Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk Thread IX: Grand Slam Champions SEE MOD WARNING POST #1122

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I do really hope we go all out this week. Would build an absolutely savage 3rd test!

Very interested to see what happens in midfield. Maybe they'll keep Henshaw at 13 to try and see if they can work on and improve from last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭accensi0n

I'll be very interested to see how we neutralise Folau.

Wonder if they'll try not bothering to compete with him for any bombs and have at least two chasers to nail him and compete for the ball.

I do really hope we go all out this week. Would build an absolutely savage 3rd test!

Very interested to see what happens in midfield. Maybe they'll keep Henshaw at 13 to try and see if they can work on and improve from last week.

I'm struggling to pick a first choice 12 between Aki and Henshaw but I'm pretty confident that Ringrose is our best 13 and I don't see it as a particularly close contest to be honest.

I've watched the six nations matches a good bit and there is a raw physicality that Aki brings which we don't otherwise have in the backs. Henshaw can replicate much of this but he isn't as explosive off the mark at all. He has a more versatile game and is a better overall defender (last weekend aside) but I feel that we got a couple of scores in the six nations that we only managed because of Aki's power.

I'm struggling to pick a first choice 12 between Aki and Henshaw but I'm pretty confident that Ringrose is our best 13 and I don't see it as a particularly close contest to be honest.

I've watched the six nations matches a good bit and there is a raw physicality that Aki brings which we don't otherwise have in the backs. Henshaw can replicate much of this but he isn't as explosive off the mark at all. He has a more versatile game and is a better overall defender (last weekend aside) but I feel that we got a couple of scores in the six nations that we only managed because of Aki's power.

Henshaw is the non-negotiable one for me. His engine and natural athleticism is unique among any of our backs. He starts, the question is just whether we want Aki or Ringrose beside him. If we want him at 13 then that's a decision we need to make pretty early I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Mostly I'd like to see us more clinical than last week. It was the error count and lack of composure in the red zone that contributed most heavily to the loss, if we can cut that out then I think we can put Australia away and look to mix things up again in the final test.

Oh, the errors. Australia forced some errors with excellent defence. I can live with those. It was the completely unforced ones that did my head in. They all came at unfortunate times as well (missed touch, pass into touch, dropped ball). Cut those out and our job will be a lot easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Buer wrote: »
    Earls the only doubt after the second test according to reports this morning. Otherwise just standard bumps and bruises to be managed.

Give him the second test off.

Sangre wrote: »
    Oh, the errors. Australia forced some errors with excellent defence. I can live with those. It was the completely unforced ones that did my head in. They all came at unfortunate times as well (missed touch, pass into touch, dropped ball). Cut those out and our job will be a lot easier.

Yeah we were a bit rattled after that opening 10. Both our halves were on the receiving end of massive hits and it seemed to send a rush of uncertainty through the team early on - credit to Australia for how well prepped they were and how physical they made the game.

I'm glad Carbery kept his composure and made good decisions until he was subbed, it's the sort of unremarkable performance you want as a baseline at this level. He'll improve from a test like this.

We really missed Sean O'Brien I felt and Leavy also to a degree. Either player would have given us greater parity at the breakdown - but Sean O'Brien would have gone some way to matching Pococks athleticism and Hoopers speed in over the ball.

I'd say Australia at the weekend are the strongest team we've played since the All Blacks in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,898 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Looking back on the game I think our worst error came from the 5 metre scrum. It seemed like Stander and Murray got the call wrong and were waiting for the other to pick up the ball. Very uncharacteristic mistake from a side that is usually so good at knowing their specific jobs. We still could've scored as we were so close to their line but any strike move was ruined by their hesitation in the scrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Clegg wrote: »
    Looking back on the game I think our worst error came from the 5 metre scrum. It seemed like Stander and Murray got the call wrong and were waiting for the other to pick up the ball. Very uncharacteristic mistake from a side that is usually so good at knowing their specific jobs. We still could've scored as we were so close to their line but any strike move was ruined by their hesitation in the scrum.

