Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Was up having a nosey at some cars when passing through Donegal and the dealer was taking pics of a car they'd just got in... One pic of a corner of my Avensis photobombing in this ad :p
    Interslice wrote: »
    Im one of these now too :( .. My 8th car brand in 13 years of motoring.

You're making me think here!

Alfa Romeo
    Austin (once had a mini)
    BMW
    Citroen
    Fiat
    Ford
    Honda
    Hyundai
    International
    Jaguar
    Kia
    Land Rover
    Mercedes
    Mitsubishi
    Nissan
    Opel
    Peugeot
    Renault
    Seat
    Subaru
    Toyota
    Volvo
    VW

I'd be a while listing what I've had from each marque :o Last 3 purchases were 2 Toyotas and a diesel Kia, how the times have changed... For now :p

Shortest I've owned a car was a red manual Nissan 300ZX TT; I had it a day. Started at about 11, by 20:30 that evening it was a completely stripped shell full of scrap and taken away on a trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Gavman84 wrote: »
    I have been going to Fionnsport now ever since Foxhole told me about him. He is a brilliant mech and has sorted my ST out for me when other places were telling me there is nothing wrong :rolleyes: I will be going nowhere else in future with any car!

Back to Fionnsport again, how long of a waiting list would he have?

I'm only gonna be in Cork for one day (and one day only!) towards the end of the month, so I want to make sure I can definitely get the car into them that day!

What I thought was one or two little jobs has now evolved into a bit of a list, I want to get a clunky gearbox, rear nearside coil spring, gearbox oil, fuel filter, and most annoying of all, what I think is a faulty wheel bearing (but could also be a faulty diff - there's a kind of grumbling sound at low speeds which turns into a boomy kind of noise at motorway speeds and is louder the more you press on the accelerator, what makes me think it's a wheel bearing is the grumbling sound at low speeds is there all the time no matter what gear it's in or in neutral etc, and gets louder as speeds increase) all done and dusted.

Well, the clunky gearbox and wheel bearing/diff are the absolute priorities and the fuel filter if there's time, the other things can wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Mine's fairly easy too:
    Audi TT Mk1 225
    E60 525i

Wish I could keep the TT but realistically won't get to use it properly anymore. Once I sell it I might look for a vintage/project instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

International

Is this for ditch extractions? :D

I'm shocked at the diesel Kia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Rover 400
    MG ZR
    BMW 318i
    Mazda RX8
    Mazda6 MPS
    BMW 335i
    Ford Fiesta
    BMW 330d

Will do Captain. Great to meet you today and glad you enjoyed the spin. I was telling herself about "exploring the limits of grip" and meeting the Garda car coming around the corner!

Likewise, great to meet you as well! I really enjoyed the spin in it, it's in great condition. E36s are really lovely cars, they're as comfortable and as refined as any modern car out there (just like the E46) - actually they're better than that, because of the silky smooth naturally aspirated port injected straight six petrol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 72 ✭✭Mark Horgan

Likewise, great to meet you as well! I really enjoyed the spin in it, it's in great condition. E36s are really lovely cars, they're as comfortable and as refined as any modern car out there (just like the E46) - actually they're better than that, because of the silky smooth naturally aspirated port injected straight six petrol.

https://www.google.ie/search?source=hp&ei=qLU6W-rSF4XUsAfrhaOgAg&q=ooh+car+friend&oq=ooh+car+friend&gs_l=mobile-gws-wiz-hp.3..0i203j33i160l2.5517.10561..10809...1....416.3452.0j3j4j4j1......0....1.......5..35i39j0i3j0i19j0i10i19j0i22i10i30j0i22i30j33i21.HOmRjz7FH%2Bw%3D#imgrc=RsdJ7FoifQwpBM:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Back to Fionnsport again, how long of a waiting list would he have?

I'm only gonna be in Cork for one day (and one day only!) towards the end of the month, so I want to make sure I can definitely get the car into them that day!

What I thought was one or two little jobs has now evolved into a bit of a list, I want to get a clunky gearbox, rear nearside coil spring, gearbox oil, fuel filter, and most annoying of all, what I think is a faulty wheel bearing (but could also be a faulty diff - there's a kind of grumbling sound at low speeds which turns into a boomy kind of noise at motorway speeds and is louder the more you press on the accelerator, what makes me think it's a wheel bearing is the grumbling sound at low speeds is there all the time no matter what gear it's in or in neutral etc, and gets louder as speeds increase) all done and dusted.

Well, the clunky gearbox and wheel bearing/diff are the absolute priorities and the fuel filter if there's time, the other things can wait!

He won't get that done in a day I'd say unless you book it well in advance and tell him you need the car! He has a serious backlog as he's mainly on his own these days, he didn't even get to my car for a week or so!

Thanks a million! I know I want the car to go into him on 1 August (and I want it back that evening so I can go to Kerry), so I'd really need to be ringing him early on the week of 16 July just to be sure that he can take it by the sounds of things, or maybe towards the end of next week?

If it's only a week or so of a waiting list that's nothing compared to the specialist I used when I lived in the UK, they used to have a 3-4 weeks :eek: (always worth the wait though, the lads that worked on my car over there were just brilliant)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

That is some list fancy pigeon. I didn't get my first car until I was 24!

