Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

letowski wrote: »
    I'm nervous too of our puckouts. I'm expecting Galway to push up and be timbering Duggan. Getting enough quick, clean quality ball into our forwards is going to be tough.

Strangely enough it's Podge I'm worried about for puck outs, he seems to my Tuohy's favourite target and he does great work but if he can't get free the other options will be limited because we can't go short as the option of a big clearance would suit the Galway backs down to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭letowski

Clareman wrote: »
    Strangely enough it's Podge I'm worried about for puck outs, he seems to my Tuohy's favourite target and he does great work but if he can't get free the other options will be limited because we can't go short as the option of a big clearance would suit the Galway backs down to the ground.

Yep, we have to mix it up and also hope that Owens is in some way able to facilitate quick puckouts. I think if we can get a mixture of balls to Duggan, Podge/Kelly moving short and quick puckouts we might have enough scraps there to survive. It's a big worry anyway... and like the management need to have contingency plans ready in place. Be it bring on Deasy/Shangher, or whatever, they need to be proactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭slegs

BloodyBill wrote: »
    I like the spin and I like President Trump. The time and effort put into that grid shows your passion and interest for the small ball. The only issue I have with the grid is that it doesn't take into account the likes of Limerick City where rugby is the main sport. While many great hurling supporters come from the city it's really the Western division that form the backbone of Limerick support.
    How come Ennis has such a poor hurling culture in comparison to similar sized towns in other parts of the country?

What? West Limerick is football country.

City, East and South Limerick is hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Why has Cian Dillon played so little all year? He's certainly able to match the physicality of Galway's forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

Why has Cian Dillon played so little all year? He's certainly able to match the physicality of Galway's forwards.

Think he was away travelling and only returned after league?

I think he is being out played by Rory Hayes in training, so he is down the pecking order a bit. Hayes is quite a good prospect, I think he will be pushing hard for a place next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭junebabies

He was away travelling and then he broke his nose. His too slow anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

slegs wrote: »
    What? West Limerick is football country.

City, East and South Limerick is hurling

The west Division in the junior hurling ranks has always been quite strong but traditionally yes it's football country. In fairness, once the Limerick bandwagon gets going the whole place hops on it. Meet a lot of city people at games who have never been involved in GAA clubs that follow the hurling team religiously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭slegs

Browney7 wrote: »
    The west Division in the junior hurling ranks has always been quite strong but traditionally yes it's football country. In fairness, once the Limerick bandwagon gets going the whole place hops on it. Meet a lot of city people at games who have never been involved in GAA clubs that follow the hurling team religiously.

I know, I just had to laugh at the guy who picked the least of the 4 Limerick hurling divisions as the strongest.

Even the football folk from Newcastle West, Abbeyfeale, Athea, Askeaton, Foynes and Glin will all follow the hurlers too in thick or thin. Likewise you have Adare, Granagh, Feoghanagh, Knockaderry and other strong hurling clubs in the west.

City has always been a hurling stronghold just took a dip when a couple of the urban clubs fell out of senior. Patrickswell, Kildimo/Pkenry and Ballybrown arent really city clubs even though they play in the division - similar to Ahane or South Liberties from the East bordering on the city area.

Na Piarsaigh more than make up for a revival in the urban area covering the entire North side of the city. Presume Monaleen are now the big city club in the east side of the city and Mungret/St Pauls in the West side. Limerick City area has always been a multi sport area with hurling, soccer, football and rugby.

Still think hurling is and always been the number 1 sport in Limerick city and county as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Lads have to laugh at Michael Duignans predictions on RTÉ sport. “Clare are probably the biggest surprise to be at this stage”
    That’s after he “predicting” we’d win the Munster ... which would qualify us for a semi final would it not?!

Looking at the two teams on paper it’s hard to see us taking Galway but there’s never much in a local derby like this and don’t forget we weren’t given a chance in the quarter or semi finals in ‘13!

Up the banner!

Safe travelling to all making the journey tomorrow!

Looking back at our 2016 game with Galway, of the 14 outfield players that started that day only Jason Flynn will not start tomorrow, 2 years later. Very settled side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

pugw wrote: »
    Lads have to laugh at Michael Duignans predictions on RTÉ sport. “Clare are probably the biggest surprise to be at this stage”
    That’s after he “predicting” we’d win the Munster ... which would qualify us for a semi final would it not?!

Looking at the two teams on paper it’s hard to see us taking Galway but there’s never much in a local derby like this and don’t forget we weren’t given a chance in the quarter or semi finals in ‘13!

Up the banner!

Safe travelling to all making the journey tomorrow!

Take no notice of Michael Duignan, he flips back and forth all the time. Even when commentating... he says the referee should let the game flow,, then gives out when the game flows.. he seems to be very hazy on the rules at times as well. Put himself and Marty commenting on a game and you might as well turn down the sound.
    It would be great if RTE would show matches on one of the spare digital channels with the commentary turned off and just turn up the crowd sound.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Galway have never beaten Clare in an All Ireland semi final and I don't think they've ever beaten us in HQ. The bet for me is the "Red Card" market, I can't see how the Galway backs are going to cope with the Clare forwards without fouling them, they are going to be picking up yellow cards for fun.