We were a tad one dimensional but were looking good value to bludgeon our way in. Our back play was very mundane on the couple of occasions it went out. Carbery to Aki twice on a short ball and stopped dead. Then Murray threw a completely uncharacteristic pass to nobody which lost us 15m.

It was crying out for someone to hit the line at pace and put Australia on the back foot but we simply didn't have it in us. We only had 2 or 3 lads on the field who could do that for us which made it easy for Australia to keep them under wraps so guys like Stander and Aki were chopped down very quickly.

Our pack looked dead on their feet after that, to be honest. It was after that period that Pocock had us for breakfast.

We were a tad one dimensional but were looking good value to bludgeon our way in. Our back play was very mundane on the couple of occasions it went out. Carbery to Aki twice on a short ball and stopped dead. Then Murray threw a completely uncharacteristic pass to nobody which lost us 15m.

It was crying out for someone to hit the line at pace and put Australia on the back foot but we simply didn't have it in us. We only had 2 or 3 lads on the field who could do that for us which made it easy for Australia to keep them under wraps so guys like Stander and Aki were chopped down very quickly.

Our pack looked dead on their feet after that, to be honest. It was after that period that Pocock had us for breakfast.

You've hit the nail on the head there, we looked absolutely bunched for parts of that game and I hope the rotation in test one will pay dividend this week. Our sluggishness to the breakdown killed our momentum for much of the last 50 or so minutes.

Carbery is going to need to learn to be aware of these things and dictate the tempo at times to ease this kind of pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,242 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Stark contrast with how Aus players were coming onto the ball, absolutely smashing into the Irish defensive line.

• Administrators Posts: 55,179 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yeah we kinda have to win this one. I think it's hugely impressive that we've reached a point where against a top 4 team away we can rotate a decent bit and still create more than enough opportunities to win the game.

And it's not like Australia played badly at all - they were terrific and looked good for their top 3 in the world status.

Still though as much as it's been really positive to see the squad depth perform at an incredibly high level it's also important to maintain that winning mentality and for the sake of the series I think Ireland need to throw the kitchen sink at this test in much the same way as Australia threw it at the opening game.

I'll be very interested to see how we neutralise Folau. He was central to Australia creating moments of pressure on us and we had no real answer for it. I'll also be keen to see our scrum perform better, it's an area where many analysts felt we might have an advantage but that never materialised.

Mostly I'd like to see us more clinical than last week. It was the error count and lack of composure in the red zone that contributed most heavily to the loss, if we can cut that out then I think we can put Australia away and look to mix things up again in the final test.

Hopefully we have an answer to Pocock also. I watched all the weekends games and he was the standout performer out of any of the teams.
    Stop kicking the ball back to them. If we put boot to ball we have to hit touch.

If the rumoured team is true I reckon we'll win this week. Beirne and Hendo is an interesting second row duo. Leavy will add a lot in the back row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Stark contrast with how Aus players were coming onto the ball, absolutely smashing into the Irish defensive line.

To me it appeared that the timing was off for the Irish players. Guys were running at pace but then slowing down or doing a stutter step before they received the ball and this killed their momentum. Sometimes the pass was hitting the runner on the hip or the shoulder so they were slowing and turning to catch it rather than reaching in front and accelerating. Maybe the runners needed to start from deeper or a second later so that they hit the ball at pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭clsmooth

awec wrote: »
    Stop kicking the ball back to them. If we put boot to ball we have to hit touch.

If the rumoured team is true I reckon we'll win this week. Beirne and Hendo is an interesting second row duo. Leavy will add a lot in the back row.

What’s the rumored team?

I really don't think we kicked a huge amount. We kicked 22 times but a lot of those were by guys outside of the halfbacks, kicking in open play such as Murray and POM grubbers, Stockdale a couple of times in attack trying to get in behind them, Henshaw with a couple of touchfinders, Earls with an attempted chip etc.

I think there was a definite game plan to limit any loose ball kicked to them. We failed a couple of times such as Sexton missing touch from the penalty and Carbery missing touch from his own 22 just after the break but I thought we definitely minimised the aerial battle as much as we could.

clsmooth wrote: »
    What’s the rumored team?

All Leinster bench players from the first test to start this week along with Beirne and Ringrose. But no actual team leaked yet.

