Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Losty the pintman

• 13-07-2018 07:27AM
    Site Banned Posts: 67 ✭✭

Some of Dublin's great pintmen have been known to put away thirty pints or more a in day.
    Leaving aside the memes and jokes for a moment, can you imagine the kind of life this man led and the effect it had on those around him? He more than likely was unemployed if he sat in a pub from morning to night drinking, squandering away his dole money. His kids probably never knew their father. His wife may as well have been a widow and probably had to get a part-time job herself just to feed the children and keep the bills paid while daddy drank away the dole. Yet wider Irish society would label Paddy a harmless character or even herald him as a legend.

Time for the country to adjust their attitude to alcohol and grow up. It's only when you move abroad and look at the country from an outside perspective that you realise the Irish have a major problem with booze. A few years down the line you will look back on the Reddit memes and the light-hearted articles on the Journal about this alcoholic and cringe.

Sorry if this post comes across as aggressive but it has touched a very personal nerve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

Some of Dublin's great pintmen have been known to put away thirty pints or more a in day.
    Leaving aside the memes and jokes for a moment, can you imagine the kind of life this man led and the effect it had on those around him? He more than likely was unemployed if he sat in a pub from morning to night drinking, squandering away his dole money. His kids probably never knew their father. His wife may as well have been a widow and probably had to get a part-time job herself just to feed the children and keep the bills paid while daddy drank away the dole. Yet wider Irish society would label Paddy a harmless character or even herald him as a legend.

Time for the country to adjust their attitude to alcohol and grow up. It's only when you move abroad and look at the country from an outside perspective that you realise the Irish have a major problem with booze. A few years down the line you will look back on the Reddit memes and the light-hearted articles on the Journal about this alcoholic and cringe.

Sorry if this post comes across as aggressive but it has touched a very personal nerve.

30 pints?! He would have been considered a lightweight here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,999 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Again, yes we have a disturbing relationship with alcohol in this country, and a serious underfunding of our addiction and mental health services, this isn't really changing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Again, yes we have a disturbing relationship with alcohol in this country, and a serious underfunding of our addiction and mental health services, this isn't really changing

I remember my first drink. Parents at 16 no you can't drink here at home, get pissed off my face in a field and got told it was a right of passage for puking for a couple of days?

We've a serious messed up relationship with alcohol, but my generation drink less so it's slowly getting better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Never heard of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

We’re probably one of the only countries in the workd that puts alcoholics up on a pedestal, like some sort if hero. I hope he was single, because I’d say the story of his wife and kids is pretty horrific if he’s spending that on gargle.

• Site Banned Posts: 67 ✭✭flookdgates

30 pints?! He would have been considered a lightweight here!

I promise if you had personal experience with somebody like Paddy Losty you wouldn't think it was funny. I envy you that you can make jokes about it.
    Wanderer78 wrote: »

Perhaps there is a diminishment of personal responsibility for the problem by blaming it on "Ireland" in general. We all have a personal role to play. Number one, stop pretending alcoholics are good craic and a laugh. They should feel ashamed and been seen as victims to be pitied. Number two, don't feed the bloated alcohol industry with your hard earned cash. I personally (reluctantly) only set foot in a pub maybe once or twice a year. I'm not a big drinker. Instead of having twenty pubs in every small Irish village, imagine if one was converted into a kickboxing club so the beer bellies could get a workout. Or maybe an art club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Pintmen? That's not a thing surely.

Hi, I'm Jim

What do you do Jim?

Oh me!? I'm a pintman

moloner4 wrote:
    I remember my first drink. Parents at 16 no you can't drink here at home, get pissed off my face in a field and got told it was a right of passage for puking for a couple of days?

I think my parents approached it well, allowed us to drink at home at that age, even bought it for us, I no longer drink myself, but I've had many bad experiences with alcohol so called it a day a few years ago. Disturbingly, illegal drugs are very plentiful nowadays, I'd be freaking if I was a parent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Ireland has seen a steady decline in alcohol consumption for years now,

Source
    When it comes to getting stocious, we are now lagging far behind the British, the French and the Germans.

Since our tipsy boom-time heyday, we have dropped from eighth to 18th in the European drinking charts.

Ireland may have alcoholics, but there is no need to suggest we are a nation of them.

Perhaps there is a diminishment of personal responsibility for the problem by blaming it on "Ireland" in general. We all have a personal role to play. Number one, stop pretending alcoholics are good craic and a laugh. They should feel ashamed and been seen as victims to be pitied. Number two, don't feed the bloated alcohol industry with your hard earned cash. I personally (reluctantly) only set foot in a pub maybe once or twice a year. I'm not a big drinker. Instead of having twenty pubs in every small Irish village, imagine if one was converted into a kickboxing club so the beer bellies could get a workout. Or maybe an art club.

