Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should we protest against the pope's visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,554 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

That would be an Ecumenical matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,934 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

So ignore the evidence in the post - which YOU asked for - and instead make a personal attack ? Nice.

Done engaging with you, just not worth it.

you have not provided any evidence. I asked for numbers and spend per head which you admitted you dont have. and as for personal attack

Unless you are so small minded than you let personal prejudices get in the way of a boost for the country ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Really? It's August. Hotels in Dublin and in most other places will be full anyway.

So maybe what you're really getting at is that it'll give some of them an excuse to jack up prices?

I was thinking of going to Dublin that weekend (my birthday on the 26th) hotels are looking for up to €450 per person per night lol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Protesting against the pope is like arguing with a narcissist.....
    Do you seriously think he'll give a toss over a protest or feel any empathy for the cause of a protest....feck no....

I could think of more productive things to do that day to be honest....

nthclare wrote: »
    Do you seriously think he'll give a toss over a protest or feel any empathy for the cause of a protest....feck no....

well feel free to do those things and let others who think differently do what they want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

nthclare wrote:

That's your choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Its not the Pope that the protest is aimed at really.

It is a protest at the state welcoming such a person.

It is telling those in charge they people have serious issues with the CC, the Pope being the figurehead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Joe's caller on line 1 has a good point, the Popes visit may turf out all the 'hotel homeless' on the streets,
    when the hotels can rake in 450per night room rates it becomes a business decision.

Maybe the churches can open the doors and setup those cheap camp beds, and tents outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ah come on. How many nuns born in the 80s are there? Are there even any?

Nobody is being punished for the cover-up, and financially the RCC is laughing all the way to the bank while giving the taxpayer the metaphorical finger.

There most be.

Worldwide, Catholic Church vocations are at their highest since the 1970s.

I imagine we'll see foreign missionaries sent to Ireland in the coming decades if vocations fail to pick up here.

There most be.

going by this article about 68

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/nuns-hit-new-vocations-low-as-just-12-join-during-year-26382511.html

I imagine we'll see foreign missionaries sent to Ireland in the coming decades if vocations fail to pick up here.

Are the church in ireland not already doing that and still only barely managing to have one priest per parish?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

It would bring in a lot more money if public transport wasn't being made free for the day.

I'm indifferent to the visit as a whole, but the free transport part is a joke.

I actually agree with you there - I still think there will be a benefit even with that but there was a chance for transport revenues to receive a boost.

well feel free to do those things and let others who think differently do what they want to do.

Of course sure thats common sense, I appreciate your feedback.
    Its always good to have an opinion.

Im reading over my post here and see nothing to do with not giving anyone the freedom to protest.

Can you point out where it suggest I'm against a protest ?

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Its not the Pope that the protest is aimed at really.

It is a protest at the state welcoming such a person.

It is telling those in charge they people have serious issues with the CC, the Pope being the figurehead.

Do you seriously think the people in charge care ?

Im not a Catholic myself, im one of those heathens......

Of course sure thats common sense, I appreciate your feedback.
    Its always good to have an opinion.

Im reading over my post here and see nothing to do with not giving anyone the freedom to protest.

Can you point out where it suggest I'm against a protest ?

I never said you were against a protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,067 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Do you seriously think the people in charge care ?

Im not a Catholic myself, im one of those heathens......

Its how anything changes. Politicians are informed by the mood and input from citizens.

Of course it doesn't always require protest, but when you have a state sponsored event such as this it is easy to simply assume that the whole country must at least be ok with it.

Having a protest, even just having the conversation here, shows that there are people that are not ok with it.

The first abortion train had a few hundred on it. 30 odd years later the country overwhelmingly voted to repeal the previous constitutional amendment.

I don't expect anything to change overnight, or the pope not to come, or churches to close. But it is another step on the secularisation of the country. Next time the CC looks to do something there will be a few more TD's thinking about whether if it really is something that the country wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,362 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

There most be.

So what. We were talking about Ireland.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

I have decided to attend this event. So I'll be driving down on the day.

