What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Patww79 wrote: »

That's fair enough. I can live with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Silent Running

Ah here, even that toddler could have handled a fridge if that cyclist hadn't run her over. That's why I said washing machine. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

a mobile coffee shop is ideal for cyclists, they are out in the fresh air so no fart smell and no doorway to block, everyones a winner here

And they don't have to queue in single file like in a conventional cafe... which suits the buggers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Cycling is for people that find running too hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I presume you similarly wonder about every driver in a €30k or €50k SUV doing the school run that could just as easily and safely be done in a 1995 Micra?
    I'm not a fan of SUVs but more appropriate comparison would be a convertible. Used about three times per year but some can't be seen riding any old thing.

I'm pretty certain the amount people are prepared to spend on the bike shot up and I also suspect that a lot less in countries with strong cycling tradition where people actually do a lot of cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭marvin80

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    In general it is a good thing that these middle aged guys are doing what they are doing

Definitely because: "Some 33pc of Irish adults will be obese by 2025, and this will lead to an annual cost to the State of €2.1bn"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

It is handy and a lot more gentle on the joints. I couldn't run for a month and cycling is great alternative but I do prefer running. If you don't have a lot of time it is a lot more effective.

meeeeh wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of SUVs but more appropriate comparison would be a convertible. Used about three times per year but some can't be seen riding any old thing.

I'm pretty certain the amount people are prepared to spend on the bike shot up and I also suspect that a lot less in countries with strong cycling tradition where people actually do a lot of cycling.

Horses for courses tbh. Like I'd have my "town bike" and my "good bike". Town bike is for getting from A-B. Good bike is for long spins. I do wonder at the amount of people I see going into work on their good bikes. My nerves would be shot leaving it locked up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

I got called an effing bollix by a fella out cycling (in full Lycra)one evening as I passed him going up a hill..I was running at the time!
    He gave me the middle finger then as he passed me on the downhill.
    I thought it was hilarious.

ewc78 wrote: »
    I got called an effing bollix by a fella( in lyrca) out cycling one evening as I passed him going up a hill..I was running at the time!

Thanks for the tea on my screen I spat out reading that!

I've had many an ill thought going up a hill but I've yet to be bypassed by a runner. Fair play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

I'm also one of these...started back cycling when I was 40, in my late 40's now, I'm fitter and healthier than I ever was in my life. Yes its expensive (I've now got 4 bikes and every one of them fills a different need) and I have spent a considerable amount of money on gear, equipment etc but like I said, I'm fitter and healthier than I have ever been and to be honest I'd rather be me than someone like you who hasn't a clue and critical of something you have never done/experience.

I'd challenge you to cycle for 4 hours in a pair of football shorts and runners...see how you get on. :rollseyes:

I'll bet you're definitely not one of the ones with the smug annoying faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

People’s expectations have gone up too. The bike to work scheme means nobody buys secondhand hand bikes (unless the bike is over €1000)

Also people are buying bikes for fitness AND commute if, so they want something that is of good quality and will last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

don't be, he probably doesn't give a toss what you think.
    i wear cycling gear cycling to work. why wouldn't i?

Because you look ridiculous maybe?

MadDog76 wrote: »

And meaning no offence, why should the sartorial advice of a stranger on the internet matter a sheep's shiite on what someone decides to wear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Yeah, cycling to work wearing a yellow vest, a helmet too far back on my head, pedaling with my heals while wearing runners and a pair of football shorts is a much better look!

Yeah, especially when you don't have a job yourself

My job is well-paying enough that could afford to dress like The Stig on my drive to work but I don't...... I hope you don't need me to explain why.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭The Kop

ewc78 wrote: »
    I got called an effing bollix by a fella out cycling (in full Lycra)one evening as I passed him going up a hill..I was running at the time!

The only thing that could have annoyed him more would have been if you were wearing a Golf jumper at the time....lol.

P_1 wrote: »
    And meaning no offence, why should the sartorial advice of a stranger on the internet matter a sheep's shiite on what someone decides to wear?

It doesn't, I'm sure they're only too aware of how silly they look...... from my side it's an observation...... I usually roll my eyes, have a little giggle and blow past them!

The Kop wrote: »
    AndrewJRenko ranting again :):)
    I love the way he completely ignores anything about bad cycling and turns it into a rant about cars. It's hilarious how much of a hypocrite he is.
    I love the way he tries to drag the debate down to personal sniping, presumably because he's unable to find anything in any of my posts that he can actually argue with.
    Patww79 wrote: »
    They are, actually. Assuming you're not a recluse with just two friends, than some of your friends cycle some of the time. They probably don't bring it up in front of you, knowing how unhinged you get when the topic comes up - but they do cycle.
    @ AndrewRJenko, using the death of one young woman cyclist to is going a bit to far to demonstrate a point, may she rip. From what ive seen personally the majority of cyclist are not young women but young men, middle aged men and middle aged women.

Apologies, my error I withdraw that point. On mature recollection, I agree with you - there's definitely no young women cycling these days at all.
    000c6132-642.jpg
    NWS_20130918_New_022_28905776_I2.JPG
    HPIM0832-595x356.jpg
    louise_moriarty_001.jpg
    Caoimhe%20OBrien%20%28Centre%29%20competing%20for%20Ireland%20at%20the%20Youth%20Tour%20of%20Scotland.jpg
    DSC_0004.jpg
    Jerseys.jpg
    belgium-2016.jpg
    MunsterLge17-1-e1516917879932.jpg
    EYO-Games-2015-The-whole-team-on-bikes-e1440713931929.jpg
    2012-04-08-10.06.30.jpg

I haven't heard of that kind of thing happening much myself. I have heard of people getting their BTW bike, and never cycling to work at all, which isn't great. I haven't come across many people spending serious money on serious road bikes and then not taking them out at all. Does that really happen much?
    07Lapierre wrote: »
    People’s expectations have gone up too. The bike to work scheme means nobody buys secondhand hand bikes (unless the bike is over €1000)

Also people are buying bikes for fitness AND commute if, so they want something that is of good quality and will last.
    Certainly expectations have risen, which generally leads to better cycling experiences and less frustration with crappy equipment. But it's not true at all to say that nobody buys second-hand under €1k. A quick look at adverts.ie or donedeal will confirm this.

