Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who's going to see the Pope?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I'm sure he is well able to answer for himself without you becoming his spokesman

Here, be butthurt at this instead :

Nope to the Pope

https://www.facebook.com/events/621070581595296

now with badges !

https://www.etsy.com/ie/listing/620921231/say-nope-to-the-pope

hcURv58.jpg

but yes it is hypocrisy if he doesn't believe in it to go through with the church service.

Hypocrisy would be going to mass every week and screwing your neighbour over

• Registered Users Posts: 16,239 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

gctest50 wrote: »

Nope to the Pope

now with badges !

hcURv58.jpg

And ?

Am I supposed to be upset over that or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,407 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

gctest50 wrote: »

Nope to the Pope

now with badges !

hcURv58.jpg

Are these the guys buying loads of tickets and not attending?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/pope-s-ireland-visit-prompts-protest-booking-campaign-1.3544167?mode=amp

• Registered Users Posts: 23,432 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

That's ridiculous. What point are they trying to prove by block booking tickets if they don't want to attend?
    A man who says he will not be attending the pope’s Mass in the Phoenix Park claims he has booked 800 tickets in protest, including several under the name “Jesus Christ.”

A Facebook page protesting the August visit of Pope Francis to Ireland is encouraging people to book large numbers of free tickets, which will not be used, to ensure a low turnout at events.

I mean if someone has a problem just don't go. I don't see why people who do want to go should be blocked from doing so by stunts like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭BliainanAir

That's ridiculous. What point are they trying to prove by block booking tickets if they don't want to attend?

I mean if someone has a problem just don't go. I don't see why people who do want to go should be blocked from doing so by stunts like that.

We'll said Kermit. The height of nonsense and bullying really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Or even do go and protest.

But this is just petty nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

eviltwin wrote: »
    There is no shortage of tickets. I was just on the site, there are loads left. Anyone who wants one can get one. Let's stop this ****e that the naughty atheists are preventing Catholics seeing their pope, no one is being stopped, they can log on and book the tickets they want.

Lets not, the act itself is designed to antagonize hence why so many are gleeful they are doing it. There maybe enough for everyone but there is anti-catholic intent behind this action.

I wouldn't also say its the atheists either but just liberal Ireland being its tolerant self.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

wexie wrote: »
    Or even do go and protest.

But this is just petty nonsense.

I am with you and do not get this. Either protest or do not protest. By buying tickets (I would not say it would sell out or anywhere close) and not going no one know your a protesting except for the big men & women who will go on the facebook page or create a thread here and ever 95% I would not believe. Also that guy who claimed he got €800 he was on the Last Word and he sound as reliable as the rhythm method

• Registered Users Posts: 19,008 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Jesus! (Pun intended) all the people bleating about how horrible it is to book tickets and not use them, no need to get your knickers in a twist!

Like any event, people that want to go will get their tickets early. If they twiddle their thumbs waiting for the last minute to secure them it's their own fault they can't go.

I'd be surprised if it's full anyway. There can't be that many people wetting themselves with excitement to go to mass.

Well I think people are dismayed at the bigoted miserable cunts who are trying to ruin something for someone else that is no skin off their own noses.

It doesn't really matter if that nasty tactic is successful or not. It's still saddening and despairing that the intention is there to do such a petty thing. There are plenty of older people too who would not have the means or the know-how to get onto the internet and book tickets quickly.

There were silly gobshites on the radio today talking about taking numbers and baptismal records. Do people not realize that it is not even just Catholics who want to go to see him?

My guess is that they will just adjust accordingly and release more tickets and the bigots will have wasted their time.

Same as you don't have to be a yank to go and see Obama if he visits Ireland. You might have an interest in going to see the Pope if he visits. Maybe you'd like to go to get a sense of the atmosphere of a large group of people coming together for something.

Too many self-centred **** trying to make everything about "me me me"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I am with you and do not get this. Either protest or do not protest. By buying tickets (I would not say it would sell out or anywhere close) and not going no one know your a protesting except for the big men & women who will go on the facebook page or create a thread here and ever 95% I would not believe. Also that guy who claimed he got €800 he was on the Last Word and he sound as reliable as the rhythm method

From the name in the IrishTimes article i would say there is a good chance this is him https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/in-tents-relationship-protesters-to-tie-knot-175668.html (Name, Where he is from, and age match).

