Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

You'll be supporting them after you retire too.

Well, at that rate the retirement age will exceed my expected shelf life ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Fermoy! Noy a chance of her going there if meath is too far. Enniscorthy is a grand spin though.

She can feck off, Enniscorthy has enough of her type as it is.
    We have one woman here on her own in a 4 bed house who refuses alternative, smaller accommodation due to her "condition" which stops her leaving the house but magically disappears when she's down the welfare office claiming more stuff or tormenting councillors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Newstalk are unbelievable . They wheeled Fergus Finlay from Barnados out yesterday on the Last Shoulder . I used to like him and listen to him but the lack of research in the particular case and the biased opinions of all the media is sickening . They lambast everyone who has dared to have a different opinion on this case. We “wouldn’t say this to her face” Fergus Finlay says and he is appalled and shocked by the reaction online .

Well actually Fergus you are 100% wrong. I would have NO problem at all saying what I think to Margaret Cash in person . The lack of responsibility , the sense of entitlement, the obvious disposable income she has, the bragging about what she spends her money on is truly sickening . I cannot believe the biased one sided opinion and dialogue on all media outlets on this.

WE the great unwashed tax payers are all in the wrong here. For seeing that the emperor is wearing no clothes, for voicing an opinion , for seeing this for what it actually is !!!

Then you get the usual rabble that Denis o brien controls the media and it’s all right wing propaganda.

God this country annoys me more each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭22michael44

tom1ie wrote: »
    To be fair it’s not just boards. There’s outrage on most social media sites and even, would you believe it, the REAL world!!

agreed, facebook, the journal, real life etc. but the loudest, hateful and most scathing voices aren't representative. if they were the abortion referendum would have been a closer result.
    a lot of stuff in this thread i can sympathise with, it's frustrating that lefties can't see the legitimate frustrations people have. but then you have posters saying it should be against the law to have children if you're unemployed, and it's like - is no one going to pull him up on that? christ.

You'll be supporting them after you retire too.

And possibly after you die too, with inheritance tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭worded

Look like a right shower

But way more interestingly there is an amazing meteor shower tonight

https://www.timeanddate.com/astronomy/meteor-shower/perseid.html

https://www.space.com/32868-perseid-meteor-shower-guide.html

Right so here's what we'll do, we'll ship Michael D out of the Aras and back to Galway and move Maggie and her childers in there, will that place be big enough in the right location? :pac:

She should put herself up for upcoming Presidential election!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Fermoy! Noy a chance of her going there if meath is too far. Enniscorthy is a grand spin though.

She can feck off, Enniscorthy has enough of her type as it is.
    We have one woman here on her own in a 4 bed house who refuses alternative, smaller accommodation due to her "condition" which stops her leaving the house but magically disappears when she's down the welfare office claiming more stuff or tormenting councillors.

We need a Bedroom Tax like the UK have- course you want to hear the whining about that!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

She should put herself up for upcoming Presidential election!

She’d get the welfare vote!

At this stage it outnumbers the working class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭wetlandsboy

The agenda from the media on this story has been disgusting. Independents front page today, crocodile tears everywhere on newstalk and matt Cooper etc. I have no doubt they will barely, if even, discuss the real facts now that they have fully emerged. And of course Sinn Féin try to make political gain straight away like the populist lovers that they always are.

Not all the media. Take a listen to Niall Boylan, the only one who is unafraid to call it for what it is. (Apologies of this link has already been posted.)

https://omny.fm/shows/the-niall-boylan-show/is-the-homeless-crisis-as-bad-as-it-seems

We need a Bedroom Tax like the UK have- course you want to hear the whining about that!!!!

The council put her in the house temporarily now they are finding it impossible to get her out. She uses her "condition" to make them seem like monsters for wanting to move her and allocate the property to a family who are in actual need of a 4 bed house.
    You can imagine Joe Duffy et al. "Sick woman thrown out of her house by heartless council".

I dont know what to make of Boylan, he was born in a mother and baby home himself and adopted so you'd kind of expect him to give an easier time to these cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭rossmores

Newstalk where very biased yesterday especially the stand in for PK he was highly critical of people who questioned her claims
    Turned off when he decided to have the champ for entitlement paul murphy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Newstalk are unbelievable . They wheeled Fergus Finlay from Barnados out yesterday on the Last Shoulder . I used to like him and listen to him but the lack of research in the particular case and the biased opinions of all the media is sickening . They lambast everyone who has dared to have a different opinion on this case. We “wouldn’t say this to her face” Fergus Finlay says and he is appalled and shocked by the reaction online .

Well actually Fergus you are 100% wrong. I would have NO problem at all saying what I think to Margaret Cash in person . The lack of responsibility , the sense of entitlement, the obvious disposable income she has, the bragging about what she spends her our money on is truly sickening . I cannot believe the biased one sided opinion and dialogue on all media outlets on this.

WE the great unwashed tax payers are all in the wrong here. For seeing that the emperor is wearing no clothes, for voicing an opinion , for seeing this for what it actually is !!!

