpg:large

Fcuk working eh? Pump out 7 kids and get almost €1,000 per week tax free.

Disgusting.

Action needed. That is a dreadful smack in the face to anyone working and contributing in this country.

Can I ask a question of the parents here regarding this income?

How much, yearly, is the cheapest one can feed and clothe a child?

Like, a bowl of own brand cornflakes for brekkie, own brand frozen chips and 3 or 4 fish fingers, two shared frozen pizzas between six kids. A large bag of own brand frozen chips is about a euro, 15 fish fingers are what, a 1.50, fairly sure the Dunnes own brand pizzas are one euro.

It isn't what Jamie Oliver would recommend your kids live off, but I'm counting up the very cheapest option here. Like, myself, technically, I'd say I could get by on about 1 or 2 euro worth of food per day and maintain a healthy weight. It would be feckin repetitive but it could certainly be easily done.

With the tight ages between these kids there must be quite a bit of hand me down clothes and shoes, school books, uniforms etc. How much per year worth of clothes from Dunnes, Penneys would an average growing child get through?

I'm just trying to gauge how much profit, so to speak, would be leftover after this woman's outgoings. We can assume she has no need for childcare.

Do the Garda, courts or socal welfare usually ask these questions?

Why do you expect that they ask in this case?

I my youth (I was young and needed the money) I worked in the UK for the DHSS (as twas then), processing benefit claims.

The forms then (late 80s) were in excess of 56 pages and the amount of information requested was phenominal.

Yet it had to be asked - resources were, and are still, limited and they must go to the greatest need. If someone has access to funds they declare them and the benefit adjusted accordingly.

I have seen people kicked off One Parent Family benefit due to staff seeing them with a partner in a shopping centre. Yet this wagon has bragged like f**k on social medial how well off she is and we are not allowed to question it ?

If this is progress you can shove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Well John Connors has chimed in

John Connors (@johnconnors1990) · Twitter
    https://twitter.com/johnconnors1990
    The homeless Traveller woman who slept in a Gardai station with her children is getting an incredible amount of hate online. Reality is that if she were a settled woman she would be receiving an incredible amount of support. The Last Acceptable form of Racism In Ireland.
    3 days ago · Twitter

Ah yes racism is the key issue

KrustyUCC wrote: »

The homeless Traveller woman who slept in a Gardai station with her children is getting an incredible amount of hate online. Reality is that if she were a settled woman she would be receiving an incredible amount of support. The Last Acceptable form of Racism In Ireland.
    3 days ago · Twitter

Ah yes racism is the jey issue

Our deluded friends on the left side of the plane love the aul accusations of racism, fascism, Naziism etc etc - they think it shuts down debate.

They're of course idiots.

Our deluded friends on the left side of the plane love the aul accusations of racism, fascism, Naziism etc etc - they think it shuts down debate.

They're of course idiots.

Connors view is very simplistic

I don't think the mother who camped out in Youghal beach got much support either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,914 ✭✭✭Feisar

A grand a week and the only qualification needed is a womb!

The average Joe would need to be on €80K gross to pull the same nett income.

First they came for the socialists...

'DON'T JUDGE ME' Homeless mum forced to sleep in police station with her six kids blasts Facebook trolls
    Margaret Cash, 28, said social media users had no right to judge her after her sons kipped on hard chairs at the Dublin cop shop

Responding to the comments, horrified Margaret spoke lovingly about each of her kids.

The single mum said: “[The dad] isn't around. I’m on my own with the kids.

“People think having the kids is really, really hard, but I think they’re great.

“That’s what I do. That’s my life. If we had a house we would be OK.

“I know there are people on Facebook saying, ‘Why did you have so many kids?’

“You don’t plan to have so many kids, it just happens.”

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/6997892/homeless-mum-sleep-police-station-six-kids-blasts-facebook-trolls/

blackwhite wrote:
    Traffic offences can be either summary or criminal. Again - you are making a massive leap in logic to say that her numerous traffic offences were not criminal offences.

You are grasping at straws here

The DPP & Gardai use as much information as possible to secure a conviction & sentence.

The Garda was very clear in his statement. If there were criminal convictions he would have listed them traffic of not. He would not bundle them all together as traffic offences.

I am 100 percent confident that she has only one criminal conviction.

I'll be only too delighted to beg forgiveness if you can post a link to any other cri conviction that she might have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,688 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

She is getting 50,000 a year with a choice of 3 free houses and yet we are still racist?

What have I be doing wrong in my life

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

Is there any word on what her husband is in prison awaiting trial for? There's a story on the Irish Mirror about it, a few people are claiming he assaulted an elderly woman in a burglary but I think they are mistaking it with this case linked below (I don't know if this guy is a close relative, although he's presumably at least a distant cousin, but he isn't the same man named John McCarthy listed as her partner on the Irish Mirror)

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/criminal-who-beat-woman-89-in-robbery-could-be-jailed-for-life-35896874.html

I don't even need to look for a follow up to know this lad was never sentenced to life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

elefant wrote: »
    I think all the 'where is the father/are the fathers?' comments on this are harsh. Whatever about personal responsibility, lack thereof, expectations of the state to provide a lifestyle for you etc., there's no shame in being a single mother, or having children with different men. She's right to say it's a private matter.