WE ARE GOING TO DO IT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭pakie ed

What's the traffic like going into Dublin a lot of talk about road works around Nass. Driving up tomorrow. Big crowd talk of 70k +.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Clareman wrote: »
    Galway have never beaten Clare in an All Ireland semi final and I don't think they've ever beaten us in HQ. The bet for me is the "Red Card" market, I can't see how the Galway backs are going to cope with the Clare forwards without fouling them, they are going to be picking up yellow cards for fun.

WE ARE GOING TO DO IT.

I'd say the free count will be higher down the other end to be honest.

The frees down our end will be more bunching frees that don't normally get carded, when a back and forward are running for a ball and there's pulling by the back or the forward hits the ground there's often a card

pakie ed wrote: »
    What's the traffic like going into Dublin a lot of talk about road works around Nass. Driving up tomorrow. Big crowd talk of 70k +.

Heard of a bad accident and the motorway closed by Obama Plaza, hopefully everyone is OK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭WanderlustIre

Good luck to Clare today. WOuld love to see you do it. Clare Limerick Final for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭pakie ed

What a match. And I still have to milk cows. Cork hurling fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭WanderlustIre

That was lovely hurling. Well done to both panels.

Proud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭supernova5

apart from the "asleep at the wheel" first 16 minutes Clare matched Galway in almost every facet of the game, think the surprise element will be gone for the next day and Galway will be on high alert and be like possessed demons, Clare will have to match and go to an even higher level again, I hope its in them..
    wished the replay was in Croker again as Clare do seem to produce their better displays there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

On the other hand, it seems we were very nervous at the start, probably due to being back at Croke Park after so long .
    Hope we can hit our stride from minute 1 in Thurles.

As for the match today, Peter Duggan take a bow !! Unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Wonder what the story is with the injuries to G.McInerney and Canning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

So where do you start with analyzing that one??!!

First off, very proud of all those players out on that pitch today. Left their hearts and soul on that pitch.

To come back from 9 points down against the all ireland champs was so impressive and every time they pulled away again we were able to drag it back again and again. Unbelievable effort.

Strange one as every player put in a huge effort and contributed positively to the outcome but pretty much every player made a silly mistake. We gifted them so many scores and had to work ridiculously hard for ours. Even things like John Conlon dropping a few high balls which he looked like he had in his hand.

Plenty more to analyze and discuss but leave that for the rest of the week.

Those duggan and SOD points :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Tellyium

So where do you start with analyzing that one??!!

First off, very proud of all those players out on that pitch today. Left their hearts and soul on that pitch.

To come back from 9 points down against the all ireland champs was so impressive and every time they pulled away again we were able to drag it back again and again. Unbelievable effort.

Strange one as every player put in a huge effort and contributed positively to the outcome but pretty much every player made a silly mistake. We gifted them so many scores and had to work ridiculously hard for ours. Even things like John Conlon dropping a few high balls which he looked like he had in his hand.

Plenty more to analyze and discuss but leave that for the rest of the week.

Those duggan and SOD points :D
    As a Galway man, that Duggan point was absolutely class. To pull off that level of skill under serious physical pressure was top drawer.
    Great match and no more than we expected, papers had us hot favorites but we knew we were going to be in a serious, tight match and that’s the way it turned out. Ye will be favorites the next day, given our injuries etc, but it’ll go down to the wire again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭BnB

Stayed up till now watching the full match after driving home and the durty durty durty fupping cursed sky plus recording ran out at the end of the first half of added time.

Well FUPP IT anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

slegs wrote: »
    Browney7 wrote: »

I know, I just had to laugh at the guy who picked the least of the 4 Limerick hurling divisions as the strongest.

Even the football folk from Newcastle West, Abbeyfeale, Athea, Askeaton, Foynes and Glin will all follow the hurlers too in thick or thin. Likewise you have Adare, Granagh, Feoghanagh, Knockaderry and other strong hurling clubs in the west.

City has always been a hurling stronghold just took a dip when a couple of the urban clubs fell out of senior. Patrickswell, Kildimo/Pkenry and Ballybrown arent really city clubs even though they play in the division - similar to Ahane or South Liberties from the East bordering on the city area.

Na Piarsaigh more than make up for a revival in the urban area covering the entire North side of the city. Presume Monaleen are now the big city club in the east side of the city and Mungret/St Pauls in the West side. Limerick City area has always been a multi sport area with hurling, soccer, football and rugby.

Still think hurling is and always been the number 1 sport in Limerick city and county as a whole.

I said the Western Division forms the back bone of support for Limerick not the backbone of the team. It's similar to West Clare supporters always following Clare hurlers in big numbers.
    I don't know where you get the idea that city hurling is doing well in Limerick. Monaleen and Na Piarsaigh are suburban teams. There isn't one senior team inside the old city boundaries from tge Union cross to the Dublin road to Raheen and out to Corbally ..not one decent team.Claughaun, Christians, Ballinacurra, Patrick's wouldn't put an intermediate team together. I do agree there is a great gra for hurling in the city but by god it needs a taskforce. This fooling ourselves that city hurling is well and good is blinkered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,465 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

letowski wrote:
    Proud

And right you are. What a game.

Up the Banner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Fair play to the lads yesterday! They’ve taken a lot of criticism the last couple of years, being written off yesterday, they showed they are a quality side yesterday!!
    Dropping Colm Galvin back was the turning point for me! Great to see Aron Shanagher back!
    Pity the replay isn’t in Croker!