Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I beg to differ on that been taken out of context ,why say it otherwise .rest of video was excellent ,the westerwolds ,the wheat and feed in yard .

Were you at the event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Were you at the event?

Nope too busy ,pity as looked a good day .anyway the comment was made ,it was unfourtnste

It’s context is what’s important. The question and the previous sentence are what puts it in context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Drone would take some of the donkey work out of it if you an see down into the crop. Can you follow the cows tracks.

Found late last night...after road warning signs, reduced speed limit, 850m of temporary fencing and a drone quartering the field...mega pita.

Dreading the bill when it comes.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Found late last night...after road warning signs, reduced speed limit, 850m of temporary fencing and a drone quartering the field...mega pita.

Dreading the bill when it comes.

Often wonder what your frecnh neighbours make of you over there and what they think about irish farmers

It’s context is what’s important. The question and the previous sentence are what puts it in context.

The point made about buying the wheat ,getting the westerwolds in even tho it was dear ,GE may not need it and giving him great piece of mind was excellent and one I’d fully agree with .just felt there was a bit of resentment towards the tillage man charging top dollar for it hence the gold digging comment

That comment has been taken completely out of context. The speaker was encouraging arrangements between tillage and livestock farmers. He has a very good relationship built up with one himself. Again without hearing the full story people are jumping to conclusions despite not being there

It’s a pity really as we were on a top performing family farm who knows where he is and is very content to be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,745 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

That comment has been taken completely out of context. The speaker was encouraging arrangements between tillage and livestock farmers. He has a very good relationship built up with one himself. Again without hearing the full story people are jumping to conclusions despite not being there

It’s a pity really as we were on a top performing family farm who knows where he is and is very content to be there

What we're the main points picked up yesterday. Was it a good day?

Not disagreeing with any of that but it’s the gold digging comment that has rled some .i don’t believe it was intentional but it’s there now no matter how some want to dress it up
    On a wider scale it fuels the resentment towards dairy farmers who have been seen to have it all ,the tillage man this year is coining it and good luck to him .a freind of mine is a large enough scale tillage farmer is making money for the first time in years atm but still has dairy farmers wanting cut price whole crop and break crops putting in etc after been blown out of it on land rental over the years he has little sympathy now and it’s hard to blame him
    And a top performing farmer ,great day event I’m not doubting ,read and watched some of the twitter stuff and very good

I might be missing something but how will the farmer survive, paying €1000/acre for whole crop before cutting. Paying leases on land which has grown feck all so far this year. . Paying loans, labour, massive fodder bills.Will these ever get paid? Also having to provide for their family and live. Tough times for dairy farmers at the moment.

whelan2 wrote: »
    I might be missing something but how will the dairy farmer survive, paying €1000/acre for whole crop before cutting. Paying leases on land which has grown feck all so far this year. . Paying loans, labour, massive fodder bills.Will these ever get paid? Also having to provide for their family and live. Tough times for dairy farmers at the moment.
    Tough times for ALL farmers Whelan,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

I might be missing something but how will the dairy farmer survive, paying €1000/acre for whole crop before cutting. Paying leases on land which has grown feck all so far this year. . Paying loans, labour, massive fodder bills.Will these ever get paid? Also having to provide for their family and live. Tough times for dairy farmers at the moment.

The poor beef farmers will be grand i suppose.

Better living everyone

The poor beef farmers will be grand i suppose.

This is the dairy thread. I will edit my original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,121 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I might be missing something but how will the farmer survive, paying €1000/acre for whole crop before cutting. Paying leases on land which has grown feck all so far this year. . Paying loans, labour, massive fodder bills.Will these ever get paid? Also having to provide for their family and live. Tough times for dairy farmers at the moment.

Once the big milk cheques stop coming for peak months heading into the autumn, it will start to dawn on lads just how big a hole they are in, tax bills due in October will be another problem....
    Heading into next spring, credit limits and getting access to feed and fertilizer could be a huge problem for a lot of farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Bo dearg

only less than 10% of farmers are full time one income family farms. A year like this will see that percentage fall even further. So much for bird bia's advertising of green grass and family farms!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Just looked up that Twitter video from yesterday's event. Whatever about context, he doesn't even use the word 'gold-digging'. He clearly says that tillage farmers are 'gold again' and I think we all know what he means which is quite the opposite of gold-digging.

Personally, I don't understand why fellas would attempt to run down this guy. Perhaps they're jealous these events aren't being held on their farms.