Ah OK then, get on yer bike and deliver that new kitchen to Mrs. Renko out in the country, down the single track road. And when you've done that, Mrs. Magic needs her washing machine. She's only 90kms away, no bother to you. :D

No problem - just throw it up there onto the pallet and I'll take it out.

https://www.treehugger.com/bikes/unique-trailer-allows-bicycle-delivery-palletized-loads.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Certainly expectations have risen, which generally leads to better cycling experiences and less frustration with crappy equipment. But it's not true at all to say that nobody buys second-hand under €1k. A quick look at adverts.ie or donedeal will confirm this.

there is probably a happy middle ground, at over a 1000 euro you're getting a "porsche" level bike which is kind of wasted on the suburban house to office park commute and where durability might not necessarily be built in. The only thing really worth paying for are the best quality tires which arent normally even fitted to these bikes when you buy them.
    for commuting or leisure weekend i'd prefer a ~500 euro bike that i could turn over more frequently and not be overly stressed about it being nicked. that being said if it avoids buying a second car its chump change either way

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

would be interesting to see how various sports or leisure activities break down in the average spend by an enthusiast or a dabbler, per year.
    field sports obviously would be fairly cheap (that's me speaking in ignornance of actual costs, probably).
    golf, many people would be spending three or four figures a year in club fees, on top of the initial investment in equipment.

my wife is into horseriding, and her annual spend would be equivalent to me getting a fairly top flight bike every year; and she doesn't even own a horse.
    she does know a guy who gave up his previous hobby and took up horseriding because his previous hobby was too expensive - gliding.

silverharp wrote: »
    there is probably a happy middle ground, at over a 1000 euro you're getting a "porsche" level bike which is kind of wasted on the suburban house to office park commute and where durability might not necessarily be built in. The only thing really worth paying for are the best quality tires which arent normally even fitted to these bikes when you buy them.
    for commuting or leisure weekend i'd prefer a ~500 euro bike that i could turn over more frequently and not be overly stressed about it being nicked. that being said if it avoids buying a second car its chump change either way

I dunno if either of these would be Porsche level:

http://www.2wheels.ie/product/index/249784_SCOTT_Sub_Sport_10_Lady

https://www.pennyfarthingcycles.com/4747/products/trek-x500-men-black-2018-gents-hybrid-bike.aspx

They're very good commuter bikes, which should need fairly minimal maintenance work over 3-5 years, but I don't think they are out of the question for anyone with a decent commute.

Risk of theft is indeed an issue. For me, work and home are reasonably safe, and I don't tend to leave the bike locked elsewhere very often, so it makes sense to maximise the benefit of the BTW scheme when buying.

silverharp wrote: »

My school of thought.

If you're only using it for getting to and from work and your commute is less than 10k get a singlespeed (if you want to look hip and cool) or a hybrid.

If your commute is over 10k get a hybrid or an alu frame road bike.

If you enjoy long torture spins in Wicklow get a carbon road bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

It doesn't, I'm sure they're only too aware of how silly they look...... from my side it's an observation...... I usually roll my eyes, have a little giggle and blow past them!

Cool... I wish I could be like you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

At the end of the day is it anyone's business what someone else spends their money on. Running doesn't cost me much, maybe €150 every 6 months on a new pair of running shoes but not much else,well apart from race fees. I do spend a good wedge going over and back to Anfield a few times a year but I'm an avid Liverpool fan so I think it's worth it.
    If someone wants to spend their own hard earned cash on a top of the range bike then good luck to them I say,even if it's for only riding 5 miles each way everyday to work and back,they obviously think it's worth it.
    If you can afford it go for it. The problems only arise when lads buy stuff they can't afford just to impress others.

I dunno if either of these would be Porsche level:

http://www.2wheels.ie/product/index/249784_SCOTT_Sub_Sport_10_Lady

https://www.pennyfarthingcycles.com/4747/products/trek-x500-men-black-2018-gents-hybrid-bike.aspx

They're very good commuter bikes, which should need fairly minimal maintenance work over 3-5 years, but I don't think they are out of the question for anyone with a decent commute.

Risk of theft is indeed an issue. For me, work and home are reasonably safe, and I don't tend to leave the bike locked elsewhere very often, so it makes sense to maximise the benefit of the BTW scheme when buying.

TBF I think this is what they are referring to when they say Porsche level bikes for the commute

https://www.pennyfarthingcycles.com/1298/products/cube-attain-gtc-race-2016-black-gents-road-bike.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

My job is well-paying enough that could afford to dress like The Stig on my drive to work but I don't...... I hope you don't need me to explain why.

You're Jeremy Clarkson and wear Dad jeans and a shirt over your gut?

Jaysus you cyclists are fierce sensitive and defensive! Lol

Am I supposed to retort with name calling? Or am I supposed to be hurt?? Or maybe I'm supposed to say "you win, you're the bestest at debating.....".....???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Getting back to O.P's question

We get to be middle aged.
    Started cycling as a child. Never gave it up. Now I am late middle-aged / old.
    Bit bemused as to why my demigraph is such a source of interest or irritation to others but there you go