What's the obsession middle aged lads have with cycling?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSd50nkg8qjpypBGpkmMTdkT3X-b-colPud-ZbOcL5r5tR9m33Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭dahat

ah now, so i'm supposed to go driving around just because a bunch of cyclists decide to block the doorway of my local service station?

Better still, have a homemade coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

its been a few years but the nightmares still come back now and again, watch with sound for our reaction.

not really safe for work btw

https://youtu.be/pfxzIyHUACs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    The last thing a cyclist is going to do is fart after stopping. After all that movement, you just can't take the risk unless you are sitting on a jacks.

Especially if you've had a few energy gels!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

not in large groups, if a bunch of travelers came into a shop and all started blocking the doorway and farting in peoples faces i bet you would have something to say about that
    they'd want to be *extremely* tall to manage that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Agree...nothing worse than arriving at a cafe, your tired and all you want is a coffee and to sit down and the place is full of old dears sitting at tables with empty coffee cups and dirty plates! if your finished your coffee, get up and leave! (And don't get me started on kids screaming and running around the place unsupervised!)

now come on, theres no need to be ageist

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 386 ✭✭aroundthehouse

dahat wrote: »
    Better still, have a homemade coffee.

maybe cyclists can have a homemade coffee

if i owned a cafe i would ban cyclists for being a nuisance

now come on, theres no need to be ageist

There's no need to be cyclist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I drive mostly on windy country roads with solid white centre lines for many kilometres. Just last week I came up behind this guy on a bike and stayed back a bit, as we were approaching a blind bend. When he got far enough into the bend to see round, he beckoned me to pass. I nearly fell out of the open window. I was gobsmacked. In many, many years of driving, this was the first act of courtesy I have ever experienced from a cyclist.

After I passed, I gave him a quick flick of the hazards in thanks and he lifted a hand in return. The warm fuzzy feeling stayed with me for a while.

TBH I do this all the time, I always assumed it was the common sense thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭dahat

maybe cyclists can have a homemade coffee

Good business plan that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Silent Running

P_1 wrote: »
    TBH I do this all the time, I always assumed it was the common sense thing to do.

Maybe you were that cyclist. Looks like it's just you and me then. :D

Hahaha now if you were driving down Wexford way that would be a scary coincidence :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,535 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

If i had a cafe i'd have bike parking outside, a track pump outside the front door and I'd sell sandwiches, cakes Tea, coffee etc.... just like the 100's of successful cafes all around the country. Maybe these cafe owners simply don't want YOU as a customer?

Hahaha now if you were driving down Wexford way that would be a scary coincidence :pac:

I was. Between Courtown and Kilmuckridge I think it was. :D

rgace wrote: »
    The oufits are fine while actually cycling I suppose, but I really wish they would change into something else before going into the shops or a cafe.
    A man in lycra is horrible to look at.

Hardly any worse than the obese women ironically wearing exercise clothing around Ireland?

I was. Between Courtown and Kilmuckridge I think it was. :D

Jaysis it wasn't yesterday was it!? Some deceptively energy sapping ramps down that way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Jaysis it wasn't yesterday was it!? Some deceptively energy sapping ramps down that way

No, it was early last week. Kilmuckridge to Blackwater has a couple of whoppers alright. :D

That it does! Was not expecting that b#*$ard of a ramp getting up out of Blackwater anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

As I am now 40 I guess I can almost qualify as middle aged. I took up running when my football days came to an end.

A good few of the crowd I run with do running, swimming and cycling and enter triathlons. Most seem to ditch running once they get into cycling.

Here is a few points- I don't cycle as I just do not have the time. I run HM and marathons.

Advantages to cycling over running

1. More sociable- you can cycle say 20 miles with a gang have lunch and a beer and cycle back. That ain't happening with running.

2. Yes it is easier on the joints
    3. You can free wheel more if you are tired and still keep moving.

4. You can gels and fuel with you on the bike
    5. A 20 mile cycle is helluva a lot easier than a 20 mile run
    6. I may be wrong on this but when running and preparing for events a runner has to really watch eating and timing of meals leading up to an event. Cyclists I know don't have to watch this as much it seems.