We'll probably see something along the lines of Healy, Cronin, Furlong, Henderson, Beirne, POM, Leavy, Conan, Murray, Sexton, Stockdale, Henshaw/Aki, Ringrose, Larmour, Kearney

With a bench of something like Scannell, McGrath, Porter, Toner, Stander, Marmion/Cooney, Carbery/Byrne, Conway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Kicking the ball to Folau is nuts. He's in a different class altogether. Maybe kicking low to the wings, in behind the defensive line would put the Aussies under pressure.
    Our predictability is alarming and we need some variation to the attack. I think Conway at fb would certainly help. Just his pace alone would cause the Aussies concern. As handsome as RK is, he simply does not have the pace step or instinct to create very much in attack.
    If this series is truly about building for the rwc, then I don't see how Conway doesn't get the nod this weekend.
    I'd also rest Furlong and Murray as they seem a tad undercooked atm. Marmions skillset would speed ball delivery and unsettle the defensive line. I think Porter should get a start to see if he is up for a big test .
    The Aussie backs attack with speed and guile and Genia keeps a very fast pace off the broken play. I think Marmion could counter them with fast service and provide us with chances at a higher speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I thought Furlong looked good when he came on???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,898 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

molloyjh wrote: »
    I thought Furlong looked good when he came on???

I thought he was great. Carried hard and made a lovely offload to Aki. Very powerful around the pitch. He made the desired impact. I think the one scrum has coloured peoples opinions of his performance.

• Administrators Posts: 55,179 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If the rumour is right and he is selected then this is a huge game for Sean Cronin. Not to keep going on about it, but Herring was very good last week, and there has always been some doubts about Cronin's basics. If he wants to be the man to take over from Best and not just be seen as an impact sub he needs a performance IMO.

There's also Marshall at Munster.

Clegg wrote: »
    I thought he was great. Carried hard and made a lovely offload to Aki. Very powerful around the pitch. He made the desired impact. I think the one scrum has coloured peoples opinions of his performance.

And we'll never know if that was him or Roux really.

If the rumour is right and he is selected then this is a huge game for Sean Cronin. Not to keep going on about it, but Herring was very good last week, and there has always been some doubts about Cronin's basics. If he wants to be the man to take over from Best and not just be seen as an impact sub he needs a performance IMO.

There's also Marshall at Munster.

I'm not sure about very good. I thought Herring had a good game all right and was very solid. He has certainly put pressure on Cronin. But very good is pushing it a bit.

I thought Herring's performance was the best hooker performance we've had from a non-Best in a long time. Certainly since the last world cup. I'd say he would deservedly have jumped Cronin if that's where they think he'll be regularly for us.

Schmidt seems to like to use everyone in the squad so that would leave the following to make an appearance:

Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) *
    Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 6
    John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 1
    Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 13

Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets) *
    Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 9
    Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 7
    Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 58
    Niall Scannell

I think of these lads, only Ross Byrne would really be a surprise, the rest would all fit onto the bench or even the starting XV pretty seemlessly imo. Which is quite the statement with regards to how far the squad has come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Rhys Marshall won't be eligible in time for RWC 2019 iirc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

No, just after it.

People might be confusing him with Jean Kleyn who will be eligible just in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I'll be very interested to see how we neutralise Folau.

If all questions in life could be answered as easily. Just play Toner at fullback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭joseywhales

No, just after it.

People might be confusing him with Jean Kleyn who will be eligible just in time.
    True I've asked about him before, apparently he would become eligible by the last group game I think, I don't think you can name him or have hi m training with the squad, so really no point in considering him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

True I've asked about him before, apparently he would become eligible by the last group game I think, I don't think you can name him or have hi m training with the squad, so really no point in considering him.

Josh Strauss trained with Scotland prior to 2015 RWC but he was eligible a few days before the tournament began.

Marshall could train prior to the squad leaving for Japan. But no player outside the 31 can train with them during the tournament.

You can't bring a guy who won't be eligible for 2 pool games, if a hooker got injured in the first match then you're bringing in a replacement on extra short notice who hasn't been training with the squad to come straight into the 23. I really don't think Schmidt would do that.