Just fixed that for you, hope you don't mind. :)

There are people who are unable to care for themselves. This woman is one. She seems to lack the social skills necessary to rear her family without help. I would imagine that she also lacks the ability to understand the benefits of contraception.
    What to do about it? I really don’t know. She will have her peers and some with vested interests telling her that she’s not doing anything wrong. That she’s entitled to a large house. Fully furnished, etc. This galls with those of us who work for our living and live within our means.
    She needs education for herself, to start with. No matter what, she’s going to need support for the rest of her life.

Yes indeed, education is key. I believe there should be incentive for her and peers to send their children to school, also for herself to attend adult education courses. Child benefit to be paid at minimal level as a default, with bonus given for 95% school attendance. Likewise, for herself and peers to attend adult education. That might help break the cycle for the future. Literacy, numeracy, household accounting and budgeting, nutrition, how to write letters and fill in forms, learning about benefits and enjoyment of further education.

Dunno if it's fake or not but someone posted a screen grab of text messages in YLYL yesterday supposedly from this woman about her getting a new house in Tallaght 3 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

rossmores wrote: »
    Newstalk where very biased yesterday especially the stand in for PK he was highly critical of people who questioned her claims
    Turned off when he decided to have the champ for entitled paul murphy on

Paul Murphy makes me grind my teeth. Free everything for everybody except the privileged who earn over €30k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

rossmores wrote:
    Newstalk where very biased yesterday especially the stand in for PK he was highly critical at people who questioned her claims Turned off when he decided to have champion for entitled paul murphy on

If fairness it was on this show that it was confirmed that accommodation for the WHOLE family was offered in Meath but she declined it in favour of the photo shoot. The night before it was reported that accommodation was only offered for the children. This important piece of information was confirmed on the pat Kenny show. I thought the show worthwhile for this fact alone

rossmores wrote: »
    Turned off when he decided to have the champ for entitled paul murphy on

Paul Murphy makes me grind my teeth. Free everything for everybody except the privileged who earn over €30k.

I know someine who voted for him.

I "accidentally" deleted his mobile number.

Capitalist pig!

Yep! 😊😊😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,310 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Oh sweet Lord above.

Okay, we're making it all up and he's working on an oil rig off the coast of Nigeria and sending back every penny.

She should be able to sign off the Welfare any day now and live in a nice private 6 bed gaff.

It's ok to say sweet lord above and so on. That's fine. But I only asked a straightforward question about the partner. You say we are not making it up about that and that's fine.

But let me ask you: is her partner in jail? If you say he is can you please let me know how you know that for sure.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Instead of people constantly whining in this thread about how much tax they have to pay and how difficult their life was, and still is, why don't you earn more money?

No matter how much tax you think you pay, you're nothing special. Your superiors and betters who pay considerably more tax see you as worthless. How much tax do the wingers pay in taxes anyway? It's probably only in the thousands every year, it would barely cover the cost of a street lamp on your road.

I think everyone is fed up with the non-stop moaning from the "squeezed middle". Always looking for a handout or a tax break from the government when it comes to budget time. What kind of example are you setting for your children with your continual sob stories?

I love nothing more than comparing how much tax I pay over a homeless or unemployed person (we all do), it gives me an immense feeling of superiority over them. However, there comes a time when you have to stop the whining, pull yourself up by your bootstraps, and go out there and work harder to better yourself.

Until you're paying millions in tax every year, you're barely contributing anything to this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

dav3 wrote: »
    Instead of people constantly whining in this thread about how much tax they have to pay and how difficult their life was, and still is, why don't you earn more money?

No matter how much tax you think you pay, you're nothing special. Your superiors and betters who pay considerably more tax see you as worthless. How much tax do the wingers pay in taxes anyway? It's probably only in the thousands every year, it would barely cover the cost of a street lamp on your road.

I think everyone is fed up with the non-stop moaning from the "squeezed middle". Always looking for a handout or a tax break from the government when it comes to budget time. What kind of example are you setting for your children with your continual sob stories?

I love nothing more than comparing how much tax I pay over a homeless or unemployed person (we all do), it gives me an immense feeling of superiority over them. However, there comes a time when you have to stop the whining, pull yourself up by your bootstraps, and go out there and work harder to better yourself.

Until you're paying millions in tax every year, you're barely contributing anything to this country.

Cool story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Khv1.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

By the same logic, instead of constantly winning in the media about how hard done by they are, why don't these people go out, pull themselves up by the bootstraps and earn more money?

I am not sure I follow. We should not be whining about this woman who went whining to the media because the free house was not big enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

People are saying she’s to be pitied because she’s not clever enough to use birth control or take care of her children on her own. She’s clever enough to know all the benefits she can claim though. Funny that isn’t it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I am not sure I follow. We should not be whining about this woman who went whining to the media because the free house was not big enough?

I agree.
    We wouldn't be taking about her at all but for the fact that she posted how hard she thinks she has it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Who fancies creating an online petition