Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

mmmmmmm......... i see ..... not leitrim or sligo or the losers of laois v carolw .!! :p

i hope ye get clare too .... and beat clare by another 22 points just like last week and be rewarded with a trip to to the athletic grounds in armagh in round 3 where you will be welcomed with open arms just like tyrone's u20s last night :pac:

https://twitter.com/Paul_beIN/status/1005225381979459584

if ye get ye'r wish in the next round of the qualifiers you may aswell hammer in the last few remaining nails in the clare football coffin and ship us back to division 4 ..........waterford please.....at home!!![/QUO

Felt sorry for the poor kid crying in the crowd, obviously her brother was getting a hiding off of the Tyrone lot, not surprised really, met enough septic chip on the shoulder Tyrone supporters in Navan last night. The tyrone player who came in like triple H should get a year ban alone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Call me Al wrote: »
    Two questions...
    I was sitting pitchside in line with the 3rd penalty. The foul didn't look to me to have been anywhere near the penalty area. Was there something else?
    What was going on with AO'S? He was carrying on like my cranky 9 year old at times. I usually give him the benefit of the doubt but yesterday took the biscuit.
    AO’S may not be getting to pick the team at the moment . Throwing his Rattle about .;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Or the 9 he scored in the 2016 final.

He's now 22 points away from becoming the top championship scorer of all time despite only being 26, and not even a marquee forward. ;)
    He wasn’t as good as he had been there for while ( probably injuries )

Hopefully he is back to his best and plenty of help as well will be great .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

who are our possible opponents on monday and is it still div3/4 teams at home in this draw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,897 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

irishgeo wrote: »
    who are our possible opponents on monday and is it still div3/4 teams at home in this draw?

Losing provincial semi-finalists AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Or the 9 he scored in the 2016 final.

Why do these tallies kept being mentioned as if they're some sort of great achievement? He's scored 5 points from play in the 5 finals. Not giving about him as a player, hes been a very good forward but we need to separate frees from the discussion. If anything, his free taking in the finals, while still being quite good, has probably been below his usual standard and let him down slightly

irishgeo wrote: »

Yep, Mayo automatically away if they draw these. If they reach round 3 same again I think. Round 4 neutral venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Why do these tallies kept being mentioned as if they're some sort of great achievement? He's scored 5 points from play in the 5 finals. Not giving about him as a player, hes been a very good forward but we need to separate frees from the discussion. If anything, his free taking in the finals, while still being quite good, has probably been below his usual standard and let him down slightly

I think the definition of who is a marquee forward is totally and utterly subjective regardless of how many stats people use.

There was a thread before the 2016 final about who would you want more Rock or OConnor.

People beought up the fact that Rock had a greater scoring success from placed balls, but when you look deeper Rock was only taking frees from a certain range, O Connor was taking them from further out, if O Connor was only taking frees from that range his success rate would be better.

Did you see Mayo v Galway this year before O Connor came on.
    Mayo missed a few frees that O Connor would liklely have scored if on.

On the scoreboard there is no difference between scores from frees and scored from play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

He scored all those between 2016 & 2017 - I wouldn't read too much into the earlier finals as he was injured but played anyways in 2013, and in 2012 he was still only 20 years old. He's by far the most prolific scoring forward Connacht has ever produced and will be for a long, long time.

Prolific why? Because he's the highest scorer, due to playing endless extra matches and taking frees? Or are you actually suggesting he's better than Purcell, Langan or Joyce? The best forward play Mayo has seen this decade has been Andy the past 2 seasons, and before that was AOS at FF around 2014/15.

Cillian is what he is, a good forward on a good side and a solid free taker. People saying he's a useless bottler are talking nonsense, as are those who say he's out of the very top drawer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Brusna

Prolific why? Because he's the highest scorer, due to playing endless extra matches and taking frees? Or are you actually suggesting he's better than Purcell, Langan or Joyce? The best forward play Mayo has seen this decade has been Andy the past 2 seasons, and before that was AOS at FF around 2014/15.

Cillian is what he is, a good forward on a good side and a solid free taker. People saying he's a useless bottler are talking nonsense, as are those who say he's out of the very top drawer

He is more than that. He is also a hard tough competitor. He is very strong, is very physical and let’s be honest fairly dirty on the field but you need players like that in your team. All things considered I’d rather have him with us than against us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Cillian is 22 points behind the Gooch and has TWENTY NINE games to get there .
    But yeah he is only there Cos he has played loads of games
    He also has probably 7/8 years left

He is no Damian Comer though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

O'Connor scored 95 points over 2014/15 but yeah, he wasn't a patch on AOS :rolleyes:

Putting up big scores against Sligo is held in context around here.

km79 wrote: »
    Cillian is 22 points behind the Gooch and has TWENTY NINE games to get there .
    But yeah he is only there Cos he has played loads of games
    He also has probably 7/8 years left

