Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sports Coalition boycotts FCP

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

Sparks wrote: »
    I think that given the nature of the complaints (which I haven't managed to obtain under FOI yet), the effect on the SC's position would be down to them making them in the first place and whether or not they were thrown out by AGS would at best be immaterial.
    However, the implication here is that the SC would feel that having an untenable position would require them to resign or disband or in some way remediate the situation; it seems they do not believe that, given past actions.

So, does this mean that they will sit down with the NARGC at the FCP and say, "sure never mind that ..lets be friends.."

They should side with their conscience,:rolleyes: vote with their feet and leave the FCP to the grown ups..

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

Be hard for the saviours of irish shooting to just hang up there stetsons and ride off into the sunset.
    As the saying goes a lot (of damage) done more to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

There spineless and have no principals, they will sit where they can do most damage to anyone but there own cronies.

They will launch another complaint sure enough...Just you wait, however at the minute they have to build a faux membership and thats why they are cosing up to the others. If you remember a while back there was an interesting meeting in Port Laoise where all the others gathered..some lads around that table aren't happy with the messing and misbehaviour and just want it all to stop,they feel it's hot way out of hand, there is another one planned the throwing out of the complaints is on the agenda. Im sure we will hear more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

Is there such a charge as wasting Gardai time with these spurious complaints?

Making vexatious complaints ? The way things are with the gardai at the mo, i am sure senior gardai would frown on wasting resources on bullcrap.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Is there such a charge as wasting Gardai time with these spurious complaints?

Yes, but it's rarely followed up.
    The last time I heard it mentioned was that property developer who turned up wandering on a road in the west, claiming to have been held captive.

Heard nothing further about it.

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/kidnapped-tycoon-says-he-made-up-whole-ordeal-29135115.html

• Registered Users Posts: 14,963 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

He got two years suspended. If that's all you get for creating such a cock&bull story like that...What do you think the SC affair will rate in Garda and DPP time??:rolleyes:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/kevin-mcgeever-jail-suspended-2711548-Apr2016/

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

There spineless and have no principals, they will sit where they can do most damage to anyone but there own cronies.

They will launch another complaint sure enough...Just you wait, however at the minute they have to build a faux membership and thats why they are cosing up to the others. If you remember a while back there was an interesting meeting in Port Laoise where all the others gathered..some lads around that table aren't happy with the messing and misbehaviour and just want it all to stop,they feel it's hot way out of hand, there is another one planned the throwing out of the complaints is on the agenda. Im sure we will hear more.

Whos cosying up to who? Just who was at that table??

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1074440382703851&id=123988757749023

Say Hello to the piggy backing mechanism that the sports coalition of vested interests will commercialise hunting in Ireland.
    And this will also answer the query above

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Walter Mittys Brother

That crowd are running stuff at the range in Midlands too. Fools & their money easily parted !

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Backbarrel

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1074440382703851&id=123988757749023

Say Hello to the piggy backing mechanism that the sports coalition of vested interests will commercialise hunting in Ireland.
    And this will also answer the query above

Commercialisation aside I am wondering is this a UK thing that the Sports coalition of vested interests are trying to introduce, you know, courses for everything etc.

Most people in ireland learned to shoot and hunt with their father or uncles or mates.

Any lad thats in a club can ask an ould fella to go shooting with them some night, most would be delighted to have company. This is not something I would pay for anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

The original push for courses came from Michael McDowell when he was Minister, because "the way we've trained people for four hundred years" didn't sound ISO enough and he was worried people might not know other people in clubs or whatever and that they might apply for firearms licences. Granted, up to now, if that happened the local Garda would point them at the local club, but that's a detail.

The real problem here is something we've mentioned before, but I think it bears repeating, so...
    Sparks wrote: »
    something stinks about this particular industry in general and here's as good a place to talk about that as any.

First off, the industry is perfectly legal, and was deliberately created by a Minister for Justice. There's no question of illegality or perfidity here. There are those who think it's even beneficial, and in the ideal they have a good point, but in the real world there's this big stinking problem that they're ignoring and it's this:

There is no regulation of firearms training in Ireland.