All her matters became public when she decided to pull the publicity stunt.

I was a single mother (kids now adults, I’m now married) so I agree there is no shame. I don’t believe she is a single mother though. Just because her other half is now locked up doesn’t make her one. When he’s released, will he return to their family unit?

Good on you!

My nan was a single mother as she was widowed with eldest kid at 11, a mate is a single mother due to the father legging it when the wee boy was disagnosed disabled. There are many, many many examples and good on you. This woman does every last one of you a disservice.

My favourite example will always be the person who replaced me in my last job before my current one. Her mother raised three children working on the game in Liverpool. Husband took off one day and never came back, she never took one red cent from the state save for family allowance (now 20 quid a week so nothing then) which was saved up religiously and paid for a meagre Christmas.

I was told that by her one evening in the pub and she asked that I didn't judge her family. Judge her ? I admire the living **** out of her. She did what it took, she stepped up and good on her.

She is getting 50,000 a year with a choice of 3 free houses and yet we are still racist?

What have I be doing wrong in my life

Contributing and working hard. Shame on you, shame on us all! :D:D:D

Melendez wrote: »

As someone who has lived through bullying, you should be ashamed of yourself for accusing working people criticising a scam artist of "bullying".

Shame.

KrustyUCC wrote: »

3 days ago · Twitter

Ah yes racism is the key issue

Erica Fleming got absolutely slaughtered, and rightly so.

I'd say this case has had an even worse reaction to hers but rightly so. I'm no fan of Fleming and her spoofing, but credit where it's due, only one kid, she has something of a work history and was enrolled in education.

Tis a long stretch from under 30, 7 kids, peripheral role in a burglary, never had a job, husband in prison, 500,000k tax free income per decade (excluding her fellas dole income, and his other off the books income streams).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The Sun also posted a picture of her sitting in a 7 seater, someone must have replied to her on Tallaght buy and sell when she was offering 10k for one. ;)

And yet I feel free to embrace my arseholery in the fact that I am contributing, working, helping the country and not in any way whatsoever being a burden.

So you can imagine how highly I rate that slight there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

The kids HAD to sleep in a Garda station because it was part of their feckless waste of space mother's plan!! How is this not abundantly clear at this point??

Which was the point that I made. My point was that people started a campaign without all the facts and now are quiet.

joeguevara wrote: »
    Which was the point that I made. My point was that people started a campaign without all the facts and now are quiet.

Well apart from to tell us how awful we are for working hard!

You are making that up.

Garda Brauders is under absolutely no obligation to state that " he was happy that the de­fen­dant ... had taken no part in the bur­glary and that she played a mi­nor part in the whole in­ci­dent." if he did not believe it to be true.

I am in no way trying to defend how she lives her life.

I would be quite firmly on the other side of the arguement if this debate was a generalised regarding people relying on Social Welfare. Individualising it to one person and publically ripping every iota of her life to shreds including her child's first communion is not deserved, especially when she has no capacity to defend herself. There are far worse than her out there than someone who committed a minor crime 5 years ago. I find those of who you who are taking great pleasure in bullying her on a national stage far more abhorrent human beings. You should be ashamed of yourselves. Disgraceful conduct.

Margaret herself went out on a limb to seek publicity for her own self and her children. What she has got here is a generally well reasoned and fair response from taxpayers funding her lifestyle. Nobody sought her out to pick on her, she made a case for herself and it has backfired badly under the light of reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,899 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think it's time a new political party ran on a fair deal for workers ticket and to take a hard line stance on it.
    The country is going to sh1t.
    Woman taking home what a worker on 85k per year would take home and her sitting on her hole all day.
    It clearly not right. Add in medical card, and all the other bonuses and it's clear something needs to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭blackwhite

You are grasping at straws here

The DPP & Gardai use as much information as possible to secure a conviction & sentence.

The Garda was very clear in his statement. If there were criminal convictions he would have listed them traffic of not. He would not bundle them all together as traffic offences.

I am 100 percent confident that she has only one criminal conviction.

I'll be only too delighted to beg forgiveness if you can post a link to any other cri conviction that she might have

Glad you're willing to expose your own double standards and hypocrisy.

You make a few big assumptions - gospel truth that cannot be questioned.

Anyone else posts something that disagrees with your narrative/agenda - multiple links required before you will even pretend to see them :rolleyes:

Same BS as you were at in previous threads - people aren't as naive as you seem to wish/think that they are

Melendez wrote:

Bkackwhite is stretching the truth to say the least.