Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

jaymla627 wrote: »
    200 days at grass here in a normal year, this is what the neighbours is growing beside the field i was spreading in

Isn't it gas the way you managed to get your hands on the one bit of good ground in the parish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Yes but you said yourself you're used to this weather. So maybe out but not grazing. At best being always supplemented with silage for the summer.
    You have to have a store of silage for your normal summer.

Jay has to have a store of silage for his summer sometimes or more normally the shoulders being on a wet farm.

Jay has the American Holstein calving all year round same as yourself.
    Ye are brothers from another mother.

Block calving, not American. Waiting for icbf report but hoping to be under 380 days ci which would be a big improvement on 420 around the time quotas went and we would milk anything that could walk into the parlour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

Dont post much here but feel i have to stick up for mr kelleher, maybe its the accent from west of the city ye cant grasp but the man says 'all of a sudden theyre gold again'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Timmaay wrote: »
    Say your cows aren't a million miles off frees or Jay's? As in yielding over 30l at peak?

One meal salesman says I've great cows too. :)
    I'm not going comparing here now. ;)

I'd be kind of the opposite though all spring block calving with as much grass as I can get through necessity of having a crap straw bedded wintering system and no silage pits just a pad for bales.

Block calving, not American. Waiting for icbf report but hoping to be under 380 days ci which would be a big improvement on 420 around the time quotas went and we would milk anything that could walk into the parlour.

Did I get Holstein correct at least?

Don't worry. I call anyone that calves in the autumn and spring an all year rounder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Did I get Holstein correct at least?

Don't worry. I call anyone that calves in the autumn and spring an all year rounder.

Personally I take insult to that when ever it's said to me as it takes quiet a lot of work and discipline to keep to tight calving blocks.
    We're gone all spring as of next year so I don't have to worry about that now :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

ted_182 wrote: »
    Dont post much here but feel i have to stick up for mr kelleher, maybe its the accent from west of the city ye cant grasp but the man says 'all of a sudden theyre gold again'

Was at the event yesterday and heard it as “gold again” aswell... certainly didn’t come across as belittling anyone at any stage, and didn’t come across as a “precious” dairy farmer. From listening to him yesterday he appeared to have a very good relationship built up with a local tillage farmer.

There’s a few peopleon here and over on Twitter that seem to jump on their high horse and berate these “Teagasc poster boys” as they like to call them, any chance they get. The job, especially this year, is tough enough without listening to that rubbish every time you open up social media.

I was very impressed with mr Kelleher yesterday, super figures for fertility, milk production and grass production. answered questions very well and honestly, and had a great attitude towards farming, with a focus on getting the most out of what he has, improving the infrastructure to allow him to enjoy farming more and to allow him to spend more time with his family. Also wasn’t afraid to buy “expensive” fodder to ensure peace of mind for himself heading into this winter.

A super operator that we could all learn something from regardless of the system we operate.

Personally I take insult to that when ever it's said to me as it takes quiet a lot of work and discipline to keep to tight calving blocks.
    We're gone all spring as of next year so I don't have to worry about that now :P

Well there's a bit of cheating as I call it can go on with carrying cows over to the next block calving.
    Nothing wrong with it. It's a highly profitable system (says me from the outside). Especially if you have a liquid contract.

Welcome to crap prices and no excuse for escaping the relations on Christmas day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,745 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Well there's a bit of cheating as I call it can go on with carrying cows over to the next block calving.
    Nothing wrong with it. It's a highly profitable system (says me from the outside). Especially if you have a liquid contract.

Welcome to crap prices and no excuse for escaping the relations on Christmas day.
    Look at the calving interval that speaks volumes of how tight a ship can be run in block calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

ted_182 wrote: »

He definitely says yanny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

K.G. wrote: »
    Often wonder what your frecnh neighbours make of you over there and what they think about irish farmers

They think I’m...
    A foreigner.
    A capitalist.
    A polluter.

I’m after more calls this week than any of the previous crises from merchants and farmers asking about fodder.When I say that there’s a possibility that more fodder may be needed...the response is inevitably...AGAIN???

Nutshell...
    The natives think ye’re fcukin nuts.
    (So pots and kettles I guess).

kowtow wrote: »
    No tillage farmer I know could possibly be described as "gold digging". Once anything involves digging they get a contractor in! :)

More seriously I have long wondered why more flexible open-market partnerships between dairy farmers and other disciplines weren't part of the focus here. This drought, if nothing else, has woken all of us up to the additional fodder capacity on both tillage and dry stock farms and that surely has to create some possibilities going forward.

For example, if there was only a sensible market for bales (as opposed to an all-or-nothing lucky bag approach) then drystock farmers would be incentivised to make better silage for themselves and sell the excess. Teagasc and the co-ops could actually get that going right now by promoting in-field testing (NIRS is only 2K or 3K a unit) and putting a label on the bales. We would have more productive drystock farms and a supply of known-quality silage with a more transparent market. Better for beef and better for dairy.

