Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA Infastructure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Malcolm Tucker

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    I think if the strikes hadn't happened there would be some appetite for a fight but a lot of folks in Cork GAA have either walked away entirely or have adopted a head in the sand attitude to the county board and just focused on their own club.

What I find most shocking is the attitude of the Top Table towards the club delegates. The GAA prides itself on being a grass roots, bottom up organisation but the reality in Cork seems to be very different. What is even the point of County Board meetings if anyone who asks difficult questions just gets told to sit down and shut up. The clubs in Cork should really consider whether they should bother sending anyone to them at all at this stage, as they're just rubber stamping decisions that have already been made elsewhere. The mileage must be good, that's all I can think of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

accountability is gone in an awful lot of county boards
    clubs are just ignored in most counties

jobs for the boys (and girls) in a lot of counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭threeball

What I find most shocking is the attitude of the Top Table towards the club delegates. The GAA prides itself on being a grass roots, bottom up organisation but the reality in Cork seems to be very different. What is even the point of County Board meetings if anyone who asks difficult questions just gets told to sit down and shut up. The clubs in Cork should really consider whether they should bother sending anyone to them at all at this stage, as they're just rubber stamping decisions that have already been made elsewhere. The mileage must be good, that's all I can think of.

You'll find that's the case in most representative bodies who get access to large organizations or government bodies. A few at the top, totally self obsessed and self interested who use those below them as a means to give them legitimacy.
    They hold on to those positions with a death grip.
    Sometimes it takes collapsing the entire organisation just to get rid of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭CK22

So the Páirc opened up this evening in front of 10000. In fairness, it's decent. Look the design isn't amazing, and there are obviously plenty of faults, but there are a few nice features. The Astro pitch is decent, and the seats attached to the back of the main stand is cool. The stream around the Astro looks well. The pitch itself is very good. All viewpoints are good. Compared to what we are used to in the GAA, this place is very good.

Now we can forget about this and move on to Casement Park. Hail Hail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

CK22 wrote: »
    Now we can forget about this and move on to Casement Park. Hail Hail.

they need a few teams in Antrim first
    their U21 hurlers beaten by Derry last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭zetecescort

very impressed with Pairc Ui Chaoimh today. one minor issue was the PA was barely audible on the terrace, hopefully an easy fix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

very impressed with Pairc Ui Chaoimh today. one minor issue was the PA was barely audible on the terrace, hopefully an easy fix

Would second this. I was in the Blackrock terrace and could barely hear the team announcements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Was PÚC sceptic but it looked great at weekend. Perfect venue for games like that. What is the exact capacity? Looked way more than the official attendance by my reckoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Was PÚC sceptic but it looked great at weekend. Perfect venue for games like that. What is the exact capacity? Looked way more than the official attendance by my reckoning.

21,0000 seating and 24,000 standing.

There terraces were very empty, loads of room on them. Attendance looked right both days.

You can blame the Clare fans for Saturdays attendance. So few of them. Exactly the same problem at the Munster Final. There's definitely a major problem there with the Clare fans. PUC was decent though, such an improvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭shmeee

CK22 wrote: »
    You can blame the Clare fans for Saturdays attendance. So few of them. Exactly the same problem at the Munster Final. There's definitely a major problem there with the Clare fans. PUC was decent though, such an improvement

A problem?

Afraid to part with their money. Awful supporters, they just don't travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

shmeee wrote: »
    A problem?

Afraid to part with their money. Awful supporters, they just don't travel.

Munster has a fair whack of them in fairness. Dreadful province for the oul travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,654 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork and Tipp Hurling fans travel well in fairness. They're 60,000 Cork fans at the 2008 semi final.

Cork football fans are awful on other hand. Limerick and Waterford bring decent numbers too when in Croker.

Kerry and Clare fair enough they are poor generally.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Meath believe they can build a 21,000 seated capacity stadium with 4 covered stands for a cost of €9m. It would surely be the best value stadium in the world at that price.
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/gaa/articles/2017/11/08/4148228-pirc-tailteann-redevelopment-plans-shape-up/
    http://meath.gaa.ie/news-general/proposed-redevelopment-pairc-tailteann-public-consultation/

Yera that new stadium seems like a decent bit of business, with all stands covered as well. Seems unlikely that it’ll only cost 9 million though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,956 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

just an update, Pairc Tailteann is supposedly out for tender with more news due in October
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/gaa/articles/2018/03/09/4153222-tailteann-development-goes-to-next-phase/

With the fuss about government grants in the news recently, I'm not seeing any hint of any government money approved for this, at least not so far in whats planned.

What I did see is a new fund of €50million the “Large Scale Sport Infrastructure Fund” established my Minister Ross which will be pumped into upgrading larger stadiums across the country which exceed the €200k limit of the previous capital grants round, and now that the government (i.e. Minister Ross) capital funding rules suddenly seem to be that sharing is essential, you cant see GAA developments like Navan getting government funds.
    https://www.thesun.ie/news/2091457/government-set-to-pump-e50-million-into-new-stadium-building-project-to-revitalise-some-of-irelands-oldest-sports-grounds/

I suppose the upside in all of this is that the development will go ahead in some form or other thanks to Leinster and Croke Park grants, regardless of whether the Government gets involved .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭roadmaster

just an update, Pairc Tailteann is supposedly out for tender with more news due in October
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/gaa/articles/2018/03/09/4153222-tailteann-development-goes-to-next-phase/

With the fuss about government grants in the news recently, I'm not seeing any hint of any government money approved for this, at least not so far in whats planned.

