Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Last one said "I'm truly sorry I'll never drive again".

Sure.

That last lad John Cash should be getting life, not rehab....... :mad:

Read the story again there - banned ft9m driving for 20 years in 2007.

Killed someone drink driving in 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Lovely people them Cash's :rolleyes:

Well you said earlier you never heard of them.

Just as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Indeed it would Sleeper, indeed it would... doesn’t appear to have stopped you though?

Ah hang on. I was correct about her. She had not engaged with the housing authority in the previous days & notified a charity late in the evening. They still managed to secure emergency accommodation and transportation for her in meath. She chose to turn this down in favour of the photo shoot in the Garda station. As I said from the very start of the thread she staged it all in the hope of cheating others out of their place on the homeless list.

She said that there was only 5 beds but she forgets to say that the hotel were putting in a cot & a camp bed. Besides what is wrong with two children sleeping top to tail in the same bed for just one night. I did it many a time as a kid myself. This is emergency accommodation. There aren't many hotels that have rooms big enough for seven beds.

Everything I said was true. I dealt only with the night in question. I have tried to quash made up stories about her past. I never criticised her daughters communion dress and its unfair for anyone to do so. Many people with or without homes go into debt for a communion. Money lenders make a killing on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

Omackeral wrote: »

Joyce too, this one did some research and discovered Irish timber is stronger than Japanese steel :

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2969500/grandson-traveller-rights-champion-dies-crash-dublin/

UK admittedly and no doubt the choice of rag will be all some see but apologists are everywhere:

Council chief apologises after calling travellers a 'lawless society' https://dailym.ai/2MFKztS via http://dailym.ai/android

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

gctest50 wrote: »
    Joyce too, this one did some research and discovered Irish timber is stronger than Japanese steel :

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2969500/grandson-traveller-rights-champion-dies-crash-dublin/

The Sun are on fire with all their articles of this type of traveller thing

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Ah hang on. I was correct about her. She had not engaged with the housing authority in the previous days & notified a charity late in the evening. They still managed to secure emergency accommodation and transportation for her in meath. She chose to turn this down in favour of the photo shoot in the Garda station. As I said from the very start of the thread she staged it all in the hope of cheating others out of their place on the homeless list.

She said that there was only 5 beds but she forgets to say that the hotel were putting in a cot & a camp bed. Besides what is wrong with two children sleeping top to tail in the same bed for just one night. I did it many a time as a kid myself. This is emergency accommodation. There aren't many hotels that have rooms big enough for seven beds.

Everything I said was true. I dealt only with the night in question. I have tried to quash made up stories about her past. I never criticised her daughters communion dress and its unfair for anyone to do so. Many people with or without homes go into debt for a communion. Money lenders make a killing on them.

Well sorry but I disagree about the Communion dress.

The daughter was dressed up to the nines.

The mother was dressed up to the nines.

if you are homeless , this is not your priority.

Buying crates of Coors and bottles of Vodka last week is a cheek too.

This scammer CLEARS nearly 50k a year, double what Many families I know earn. She expects to spend that 50k on herself and for the rest of us to pay for her.

Not sure where you got moneylenders from?

She says she Saved for the Communion.

Most working families have no savings but yet homeless people can Save and then spend extravagantly. There is something seriously wrong here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Our media is Pravda, and the voices of those with brains to see through all this are silenced.

That is quite sinister in a democracy. Comments are often shut down too when the truth gets close.

I just hope that people like me will actually question those looking for a vote in the next election. Time to stand up for the working contributing person and kick the bleeding hearts to the kerb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Shouldn't you be as critical of a system that forces you to do this that also appears to be going soft on this person according to many? But here you are doing this week in week out (along with many others) without any sign of protest? You'll be well f**ked if motor tax is adjusted to some sort of per km travelled type of charge.

Strawman

Our media is Pravda, and the voices of those with brains to see through all this are silenced.

That is quite sinister in a democracy. Comments are often shut down too when the truth gets close.

I just hope that people like me will actually question those looking for a vote in the next election. Time to stand up for the working contributing person and kick the bleeding hearts to the kerb.

OT slightly but tonight's 9pm news case in point.

Story abour the Aquarius rescuing economic migrants from peoole smuggler boats and having "nowhere to take them as Spain and Italy said no".

They then said the majority were Somalian. Now balance would demand that perhaps a destination would be Somalia.

Instead we geta nurse who instead of helping our people in an overstretched health service - she is filming a video diary of her efforts to stretch resources even more!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

From February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Melendez wrote: »

She wasn't aware how much people love it when they find someone they see as worse human beings than themselves.