Same goes for tillage farmers, fodder crops, etc. - plenty of scope to contract on an ad-hoc or more permanent basis between dairy and tillage to secure straw, wholecrop, and even part of the ration requirement - although a feed mill or co-op might be required to intermediate, also constructive from a nitrates perspective. Once again a transparent market place which helped match spare capacity to demand would help both sides in coming to terms before the country is in crisis, and not at the time of the shortage which is really no use to anyone.

I suppose in a way that would be a modern distributed take on the mixed/dairy farm of old - closer to Dawg's model in France or the kind of setup you see in the UK. Have we gone too far to the grass-only model to make this feasible? It's no good teaming up with tillage farmers when the cows are already hungry and/or aren't bred to produce profitably from nuts.

And if the whole thing did work year in / year out would it just end up too expensive or too intensive for the environment?

We've been through the whole gamut since quotas went - describing ourselves as everything from sustainable to resilient, and sometimes even profitable - surely now with this year we've realised that it's not just the milk price which can be volatile. Time to fine tune the plan for the future?

Good post as usual Kowtow but I think that it mightn’t be the time for that conversation just yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

She's a gold digger. She only married him for the silage

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

They think I’m...
    A foreigner.
    A capitalist.
    A polluter.

I’m after more calls this week than any of the previous crises from merchants and farmers asking about fodder.When I say that there’s a possibility that more fodder may be needed...the response is inevitably...AGAIN???

Nutshell...
    And they are right,wouldnt be unlike the french to get up on a high horse and look down on everyone

K.G. wrote: »
    And they are right,wouldnt be unlike the french to get up on a high horse and look down on everyone

Pots and kettles...

I wouldn’t be standing up for them mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,934 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

They think I’m...
    A foreigner.
    A capitalist.
    A polluter.

Nutshell...

Was it you Dawg upsetting a certain Mr Froome and the rest of Le Tour yesterday??;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

They think I’m... A foreigner. A capitalist. A polluter.

Next question what do the Irish think of dawg ðŸ˜႒

Anyone send cows to the factory from the parlour recently, how long was the wait to get them in and what's the price like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

whelan2 wrote: »
    Anyone send cows to the factory from the parlour recently, how long was the wait to get them in and what's the price like?

Send a hand full but we're dry ones and proper fit, took two weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Talking to a few lads on Tuesday and they were saying 2 weeks in Cork and 15-16 days in Wexford direction.

And getting longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Talking to a few lads on Tuesday and they were saying 2 weeks in Cork and 15-16 days in Wexford direction.

And getting longer.

Same up these parts 10 days to 2 weeks delay

I see the coops are advising not to cull and milk supplies back over 2.5% in some regions this month .one positive of all this is going to be a strong milk price well into next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Same up these parts 10 days to 2 weeks delay

I see the coops are advising not to cull and milk supplies back over 2.5% in some regions this month .one positive of all this is going to be a strong milk price well into next year.
    Don't know about not culling, j. There's a long year there yet and about 2/3 of normal growth past now.

I'll be culling regardless over the next few months. Ration prices look likely to rise, shortages of silage, grass and straw and lads now depending on perfect growth and grazing conditions to get from from now till next March.

I'm probably getting more risk adverse as I get older but I can't see a good outcome for this:(

Anyone do their cows for worms? What did you use, any good offers around. Coughing a good bit yesterday and today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Use zeromectin here. Has worked well in the last few years. Costs around 3.50 per head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Don't know about not culling, j. There's a long year there yet and about 2/3 of normal growth past now.

I'll be culling regardless over the next few months. Ration prices look likely to rise, shortages of silage, grass and straw and lads now depending on perfect growth and grazing conditions to get from from now till next March.

I'm probably getting more risk adverse as I get older but I can't see a good outcome for this:(

Neither can I ,fodder as u said won’t be there cereals getting scarce and dear ,finances tight and mr collector generals pay day comming up in November.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Was it you Dawg upsetting a certain Mr Froome and the rest of Le Tour yesterday??;)

What was that about?

* Maybe it’s about a cut in disadvantaged area payments?
    Was the stage in the mountains?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,667 ✭✭✭straight

I need to improve my water infrastructure here. Getting sick of replacing rods from the cows nosing them. All I have at the moment is half inch heavy gauge. Would i get away with 25mm mdpe down to 3/4 inch at the valve. Diy or bring in the contractors that bury the pipe and do the whole system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

* Maybe it’s about a cut in disadvantaged area payments? Was the stage in the mountains?

I think it was as he was going down hill! Reckon it's more sabutomol then das

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

anyone know if you can get an attachment for loader to feed out maize and wholecrop, might have to bite bullet and look at diet feeder