Now this is not a criticism or trolling but cycling is more forgiving than running on the body.

Having said that I do not want to die under a HGV so I'll stick to running.

Running seems (based on my own completely non-science or evidence backed research and observations) to help with weight lose more than cycling as I defo see more (ahem) tubby cyclists than runners but at least they are getting out there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Running seems (based on my own completely non-science or evidence backed research and observations) to help with weight lose more than cycling as I defo see more (ahem) tubby cyclists than runners but at least they are getting out there.
    causation/correlation mistake.
    someone who is overweight who wants to lose weight will be far better advised to take up cycling instead of running for the very joint-related reasons you mention above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

One of the saddest sights on the road is a cyclist, dressed like he's doing the Tour De France, just going to work..... I find myself embarrassed on their behalf.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

As I am now 40 I guess I can almost qualify as middle aged. I took up running when my football days came to an end.

A good few of the crowd I run with do running, swimming and cycling and enter triathlons. Most seem to ditch running once they get into cycling.

Here is a few points- I don't cycle as I just do not have the time. I run HM and marathons.

Advantages to cycling over running

1. More sociable- you can cycle say 20 miles with a gang have lunch and a beer and cycle back. That ain't happening with running.

2. Yes it is easier on the joints
    3. You can free wheel more if you are tired and still keep moving.

4. You can gels and fuel with you on the bike
    5. A 20 mile cycle is helluva a lot easier than a 20 mile run
    6. I may be wrong on this but when running and preparing for events a runner has to really watch eating and timing of meals leading up to an event. Cyclists I know don't have to watch this as much it seems.

Now this is not a criticism or trolling but cycling is more forgiving than running on the body.

I'd much prefer running than cycling. I do both regularly but I don't get the same buzz from cycling as I do from running.

MadDog76 wrote: »
    One of the saddest sights on the road is a cyclist, dressed like he's doing the Tour De France, just going to work..... I find myself embarrassed on their behalf.
    don't be, he probably doesn't give a toss what you think.
    i wear cycling gear cycling to work. why wouldn't i?

plus the roaring and shouting they do is unnecessary, they constantly startle my dogs
    In fairness, if your dogs are out cycling on the road, I think the responsibility for the startling is down to your good self.

PandaPoo wrote: »
    There's a loveky cafe in eniskerry that we go to every second weekend or so. We try get there early because around 11 or 12 a swarm of cyclists come in. Their bikes block the path and the exit, they stomp in with their noisy clompy shoes, take up the whole restaurant and outside. It's really annoying.

It's really quite funny when people complain about 'bikes blocking the path' while routinely ignoring the vast amounts of public space blocked up by parked cars, frequently illegally parked on paths.

20150526_174950-823x420.jpg

enniskerry-main.jpg
    29815137775_c02d20d6ff_b.jpg
    Cordell wrote: »
    I'm a middle aged lad that occasionally partake in cycling, but have never ever had any inclination to those balls and micky revealing pants. Have some decency, ffs. And if you have to, wear something else over, you don't need to by that aerodynamic, those flaps don't really help at all.