Are you actually for real .

She wasn't aware how much the government ,,the people, who have banked rolled her lifestyle absolutely are being financially raped to keep her in crystal and rugs ,7 seaters , tattoos ,fake tan , holidays , spending sprees.
    Actually feel about her ways .

Hopefully people now wake up and say enough is enough you want a 54k tax free allowence go get a poxy job .

Have you done anything to help her .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

deco nate wrote: »
    From February.

€10 million for a car? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

From February.

Only able to offer €10k,the poor woman. ;)

So she's looking for a 7 seater for 10k but she's homeless, this just gets better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

one of the reasons i mentioned the way Boylan is perceived is that we have a problem with discourse at the moment where everything has to be split down the middle, where one side (usually on twitter) sticks their fingers in their ears and shouts 'nazis!' and the other (usually in comment sections or here) similarly has a bloody-minded point of view and vehemently defends it. Any objective person coming into this thread can see that certain posters have their mind made up, have all the answers and are not open to anything contradicting their point of view - you'd wonder why they're even in here, such is their level of conviction. maybe it's for the backslapping? i've expressed many different views in this thread but the only ones people are responding to are the ones they can jump on and ridicule.
    but i digress, it's a serious problem, because it means that the only people who ask the uncomfortable questions are people like Boylan, who's made a career out of being 'edgy' and 'offensive'. so it re-inforces this sense of two extremes that can't interact with eachother without calling eachother names. yes, i'm aware i just did exactly that by labelling him a 'bigot', but bigotry is an intolerance towards other opinions that contradict your own. and the left are just as bad at this, twitter has been unbearable the last couple of days with pandering hot-takes that make you wonder if they've even thought about this case beyond 'homeless bad! housing good!' there's no attempt to understand why people are so frustrated with the system and why they're projecting that frustration.

anyway blah blah, i'll just sit back and wait for someone to snip a few words out of this post and jump on them.

Her criminal offences. Her house she was bragging about having not long back. Her over the top spending and bragging about that. The amount of our money she has going into the bank - and giving options as to where her and the brood can live (I.e. openly discussing why she has no need to live in the most populous, in demand and expensive areas). Where the father(s) of the children are and why he does not contribute and has he ever.

What has any of that to do with her turning down accommodation & staying in the Garda station. It has no bearing on the case & it has no bering on the social welfare assessment. Even criminals get housed & dole. This isn't new news nor is it news.
    Maybe where her husband is, I haven't heard it mentioned in any article or news report.

Here's the thing. He is in Cloverhill and not wheatfield. Cloverhill is a remand prison. He has not been convicted yet so they can't publish it & to be honest I'm not sure how it's been let run here by the mods. I'm not backseat moderating but wouldn't he be able to claim unfair publicity from many of the posts here during his trial? Aren't there laws in Ireland protecting an accuseds identity before & during a trial?
    blackwhite wrote:
    The probation act has no such restrictions, and has never had since it was enacted in 1907.
    You can't get the probation act if you already have a conviction. Therefore she can't have 30 add convictions. If she has 30 odd previous charges & I have yet to see a link to this then she was not convicted of them.
    blackwhite wrote:
    You keep trying to pretend she was merely “handling stolen goodsâ€, when the evidence in court (not disputed by her defence) was that the car was involved in a rural robbery, chased by the gardai, and when eventually caught the other members of the gang had fled leaving her in the car with the loot.
    I'm not trying to convince anyone of what she did. "Handling stolen goods" aren't my words. It's what she was charged with. That's a fact. The Garda said in court that she did not steal them. She got the probation act for this.
    blackwhite wrote:
    The news story reporting her conviction for involvement in the robbery in Wexford contains evidence presented to the court of numberous previous convictions for Road Traffic Offences, and very clearly lays out her involvement in a car that was chased by gardai whilst scouting houses to rob.

Again she got the probation act. She has NO criminal record to report. They can't make one up just to please boards.ie members

The bottom line is from the media point of view is there is no story here apart from her refusing an accommodation offer & sleeping in the Garda station. They have to deal with facts and not wishful thinking.

It's terrible that she costs us 50k per year but from the media's point of view that's a separate story. Hopefully they will cover this type of story soon but if they do don't expect them to use her particular case. I'd imagine the correct way to report would to give example like they do after a budget. A typical family with seven kids gets X amount on the dole

anewme wrote: »
    So she's looking for a 7 seater for 10k but she's homeless, this just gets better.

