Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Losty the pintman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭theyoungchap

Try a beer festival in Germany too.
    From my experience working there Germans drink far more regularly than us. I have seen them bring crates of the stuff to work.

Yeah but they drink differently, 2-3-4 beers and most go home.

I agree, I hate the legendary "you were wasted last night" as though its a bravado.

Drink has ruined many families and while Paddy is hailed as a legend, who knows what his wife and children (if he had any) had to do for a crust.

If you want something exaggerated, ask a drunk.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Again, yes we have a disturbing relationship with alcohol in this country, and a serious underfunding of our addiction and mental health services, this isn't really changing

Yes not changing at all. Apart from the rapidly falling consumption of alcohol year on year. But that doesn’t fit into the “won’t somebody think of the children” screeching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,999 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Yes not changing at all. Apart from the rapidly falling consumption of alcohol year on year. But that doesn’t fit into the “won’t somebody think of the children” screeching.

'rapidly falling', im not so sure about that, have other addictions taken the place of falling alcohol consumption levels?

Ireland has seen a steady decline in alcohol consumption for years now,

Source

Ireland may have alcoholics, but there is no need to suggest we are a nation of them.

Careful!! We don’t need facts in here!! There’s whinging and Wailing to be done. We’re all alcoholics don’t ya know.

The maths don't add up, both on time it would take in a day to drink 30 pints and money it would take to buy them each day and sustain an income to continue doing it.

Where does it say, anywhere, that he drank 30 pints a day?? Source please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

cdeb wrote: »
    And I don't appreciate being patronised and told to grow up by someone who thinks clickbait articles on a book from years ago which may or mayn't even be true are somehow relevant to anything today.

What's your point?

A pint of plain ...

A Pint of Plain is Your Only Man

When things go wrong and will not come right,
    Though you do the best you can,
    When life looks black as the hour of night –
    A pint of plain is your only man.

When money’s tight and hard to get
    And your horse has also ran,
    When all you have is a heap of debt –

When health is bad and your heart feels strange,
    And your face is pale and wan,
    When doctors say you need a change,

When food is scarce and your larder bare
    And no rashers grease your pan,
    When hunger grows as your meals are rare –

In time of trouble and lousey strife,
    You have still got a darlint plan
    You still can turn to a brighter life –

Pintman - worst Marvel superhero ever.

Nah, this guy was worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Without doubt the acceptance of alcohol abuse as normal in this society brings some grade A idiots out of the woodwork. There was one on this website a couple of nights ago saying he was going out and that he'll "have 8 pints and not a drop more as I’ve work in the morning".

I don't know which is more pathetic, that an adult is bragging about everything he's going to drink, or the fact that he thinks it's normal to drink 8 pints on a night out. It's not fúcking normal. It's just not no matter how much of a "lad" you want to pretend to be.

Ireland has far too many of these people. It's long past the time that alcohol abuse is not romanticised and instead starts being treated like the serious blight on our society that it is. Culturally, this society is so backward and thoroughly immature in its acceptance of alcohol abuse. Culture changes - it's now unacceptable to smoke, send pregnant women to industrial schools, and so much else. It's long past time the Irish and their legislators grew up about alcohol abuse and made it culturally unacceptable.

Are you referring to me, comrade? I may have mentioned that I intended to sup 8 pints while watching England play Crotia. You'll be glad to know I had a grand evening, had a bag of chips on the way home, and got up bright and breezy the next morning for work.

You appear to spend your time on this site writing long and painfully boring diatribes, and putting yourself in line for a podium finish in Ireland's Greatest Online Crank award. Perhaps you should spend some time contemplating why you come across as so angry and pessimistic about everything, and what the root cause of that might be. Maybe a few pints and some company might lighten that emotional burden you appear to be weighed down with.

7 days X 30 PINTS = 210.

Average weekly Dole payment in 1988. £45.

Average cost of a pint in 1988 (Dublin). £1.40.

£1.40 X 210 = £294.

Now we can be sure that Losty was gaming the system and receiving more than 45 a week in welfare but it's hard to see how he was spending 294 per week on porter and still maintaining a home and a marriage.

Have we anything, other than assumptions, to suggest that he was on the dole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Have we anything, other than assumptions, to suggest that he was on the dole?

Since that post we've established that Losty actually worked as a Docker.

begbysback wrote: »
    Actually in the YouTube he says it was more like 45 pints - and I've never heard a drinker exaggerate the number of pints taken before!!!

That’s a parody. The guy who does it was on the radio a while ago. He made a second one but it was cr@p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Did somebody not say cattleman?

begbysback wrote: »
    Did somebody not say cattleman?

Somebody posted an interview with his daughter a few pages back.

She says he was a docker who would drink at the early houses after his shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,035 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I remember being amazed on my first visit over there that you could buy beer in vending machines.

