Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Between the two tours Shane has played 20 events. Would this be a high low or average number for most pros these days?

Seems lowish to me but that could be because I'm not a pro golfer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

RikkFlair wrote: »
    What does Shane need to do retain Euro tour status for next year?? Not being a member of either main tour is a bit alarming...

From what I can see he's 96th.

Anything in top 110 keeps a card.

There are exemptions available but I can't think which of them if any apply to Shane.

To give an example of how exemptions work in PGA.....

In 2015 before the Honda Classic Padraig Harrington had no PGA tour card.

Winning the Honda gave Padraig an exemption not only for rest of 2015 but also 2016 and I believe 2017 as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,177 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Harrington's exemption was remainder of 2015 and 2016.
    Due to the elbow injury he got last year when giving lessons he was on a medicial exemption member status for 17/18 to allow him to pass the 125 number on the 16/17 season and regain his card.
    Soon he will elect to fall back on his lifetime earnings exemption to remain a PGA tour member 19/20 which will bring him up to the Seniors Tour.

But this is all academic for Paddy as he frequently looks for invites to the big tournaments and as a 3 time major winner he's only ever been turned down once.

If Lowry wins majors then he has no worries, simple as, his status will be irrelevant as he will get an invite anywhere he wants.

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

slave1 wrote: »
    Harrington's exemption was remainder of 2015 and 2016.
    Due to the elbow injury he got last year when giving lessons he was on a medicial exemption member status for 17/18 to allow him to pass the 125 number on the 16/17 season and regain his card.
    Soon he will elect to fall back on his lifetime earnings exemption to remain a PGA tour member 19/20 which will bring him up to the Seniors Tour.

But this is all academic for Paddy as he frequently looks for invites to the big tournaments and as a 3 time major winner he's only ever been turned down once.

If Lowry wins majors then he has no worries, simple as, his status will be irrelevant as he will get an invite anywhere he wants.

My apologies.

I thought the exemption for winning was longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Spideog Rua

slave1 wrote: »

But this is all academic for Paddy as he frequently looks for invites to the big tournaments and as a 3 time major winner he's only ever been turned down once..

I need to know, who turned him down?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,177 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

From memory it was Malaysia/Singapore somewhere, Paddy himself mentioned it way back, at the time he said it was the only tournament he wrote to for an invite that turned him down

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Felexicon

First shot with the new caddy/brother is in to the rough.

Get him off the bloody bag now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,466 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Felexicon wrote: »
    First shot with the new caddy/brother is in to the rough.

Get him off the bloody bag now!

I don't think he is a new brother...?:pac:

GreeBo wrote: »
    I don't think he is a new brother...?:pac:

He'll be the old brother if he doesn't shape up quick smart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

davo10 wrote: »
    He's right. Lowry has until August 19 to get into the top 125 or he is off the PGA Tour next year, he is currently 168. I'm not sure but I think he now lives in the US so that would be a serious jolt to his career.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/golf/shane-lowry-puts-brother-on-bag-in-bid-for-revival-to-save-pga-tour-card-37148067.html

He is back living in Ireland according to an interview with Sky at the Irish Open, on the newstalk podcast a couple of weeks ago he indicated his goal is to retain his PGA tour card and move over full time because his family enjoyed it.

Good luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,342 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Hope he will have many successful years to come,desperately needs to get consistency into his game.New caddy might a good first step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

Best round in a while today with a 67. Hit every green in reg on the back 9, had 3 birdies out of it. Just looking at shot tracker it seems like the putter was only lukewarm but he’s hitting it well and should be around the top 20 by the time the afternoon lads are done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Shot 5 under today -7 total

Keep it going Shane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,716 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Keep it going Shane.

All down to the brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,025 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Any chance of an old multiquote GreeBo :pac:

Or at least hands up :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Shot 5 under today -7 total

just think of how well he could have played if he had a professional caddy on the bag :D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Keep it going Shane.
    Tied 9th at the moment. Safe for the weekend and maybe he can push on to a good finish.

Early to bed Shane.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,032 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

The brother must be a great caddy...

Only 12 years ago that Frankie molinari was on his brothers bag for the masters. Maybe Alan might follow on!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

As in "hands up, I was wrong"? :confused:

Please don't tell me you think 1 good round means anything or worse still, that this round is due to his brother? :rolleyes:

Clearly its due to the new pencil he is using to mark the card. :cool:

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/88/lowry_pencil.html

Tied for 13th on -11 after 3rd round.Hope he has another good round to finish tomorrow and continue to climb up this rankings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Tied for 13th on -11 after 3rd round.Hope he has another good round to finish tomorrow and continue to climb up this rankings.

He was +2 after 8 holes yesterday, when everyone else was shooting birdies, so fair play to him for a great back 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,395 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

vienne86 wrote: »
    He was +2 after 8 holes yesterday, when everyone else was shooting birdies, so fair play to him for a great back 9.

I'd seen his score around that point, so I pleasantly surprised to see him up near the top at the end of the round. I can see him hopefully finish in the top 10 at least today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭SeeMoreBut

GMac ahead of him on leaderboard and FedEx so it's like I want GMac to do well but not to well if you know what I mean.

Dropped the shots he gained early on. Doesn't seem to do well around 4-8 holes this week but good on back 9.

Looks like he'll need a good top 10 finish as only up 6 places in Fed Ex this week which all that matters.

Next week is only 60% points

As in "hands up, I was wrong"? :confused:

Please don't tell me you think 1 good round means anything or worse still, that this round is due to his brother? :rolleyes:

Clearly its due to the new pencil he is using to mark the card. :cool:

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/88/lowry_pencil.html

You must have forgotten your password over the weekend.

You must have forgotten the difference between causation and correlation.

I want Shane to do well, have never said anything otherwise. I merely felt with 3 weeks to hold his card, he needed all the help he could get.

If he goes on to hold it with the brother on the bag I'll be happy for him.
    I have no skin in the game and no interest in seeing him fail.

You must have forgotten the difference between causation and correlation.

I want Shane to do well, have never said anything otherwise. I merely felt with 3 weeks to hold his card, he needed all the help he could get.

If he goes on to hold it with the brother on the bag I'll be happy for him.
    I have no skin in the game and no interest in seeing him fail.
    Ah that was just a tester to see if you were still lurking around the thread pal.

I don't think I ever indicated I was planning on leaving it? :confused:

-12 and tied 20th now...doesn't have to do too much to get a Top 10.

DJ is ridiculous though.:eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Just missed out on a top 10 but still a good weekend for Lowry.

DJ taking this one home as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Eaglebridie 32

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Just missed out on a top 10 but still a good weekend for Lowry.

DJ taking this one home as well.

That's a good performance, given the pressure he was under and his recent firm.

Certaintly a boost to his confidence which was badly required.

Hon the Lowry bros!