Just looked up that Twitter video from yesterday's event. Whatever about context, he doesn't even use the word 'gold-digging'. He clearly says that tillage farmers are 'gold again' and I think we all know what he means which is quite the opposite of gold-digging.

Personally, I don't understand why fellas would attempt to run down this guy. Perhaps they're jealous these events aren't being held on their farms.

Who’s running the guy down ????no slur whatsoever on the man or the event as I’ve pointed out .dont know of anyone that would be jealous of not having such events I’m sure there maby ,I’m certsinly not .i showed that clip to 2 tillage farmers ,I wouldn’t print there reply but words like precious etc where used ,anyway move on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Not disagreeing with any of that but it’s the gold digging comment that has rled some .i don’t believe it was intentional but it’s there now no matter how some want to dress it up
    On a wider scale it fuels the resentment towards dairy farmers who have been seen to have it all ,the tillage man this year is coining it and good luck to him .a freind of mine is a large enough scale tillage farmer is making money for the first time in years atm but still has dairy farmers wanting cut price whole crop and break crops putting in etc after been blown out of it on land rental over the years he has little sympathy now and it’s hard to blame him
    And a top performing farmer ,great day event I’m not doubting ,read and watched some of the twitter stuff and very good

His comment as taken totally out of context as he was having a dig at the farmers, and not just dairy farmers either, who were complaining about tillage farmers increasing the price of straw due to the current shortage. He has an excellent relationship with the tillage farmer in question and both are using the current situation to their mutual advantage.
    I copied my reply from elsewhere here as there is a mountain made of a molehill here. I was there and he said nothing anywhere near what has been claimed he said. If anything, it was a dig at other farmers having a go at tillage farmers for the price of straw.

What we're the main points picked up yesterday. Was it a good day?
    Great day as usual.

Main point seemed to be get your soil fertility right, especially pH and potassium as there is no restriction on those and target your P at areas low in P. Measure grass and reseed the paddocks with the lowest production. Soil test every 2 years to maximise the results of increasing fertility.

Talking to a few Teagasc lads, the current shortages haven't hit home to some lads yet. If we get about half normal grass growth in August and normal grass growth for the rest of the year, we will grow 4.5t of grass. If we feed 3 kgs of ration for the rest of the year, the cow will need 4.5t of grass to the middle of November. There is likely to be a lot of trouble when credit facilities run out this winter:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

No tillage farmer I know could possibly be described as "gold digging". Once anything involves digging they get a contractor in! :)

More seriously I have long wondered why more flexible open-market partnerships between dairy farmers and other disciplines weren't part of the focus here. This drought, if nothing else, has woken all of us up to the additional fodder capacity on both tillage and dry stock farms and that surely has to create some possibilities going forward.

For example, if there was only a sensible market for bales (as opposed to an all-or-nothing lucky bag approach) then drystock farmers would be incentivised to make better silage for themselves and sell the excess. Teagasc and the co-ops could actually get that going right now by promoting in-field testing (NIRS is only 2K or 3K a unit) and putting a label on the bales. We would have more productive drystock farms and a supply of known-quality silage with a more transparent market. Better for beef and better for dairy.

Same goes for tillage farmers, fodder crops, etc. - plenty of scope to contract on an ad-hoc or more permanent basis between dairy and tillage to secure straw, wholecrop, and even part of the ration requirement - although a feed mill or co-op might be required to intermediate, also constructive from a nitrates perspective. Once again a transparent market place which helped match spare capacity to demand would help both sides in coming to terms before the country is in crisis, and not at the time of the shortage which is really no use to anyone.

I suppose in a way that would be a modern distributed take on the mixed/dairy farm of old - closer to Dawg's model in France or the kind of setup you see in the UK. Have we gone too far to the grass-only model to make this feasible? It's no good teaming up with tillage farmers when the cows are already hungry and/or aren't bred to produce profitably from nuts.

And if the whole thing did work year in / year out would it just end up too expensive or too intensive for the environment?

We've been through the whole gamut since quotas went - describing ourselves as everything from sustainable to resilient, and sometimes even profitable - surely now with this year we've realised that it's not just the milk price which can be volatile. Time to fine tune the plan for the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Talking to a few Teagasc lads, the current shortages haven't hit home to some lads yet. If we get about half normal grass growth in August and normal grass growth for the rest of the year, we will grow 4.5t of grass. If we feed 3 kgs of ration for the rest of the year, the cow will need 4.5t of grass to the middle of November. There is likely to be a lot of trouble when credit facilities run out this winter:(

The teagasc boys would want to have a look in the mirror tbh. Everything they came up with has been a stop gap measure.

