Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

Abel Ruiz wrote: »
    Was it mentioned on radio or any interview where the father of the children stayed last night???
    Is he working nights?

Ha I’d say he was “working” during the night all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The real reason this issue is topical is because news and media outlets lapped it up without looking on Facebook first. Simple. That's where everyone gets the REAL news about things homeless these days, and it filters out the idiots pulling a fast one.

But no, homeless crisis, kids in a Garda Station, no homes to go to? Manna from heaven for RTE and elsewhere. Most unprofessional research there IMV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

Seems harsh, picking apart the life of someone who very clearly hasn't had it easy. Whether it's the result of her own actions or not is irrelevant - none of us are above making mistakes. When I see stuff like this, I can't help but feel thankful for the kind of upbringing I had.

I disagree, she is a grown adult.
    She put the picture on facebook, she did interviews on radio, she went to the paper (echo).

Its her fault that her life is being picked apart. She's in deep now and wont admit that she just wants a big house for free from the council.

Everyone is the country feels for the children. Unfortunately they have awful parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

bobbyss wrote: »
    I can't remember many photos being taken inside a Garda station before. Who authorised that? And for what purpose?

Dunno who authorised it, but I guess the purpose of them is so that they can be put in the family album alongside the pics of that magical trip to Disneyland.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

Its a slow Thursday in the silly season with the dail on holidays.

This story has filled the news all day long giving them lots to talk about. Its gold for the journos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

She was offered a place already but she turned it down what does that say about her surely if she was that desperate she would take what was offered but of course that isn't enough for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

DONTMATTER wrote: »
    Having being bettered all over this thread and unable to provide any proof for their claims
    YOU HAVE PROVIDED NO PROOF.
    Seems harsh, picking apart the life of someone who very clearly hasn't had it easy.
    She has never worked, and has always seemed to have had a house.

457905.png

Has money for alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Someone actually commented on her facebook account that if she lived closer she would put them up, I'd imagine that poor family would wake up in the morning to an empty house. "Cash".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

seamus wrote: »
    If you're going go public about how bad you have it and how the state has let you down, I'm afraid the veracity of that story is going to be checked...eventually, apparently.

It doesn't take an education to know that liars always get caught out.

Still something very discomfiting about the level of sneering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,299 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

markodaly wrote:
    Your ones facebook page is just a car crash. Pictures of her drinking a case of beer and a naggin of vodka, comments about the Polish taking all the houses and getting all the handouts, and the staged photos of the kids in the Garda station to top it all off.

Turnipman wrote:
    There's at least 15 more breeding years left in that lovely lady - perhaps we should consider building a high-rise apartment block for her in order to house the complete family.
    Horrible thing to say
    All the Fine Gaelers chiming in. Good on ye lads. Sterling job.
    I'm an anti FG but can't fault them on this scam artist. I just knew her Facebook page would hang her.
    seamus wrote:
    Why do these really public cases always end up being complete chancers?

I don't know. I knew she was from the get go. I repeat, con artists like this lady get homeless people a bad name. This is why started the thread
    seamus wrote:
    Why can't they find someone who's genuinely down on their luck, who hasn't refused houses already, who's landlord chucked them out with five minutes notice, and who have no nowhere else to go?
    Most are too ashamed (not that they should be) to come forward. What caring mother would put their children in a photo like this
    seamus wrote:
    Like the Apollo House farce, once you start scratching at the surface of the sad cases they put forward, it's clear that they could have helped themselves multiple times before it got to this stage, but chose not to.

There was a lot of good intention behind Apollo house. The fact that the chef turned out to be a sex offender doesn't take away from the vast majority of good intentions behind Apollo house.

I hope that the posters who I'd usually be on the same side as will in future take a step back & think before posting. Several attacked me and my motivation yet I have been proven right. Plenty attacked me personally or my intentions whilst I'm trying to point out a con artist & at the same time stick up for homeless people & their rights

Facebook always tells the truth in the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Still something very discomfiting about the level of sneering.

