Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Refugees who escaped truck in laois not being searched for.

• Site Banned Posts: 120 ✭✭Lash Into The Pints

I wonder why he can't name 1 hmmm

Because it would be against the charter?
    No come on name them.

• Site Banned Posts: 120 ✭✭Lash Into The Pints

I wonder why he can't name 1 hmmm

No come on name them.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Try_harder wrote: »
    Cultural reasons...

Cultural reasons, yes. Problems can and do arise when people with radically different beliefs about society, identity, personal freedom etc become a large population within an existing society. This should be obvious.
    Nativist is their word de jour! No baggage with it I suppose

Nativist simply means the belief that those born in a particular region should have the first priority over access to its resources. It's a legitimate political belief which goes all the way back to the dawn of the human race, so to dismiss it as racist just because it's become uncool in the last couple of decades is moronic. There's nothing inherently "wrong" with people who hold these beliefs. They have every right to hold them and express them, and agitate for them at a political level.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭fran38

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Don't pay your TV licence - half of the Guards down on top of you..
    Enter a country illegally and run free - not a bother..

Because it suits the liberal govt agenda to not track down so called refugees.
    Whereas if you dont pay your licence fee, its perceived as giving two fingers to the state, hence the gards at your door.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭Odhinn

fran38 wrote: »
    Whereas if you dont pay your licence fee, its perceived as giving two fingers to the state, hence the gards at your door.

What's that, pray tell.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭MFPM

Can you indicate one example where this has happened?

The gardai have nothing to do with the TV licence

The gards have everything to do with the tv licence. lets say you dont have one, end up in court, get fined, dont pay it. the judge will impose a custodial sentence. Hence, the gards at your door. Like your avatars name, you should try harder...

Odhinn wrote: »
    What's that, pray tell.

u need to **** off u smart arsed prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

The gards have everything to do with the tv licence. lets say you dont have one, end up in court, get fined, dont pay it. the judge will impose a custodial sentence. Hence, the gards at your door. Like your avatars name, you should try harder...

No, no they wont. A custodial sentence in lieu of paying a fine is gone. Shatter changed it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Says in the papers the search has been 'stood down', ah well that's that then.

Also says:
    This is the 2nd time that a group of migrants were found in a truck in Co Laois after traveling through Rosslare.
    Almost a year ago, on August 13th, x6 'refugees', including a child, were found when a refrigeration truck was searched by gardaí at Stradbally.
    The truck driver alerted gardaí after hearing noises coming from his truck.

Also last May, a teenage stowaway was found in Croke Park, having hidden in a truck being used for the Rolling Stones concert.

In 2016, x8 'refugees', all Kurdish, were found hiding in a truck in New Ross and later sought asylum in Ireland.

This week a report, prepared for Minister Charlie Flanagan, warned that Brexit could have an enormous impact here as any perceived tightening of UK immigration controls could see “illegals” increasingly look across the Irish Sea instead.

You should keep up with the law Fran instead of trying to come up with a witty pun on my username.

No, no they wont. A custodial sentence in lieu of paying a fine is gone. Shatter changed it

https://www.change.org/p/damo-abolish-the-tv-licence-fee-in-ireland-repeal-the-tv-licence-fee

• Registered Users Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭Odhinn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

That means a grand total of sweet fuck all, if you'd like I can show you a petition on Change.org to reveal the truth about Elvis, Jim Morrison and Jimmy Hoffa secretly running the Republican party and living in Trump Tower

wexie wrote: »
    That means a grand total of sweet fuck all, if you'd like I can show you a petition on Change.org to reveal the truth about Elvis, Jim Morrison and Jimmy Hoffa secretly running the Republican party and living in Trump Tower

:D:D:pac:. ya not the most convincing of links lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

So this is a now a thread about the Tv licence?. Hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Get Real

As has been said by others, guards have absolutely zero to do with the tv licence. You seem adamant that a guard checks on and prosecutes for a tv licence.

Has never happened in the history of anything. I believe a TV licence inspector does that. A person from revenue who calls to your door and has the power to prosecute you.

Edit:sorry I agree that it is ridiculous that this has taken a turn towards a tv licence issue. Just whatever poster initially brought it into the discussion, it has no relevance to the Gardai or immigrants.

Yes the cultural natavists are being hauled to jail while the uncultured illegal immigrants get free televisions or something

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I'm sure being a Nazi is against the charter. Anyway, quoting them if they're espousing such views is hardly against the charter. They've offered a view, you're merely quoting what they said.

Yes the cultural natavists are being hauled to jail while the uncultured illegal immigrants get free televisions or something

and prams!!!

and extra social welfare money for bar mitzwahs and such

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

Taytoland wrote: »
    Because they believe in mass immigration, come on in, take what you can, abuse the system. Lead by the idiot politicians "running" the country.

Any proof of that!
    This thread. Seems some are perfectly happy with it. Those who believe in strong immigration control don't like it and never will like it.

This thread. Seems some are perfectly happy with it.

What makes you think that? Cause they're not frothing at the mouth like yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭pancuronium

And where would you suggest they start looking? Let's me guess..... Laois....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

wexie wrote: »
    This thread. Seems some are perfectly happy with it.

What makes you think that? Cause they're not frothing at the mouth like yourself?
    They should be pissed off about it. Ireland has a housing crisis, a homeless crisis, a struggling health service and some people seem perfectly happy with people jumping out of the back of lorries and escaping, people who shouldn't even be in the country. 

How are you supposed to do future planning on housing, health care and other sectors when you don't know how many people are coming in illegally who will need to somehow support themselves, use the health system, need work, it all adds up. It's a very serious issue and deserves to be taken seriously. 

Only those who are happy with illegal mass immigration are happy with it, those who believe in a structured society don't and want controls in place to deal with it, it's not asking for a whole lot, it's common sense. Since when did it become controversial to want to know who is coming into your country, how many and at what rate, it's perfectly normal to be concerned about it and ask questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Only those who are happy with illegal mass immigration are happy with it, those who believe in a structured society don't and want controls in place to deal with it, it's not asking for a whole lot, it's common sense. Since when did it become controversial to want to know who is coming into your country, how many and at what rate, it's perfectly normal to be concerned about it and ask questions.

Who is happy with the escape?

The clamour at the start was for a manhunt to track them down!