Shaming people with addiction and mental health problems is not progress, we ve been doing this for ions, it hasn't worked out very well for us

• Site Banned Posts: 67 ✭✭flookdgates

Ireland has seen a steady decline in alcohol consumption for years now.

Ireland may have alcoholics, but there is no need to suggest we are a nation of them.

Great to hear that. Our media still have a long way to go in adjusting the way they put alcoholics up on a pedestal as some sort of comedy figure. Please call out these unfunny hacks every time you see it.

entertainment.ie

www.dailyedge.ie

Joe.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Ara I wouldn't be fond of drinking but when I'd go at it I'd go at it awful very hard. I'd have about 45 pints in about eh two hours I'd have a packet crips then maybe an aul packet of peanuts. And then if go for, arra I'd have ten more anyway. Then I'd get up the following morning and Maureen would have the fry on. And I'd go at it again. And there'd be no ****ing shtoppin me. Id take the shirt off any man's back. Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭enricoh

A mate of mine would drink 20 pints on a day out, no bother. Doesn't drink at home, probably goes out once every two weeks. Doesn't be locked or rowdy, spends a few hours backing a few horses before I'd meet him . I don't see the problem.
    Horses for courses as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,218 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The maths don't add up, both on time it would take in a day to drink 30 pints and money it would take to buy them each day and sustain an income to continue doing it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Time for the country to adjust their attitude to alcohol and grow up.
    What, because of one person most people have never heard of, being trumpeted on clickbait websites, on the basis of a book which may or may not be correct?

That's enough for you to try shame the entire country, and suggest every Irish person should "readjust their attitude to alcohol and grow up?"

**** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The maths don't add up, both on time it would take in a day to drink 30 pints and money it would take to buy them each day and sustain an income to continue doing it.

Addiction is really more of a disease than business model!

The maths tend to not add up, you never really hear anyone saying "Jaysus, Paddy's doing well for himself, hadn't an arse in trousers still he started on the meth, but now look at him!":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,138 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

It's 45 pints.
    And shure a few more anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

He wouldn't have drank 30 every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,218 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Trasna1 wrote: »
    He wouldn't have drank 30 every day.

Then a case of all fur coat and no knickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Ireland has seen a steady decline in alcohol consumption for years now,

Source
    When it comes to getting stocious, we are now lagging far behind the British, the French and the Germans.

Since our tipsy boom-time heyday, we have dropped from eighth to 18th in the European drinking charts.

I for one blame coffee for draining some of our best drinking talents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭kerryjack

A lot of these lads had the storage tanks to go with it. My ould lad would have drank a good drop himself when we didn't have a lot I drank a good sup myself because I taught it was the thing to do but packed it up when i saw the light You won't be able to do both now because women dont put up with that type of sit anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I don't think he ever said it was a daily intake, it was 20 pints in the session and you'd take that with a pinch of salt too.

Attitudes towards alcohol have been changing for the better for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

I'm pretty sure the whole thing is a wind up.

Beverly Hills, California

Time for the country to adjust their attitude to alcohol and grow up............

To be fair I think the days of the "couple of pints on the way home from work" etc are long gone as being normal behaviour.

It's mainly dole heads that drink daily now in pubs.

The daily bottle of wine in the evening has replaced the pub though and it's both males and females are guzzling the vino with gusto. A glass is fiine of course but I doubt there's more opened bottle going back in the cupboard/fridge than empty ones for recycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,035 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Pintman - worst Marvel superhero ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Norm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Pintman - worst Marvel superhero ever.

Pintmans not the hero Ireland deserves but the one it needs right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Ara I wouldn't be fond of drinking but when I'd go at it I'd go at it awful very hard. I'd have about 45 pints in about eh two hours I'd have a packet crips then maybe an aul packet of peanuts. And then if go for, arra I'd have ten more anyway. Then I'd get up the following morning and Maureen would have the fry on. And I'd go at it again. And there'd be no ****ing shtoppin me. Id take the shirt off any man's back. Bastards.

Still going after all these years. I wonder what the op is worried by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    We’re probably one of the only countries in the workd that puts alcoholics up on a pedestal, like some sort if hero. I hope he was single, because I’d say the story of his wife and kids is pretty horrific if he’s spending that on gargle.

No he was married, didn't Maureen have the fry on for him in the morning .... and then he'd go at it again, and no ****ing man would stap him ... he'd take the shirt off any mans back ....bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

OP, I'm not sure that a quote from a man who was already somewhat of a bygone from another era 20 years' ago can be taken as indicative of society's attitude to alcohol today.