Not really.

It's a completely understandable reaction from people who are themselves struggling to make ends meet and see a complete chancer trying to exploit the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

Also her Facebook page includes the fella Johnny's name. Obviously not so easy to edit that when hastily removing him from your Facebook so you can pretend you're a single Mother.

The real reason this issue is topical is because news and media outlets lapped it up without looking on Facebook first. Simple. That's where everyone gets the REAL news about things homeless these days, and it filters out the idiots pulling a fast one.

But no, homeless crisis, kids in a Garda Station, no homes to go to? Manna from heaven for RTE and elsewhere. Most unprofessional research there IMV.

There’s a comment on her Facebook page from a man saying “hi, I’m such and such from RTÉ. Can we call you about your story”

News outlets have been very selective in what they’ve reported. Tell the oldies who don’t social media what we want them to know not the whole story. It’s disgusting.

***Edit, found it.

Care to share to the public at large?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Spelled it wrong there sport.

It's actually "hardworking responsible taxpayers tired of having f**k all left at the end of the month and having to save up to see a GP".

You're welcome.

And us clowns pay property tax. What a bunch of idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

What a crock of ****. We'll have the new presidential candidates lapping this up and selling it to the naive sods with big gobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

The Margaret Cash from 22 Sundale Villas in Tallaght may not be so fond of benches though :P

Absent accused

A bench warrant was issued for the apprehension of Margaret Cash from 22 Sundale Villas in Tallaght.

She was due in the District Court sitting at Gorey to meet a charge alleging that on October 5, 2013 she was in possession of stolen property at Kilconnib in Monageer.

A solicitor was in court to suggest that there had been what he called a 'break down in communication' between Ms Cash and her legal representative. An application was made to have the case taken by Detective martin Brauders adjourned in the hope that this breakdown could bed repaired.

However, Garda Inspector Pat Cody felt obliged to seek the warrant, pointing out that this was not the first time that Ms Cash had failed to appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

DONTMATTER wrote: »
    I must be off to actually help people this evening. Ciao.
    Hahaha.

Farewell you magnificent superhero. Work your magic for the poor citizens of the world!!

......must be the end of internet privileges for the poor thing today....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

They are now. As I said, she can’t go undoing anything that’s already done, so it’s a bit redundant to be talking about what she should have done or what she has or hasn’t done. Well, of course it’s very easy talk about it from our perspective, but it doesn’t change anything from their perspective. They’re still in the shìt like, and this woman is doing what she believes is the best way for her to get herself and her children out of it. It might not be the way you or I would have done it, but we’re not in her situation and we haven’t lived her life.

My family were once in her situation ie homeless. We needed emergency accommodation for my Mam and four of us and we got it. This was in the 80's so maybe it was easier then.

I can tell you what didn't happen: my Mam didn't go buying boxes of Coors light, naggins of Vodka, Waterford Crystal or Chinese takeaways. She definitely didn't go for sunbed sessions.

What she did do was : go to work, put us through school, secure a place to live and looked out for us.

No one handed me keys to a house. I work, my husband works. We pay a mortgage. And we don't spend money without thinking if we can afford it.

The sense of entitlement is infuriating.

erica74 wrote:
    She showed up at a Garda station with her children because she knew the media would eat that up. Now, she has been proven to be a scammer by her own friends and neighbours posting on her own Facebook page. /thread.

Here's my problem. I tried to point out to my fellow homeless sympathisers that she was a fake before the **** hit the fan & I got attacked for it. These same posters by blindly defending this scam artist have set the homeless movement backwards.

The mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

leading to Mar­garet Cash (27) of 22 Sun­dale Vil­las, Tal­laght, Dublin having a day out :

A woman who was found in a drunken state in a car full of prop­erty that had been stolen dur­ing the course of a bur­glary in En­nis­cor­thy ap­peared be­fore the court last week charged with han­dling stolen goods.