There's absolutely none. Not one single law, not one single official who oversees it, not one national standard, nothing. Almost everyone and his dog can happily rock up and start a course to train people in how to use firearms (and if you want to see how badly that can go, just google the phrase "Baron Shorttarse"). We all know of RFDs - and we're not going to name them specifically here because the Defamation Act is tiresome at best - who run courses over the course of an hour or less that people then use as proof of competency in licence applications, and we also know of competency courses run by national bodies and by ranges. And, be fair now, some of these are good basic safety courses run by well-meaning competent people. A few of those people even have the kind of training you need to teach something (which is an incredibly different set of training and skills to those you need to do that thing well). And a very very few people in Ireland are actually really good coaches, but they're really in a different industry so I'm not counting them here. I'm thinking of the basic safety/basic instruction field here.

The problem is, while we have a lot of good people trying their best, we have nobody vetting these courses to weed out the chancers setting up courses to make money who aren't actually teaching basic safety well. There's no standards for the courses to meet, no curriculum, no training of the trainers, nothing. There aren't even any consumer rights really, because you can go to person X, pay them for a course, do the course and "pass" it (sorry, but if there's no standard for the course, saying you pass or fail is a meaningless statement, it's like saying you won the race on the M50 on the way to work) -- and then the local Garda Superintendent can say "No, I won't accept this as proof of competence" and you can't get your money back, you can't sue person X for failing to provide the proof of competence you were seeking, you have no recourse at all. This is why we've been saying for years to ask the Super for the course first, which is a bad state of affairs to start with because it results in an effective state-sponsored monopoly in each garda district, but the alternative seemed worse.

Incidentally, yes, there are non-national bodies who will certify courses (you're all thinking of the NRA, but many others do it too, like the NSRA, the UK NRA, the ISSF, and many others, and people have been doing those courses in Ireland for a while now). But those non-national certifications mean absolutely zip in a licence application. The NRA says you're safe? Well that's nice, but unless your local Garda accepts that, it means nothing. And if he or she declines to accept it, then you have no recourse - the lack of standards means the Gardai have no requirement to accept non-national accreditations here.

And this is before you get to the thorny problem of what happens if someone is trained in one of these courses, doesn't learn basic safety but "passes" anyway and then goes on to hurt themselves, or someone else, or worse. Who's legally liable then? And what will the fallout be for the community as a whole?

We got dumped in this appalling situation by a Minister for Justice who, frankly, made a huge mess out of the Ministry he was given and who then just flounced off out of public life completely afterwards, but nobody's ever cleaned up the mess he made. Instead, some (not all) people have been opportunistically profiting off it and exacerbating the situation.

For example, we've been talking here about safety courses and proof of competence as though the former was the sole method to gain the latter; and not only is that not the case, it is deliberately not the case. Courses were never seen as being the norm, they were seen as being one way to provide competence, a new way, brought in alongside the established ways of direct instruction that we'd had since before the founding of the state. There's nothing wrong with having courses, if they're done right, but they were never supposed to take over from everything else, and especially not when they were this unregulated.

And this current push to try to get us to introduce graduated licencing is just going to make things even worse by increasing the demands for proof of competence and creating even more opportunities for commercial exploitation.

So like I said, the industry is perfectly legal. But it stinks. It's not safe, it's not good for the sport, it's not good for those in the sport, and it's only good for a few who are profiting off it. It badly needs regulation and standardisation and groups like FETAC to get involved for that to happen. And absolutely nobody is pushing for that to happen anymore.

I realise I'm a broken record on this one, but I think it's probably the single biggest safety risk we have in our sports today.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Wexshot1

Is it possible to add photos to a post here ?
    I’ve some interesting bits to share.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Wexshot1 wrote:
    Is it possible to add photos to a post here ? I’ve some interesting bits to share.

Go on we're waiting

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Go on we're waiting

How do I add photos ????

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Go on we're waiting

Two snippets from an foi request.
    For anyone who gets ammo delivered this is just one thing the SC wanted to stop along with pages of other restrictions.
    There is also a paragraph about dealers zeroing rifles illegally at their premises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

They have a neck like a jockeys proverbials that crowd. Is there no getting rid of them ?

gunny123 wrote: »
    They have a neck like a jockeys proverbials that crowd. Is there no getting rid of them ?
    Yes,, we have to make there name dirt and there brand so toxic no one will touch them, they werent called the Sports Coalition of vested interests for nothing.  Walsh is a nodding dog for his cronies.  Every small dealer should be shown that its quite obvisouly as we stated here previously the SC trying to **** over the smaller man for their big buddies. Just look who else was at the meeting.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,963 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Wexshot1 wrote: »
    Two snippets from an foi request.
    For anyone who gets ammo delivered this is just one thing the SC wanted to stop along with pages of other restrictions.
    There is also a paragraph about dealers zeroing rifles illegally at their premises.