Someone on Facebook said she had a 2017 Mercedes, I don't know how true that is

Seen this on twitter. Not my pic and I’m sure it wasn’t meant to have so many zeros in the price. Not saying people don’t need a car but jaysis its a start on a deposit on a place for most folk looking for a home

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=458048&d=1533932570

@punisher
    I think it was you asking about her lifestyle.

€10k to spend on a car but not concerned about using it towards securing a roof over your head?

Someone on Facebook said she had a 2017 Mercedes, I don't know how true that is

Sorry, prisoner not punisher.
    Does anyone know how to embed the link above? It’s an image

From February.

Feck ya deco. I’m on phone and it took ages to go back and find that post lol

anewme wrote:

This scammer CLEARS nearly 50k a year, double what Many families I know earn. She expects to spend that 50k on herself and for the rest of us to pay for her.

anewme wrote:

OK. I won't even disagree with you on the above. None of it has anything to do with the story on the night in question. This is why the media won't touch it. It might be worth a separate story in the future but her social life has nothing to do with her place on the housing list

I'm not saying that it is right that she gets so much. I'm just pointing out from the media point of view it has nothing to do with the story at hand

Sorry, prisoner not punisher.
    Does anyone know how to embed the link above? It’s an image

You're not alone, I too don't know how to embed photos.

Still though she has the lifestyle many of us can only dream of, and it is the many of us who are paying for it.

From February.

Someone will have to double up in that car (they are unwilling to do so in a house it seems!)

Driver + 7 kids.

Well not having a 7 seater I may be wrong about the configuration.

Any objective person coming into this thread can see that certain posters have their mind made up, have all the answers and are not open to anything contradicting their point of view -

Yep. Sleepers12, end of the road and your good self.

anewme wrote:

OK. I won't even disagree with you on the above. None of it has anything to do with the story on the night in question. This is why the media won't touch it. It might be worth a separate story in the future but her social life has nothing to do with her place on the housing list

I'm not saying that it is right that she gets so much. I'm just pointing out from the media point of view it has nothing to do with the story at hand

I vehemently disagree.

Her social life has EVERYTHING to do with her housing situation.

We foolishly give her ample means to pay for her accommodation and chooses to p**s it away - with impunity and defence of some posters here sadly.

Easy enough to spot alright.

Ignore button is your friend though. Means those with brains and the capability to put points across can just get on with it :D

Someone will have to double up in that car (they are unwilling to do so in a house it seems!)

Driver + 7 kids.

Well not having a 7 seater I may be wrong about the configuration.

I'll ask me boss will he donate a 16 seater transit to help her into the future the poor lass :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,580 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ah hang on. I was correct about her.

I’ll hang on so while you explain why you were telling everyone else her story was bad enough without making up stuff about her, yet that’s exactly what you did yourself claiming she’d likely be hiding her Facebook in the future so we wouldn’t see the photos of the trip to Disneyland??

As I said from the very start of the thread she staged it all in the hope of cheating others out of their place on the homeless list.

And as was explained to you at the time - that’s just not how the housing list operates. It simply isn’t possible for her to cheat anyone out of a place on the housing list. You can read more about it here -

Applying for local authority/social housing

Nothing wrong with it at all, but it misses the point she was making. It’s simply inadequate and inappropriate that she was on the housing list in the first place for the length of time she was on it, and then to be put up in a hotel room having her children sleep head to toe. It’s simply not good enough in this day and age, and I say that as one of these “hard working taxpayers” that everyone cribbing about this case keeps referring to. There’s 10,000 more cases like it. This woman isn’t even the tip of the iceberg. It’s 2018, not 1818 ffs.

No, everything you said wasn’t true, and you didn’t only deal with the night in question. You speculated about her future and all the rest of it, you weren’t even aware of her circumstances, but that didn’t stop you. To be fair to you, you didn’t come out with some of the more ridiculous stuff I’ve read in this thread (like the ever increasing amount she’s “getting into her hand from the State”, where are we now, €87k? Be up to €100k by the morning :pac:). All that’s happened is now the story’s gone beyond your control and people are pointing to the fact that she’s a traveller, building their own narratives around that aspect of her life, no different to the way you did when you started the thread. I can understand why that doesn’t suit your narrative, but that’s what happens when things go beyond your control, as they did with the woman in this case. Rather than trying to play down the fact that she’s a traveller because it isn’t good “PR” for this “homeless cause” you mentioned, you’re better off acknowledging that she represents every single one of the 10,000 people on the homeless list who will have pasts of their own that’ll be dug up if they were ever to go public with their stories.

(Apologies for the dodgy edit, still getting used to this new iPhone, first world problems :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

well done on completely missing the point.