If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,751 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

prawnsambo wrote: »
    The present day PSNI are a far more professional outfit than their previous incarnation, and even more so than our own bunch. It had to be an outsider to clean up the mess. A very good choice imo.

No doubt, they've dealt quite well given the circumstances over the last couple decades and have been whipped together to bring an end to their corruption and abuse.

Just think it's an interesting choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Buer wrote: »
    €15k fine. Write a cheque and be home for supper.

I'm absolutely seething. He's a multi-millionaire. This is spare change.

Now this does seem like a minor offense but a harsh sentence here would be fitting retrospective justice.

I'd love a United Ireland personally. Family members who fought for a United Ireland.

But I think now is a terrible time to do it. Honestly. Ireland isn't economically stable, N.I is in the pits economically, who knows what way Ireland is going to fare if/when Brexit occurs in regards to trade and less funding from the EU.

I can see the wheels turning, steps being made, but for both sides, an abrupt unification leads to trouble, financially and obviously with upset from the unionists.

I agree for the most part. I think we're a while away yet from someone of actual consequence actually putting enough thought behind a plan for unification to publicly say that it is a policy goal.

I also think that from the first time it becomes a serious talking point with actual policy behind it to a decision for the electorate and onto a realised Island country is probably a full decades worth of hard work. I don't think it will be a flicked switch, I think it will be a steady and gradual merger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I'm absolutely seething. He's a multi-millionaire. This is spare change.

He was never seeing a custodial sentence, I'm afraid. This is old hat compared to some of his other indiscretions.

Mick Wallace didn't even go to court for a far bigger bill after filing far bigger lies deliberately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Should probably stop derailing the Leinster thread with guitar chat, but I've always wondered -

What's the difference between a Les Paul Classic, and a Les Paul Standard?

Apparently being a public representative is a mitigating factor in a criminal trial.

**** this.

• Administrators Posts: 55,321 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Lads, I am pretty sure I've given the no politics warning about 10 times in the past few months.

Discussion of politics is off limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Should probably stop derailing the Leinster thread with guitar chat, but I've always wondered -

What's the difference between a Les Paul Classic, and a Les Paul Standard?

Are you buying new or second hand? The specs of both have changed over the years, older classics had solid bodys which is a huge difference in my experience

awec wrote: »
    Lads, I am pretty sure I've given the no politics warning about 10 times in the past few months.

Discussion of politics is off limits.

Are you buying new or second hand? The specs of both have changed over the years, older classics had solid bodys which is a huge difference in my experience

I have one; bought a classic vintage burst, new, in and around 2003. Cost around Gbp 1700-1800 if I remember correctly. Is it worth any money now?

Coil humbuckers? It's been a while since I was involved, but not all of the range gain value...you'd be better off taking it to someone who knows their stuff... but I'd guess you wouldn't quite get your money back
    €1500?.... hold onto it...no matter what models, there's always peaks and troughs in prices...a year down the line you could add €500 maybe

Coil humbuckers? It's been a while since I was involved, but not all of the range gain value...you'd be better off taking it to someone who knows their stuff... but I'd guess you wouldn't quite get your money back
    €1500?.... hold onto it...no matter what models, there's always peaks and troughs in prices...a year down the line you could add €500 maybe

I went with the classic because the store only had the vintage burst in the classic, not the standard, and I wanted that colour scheme. For the love of God don't tell me that if I'd bought a standard it would now be worth a fortune :pac:

Nah you're talking 30-40 years at least for a guitar to increase in value and be seen as 'vintage'.

Anything made in the last 20 years is just standard second hand prices.

• Administrators Posts: 55,321 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Anyone see the picture of Maradona? Completely whooped off his chops on gear :pac:

Nah you're talking 30-40 years at least for a guitar to increase in value and be seen as 'vintage'.

Anything made in the last 20 years is just standard second hand prices.