Have you considered not staring at men's crotches so closely as to notice their mickeys?
    meeeeh wrote: »
    I don't mind lycra, I think it's functional and cycling is good fun. Especially in hot weather it's a lot cooler than other forms of exercise. But I do wonder is it a man thing that they first spend couple of grand on a bike when something between 500 to 1000 would be perfect for the amount of cycling they actually do.
    I presume you similarly wonder about every driver in a €30k or €50k SUV doing the school run that could just as easily and safely be done in a 1995 Micra?
    yeah but does nothing for the beer belly ...........or the back muscles.:P
    So a 3-4 hour cycle burning up 3k to 4k calories does nothing for the beer belly? Interesting theory....
    Patww79 wrote: »
    What messing round is this? Are the lads driving to their football match 'messing around on the roads'? And the coaches of supporters who dress up in tacky nylon jerseys and sing rebel songs, are they 'messing round on the roads'?
    Think hes telling you porkies. Only ever see aul lads young lads and middle aged wans cycling whenever i have the misfortune to be stuck behind them on the road.
    Yeah, all aul lads, young lads and middle-aged wans for sure:
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/tribute-paid-to-cyclist-killed-in-co-kildare-crash-1.2973559
    sham58107 wrote: »
    Agreed some are annoying, should not hold anyone up on roads and obey rules, but I have also see a lot of FKW trying to play footie. ( Full Kit W%%%ers
    Tell me more about this 'holding up anyone on the roads and obey rules' please, in the context of 80% of motorists breaking speed limits, Irish drivers being 2nd worst in Europe for mobile phone abuse, and the huge traffic jams we see on the roads every day.
    The oufits are fine while actually cycling I suppose, but I really wish they would change into something else before going into the shops or a cafe.
    A man in lycra is horrible to look at.

So maybe you could try not looking at them? Do you have the same problem with all the middle-aged-mammies in lycra for the school run or their coffee dates with other middle-aged-mammies in lycra? Do they need to change to meet your sartorial standard?
    Balanadan wrote: »
    I saw a middle aged cyclist knock down a child from behind and cycle over their back. Didn't even stop to look back.
    Yeah, it happens every day. I see that most mornings and most evenings. It's such a common and realistic scenario that no-one could think that you're exaggerating or anything.
    oh man, i am so sick of auld lads going around in tight lycra hogging the road, hogging the doorways of cafes and petrol stations up and down the country
    Yeah, but what about the bloody cyclists?
    I would do that myself rather than look ridiculous but perhaps I am too concerned about my appearance.
    I think you're starting to get to the grips of the issue now. It is indeed your problem, not their problem.
    Are they meant to cycle in single foil on the roads?

The amount of times I see 2 or 3 in a row having a full blown conversation with a massive tailback behind them, the arrogance is breathtaking.
    The breathtaking arrogance is from the ones driving round with an empty armchair beside them and an empty couch behind them complaining about cyclists 'chatting' and taking up space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

As someone who loves cycling and is slightly tubby, and being generous on myself, 'approaching' middle age, I agree with the above.

While running is now more difficult for me to do, due to repeated instances of plantar fasciitis, I've always absolutely hated it. Cycling is much more enjoyable and easier on the body, but is never going to contribute to significant weight loss. And I'm okay with that as long as it keeps me fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

ewc78 wrote: »
    I'd much prefer running than cycling. I do both regularly but I don't get the same buzz from cycling as I do from running.

Yeah I defo get a more sense of satisfaction after a run. I do have a bike that I occasionally get out on but it is very very rare. After a cycle for some reason I do not feel like I have pushed myself at all and it's all been a bit too easy...bit of an anti climax really. But as I have not cycled half as much as run I should keep an open mind.

Trying to see if I can enter a a tri next year but it's my swimming I am working on atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

MadDog76 wrote: »

Yeah, especially when you don't have a job yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,386 ✭✭✭secman

I drive mostly on windy country roads with solid white centre lines for many kilometres. Just last week I came up behind this guy on a bike and stayed back a bit, as we were approaching a blind bend. When he got far enough into the bend to see round, he beckoned me to pass. I nearly fell out of the open window. I was gobsmacked. In many, many years of driving, this was the first act of courtesy I have ever experienced from a cyclist.

After I passed, I gave him a quick flick of the hazards in thanks and he lifted a hand in return. The warm fuzzy feeling stayed with me for a while.

We can all get along on the road, but it's literally and figuratively a two way street. Some time ago, I read a comment from a cyclist on this forum. The topic was something like road positioning or similar. He said he never gives an inch on the road, "not an inch" for emphasis. As a driver, I give an inch, foot, yard or whatever it takes to be safe, or courteous, or both!

Wonder was that me :) I'm regularly on that road, usually solo and I do that with cars on a regular basis.