Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

A lot of people over on twitter got very animated about this article, but it had some good points that some found was too close to the bone.
    Agri lands response to question was very childish tho, and insulting.

Not on twitter, what was the response? The article contradicted itself at one point by saying "grass was the only way to profit" and went on to state immediately afterwards that dairy farmers couldnt grow grass this year lucky all the beef abd sheep farmers are able to on a year like this. Agriland is starting go down the road of thatsfarming by the looks of it.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Not on twitter, what was the response? The article contradicted itself at one point by saying "grass was the only way to profit" and went on to state immediately afterwards that dairy farmers couldnt grow grass this year lucky all the beef abd sheep farmers are able to on a year like this. Agriland is starting go down the road of thatsfarming by the looks of it.

I dont follow either of them anymore tbh, very little good content in either. There was a point made that they were championing dairying for the last few years and now berating it. Agriland said it was a news porthole and added some smarmy commets, even referenced one guys partner. Gutter responses from the "journalist"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

trixi2011 wrote: »
    What price is straw over with you ? Bed 100 cows on straw here and looking like it's going to be very hard found

Very expensive this year Trixi.
    Most dealers are holding out for €80-90/t.
    I over sold straw so I must buy a few loads to fill a contract and it’s looking like I’ll have to swap lucerne hay for straw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I dont follow either of them anymore tbh, very little good content in either. There was a point made that they were championing dairying for the last few years and now berating it. Agriland said it was a news porthole and added some smarmy commets, even referenced one guys partner. Gutter responses from the "journalist"

Christ I think some are blowing this out of all proportion ,it was a good article with some hard truths and content which some dairy farmers may not of liked was talking to a neighbour who read it and also some of the comments and he who is also a dairy farmer replied that a lot of is dairy farmers are turning into a very precious bunch .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,622 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Christ I think some are blowing this out of all proportion ,it was a good article with some hard truths and content which some dairy farmers may not of liked was talking to a neighbour who read it and also some of the comments and he who is also a dairy farmer replied that a lot of is dairy farmers are turning into a very precious bunch .....
    That I agree. A local dairy farmer fired a digging contractor for driving over tge grass in a paddock. The cattle were in the paddock grazing at the time and he went mental that he destroyed the grass.

He was in his jeep at the time just driving over to his digger. Now that's riduclious behaviour. A few others are getting as bad.

Someone is pushing the agenda of rolling is evil too. You wanna see the stones fly out of the topper yesterday on a farmers reseed as he refused to roll afterwards. The basics seem to be lost on some lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,745 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    That I agree. A local dairy farmer fired a digging contractor for driving over tge grass in a paddock. The cattle were in the paddock grazing at the time and he went mental that he destroyed the grass.

He was in his jeep at the time just driving over to his digger. Now that's riduclious behaviour. A few others are getting as bad.

Someone is pushing the agenda of rolling is evil too. You wanna see the stones fly out of the topper yesterday on a farmers reseed as he refused to roll afterwards. The basics seem to be lost on some lads

He probably didn't roll it as he knew he wouldn't be the one topping it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

There was no farmer forced into dairy, I know plenty beef men with cattle in feeding silage, plenty tillage lads with yields down and crops under pressure. Also know plenty lads already buying forage off tillage lads and have been for years. I don't get the point of the article really as shir most of the jumping up and down about anything is generally blown out of proportion in the media these days anyway. Going on about the tillage area decreasing and blaming dairy? As gawd has said grain prices for the last number of years wouldn't exactly inspire you. Went on a walk earlier this year to a lad converted from sucklers and tillage, had 350 acres or so in tillage. He wasn't forced into it he simply did the sums himself, never milked a cow before his own. The tillage and sucklers simply weren't giving him a return he could live with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Ah here dairy expansion has nothing to do with that. That lad is ignorant. Spent summers driving tractors and all sizes of farmers can be pig ignorant.
    There is no one saying don't roll, read anything written by teagasc after reseed and it will tell you to roll the fields.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Milking cows dosnt makes a fella an asshole,he usally one before he starts

Gobshytes just left a freshly calved cow and her calf into a 29ha field of maize...the field is bordering a very busy national road with no fence whatsoever.

IDEAS????

Would a drone find her?
    The maize is about 4m high.

K.G. wrote: »

Hmmm...certainly didn’t help me anyway K.G.!

I think they may panic if they can't see a way out, could you make a track out and try and guide them towards it?

K.G. wrote: »

This is true but I've met lads that became that way the more land they bought.

Big man syndrome

yewtree wrote: »
    Ah here dairy expansion has nothing to do with that. That lad is ignorant. Spent summers driving tractors and all sizes of farmers can be pig ignorant.
    There is no one saying don't roll, read anything written by teagasc after reseed and it will tell you to roll the fields.

