Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Losty the pintman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Instead of having twenty pubs in every small Irish village, imagine if one was converted into a kickboxing club so the beer bellies could get a workout. Or maybe an art club.

The pub beats these options because it is open late and it is a lowest common denominator. Any fool can drink a pint.

Late opening gyms or art classes (etc.) is the way forward. But they would be hard enterprises to run.

It'll probably be after I'm dead, but the day is coming when Irish can socialise, even meet partners, whilst sober.

There used to be that joke - "if they Irish gave up the drink, they'd run the world"

I wouldn't mind giving it a shot just to see :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

van_man wrote: »
    in ireland we often celebrate the kind of people who would be labelled " losers " in the likes of the usa

growing up , i was aware of men with six children ( one had ten ) who spent most waking minutes on a high stool , it never done their parish reputation a bit of harm , i was at school with the kids and they were poorly dressed and ate the same basic lunch every day , stands to reason they had to go with less , incredibly selfish men when you think about it

But do you really think that such a person would be met with anything other than mild-to-severe revulsion for the same type of carry on today?

Attitudes have changes significantly for the better in this regard, I don't think the OP's premise really stands up to much scrutiny today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

7 days X 30 PINTS = 210.

Average weekly Dole payment in 1988. £45.

Average cost of a pint in 1988 (Dublin). £1.40.

£1.40 X 210 = £294.

Now we can be sure that Losty was gaming the system and receiving more than 45 a week in welfare but it's hard to see how he was spending 294 per week on porter and still maintaining a home and a marriage.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Please be civil. No need for the aggressive tone.
    "Please be civil" says the person whose first post literally tells me to grow up?

I've commented on the rest of your post too. How does one person, who may or mayn't exist as described, at some stage in the indeterminate past, have any relevance to the entire country today? Especially in light of the fact that we are only average in EU tables for alcohol consumption?

This incessant puritanical PC nonsense is infuriating. Have a few pints, enjoy yourself, stop beating people up for enjoying themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

7 days X 30 PINTS = 210.

£1.40 X 210 = £294.

Now we can be sure that Losty was gaming the system and receiving more than 45 a week in welfare but it's hard to see how he was spending 294 per week on porter and still maintaining a home and a marriage.

he was probably a docker,worked in smithfield market or printing newspapers

doubt he was on the rock and roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

7 days X 30 PINTS = 210.

£1.40 X 210 = £294.

Wasn't he a cattleman? Afaik, that was a fairly well paying job back then, and in reality it was probably closer to twenty pints 2-3 times a week. Still a ridiculous amount mind you but I've seen lads do it on a fairly regular basis, and have hit that threshold myself on one or two occasions.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Wasn't he a cattleman? Afaik, that was a fairly well paying job back then, and in reality it was probably closer to twenty pints 2-3 times a week. Still a ridiculous amount mind you but I've seen lads do it on a fairly regular basis, and have hit that threshold myself on one or two occasions.

I had a grandfather who was a cattle dealer at that time. Yeah, if you had the smarts for it you could make some serious money. He was a big drinker too coincidentally, would be all over the country 5 days a week behind the wheel of a cattle truck with porter down him.

Different times back then.

You don't really see guys like that in the business anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Addiction is really more of a disease than business model!

Addiction. It is a great business model. Repeat customers.

Why do you think the gambling sites kick off the successful punters but keep the guys that lose.

Cigarettes, alcohol, gambling even the medical pharmaceutical drug industry all love their addicts.
    but They are never going to come and and say it.

These addicts pay their running costs while they are able to market new improved ways to tap into new customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

I promise if you had personal experience with somebody like Paddy Losty you wouldn't think it was funny. I envy you that you can make jokes about it

I promise you that you are wrong.... but don't let that get in the way of your sermon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

Instead of having twenty pubs in every small Irish village, imagine if one was converted into a kickboxing club so the beer bellies could get a workout. Or maybe an art club.
    you could well find, the way things are going, 20 villages but only one pub between them. What is worse than someone going to the pub and drinking, someone going home with a massive quantity of alcohol and drinking their. At least in a pub it is public and can be seen. Something can be done about it. What is going on now, is far worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

kupus wrote: »
    Addiction. It is a great business model. Repeat customers.

Why do you think the gambling sites kick off the successful punters but keep the guys that lose.

Cigarettes, alcohol, gambling even the medical pharmaceutical drug industry all love their addicts.
    but They are never going to come and and say it.

These addicts pay their running costs while they are able to market new improved ways to tap into new customers.