Leaving aside the vintage element, you can be lucky, or unlucky with a guitar when you buy it...some from the last 4-5 years are going for 2-2.5k...coukd be just down to the wood giving a sweeter tone, god knows

Gibson quality over the last couple years has gone to absolute shít. Nobody would want to touch a new Les Paul. Heard plenty of people gone into shops and seen issues with binding, cheap tops that look laminated, loads of different issues.

awec wrote: »
    Anyone see the picture of Maradona? Completely whooped off his chops on gear :pac:

Did you see the video? He was absolutely chewing the jaw off himself, he's some man for a bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,526 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Did you see the video? He was absolutely chewing the jaw off himself, he's some man for a bag.

This one?

Or was he being a twat several times today?

This one?

Or was he being a twat several times today?

That one but there's a couple seconds before it that are crucial:
    https://twitter.com/JimmyConrad/status/1011697543397294080?s=19

Also him getting carried out:
    https://twitter.com/IndyFootball/status/1011716116308221952?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,035 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

He's in a hula hoop.

I reckon he'll leave this earth with a massive heart attack.

How does he have any money? He's surely there on someone else's dime - the private jets, the corporate boxes etc.?

He doesn't, he's in massive debt to the Italian government for taxes I believe. He coached in Dubai though so between that and being a national hero I'd say he has friends in high places.

Reports going around that he's been taken into hospital actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,035 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

He doesn't, he's in massive debt to the Italian government for taxes I believe. He coached in Dubai though so between that and being a national hero I'd say he has friends in high places.

Reports going around that he's been taken into hospital actually.

Just got a pic off him being checked by paramedics.
    He is God in Argentina. Remember visiting boca juniors ground in Buenos Aries and there is a battered sofa on the halfway line up in the stands. That's for him when he comes to watch the games and nobody else is allowed to sit on it. The locals there absolutely worship him.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Where abouts is the stage erected these days in the RDS? When I saw Metallica there, it was on the Grandstand. I can hear all the utter ****e coming out of it over the last few weeks and fairly high volumes and I'm almost a mile north of it. Never noticed it in previous years. If they've not moved the stage, their in-house sound engineer has gone deaf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

dregin wrote: »
    Where abouts is the stage erected these days in the RDS? When I saw Metallica there, it was on the Grandstand. I can hear all the utter ****e coming out of it over the last few weeks and fairly high volumes and I'm almost a mile north of it. Never noticed it in previous years. If they've not moved the stage, their in-house sound engineer has gone deaf.

Sound travels depending on what way the wind is blowing (well that's my understanding of it). I live about 2.5 miles from Marley Park (as the crow flies) and sometimes can hear the music clear as day. Other times, absolutely nothing.

I could hear Taylor Swift in Croke Park from close to the Sandymount Hotel. At least I think that's what it was!

So the wind's blowing in 2 directions at once? This has been going on for weeks. I'm fairly sure it's not the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,990 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Also humidity is much lower and that would have an effect too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

dregin wrote: »

It's a weird one, apparently loads of people could hear them.

The stage was where the South Stand would typically be, but there is no North Stand. So the back of the stadium is open which must mean everyone north gets a pretty clear sound. A mate of mine at grand canal dock said he could even hear the crowd singing Mr Brightside - and the crowd were facing the other way!

Synode wrote: »
    Sound travels depending on what way the wind is blowing (well that's my understanding of it). I live about 2.5 miles from Marley Park (as the crow flies) and sometimes can hear the music clear as day. Other times, absolutely nothing.
    I could hear Taylor Swift in Croke Park from close to the Sandymount Hotel. At least I think that's what it was!
    errlloyd wrote: »
    It's a weird one, apparently loads of people could hear them.

The stage was where the South Stand would typically be, but there is no North Stand. So the back of the stadium is open which must mean everyone north gets a pretty clear sound. A mate of mine at grand canal dock said he could even hear the crowd singing Mr Brightside - and the crowd were facing the other way!

This explains it so. Thanks!