What I did see is a new fund of €50million the “Large Scale Sport Infrastructure Fund” established my Minister Ross which will be pumped into upgrading larger stadiums across the country which exceed the €200k limit of the previous capital grants round, and now that the government (i.e. Minister Ross) capital funding rules suddenly seem to be that sharing is essential, you cant see GAA developments like Navan getting government funds.
    https://www.thesun.ie/news/2091457/government-set-to-pump-e50-million-into-new-stadium-building-project-to-revitalise-some-of-irelands-oldest-sports-grounds/

I suppose the upside in all of this is that the development will go ahead in some form or other thanks to Leinster and Croke Park grants, regardless of whether the Government gets involved .

If the government are so eager to ensure all sports get access to stadiums, will they stipulate that the likes of the RDS and Dalymount pitches will have to be big enough to play Hurling and football?

roadmaster wrote: »
    If the government are so eager to ensure all sports get access to stadiums, will they stipulate that the likes of the RDS and Dalymount pitches will have to be big enough to play Hurling and football?
    It'd be tight to squeeze in a GAA pictch into Dalymount to be fair !

nintchdbpict000380660850.jpg?strip=all&quality=100&w=960

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭roadmaster

It'd be tight to squeeze in a GAA pictch into Dalymount to be fair !

nintchdbpict000380660850.jpg?strip=all&quality=100&w=960

Time to go back to planning so .The Government cant be taking swipes at the GAA over facilitates when they are building grounds that the GAA cant use

After the proclamations over the week that building facilities which are only used by one major sport is a waste of taxpayers money, that would be the logical conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Yes but will the government actually follow through on that?

Doubtful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,444 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Clearly the GAA need to change their playing field dimensions. Problem sorted.

Clearly other stadia need to build bigger pitches to accomodate at least a minimum size GAA pitch seeing as funding "Grants must be used to benefit all the community". Problem sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,444 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Clearly other stadia need to build bigger pitches to accomodate at least a minimum size GAA pitch seeing as funding "Grants must be used to benefit all the community". Problem sorted

Where do you think Dalymount Park is going to get the space for a GAA pitch from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Think this might be all getting a bit childish now lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,351 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

This multi sports thing is nonsense. Why would GAA grounds have to be available for other sports who have no interest in using them because (a) they wouldn't fill 10% of the stadium and (b) the fans will be 20m from the pitch? No LOI or pro rugby club is interested in sharing a stadium with GAA, the pitches aren't compatible and the negatives of sharing outweigh the positives.

GAA pitches can and are used for multiple sports anyway: football, hurling and rounders. GAA isn't a sport as some seem to think, it is an organisation which administers multiple sports (the clue is in the name).

Where do we draw the line with this multi use anyway, should all grounds now have a long jump pit on the sideline, a putting green on the 45? All sports want to develop the best facilities for their needs, not design around the needs of others. Of course share facilities where it makes sense but don't compromise facilities out of some warped sense of fairness.

No surprise to see the Minister for Stepaside Garda Station involved here. The only time he is interested in his ministerial portfolio is when there is a populist bandwagon to be jumped on and he can (hypocritically) whine about wasting tax payers more. How many other sports have used Wesley hockey pitch Shane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,325 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I wonder what's the story the RDS.I remember reading about two years ago that there was a plan to revamp the main arena,building a new stand in place of that awful Anglesea one etc.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Where do you think Dalymount Park is going to get the space for a GAA pitch from?

According to Lord Ross "Grants must be used to benefit all the community" from now on

I have no issue with Dalymount getting grants nor Wesley College getting grants for a hockey pitch but I do have an issue with supposedly all future GAA grants being subject to different criteria just because a GAA picth could accomodate other field sports when other sports won't be made accomodate GAA games

Lord Ross has dug a hole for himself here as he used the Miller Game to have a specific dig at the GAA without thinking of the consequences of his words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    This multi sports thing is nonsense. Why would GAA grounds have to be available for other sports who have no interest in using them because (a) they wouldn't fill 10% of the stadium and (b) the fans will be 20m from the pitch? No LOI or pro rugby club is interested in sharing a stadium with GAA, the pitches aren't compatible and the negatives of sharing outweigh the positives.

GAA pitches can and are used for multiple sports anyway: football, hurling and rounders. GAA isn't a sport as some seem to think, it is an organisation which administers multiple sports (the clue is in the name).

Where do we draw the line with this multi use anyway, should all grounds now have a long jump pit on the sideline, a putting green on the 45? All sports want to develop the best facilities for their needs, not design around the needs of others. Of course share facilities where it makes sense but don't compromise facilities out of some warped sense of fairness.

No surprise to see the Minister for Stepaside Garda Station involved here. The only time he is interested in his ministerial portfolio is when there is a populist bandwagon to be jumped on and he can (hypocritically) whine about wasting tax payers more. How many other sports have used Wesley hockey pitch Shane?

I very much agree with this although I have trained for rugby on Wesley’s hockey pitches in very bad weather as they are available to rent, plenty of soccer teams use them too.