Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

What age is she?

Straight onto the housing list at 17. She had big ambitions.
    Great role model for her children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

bobbyss wrote:
    Why would the Gardai allow a photo to be taken as they must have know it was going to be published and be politicised and debated? That's not the job of the Gardai.

I doubt they knew about it. They have better things to be doing than watching this scam artist 24/7

CrankyHaus wrote:
    This is shaping up to be nearly as big an own goal for the poverty industry as that time they held a vigil for the paedophile repeat offender who deliberately infected people with HIV:

I started the thread trying to stop people blindly defending this scam artist. All day long I begged but it seems that some suckers will always believe the sob story.

From my point as someone who campaigns on behalf of genuine homeless people, the muppets like this "mother" (& yes I believe her kids should be taken off her) set us back years.

I genuinely question why socal services won't be looking at protecting her children from tomorrow onwards. The child isn't always better with the mother. Sometimes the mother harms her children by exploiting them. Maybe the children need to be removed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I hope that the posters who I'd usually be on the same side as will in future take a step back & think before posting. Several attacked me and my motivation yet I have been proven right.

You haven’t been proven right about anything. Now if you still want to believe you’re right, on the basis of what you saw posted on social media, that’s your right of course, but it doesn’t mean you’re actually any more informed than you weren’t already.

Plenty attacked me personally or my intentions whilst I'm trying to point out a con artist & at the same time stick up for homeless people & their rights

“Personally attacks other people, complains that they’re being personally attacked”. It’s as though you imagine you should be shielded from being attacked while you’re attacking other people, and claiming that you’re helping people with that strategy? I think people who are homeless are far better off without your kind of “help” tbh.

Facebook always tells the truth in the end

Oh dear sweet Jesus Mary and Joseph. Facebook tells the truth? Fuuuuxk me :pac:

You’re seeing what you wanted to believe already, that’s all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Rubbish. No one has to go to a Garda Station unless they leave it too late to apply during the day for emergency accommodation.

It is no wonder that right wing thinking is becoming a bit more prevalent now. Enough is enough.

Genuine cases will not look for this type of publicity, and they will be looked after. Despite everything we are a caring country.

The housing issue does not only affect those who are in the "entitled" cohort, it affects lots of people out there working their ass off every day too. Don't hear too much from them though.

That's right, only the left want to solve the housing crisis.

You'll find many people across the entire political spectrum having a go at the government and Fine Gael over this. This has been brought to the attention of the government for the past number of years.

https://www.focusireland.ie/press/focus-ireland-statement-may-24th-2017/
    Focus Ireland said these shocking events are an unwelcome vindication of the warnings the charity has repeatedly made to the Government for the last two years that using commercial hotels as emergency accommodation for families who are homeless is totally unsuitable and unacceptable.

It was even picked up by the BBC last year.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-40047042
    Several homeless families were advised to stay overnight in Garda (Irish police) stations earlier this week due to a lack of emergency accommodation.

A Dublin Region Homeless Executive spokeswoman said she understood seven families were directed to stations on Tuesday but none took up the offer.

It's summer time. Hotels are close to full. Families get kicked out of hotels and have nowhere to go. Some find accommodation, some get sent to Garda stations.

The pope's arrival will put even more strain on accommodation in the city and you'll see a lot more families directed to garda stations.

Just work harder and earn more money I guess.

seamus wrote: »
    It doesn't take an education to know that liars always get caught out.
    If only. These people know they'll get away with it. Maybe it'll not pan out early doors but they'll get sorted soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Why does she have 6 children if she's in that situation its funny how she isnt asked that question what sort of person would put her own children through that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

When will someone get this information out in the media?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Mutant z wrote: »
    Why does she have 6 children if she's in that situation its funny how she isnt asked that question what sort of person would put her own children through that.

She has at least 7, possibly 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Apparently she's 28.
    On the housing list 11 years (since she was 17?)
    The oldest child at the garda station was 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Gatling wrote: »
    So according to several people on FB who went to tallaght Garda station to help this lady her and the kids were nowhere to be seen ,she apparently made another post claiming she was actually in tallaght hospital at the time of the photos being taken and the kids were staying with her sister .

Her FB account has been actually removed

Her FB account is live now anyway. She has the hospital and the garda station posts up. Claims she's 11 years on the housing list. Why are you having 7 fcuking kids then you spanner? Well obviously i know why, free money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

I remember seeing 'Johnny' tattooed on here arm, well 'HERE's Johnny' (same dude in a couple of here FB photos, after all the kids never saw the need for a trip up the aisle?)

http://www.echo.ie/tallaght/article/no-solution-in-sight-with-ongoing-homeless-crisis

They talk about no end in sight for the housing and 6 kids .... so what do you do? yea you guessed it, have another one.

by any chance is this the same lady? age would ,match up fairly well.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0119/58946-missing/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

There’s a comment on her Facebook page from a man saying “hi, I’m such and such from RTÉ. Can we call you about your story”

News outlets have been very selective in what they’ve reported. Tell the oldies who don’t social media what we want them to know not the whole story. It’s disgusting.
    That is utterly disgraceful. If true, the very idea that a "journalist" will have visited this charlatan's facebook page and viewed it in all of its Knackery glory and still saw fit to report on her "story" speaks volumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Don’t know if this has been posted

Linky from 2015

Also faced with an uncertain future is a Tallaght family-of-eight currently “overholding” at a property in Tymon North.
    Margaret Cash and her partner John McCarthy have been living in Castle Park for the last two years
    The house has been sold in the last year, but despite efforts to find alternative accommodation, the only option the family were given, was a temporary weekend stay at a Gardiner Street B&B two weeks ago.