Any chance of seeing this document in its entirety? Seeing this is about 18months old, be interesting to see what other sht is being discussed there of intrest. Interesting to see they are talking about revamping the license and adding your photo to it as well.VERY Bad safety move.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Any chance of seeing this document in its entirety? Seeing this is about 18months old, be interesting to see what other sht is being discussed there of intrest. Interesting to see they are talking about revamping the license and adding your photo to it as well.VERY Bad safety move.

Here’s more.

Last few

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

I may be wrong and i usually am but after reading that all i see is the elite few in there trying to sway decisions to benefit a chosen few.
    How on earth can a counter argument against competition law be to state it would be advantageous to a few.
    There was a long time period between discussion of the new dealers S.I. until its implementation but no one knew or was consulted.
    From what i see the only voices of reason in there are the DoJE and AGS.
    It is the right forum for getting things done and raising issues. But by god you need the right people in there. How can these people claim to represent RFD when every time they open there mouth is to complain about other dealers business and practices. Its obvious to me they are using it their own benefit so it has to be obvious to others members of that commitay.
    They need to be changed if we ever want to shoot again. NOW

solarwinds wrote: »
    I may be wrong and i usually am but after reading that all i see is the elite few in there trying to sway decisions to benefit a chosen few.
    How on earth can a counter argument against competition law be to state it would be advantageous to a few.
    There was a long time period between discussion of the new dealers S.I. until its implementation but no one knew or was consulted.
    From what i see the only voices of reason in there are the DoJE and AGS.
    It is the right forum for getting things done and raising issues. But by god you need the right people in there. How can these people claim to represent RFD when every time they open there mouth is to complain about other dealers business and practices. Its obvious to me they are using it their own benefit so it has to be obvious to others members of that commitay.
    They need to be changed if we ever want to shoot again. NOW

They were let away with murder.
    Most shooting people in the country have no clue how close they are to losing their local dealers because of all this crap.
    The SC need to be abolished and they only way that’ll happen is of people know exactly what they stand for.
    High profile power hungry ****s the lot of them.
    The real firearms dealers in Ireland were not consulted or represented at any of those meetings but it’s being shoved down peoples throats that they were.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Aside from our own side apparently doing us no favours, is this proof that the DOJ are making up the law in relation to the importation of pistols?

A dealer needs to have pistols licensed before the DOJ will allow them be imported yet the same rules don't apply for rifles.

I wonder what legislation allows for that distinction?

By the way, is Paul Walsh still a firearms dealer?

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Aside from our own side apparently doing us no favours, is this proof that the DOJ are making up the law in relation to the importation of pistols?

A dealer needs to have pistols licensed before the DOJ will allow them be imported yet the same rules don't apply for rifles.

I wonder what legislation allows that distinction?

Whatever legislation they decide to make up on a whim I presume.

By the way, is Paul Walsh still a firearms dealer?

Who knows but he seems to be everything else anyway.

Whatever legislation they decide to make up on a whim I presume.

The DOJ have to follow whatever legislation is in place. They can't make it up as they go along.

There are a lot of things happening in this country without the legislation in place being followed.
    Just because they aren’t supposed to do it doesn’t necessarily mean they don’t.

There are a lot of things happening in this country without the legislation in place being followed.
    Just because they aren’t supposed to do it doesn’t necessarily mean they don’t.

The biggest problem really is that no one properly understands any legislation.
    Hence the wide variation in licensing procedures from district to district.
    At the moment down in Enniscorthy people are being interviewed for substitute licence applications so there is an 8 week backlog at the minute.
    Wexford is a 2 week licence process at the minute.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

-Trying to keep pistols sales to 5 dealers, wonder who they had in mind???
    -Squeezing out new and small dealers with new restrictions and regulations
    -Squealing on lads test firing and zeroing at RFD premises
    -Muddying the waters and planting the seed for approved ranges only for zeroing
    -Squealing on lads doing raffles and advertising firearm sales and accessories on social media. Even though every raffle and sale I’ve ever seen conducted has gone through a RFD
    -Stopping RFDs from using registered couriers

How did these characters ever even get their feet under the table?
    They’re not even genuine proper RFDs or certainly not ones anyone with a bit of cop on and common sense would ever go near.