Taytoland wrote: »

Why would a unionist go to see the pope?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Keepaneye

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0808/983892-dermot-ahern-vatican/

I wonder do religious morons read these stories and think, "I can't wait to see the boss of that organisation".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Taytoland wrote: »

Not every day the Pope is nearby. Plus to get the perspective of other conservatives.

Why would a sea angler look over the bridge into a river ?

• Site Banned Posts: 120 ✭✭Lash Into The Pints

I can see how the majority of these protests will go: "here ye comin out to protest the Pope? 'Nah man I have to be down the social at 11. The fookers are gonna cut me dole again'. "Ah dey have me head wrecked too. Fook it I'm stayin in and gettin baked."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Why would a sea angler look over the bridge into a river ?

:D:D:D

To see fish?

What a great question. What's the answer?

I fish Black Head for mackeral but I always look over the salmon weir bridge...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,992 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Graces7 wrote: »
    Not true. Child Protection guidelines were voluntarily adopted by every diocese and parish to put minds at peace - and after false accusations had been made.. Norah Walls etc.
    The RCC only brought in these rules because of the numerous abuse allegations, most of whom were credible to the point that the church uswd donations to silence the victims (presumably the swearing to secrecy stunt didn't work).
    The church did not volunteer to bring in these steps but rather was pushed there by the flood if allegations which many members were aware of but kept secret.
    Had the PR not been so bad on the business there is no indication that it would have brought on the changes: the previous decades or centuries are testament to this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Keepaneye

The RCC only brought in these rules because of the numerous abuse allegations, most of whom were credible to the point that the church uswd donations to silence the victims (presumably the swearing to secrecy stunt didn't work).
    The church did not volunteer to bring in these steps but rather was pushed there by the flood if allegations which many members were aware of but kept secret.
    Had the PR not been so bad on the business there is no indication that it would have brought on the changes: the previous decades or centuries are testament to this!

Sssshh. Let her worship her sky deity in peace. Don't bring up hundreds of years of abuse in this thread blasphemer!

:D:D:D

To see fish?

What a great question. What's the answer?

I fish Black Head for mackeral but I always look over the salmon weir bridge...

Actually they're back in the Fergus in Ennis again, was down by Easons the other day, had the Polaroid glasses on, seen around 20 between the garda station and the bridge...
    Big forked tails on them....

Many off the weir ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,362 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

He's just pulling the piss, especially as people have been told to not drive.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

What sort of practical advice is available for this protest?

Parking (pvernight)
    Restaurant opening times
    Best pre/post bar/lounge
    Best vantage point
    Deck chairs? Acceptable or not?
    What to wear?
    After party?

I’m sure I’ll think of more closer to the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The three of us are going to see Francis at Croke Park.

The young lad is really exicited, he will be making his Communion next year.

I'm looking so forward to it also, it will be the only chance that I'll get to see the Pope on home soil in my lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

Leroy42 wrote: »
    So you think the institutional cover up should go unpunished?

Nice Cathy Newman attempt there.

Unpunished, no. Anyone who laid a hand on a child should be punished. Anyone who it has been proved knew, should be jailed also.

But I fail to see how a nun born in the 80s is somehow responsible for the sins of a priest in her diocese long since dead.

The wrong people are being punished - it's now revenge rather than justice.

If any money went to counselling I'd have no problem but handing over hundreds of thouands that could and should be used for charitable reasons is wrong.

I had the living sh**e knocked out of me for 16 years by nuns, my dad and granddad were taught by the Christian Brothers.

I don't expect a bean nor would I seek it out.
    You are the one obsessed by the money side of the argument. I don't really care and you may be right this might bring net gains to the country financially but not for everyone.
    Any way I am delighted you are so stupid as to be proud you support this visit despot the PHYSICAL ABUSE you and your family suffered at the hands of this cult.
    Many people just do not want a corrupt cult leader that has abused our country sexually, physically and financially to come here. Given you state this abuse happened to you and your family can you not see why people are angry about this visit and the money is not the biggest issue!!