“They’re taking the mick,” said Margaret, who has been on the housing list for six years, and registered the family as homeless in May, when they were aware the new owner wanted them out.

John said: “We have four kids in school at St Aengus and don’t want to disrupt them. On top of that, we have all been living and sleeping downstairs, because the upstairs is in bad shape, with no insulation, mould, damp and a leaking roof. We just want any old place nearby and would be happy to do it up ourselves.

“We gave up our Traveller life years ago and settled down, but we don’t have a family that would be willing to take in six children.”

The family’s rent allowance is capped at €1,000, but they have found they are priced out of moving to a new property and face discrimination because of their background.

Margaret continued: “The council were aware of the repossession a year ago, but we have been getting the runaround. We’re afraid to leave the house in case the locks are changed.

“It’s causing us awful stress. We know we are not the only ones looking for a place but they do have housing. Where will we go with six children ? They’re not giving us any hope.
    CAFA3_D47-_F3_D5-4_A7_E-93_D9-_C82605_D83_D1_B.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

She picked up almost a grand last Tuesday in childrens allowance plus whatever she gets per week on the dole.

She's probably on more money than me; those gardai, and all those journalists who gave her air time today.

Suckers, the lot of us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

tomofson wrote: »
    She has at least 7, possibly 8.

Well thats even more irresponsible who does she expect will pay for them why has she had that many children if she's in such an unstable situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Abel Ruiz wrote: »
    Straight onto the housing list at 17. She had big ambitions.
    Great role model for her children.

Ah, I was confused I was so I was.
    The picture on FB must her mam?

I presume the chap in one of the profile fotos is her beau, father (?) of n kids?

DONTMATTER wrote: »
    Proof?
    Read the thread.
    Reported
    Off to ignore. Bye bye.

That's the entirety of this poster's offerings. You're wasting your time if you think you'll get any actual engagement out of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Don’t know if this has been posted

Linky from 2015

John looks able bodied in that photo is there a reason he cant get a fcuking job to support his children?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭VonZan

Very unfortunate for the kids that their mother couldn't get her own affairs in order before having 6 chikdren!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The media are a joke new and old alike, fake news indeed.

John looks able bodied in that photo is there a reason he cant get a fcuking job to support his children?

"They’re taking the mick,” said Margaret

The irony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I saw a little bit about this before I went to work and thought "I bet there's more to this than meets the eye," and came home to find out what a car crash this has been.

It really shows the standard of reporting in Ireland, that basic fact checking isn't done. I mean "I'm about to be homeless through no fault of my own" when 4 days prior "Treated meself to a few bits!" displaying 3 huge pieces of crystal. And if the husband has been going from site to site to site looking for somewhere to stay, and then he must be a right ****, when even travellers tell him to jog on.

I don't like writing people off as hopeless, but an uneducated mother of 8, it's really not like she's going to college to get a degree (or leaving cert, or ****, maybe even junior is out of reach), and any job she is likely to get isn't going to pay her enough. But what do you do? Cut all her money off, tell her to go **** herself, and live on the street? Or begrudgingly help her, and ensure future generations are educated, and have more chances in life?

There is a housing crisis, there were nowhere near enough houses built for the last number of years, and still nowhere near enough being built. Offices and retail units are tearing ahead, but places to actually live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Anything from ADHD to Z I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Samsgirl wrote: »
    My family were once in her situation ie homeless. We needed emergency accommodation for my Mam and four of us and we got it. This was in the 80's so maybe it was easier then.

I can tell you what didn't happen: my Mam didn't go buying boxes of Coors light, naggins of Vodka, Waterford Crystal or Chinese takeaways. She definitely didn't go for sunbed sessions.

What she did do was : go to work, put us through school, secure a place to live and looked out for us.

No one handed me keys to a house. I work, my husband works. We pay a mortgage. And we don't spend money without thinking if we can afford it.

The sense of entitlement is infuriating.

Sure it is, and y’know I get that. What I don’t get is the moral high horsery. Sure we all had tough upbringings and we all went through shìt and so what... that gives us the right to dump on someone else because they have an even shìttier life than us? I dunno, I’m just not seeing what anyone actually achieves with that craic tbh.

What hope have those kids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

He's probably too wore out, I've only two kids and I'm knackered trying for a 3rd, or she has him tied up somewhere until it's 'that time again'.

Aska wrote: »
    He's probably too wore out, I've only two kids and I'm knackered trying for a 3rd, or she has him tied up somewhere until it's 'that time again'.

Poor John's is worn down to a stump after all the mickey-money earning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

dav3 wrote: »
    Well this story has certainly blown up today. It's on every news channel and mentioned in every newspaper out there in the real world. No mention of her facebook or trawling through her facebook in an attempt to discredit the story out there in the real world either. Probably because normal sane people don't do that sort of thing.

It certainly paints the government as a group of people who don't care about the homeless, don't care about the rental market crisis, don't care about the housing crisis. Just work harder and earn more money is the answer they're putting out.

There'll be families sleeping in Garda stations tonight, tomorrow night and on into the future unless there's some action from the government on this.

And yet this muppet of a woman is somehow being past off as Ginandwine(or vodka and coors, haven't seen her drink wine) as a poster woman for homeless families.

There a lots of real ones in other police stations that did not post pictures.they should be Helped first.
    Not this scammer .
    And then we have this post, Jesus wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I genuinely feel for the government and eoin Murphy getting absolutely slated for this.

But only a few know the facts yet the government get the blame.

What a thankless job.

Country really is ****ed but not the way the left wing media like to report.