Rehabs love them too,it's a revolving door business,dry them out,send them on their way andddd see them back again in a few weeks\months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Time for the country to adjust their attitude to alcohol and grow up. It's only when you move abroad and look at the country from an outside perspective that you realise the Irish have a major problem with booze.

I think we pale in comparison to other countries. I've been to festivals in Italy, similar to our St. Patricks day, where they have children on the floats filling cups of wine for the spectators in the street. The uniformed police are also drunk, and it continues all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,602 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Effects wrote: »
    I think we pale in comparison to other countries. I've been to festivals in Italy, similar to our St. Patricks day, where they have children on the floats filling cups of wine for the spectators in the street. The uniformed police are also drunk, and it continues all night.

Try a beer festival in Germany too.
    From my experience working there Germans drink far more regularly than us. I have seen them bring crates of the stuff to work.

sugarman wrote: »
    https://www.dublininquirer.com/2017/02/22/on-the-trail-of-the-pintman/

Heres an interview with Paddys daughter in law last year, he worked as a docker in the area and would stop off on his way home.

I wonder what a dockers wages were like in the 70s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

It depended on how often they worked. The stevedores controlled the work and decided who could work on any board which had to be unloaded, or loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,999 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

pretty good by the sounds of it

Try a beer festival in Germany too.
    From my experience working there Germans drink far more regularly than us. I have seen them bring crates of the stuff to work.

I remember being amazed on my first visit over there that you could buy beer in vending machines.

It was a common sight to see office workers sitting out in the park with a beer on their lunch hour.

I don't think they tend to abuse alcohol to the same extent as the Irish though. They use drink, they don't let it use them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

hynesie08 wrote: »

Actually in the YouTube he says it was more like 45 pints - and I've never heard a drinker exaggerate the number of pints taken before!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭emo72

Since when were we heavy drinkers? Is there a starting point for it? What triggered it? The lifestyle, the weather, being oppressed? So some Viking back on the day, said "feck this, I miss the homeland." And then decided to go on a perpetual bender? And the rest of the pixies thought "jaysus! Major session lads" that's the way to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

emo72 wrote: »
    Since when were we heavy drinkers? Is there a starting point for it? What triggered it? The lifestyle, the weather, being oppressed? So some Viking back on the day, said "feck this, I miss the homeland." And then decided to go on a perpetual bender? And the rest of the pixies thought "jaysus! Major session lads" that's the way to live.

Interestingly I did read one study that stated a change in absorption of alcohol DNA related to times previous where water was undrinkable for a long period of time and so people turned to alcohol more and more - specific to certain countries like Ireland and Australia

Yep; Koreans and Japanese people are terrible drinkers because they boiled water to purify it, and so never evolved that gene. Boiled water is still a popular drink in China actually (ie tea with no tea in it). It's surprisingly awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Giraffe Box

Rehabs love them too,it's a revolving door business,dry them out,send them on their way andddd see them back again in a few weeks\months

That's a bit too cynical for me, the people at the Rutland Centre in Dublin do some great work and not all of their 'guests' return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,035 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I had a grandfather who was a cattle dealer at that time. Yeah, if you had the smarts for it you could make some serious money. He was a big drinker too coincidentally, would be all over the country 5 days a week behind the wheel of a cattle truck with porter down him.

Different times back then.

You don't really see guys like that in the business anymore.

That's probably no bad thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

That's a bit too cynical for me, the people at the Rutland Centre in Dublin do some great work and not all of their 'guests' return.

Without doubt there is genuine ones out there with good intentions,but there are just as many who are in it for the dough,a stint in rehab can be an expensive stay.

Weepsie wrote: »
    Having been to Korea, they are anything but terrible drinkers.
    Just had a quick Google, and it seems it's Japanese and Chinese who are terrible drinkers, not the Koreans. So apologies for slighting them!

I wonder are the Koreans more Russic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I know a guy who faced up to his battle with alcohol after 30 years or so. He went to the Rutland Centre for treatment and he stayed off the booze for more than ten years, until he passed away. They do great work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Without doubt there is genuine ones out there with good intentions,but there are just as many who are in it for the dough,a stint in rehab can be an expensive stay.

The vast majority of drug and alcohol counsellor's are members of bodies who set standards trying to regulate the industry , suggesting their in it for the money is unfair .
    A lot of the time you're refered in by a by a professional and in some cases they may feel you are not suitable.

It's quite an event to get a chronic alcoholic from his worst right up to sobriety often involving GPs , addiction nurses , psychiatrists , counsellors and aftercare staff.

A stint in rehab is a very way simple of describing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,815 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

wDbcIbf.jpg