Didn't even think we had occupy protesters in Ireland.

Calhoun wrote: »
    From the name in the IrishTimes article i would say there is a good chance this is him https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/in-tents-relationship-protesters-to-tie-knot-175668.html (Name, Where he is from, and age match).

Didn't even think we had occupy protesters in Ireland.

No more to be said. He was on as 1 of the founder member also and 2 seconds in was I just found the page don't know much about it so just bought the tickets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

There's a thread about this going on Mumsnet. It's pretty shocking stuff. Apparently all Catholics were complicit in child abuse just as all Germans were Nazi enablers.

Scary!

There's a thread about this going on Mumsnet. It's pretty shocking stuff. Apparently all Catholics were complicit in child abuse just as all Germans were Nazi enablers.

Scary!

Off course and anyone associated with banks are complicit what happened there and so on. It's a common trick to shut down a conversation and force you to confess your sins

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Any word on the setlist?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

There's a thread about this going on Mumsnet. It's pretty shocking stuff.

URGENT H&S Advisory :

During the hot weather we are currently experiencing :

If you are over at the house of a member of MMSNT

BRING YOUR OWN GLASS

ends.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/mother-tongue/10367709/Mumsnet-creaks-under-the-strain-of-penis-beaker.html

:(

SaraCrewe Tue 08-Oct-13 09:16:47

I considered name changing for this, but, fck it.

We have a dedicated post-sex cleanup area on the bedside table. A box of tissues, a small bin, and a beaker of clean water for temporary cleaning/dunking while the bathroom is occupied by me.

Apparently our penis beaker is strange and not the done thing.

Does everyone else just lay there in a sticky post coital glow until morning? Really?

Fairylea Tue 08-Oct-13 09:18:34

Really!!!? And you're not a troll?? smile

No. We have a normal bedside table. With books and a lamp.

Not a sex clean up bit!

I get up for a wee and wipe and then dh does and that's it!

Sunnysummer Tue 08-Oct-13 09:20:07

Have never heard of this. And used to be quite the harlot, so really think I would have seen in, if it were a common thing. But maybe my tastes just run to the unwashed...?

Has there ever been a midnight mixup with a glass of drinking water?

Am waiting in fascination to see rest of responses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Yeah but your teachers weren't using a work of fiction from 2000 years ago as a basis.

On what basis is it fiction exactly??

Please do be specific here...I am curious as to your line of reasoning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

pone2012 wrote:
    On what basis is it fiction exactly??

Not sure if you are pulling the p*ss or not. If you are serious, read it and get back to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

No I am not going. Have zero interest in being brainwashed by the church. The world would be a better and more advanced state without religion. It has held the human race back far to long. The sooner religion is gone the better. That is just my opinion.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,008 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

AMKC wrote: »
    No I am not going. Have zero interest in being brainwashed by the church. The world would be a better and more advanced state without religion. It has held the human race back far to long. The sooner religion is gone the better. That is just my opinion.

Ah now. That's awful silly stuff.

By all means, go ahead and argue that religions is not needed today or whatever you want to argue. We can debate on that. But don't say such silly things as "it has held the human race back far too long".

How many great civilizations can you tell me that did not have any religion? The answer is none. Because religion as a concept was used to control, subdue and put a structure and order on society. And that structure went hand-in-hand with civilization and development. Whether that be in ancient Greece, Egyptian, Inca, whatever.

Religion, or at least the topic itself was a driving force behind many of the great philosophers who sought to find answers and understand human nature and the world.

And in a more direct tangible sense, churches/monasteries have been repositories and centres of learning in Europe at least for hundreds and hundreds of years. And for a large part of that were the only ones doing it.

How much of the great art and architecture do we directly owe to systems of religion?

So religion went hand-in-hand with the progress of civilisation. You might not like to hear that as you probably think that you are special and it doesn't matter to you. But as a concept and a structure, it has added greatly to where we are today.

I am not talking about any specific religoin as you did not seem to be. You seemed to be talking about the concept of religion which is what I am giving a counterargument to

(Yeah yeah, some shite about Galileo and the world being flat and Crusades etc. blah blah. )

Not sure if you are pulling the p*ss or not. If you are serious, read it and get back to me.