It was a common sight to see office workers sitting out in the park with a beer on their lunch hour.

I don't think they tend to abuse alcohol to the same extent as the Irish though. They use drink, they don't let it use them.

^This.

Referring to what Continentals get up to at festival time is all well and good as the rules seem to get torn up then anyway, but most everything seems to revolve around the pub and drinking here, so much so that our tourist industry is built on it and the Irish pub concept was packaged and exported all over the world.

Anyone not drinking is looked down upon as a 'dryballs' or similar term, don't know if that's a thing in France/Italy/Spain, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Fart wrote: »
    I moved to Norway about a year ago and they say they drink alot.

No they don't! Irish culture and free time is about having a pint or two... and often many.

Here, we meet up and have a coffee. As soon as I meet someone Irish, we're having pints and getting wasted.

Good craic, though. :pac:

I've never seen anything like the amount of coffee places there are in cork now.i'd say the literally outnumber pubs 10 to 1.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Anyone not drinking is looked down upon as a 'dryballs' or similar term, don't know if that's a thing in France/Italy/Spain, is it?
    Dryballs? Is that even a thing in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

Perhaps there is a diminishment of personal responsibility for the problem by blaming it on "Ireland" in general. We all have a personal role to play. Number one, stop pretending alcoholics are good craic and a laugh. They should feel ashamed and been seen as victims to be pitied. Number two, don't feed the bloated alcohol industry with your hard earned cash. I personally (reluctantly) only set foot in a pub maybe once or twice a year. I'm not a big drinker. Instead of having twenty pubs in every small Irish village, imagine if one was converted into a kickboxing club so the beer bellies could get a workout. Or maybe an art club.

You sound like a young person here--not that there's anything wrong with that. You don't like pubs and are reluctantly drinking -- good for you. That is your leaning. If someone cares not a jot about art or kickboxing and wants to go out every second night, then why should they do as you say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

What age did paddy losty live to? I thought 30 pints a day would kill your liver pretty quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ah feck it.
    I thought the thread was going to be about the poster with the name similar to the thread title who posts about his legendary escapades with the women.

I thought we were going to hear of his latest conquest probably with some young Croatian supermodel who was mad for it after celebrating her county's semi final success or how he consoled an entire visiting hen party from Sheffield who were besides themselves with disappointment following the semi final loss.

Instead it's a humourless thread about a p*sshead who probably spent most of his life propping up a bar. :mad:
    Fecking hell nearly every pub in Ireland has had one of them.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The worst performance by continentals I ever witnessed was in one of the tents in Munich

We were just settling into our breakfast steins around 10 30 when in walked a large group of Italian men in colourful matching track suits

Well by 11 30 they were up on the tables roaring and shouting and making a complete international show of themselves

Security marched them out 1 hour after they came in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,378 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The OP is aware that the Stories of him drinking that sort of volume are not factual,

i.e A Tale.

Folklore.

But i think that has passed the OP by.....

wakka12 wrote: »
    What age did paddy losty live to? I thought 30 pints a day would kill your liver pretty quickly

Would like to know this info myself.

Maybe also the location of a grave as I would like to leave an offering the next time I visit Dublin.

Maybe a couple of cans of Guinness and a pack of 20 Carrolls. It think it would be a nice thing to do. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

Would like to know this info myself.

Maybe also the location of a grave as I would like to leave an offering the next time I visit Dublin.

Maybe a couple of cans of Guinness and a pack of 20 Carrolls. It think it would be a nice thing to do. :)

There was a story recently about feckers nicking things from graves. The cans and fags will disappear lighting quick.

000a986c-870.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

I don't think Paddy Losty was unemployed. As far as I know he worked in the livestock trade, mostly in the Smithfield area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The audio clip doesn't make sense, he's a Dublin pintman and the audio clip is clearly someone with a Kerry/South West accent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Pintman - worst Marvel superhero ever.

He'd be no match for the Brown Bottle.

brownbottle.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Some heroes don't wear capes... or can walk in a straight line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Please be civil. No need for the aggressive tone.
    The thread is not solely about Paddy Losty. He is simply one example of a much larger group of middle aged and elderly Irish men who are long term unemployed and waste away their days in the pub to the detriment of their families. We are also discussing how wider society views these alcoholics as loveable characters as evidenced by the many posters cracking jokes about them. They don't know the hurt and damage they cause to their suffering wives and children.

If this topic is too emotive for you please reconsider contributing.

It looks to me like the topic is actually too emotive for you and you're going to be quite biased and not really open to discussion on it.

I'm guessing that you had an alcoholic in your family who let you down and you've been (understandably) emotionally scarred by this. I think you're really trying to vent here rather than open up a discussion on the topic.

Ush1 wrote: »
    The audio clip doesn't make sense, he's a Dublin pintman and the audio clip is clearly someone with a Kerry/South West accent.

The audio clip is a parody.