1989 Nissan micra 1.2 petrol
    1999 Daewoo lanos 1.4 petrol(I know right, but it was my 1st and only brand new car)
    2000 VW golf 1.6 petrol
    2000 Suzuki grand vitara 2.0 diesel
    2001 Saab 9-5 2.0 petrol
    2004 VW passat 1.6 petrol
    2005 Toyota avensis 1.6 petrol
    2009 BMW 520d E61
    2013 BMW 525d F11
    2014 BMW 535d F10

Thanks a million! I know I want the car to go into him on 1 August (and I want it back that evening so I can go to Kerry), so I'd really need to be ringing him early on the week of 16 July just to be sure that he can take it by the sounds of things, or maybe towards the end of next week?

If it's only a week or so of a waiting list that's nothing compared to the specialist I used when I lived in the UK, they used to have a 3-4 weeks :eek: (always worth the wait though, the lads that worked on my car over there were just brilliant)!

No its much longer than a week, I'd almost be raining him now to be honest, the work is just piling up on him, there's cars all over the place at the moment due to the load!

Interslice wrote: »
    Is this for ditch extractions? :D

I'm shocked at the diesel Kia.

Mostly for shunting cars round, carrying equipment (welding gear springs to mind) and towing stuff from the yard to the back of the garage. Re registered from Cavan and all :D The Santa Fe has taken over a lot of that though, I have a pic of it carrying the welder for example, must dig it out!

The Kia isn't a pint sized diesel if that alleviates the situation :p I did have filthy thoughts of getting its chra machined out to accept a bigger compressor wheel as bigger housings fit but then realised I have too much on already :o

Edit: found it. It's much easier to move the equipment this way than try hike it round to where we need it. International is in the background too!

Snapchat-1472823773.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

- actually they're better than that, because of the silky smooth naturally aspirated port injected straight six petrol.

You're mad about bm 6s!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

vintagevrs wrote: »
    You're mad about bm 6s!

I thought I knew my stuff....

No its much longer than a week, I'd almost be raining him now to be honest, the work is just piling up on him, there's cars all over the place at the moment due to the load!

Thanks again FN, so glad I asked! I'll give him a buzz this afternoon when I'm less hectic at work!

I don't think it's realistic to expect a garage to diagnose and fix those issues in one day, if you can't make 2 trips to him or leave the car there for a few days you might be better off rethinking where to go.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    You're mad about bm 6s!

I know, I can't even try to be objective or impartial about them these days! That's what 19 months of BMW ownership has done to me, despite the fact that I had an awful lot of grief (and expense) with mine last year.

It's not just the straight sixes I'm a sucker for (although I do have a real grá for them); I've been in FN's V8 engined E39 and I've driven an E92 M3 and both of them are absolute beauties as well. I really love straight six noise but how can you say no to V8 thunder as your soundtrack:D? I'm sure I wouldn't find it difficult to like a V10 or a V12 Bee-Em either!

Augeo wrote: »
    I don't think it's realistic to expect a garage to diagnose and fix those issues in one day, if you can't make 2 trips to him or leave the car there for a few days you might be better off rethinking where to go.

You're probably right but sure I'll see what he says when I ring him and take it from there! I appreciate I'm being awkward with dates and stuff, but I've heard such good things about him from FN (and others) that while I happen to be down there for the day, I want him to look it at!

My life :pac:

IhybrMih.jpg

My life :pac:

Please don't tell me this means you've yet another problem!

No, not yet, that I know of anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Any craic men? Anything changed in here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭passatman86

Anyone in here get or hear of a 2.0 diesel avensis getting re-maped or tuned.... outcome

I think it's very difficult to do anything with these engines unfortunately (unless you've got one of very recent models with the BMW engine), they only respond to tuning boxes as far I as know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭passatman86

I think it's very difficult to do anything with these engines unfortunately (unless you've got one of very recent models with the BMW engine), they only respond to tuning boxes as far I as know.

Yeah 2010 d4d is the one I have.. see a few adverts.ie adds with tuning boxs

Finally got around to ringing him about an hour ago. He's actually closed the last week of July/first week of August, they're doing some sort of refurb/painting of the premises. Sounded like the guy I was talking to a few weeks ago when I went over after getting the car washed with ye, so I must have met the owner that day.

That puts the kibosh on my plans cause I'm still gonna be in Cork on 1 August for the whole day, so once I've figured out what I can do (in terms of being able to work at home in Cork), I'll ring him back and send it into him some Friday!

Anyone in here get or hear of a 2.0 diesel avensis getting re-maped or tuned.... outcome

Aluminum block: can be remapped if T27 (unsure about T25)

Cast block: tuning box job

Finally got around to ringing him about an hour ago.............

You're not tempted to let Ardfallen BMW specialists at it ? :pac:

Mmmmm interesting.... conceptually timing chain failure on a relatively fresh car is unacceptable & males the car unfit for purpose.... https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/judge-orders-bmw-to-hand-over-engine-evidence-37082809.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Judges 520d must have calved:D