Mar­garet Cash (27) of 22 Sun­dale Vil­las, Tal­laght, Dublin, was present in court and pleaded guilty to the charge, dat­ing from Oc­to­ber 5, 2013.

De­tec­tive Garda Martin Braud­ers told the court that on the night in ques­tion, gar­daí re­ceived a call about a car act­ing sus­pi­ciously in the Drum­goold area.

The ve­hi­cle was even­tu­ally lo­cated and a chase en­sued. The car pulled in at Kil­con­nib, Mon­ageer, and some of the oc­cu­pants fled the scene, leav­ing the de­fen­dant and an­other lady be­hind. Garda Braud­ers said that the de­fen­dant was in an in­tox­i­cated state when ar­rested and had to be taken to hos­pi­tal as she was ill.

He said that the prop­erty, con­sist­ing of a lap­top, a flat-screen TV, pieces of Water­ford Crys­tal and 20 rugs, was owned by Mr Andy O’Brien and had been taken dur­ing the course of a bur­glary.

Garda Braud­ers said that he was happy that the de­fen­dant, whose only pre­vi­ous con­vic­tions were road traf­fic mat­ters, had taken no part in the bur­glary and that she played a mi­nor part in the whole in­ci­dent.

Cash’s so­lic­i­tor said that she was a mother of seven and was fac­ing a dif­fi­cult time at the mo­ment as the fam­ily were be­ing made home­less. He said that they are cur­rently go­ing site to site and are find­ing it very hard.

Upon hear­ing all the ev­i­dence, Judge Haughton opted to give Cash the ben­e­fit of the Pro­ba­tion Act Sec­tion 1.2, record­ing a con­vic­tion, but not im­pos­ing a penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Is her facebook page still up?. I can't seem to find it.

So far all I can gather is that she's 28, has been on the housing list since she was 19 and has managed to give birth to six children in that time.

Apart from her FB page am I missing anything?.

***Edit, found it.

I'm slow as I cant find it! Ignore, found it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If anyone in the so called media has a go at a charlatan like this they will lose their jobs

A truly hopeless profession nowadays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

On another note. I wonder if the pix are actually in the Station at all?

I mean, come on.... what Super or Sergeant would allow a staged picture inside a Station. It is surely a security issue.

I'm sure that the Gardai are just standing back though, and made the call to let it go, the truth will out soon enough.

I often wonder who is in charge at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

gctest50 wrote: »
    leading to Mar­garet Cash (27) of 22 Sun­dale Vil­las, Tal­laght, Dublin having a day out :

Fond o' de auld Waterford Crystal is Margaret.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

And a mention here too

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/goreyguardian/news/district-court-roundup-30999781.html

"Absent accused

A bench warrant was issued for the apprehension of Margaret Cash from 22 Sundale Villas in Tallaght.

She was due in the District Court sitting at Gorey to meet a charge alleging that on October 5, 2013 she was in possession of stolen property at Kilconnib in Monageer.

A solicitor was in court to suggest that there had been what he called a 'break down in communication' between Ms Cash and her legal representative. An application was made to have the case taken by Detective martin Brauders adjourned in the hope that this breakdown could bed repaired.

However, Garda Inspector Pat Cody felt obliged to seek the warrant, pointing out that this was not the first time that Ms Cash had failed to appear."

We have a huge housing crisis and this BUFFOON is the example the media run with......

Jesus christ, this country deserves everything it gets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

On another note. I wonder if the pix are actually in the Station at all?

I mean, come on.... what Super or Sergeant would allow a staged picture inside a Station. It is surely a security issue.

I'm sure that the Gardai are just standing back though, and made the call to let it go, the truth will out soon enough.

I often wonder who is in charge at all?

This is the Gardai after all. Do ye expect standards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

gctest50 wrote: »

Are these the rugs and crystal which appear on her fb page??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Care to share to the public at large?

Margaret Elizabeth Cash