Id wonder about it as more and more young entries are like that I'm noticing so someone is preaching it somewhere

Big man syndrome

It doesn't just apply to farmers though..

whelan2 wrote: »
    It doesn't just apply to farmers though..

I agree but it is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Gobshytes just left a freshly calved cow and her calf into a 29ha field of maize...the field is bordering a very busy national road with no fence whatsoever.

IDEAS????

Would a drone find her?
    The maize is about 4m high.

Drone would take some of the donkey work out of it if you an see down into the crop. Can you follow the cows tracks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

A local suckler farmer went stuck in me the start of the year claiming i was grabbing land on him.the ironic thing is people are coming to me to do private deals as they dont want to advertise and draw him on them..plenty of assholes around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,121 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Big man syndrome

They’re are plenty of tillage farmers out their that are gold-digging, lovely one liner from the iga tour by one of the host farmers, bit ironic seen as how their blowing about how profitable their farms are, some lads need to get over themselves almost a sense of entitlement that tillage farmers shouldn’t be making a few quid out of wholecrop deals and straw sales

jaymla627 wrote: »
    They’re are plenty of tillage farmers out their that are gold-digging, lovely one liner from the iga tour by one of the host farmers, bit ironic seen as how their blowing about how profitable their farms are, some lads need to get over themselves almost a sense of entitlement that tillage farmers shouldn’t be making a few quid out of wholecrop deals and straw sales

I heard that comment and it just goes to show how precious some of us dairy farmers have really become and to hear a high profile farmer at a high profile event actually say it just proves it .there was lots here berating agriland yesterday for simillar antics yesterday ,what’s the response to this ??agriland had and made a great point

What was actually said?

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I heard that comment and it just goes to show how precious some of us dairy farmers have really become and to hear a high profile farmer at a high profile event actually say it just proves it .there was lots here berating agriland yesterday for simillar antics yesterday ,what’s the response to this ??agriland had and made a great point

What exactly was the great point Agriland were making??

The article I read was just looking for attention with no original thought.

Summed up by the author stating that the government have done Notting to stop the decline in tillage.
    The author mustnt know they get the SFP and all the other grants just like the rest of us. I would say bad weather and low global grain prices have more to do with the decline in tillage area.

If tillage lads can get €50 a round bale and €2000/acre for whole crop more power to them. It's up to every farmer to run their own business I don't know any dairy farmers looking for handouts from tillage farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

jaymla627 wrote: »

Very poor form,

What exactly was the great point Agriland were making??

The article I read was just looking for attention with no original thought.

Summed up by the author stating that the government have done Notting to stop the decline in tillage.
    The author mustnt know they get the SFP and all the other grants just like the rest of us. I would say bad weather and low global grain prices have more to do with the decline in tillage area.

If tillage lads can get €50 a round bale and €2000/acre for whole crop more power to them. It's up to every farmer to run their own business I don't know any dairy farmers looking for handouts from tillage farmers

I think the general stance out tgere the last while was that you have to be milking or your wasting your time. The bigger milking platform you have the more successful you are seemed to be the way of thinking.

Every other type of farming was a side show

I think the general stance out tgere the last while was that you have to be milking or your wasting your time. The bigger milking platform you have the more successful you are seemed to be the way of thinking.

Every other type of farming was a side show
    Who gives a fook though? I couldn't care less what the rest of them are at

I Agree fully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭older by the day

That's what I think too, work away and don't be worrieing a a 7ft by 4ft patch of land will hold most of us in the end. But most handy sized farmers in poor land can't afford to lose 1 cent in the next cap. I was drawing 12500 in 09, that down to 9500 this year, considering my net income is 30000 their ain't a hole pile to give away. 10 percent came off there two years ago and I got inspected last year and had to argue over every Bush and rock . Anyway who gives a fook

Mooooo wrote: »
    What was actually said?

Go on to the IGA twitter account there is a video there where the host farmer is talking about his winter feed. He must have a relationship set up with a tillage farmer where he bought wheat and is going to sow westerwolds. The main point being he would rather have the piece of mind if having feed even if it's on the dear side.
    The gold digging phrase is said in a spilt second it unsurprisingly has been taken way out of context by a few posters.

Go on to the IGA twitter account there is a video there where the host farmer is talking about his winter feed. He must have a relationship set up with a tillage farmer where he bought wheat and is going to sow westerwolds. The main point being he would rather have the piece of mind if having feed even if it's on the dear side.
    The gold digging phrase is said in a spilt second it unsurprisingly has been taken way out of context by a few posters.

I saw that piece earlier and didn't even pick up on the comment tbh. His statement about being better to have dear feed as opposed to no feed was the point I noticed.

I beg to differ on that been taken out of context ,why say it otherwise .rest of video was excellent ,the westerwolds ,the wheat and feed in yard .