I have...and I know how to interpret it correctly, unlike the vast majority

So again... please elaborate on your point

pone2012 wrote:
    I have...and I know how to interpret it correctly, unlike the vast majority

lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭the celtic tiger

Not sure why people in this thread cannot give a simple 'yes' or 'no' answer, without trying to intentionally put down other people's religion.

I won't be attending OP, but it's a big thing for a lot of people, and good for them that they got the opportunity to see the Pope.

lol.

For someone who talks down the Bible... Why is it you've little to say about it when you're asked?

pone2012 wrote:
    For someone who talks down the Bible... Why is it you've little to say about it when you're asked?

I said it's a work of fiction. Nothing further to add to that opinion. You can pretend you and you alone know what it really means all you want doesn't change my opinion of what it is.

Well generally an opinion requires substantiation... so I'm waiting...

So far you've done nothing except prove your ignorance and display your intolerance

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

Ah now. That's awful silly stuff.

By all means, go ahead and argue that religions is not needed today or whatever you want to argue. We can debate on that. But don't say such silly things as "it has held the human race back far too long".

How many great civilizations can you tell me that did not have any religion? The answer is none. Because religion as a concept was used to control, subdue and put a structure and order on society. And that structure went hand-in-hand with civilization and development. Whether that be in ancient Greece, Egyptian, Inca, whatever.

Religion, or at least the topic itself was a driving force behind many of the great philosophers who sought to find answers and understand human nature and the world.

And in a more direct tangible sense, churches/monasteries have been repositories and centres of learning in Europe at least for hundreds and hundreds of years. And for a large part of that were the only ones doing it.

How much of the great art and architecture do we directly owe to systems of religion?

So religion went hand-in-hand with the progress of civilisation. You might not like to hear that as you probably think that you are special and it doesn't matter to you. But as a concept and a structure, it has added greatly to where we are today.

I am not talking about any specific religoin as you did not seem to be. You seemed to be talking about the concept of religion which is what I am giving a counterargument to

(Yeah yeah, some shite about Galileo and the world being flat and Crusades etc. blah blah. )

1. Religion has held back the human race, fear of magic (SCIENCE) and not in the divine held back much development.
    2. There are possilbe instances where religion didnt affect cultures as much as history may lead to believe, non documentation of such instances would have been removed from history by conquering or controling elements. Some believe that athiesm was more widespread over 2000 years ago than today.
    3. Some philosophers were actually not religious and damned those that believed in the "gods" for holding back science and society.
    4. The romans brought in christian religion and because of their influence at the time the religion spread far across europe where Islam was not present. Islam was far more available back in those days than christianity. The church was the new rome and used religion to control and dominate, steal and start wars.
    5. Great art and architecture yes - but alot of that was created by those that were persecuted or forced to use their skill to develop due to time and influence. Alot of the great art was stolen, im sure the vatican has hundreds of years worth of stolen art locked away that the world will never see unless the place gets burned down.
    6. Belief is something all societies has had, religion is a control mechanism, and churchs are a control envoirnment, hence why must you buy your way into heaven with collection basket when the church is so filthy rich off the back of wars they endorsed and theft of normal people. A great example is taking gifts from the National Socialists during WW2 and helping some of them escape justice.

All in all the church is a corrupt, controlling, abusive organisation that hides under the guise of a religion but for hundreds of years has been the bully boy driving wars and other nonsense. I would laugh heartily if the vatican burned down.

People dont need churches or priests or bishops or a pope to have a belief. People have the ability to believe or not beileive anything they want.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,407 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Religion breeds bigotry.

I'm curious if people would feel the same if it was a Trump rally here.

Would people object if protesters were block booking free seats to make the rally look empty?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,301 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

pg633 wrote: »
    I'm curious if people would feel the same if it was a Trump rally here.

Would people object if protesters were block booking free seats to make the rally look empty?
    I'd be front and centre for that.

But I'd have no objections if people were using their right to peaceful protest.
    Trump tickets wouldnt be free ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭Benjamin Buttons

Bambi wrote: »
    Any word on the setlist?

Basically singing from the same hymn sheet as the last Pope, though this time with a slightly jazzier backing track.