If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I've SWITCHed! - General discussion - WARNING IN POST 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭lafors

Any games you guys recommend in the E3 sale that are worth picking up at their sale price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

lafors wrote: »
    Any games you guys recommend in the E3 sale that are worth picking up at their sale price?

Blossom Tales or Golf Story. It's not an amazing sale tbh.
    Darkest Dungeon, Axiom Verge & Rocket League are good but your not saving a lot buying them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Very disappointing sale, nothing in there for me and nothing from my wishlist on sale.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I just had to cheer myself up and I bought Xenoblade Chronicles 2 again.
    Feck it.
    Need to be reminded that the system is not just a indie platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Gyan84

I've always wanted to pick up xenoblade. Would I be missing anything since I haven't played the first one and X ?

Mario Tennis will probably be next purchase although the treehouse stream showed off a boat map with a giant mast in the middle that looks incredibly annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,839 ✭✭✭Nollog

Gyan84 wrote: »
    I've always wanted to pick up xenoblade. Would I be missing anything since I haven't played the first one and X ?

Mario Tennis will probably be next purchase although the treehouse stream showed off a boat map with a giant mast in the middle that looks incredibly annoying.

I know X is a completely different story, not sure if you'd get extra for playing the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Well I have downloaded the on sale Football Manager. See you all at E3 eve 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Well I have downloaded the on sale Football Manager. See you all at E3 eve 2019.
    Couldn't enjoy it at all, let me know how you get on

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Re Xenoblade Chronicles, a bit like Dragon Quest they have nothing really narratively in common but the battle systems have a strong common set of techniques that develop as the series develops.
    I'm pretty terrible at them all tbh but I'm seeking something with some depth and AAA status, to forget that the Switch is otherwise home to lots of great little games but few new ones that have the impact of Mario Odyssey or BotW.

Let me know how you get on with Xenoblade. Xenoblades systems sound daunting tho which is what's putting me off. I prefer a lighter style of RPG.

For me Octopath Traveller and Dark Souls remaster are what I'm currently waiting for the most.

I do agree tho. There is some amount of muck in the Nintendo store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭magnumbud

Addicted to fortnite hope i can stop playing enough not to pee myself like the people on niall prendevill say will happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Panic Button bringing a 'major port' to Switch, to be announced next month.

https://variety.com/2018/gaming/news/doom-wolfenstein-ii-switch-aaa-1202843637/

They did a fantastic job on Doom so will be interesting to see what it is. It's intriguing to see it'll be announced next month, surely something that's not too long after could have been announced at E3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,675 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

magnumbud wrote: »
    Addicted to fortnite hope i can stop playing enough not to pee myself like the people on niall prendevill say will happen

Why don't you sit on the jacks and play Fortnight in handheld mode. Then when nature calls just fire away :pac:

Full disclosure, I owned Xenoblade before and couldn't get into it, just as I couldn't get into Xenoblade Chronicles on the Wii or the 3DS and Xenoblade Chronicles X on the WiiU, I mean I own them all but just found the systems in the game very confusing and not at all intuitive.
    So I'm going to give this my all and have another crack at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Corholio wrote: »
    Panic Button bringing a 'major port' to Switch, to be announced next month.

https://variety.com/2018/gaming/news/doom-wolfenstein-ii-switch-aaa-1202843637/

They did a fantastic job on Doom so will be interesting to see what it is. It's intriguing to see it'll be announced next month, surely something that's not too long after could have been announced at E3.

Something Fallout would be oh so sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Couldn't enjoy it at all, let me know how you get on

Same here, it's a horrible port. It is some weird mobile mini game layered with football manager.

All you seem to do is rotate the squad to keep them fit and piss about with formations.

Put about 20-30 hours into it and now hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,217 ✭✭✭maximoose

God crossplay is great.

Went from a Fortnite lobby with a few friends on the Xbox to being in bed on the switch and back in the lobby in no time at all. Works really well, don't know why but I wasn't expecting voice chat either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

maximoose wrote: »
    God crossplay is great.

Went from a Fortnite lobby with a few friends on the Xbox to being in bed on the switch and back in the lobby in no time at all. Works really well, don't know why but I wasn't expecting voice chat either.

How does Fortnite control with the Joycon analogues? It's it at least good enough? Their short range made FIFA unplayable for me.

Takes a while to get used to it but once you do it's fine, the sticks are very sensitive at the default setting. I changed the setting down to 4 (I think) and started racking up kills then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭madmoe

Takes a while to get used to it but once you do it's fine, the sticks are very sensitive at the default setting. I changed the setting down to 4 (I think) and started racking up kills then.

How did the voice chat work? Were you using a headset?

Headset plugged into the jack.

Once the two playing on Xbox came out of their party we could all hear each other fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Just played a game of Fortnite on my morning coffee break. Very surprised by how well handheld mode works, everything was nice and smooth. The colours are so vivid, probably after all the time I've spent playing H1Z1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭madmoe

Headset plugged into the jack.

Once the two playing on Xbox came out of their party we could all hear each other fine

Excellent! What type of headset did you use out of curiosity?

Thanks,
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Is Overcooked worth picking up for €12? Good fun for young kids?

Also tempted by SFII Ultra for €20. Any thoughts on this one?

(these are eshop sale prices)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Maxpfizer

Adiaga 2 wrote: »

Overcooked is great fun. It depends on how young the kids are as I don't know how the gameplay would appeal.

SFII Ultra is the best and definitive version of SFII, in my opinion, but it's one of those games where it really just exists for that nostalgia hit once in a while. Not sure if it's really worth it when other stuff is out there that your 20 could be better spent on.

madmoe wrote: »
    Excellent! What type of headset did you use out of curiosity?

Thanks,
    M

It was my playstation gold headset actually, the closest sony will get to crossplay :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭nairy hipples

Overcooked is my favourite game on the system! I have never laughed as hard, absolutely great craic with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

6 and 10 year old siblings go absolutely mad for Overcooked, its all they want to pllay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

6 and 10 year old siblings go absolutely mad for Overcooked, its all they want to pllay

Thanks guys. I'm sold! 6 and 8 are the ages so that's great to hear.

Still mulling over SFII. It would be a guilty pleasure I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Thanks guys. I'm sold! 6 and 8 are the ages so that's great to hear.

Still mulling over SFII. It would be a guilty pleasure I guess.

Why not wait for the 30th Anniversary version?