If they had advised lads to go in hard and early with feed production wouldn't have dropped with the knockon effects this is having now and for the rest of the year. Feeding 10kg of meal now when production has been down for weeks and only getting 18l for your input is crazy. If cows had been fed properly when the grass restrictions started to bite and yields had been maintained those bills would be a lot easier to meet. Palm kernel meal in an old water trough? Gimme a break.

It seemed to me that the lads with a media profile who knew fcuk all about dealing with these conditions were channelling their inner Charlton Heeston in relation to the microphone. "From my cold dead hands". No one else was getting near a reporter in case it would affect their profile.

Topping up ground for third cut, grass has finally started to motor again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

kowtow wrote: »
    No tillage farmer I know could possibly be described as "gold digging". Once anything involves digging they get a contractor in! :)

More seriously I have long wondered why more flexible open-market partnerships between dairy farmers and other disciplines weren't part of the focus here. This drought, if nothing else, has woken all of us up to the additional fodder capacity on both tillage and dry stock farms and that surely has to create some possibilities going forward.

For example, if there was only a sensible market for bales (as opposed to an all-or-nothing lucky bag approach) then drystock farmers would be incentivised to make better silage for themselves and sell the excess. Teagasc and the co-ops could actually get that going right now by promoting in-field testing (NIRS is only 2K or 3K a unit) and putting a label on the bales. We would have more productive drystock farms and a supply of known-quality silage with a more transparent market. Better for beef and better for dairy.

Same goes for tillage farmers, fodder crops, etc. - plenty of scope to contract on an ad-hoc or more permanent basis between dairy and tillage to secure straw, wholecrop, and even part of the ration requirement - although a feed mill or co-op might be required to intermediate, also constructive from a nitrates perspective. Once again a transparent market place which helped match spare capacity to demand would help both sides in coming to terms before the country is in crisis, and not at the time of the shortage which is really no use to anyone.

I suppose in a way that would be a modern distributed take on the mixed/dairy farm of old - closer to Dawg's model in France or the kind of setup you see in the UK. Have we gone too far to the grass-only model to make this feasible? It's no good teaming up with tillage farmers when the cows are already hungry and/or aren't bred to produce profitably from nuts.

And if the whole thing did work year in / year out would it just end up too expensive or too intensive for the environment?

We've been through the whole gamut since quotas went - describing ourselves as everything from sustainable to resilient, and sometimes even profitable - surely now with this year we've realised that it's not just the milk price which can be volatile. Time to fine tune the plan for the future?
    Even if that was in place it would have done little to prevent fodder shortages, this years issues are entirely due to lack of buffers and too much belief in these sustainable resilient intensive systems.
    "Grass will grow and silage will be made" is what's got us into this mess, a buffer for when grass doesn't grow and silage isn't made is the only prevention.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Topping up ground for third cut, grass has finally started to motor again

That doesn't look like it ever stopped tbh.

Was cut for second cut on the 15 th of June, would normally be dropping it for 3rd cut next week, nice cover of 900 on it at the minute had been bare up to last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Was cut for second cut on the 15 th of June, would normally be dropping it for 3rd cut next week, nice cover of 900 on it at the minute had been bare up to last week

There must be peat in that land?

I hope neither of ye take it the wrong way but it's just an observation yourself and freedom have always been the intensive indoor Holstein system but just for different reasons. I'd say your land is too wet and his land is too dry.
    Just interesting that ye both came from polar opposite in land conditions to arrive at the same (pun intended - concrete) system.

So was ours. Might be 300 on it now and that would represent whatever growth it got in June.

There must be peat in that land?

I hope neither of ye take it the wrong way but it's just an observation yourself and freedom have always been the intensive indoor Holstein system but just for different reasons. I'd say your land is too wet and his land is too dry.
    Just interesting that ye both came from polar opposite in land conditions to arrive at the same (pun intended - concrete) system.

Whatever about intensive definitely not indoors. Cows out 280-300 days per year. Any longer and you're just robbing the Spring.

200 days at grass here in a normal year, this is what the neighbours is growing beside the field i was spreading in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Yes but you said yourself you're used to this weather. So maybe out but not grazing. At best being always supplemented with silage for the summer.
    You have to have a store of silage for your normal summer.

Jay has to have a store of silage for his summer sometimes or more normally the shoulders being on a wet farm.

Jay has the American Holstein calving all year round same as yourself.
    Ye are brothers from another mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Say your cows aren't a million miles off frees or Jay's? As in yielding over 30l at peak?