He is no Damian Comer though

Go onto your dear Mayogaablog (where you embarrass yourself regularly) after any loss and you'll find 3/4 posters calling for him to be dropped as he doesn't offer enough from play. You don't exactly see that with McManus or Geaney or Comer. Now of course those people are bonkers, but so are the people calling him the most prolific forward in Connacht history, or that he's had great AI finals because he kicked 8 frees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Bowl 1
    Kildare
    Armagh
    Waterford
    Louth
    Mayo
    Tyrone
    Cavan
    Offaly

Bowl 2
    Leitrim
    Sligo
    Clare
    Tipperary
    Monaghan
    Down
    Longford
    Carlow

anyone but monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Go onto your dear Mayogaablog (where you embarrass yourself regularly) after any loss and you'll find 3/4 posters calling for him to be dropped as he doesn't offer enough from play. You don't exactly see that with McManus or Geaney or Comer. Now of course those people are bonkers, but so are the people calling him the most prolific forward in Connacht history, or that he's had great AI finals because he kicked 8 frees

TBF I think it mention has been made that he is now the record scorer for Mayo.Prolific in the sense of producing copious amounts of scores.

I think you'll find few who will claim he's the greatest forward ever produced west of Shannon.

We've all been regaled in stories of the terrible twins Stockwell and Purcell,the great Tom Langan.You would be more au fait with the forward qualities of the 1964-1966 teams.

Micky Kearns was another greatly admired and many claim Joe Corcoran was greatest forward in Mayo ever,Kieran McDonald had a midas's touch.

Ja Fallon was pure quality but Joyce is probably the best I've seen in the flesh west of Shannon.

Forgot to make mention of Tony McManus junior.

Cillian was exceptional yesterday and may be returning to his best in terms of free taking consistency.

He'll never be prolific from play which is a quality the McManus's,Geaney's,McBrearty's and various Dublin forwards are capable of.

Comer is equally brilliant but I'm not if he's ever going to shoot the lights out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

The best forward play Mayo has seen this decade has been Andy the past 2 seasons, and before that was AOS at FF around 2014/15.

I'd agree with these sentiments in fairness, although I would rate him as an excellent free-taker rather than solid.

Objective hat on I don't think COC has ever really struck fear in any defence like Moran last year and AOS in 2015 as you say. Very good player but not someone you'll get consistent top drawer performances from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

Hulk Hands wrote:

Jesus. Where do you start with this mess?
    He IS the most most prolific forward in Connacht history. It's a fact. just look at the top connacht football scorers off all time table.
    What is so hard to understand about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Tipperary tough draw and long drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Yeah, not ideal

Second trickiest draw we could have got I'd say?

Put in a performance like the back door last year and could easily be sent packing. That said there are two weeks for the lads to get focused and they should be able to get the job done without too much fuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

seligehgit wrote: »

Will be a good test for our boys but it's not that bad a drive to Semple Stadium about 2 1/2 hours from Castlebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Was it km who wanted Tipp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

seligehgit wrote: »

I think a tough draw next day out could suit. That is, if we preform the way we are capable of preforming. But after last year, anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

ureds wrote: »
    Will be a good test for our boys but it's not that bad a drive to Semple Stadium about 2 1/2 hours from Castlebar.

Google Maps has it 3 hrs from Castlebar. (Am v bored at work. :o ) Thurles has a bad rep for traffic jams too, which will only add to the trip time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

If Tipp are considered a tough draw for Mayo then we should fold the tent now and evetone who has told us this Mayo team are finished will be proven right.

An unknown Cork team took them to the cleaners.

I'd except this one to be a bit like the Clare game last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Tricky draw but definitely a winnable one for Mayo. Tipp are a decent side and Quinlivan & Sweeney are top class forwards. However, I'd fancy Mayo to beat them.

I'd imagine a lot of Mayo fans may not have had much opportunity to go to Thurles down through the years as well so that should be a nice experience - great atmosphere in that town for a match (for hurling anyway).

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

So we just about got there.... :D

Win is a win. Some good performances in fairness, good to see Hanley get a proper run. Thought Nally played well when he came on. We seemed to step up a gear with Keegan and Moran on the pitch.
    Some poor wides, Regan didn't help himself and why he was on any free taking duty is another head scratcher.
    AOS was quite, aside from losing the plot at McLaughs not making that run.
    Well done to COC, played football and kept the head down. Massive achievement to real that scoring level at such a young age. Much more to come.
    Will miss the next 2 games but would have loved the trip to Tipp. Going to be tough but need to just go and do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Win - Win for Elverys.

Was it km who wanted Tipp?

No I wanted Clare !
    Long drive and tricky tie this but I think we will come through.
    Could have done with Vaughan and Harrison having played now though and a few more options in midfield !
    Cavan Tyrone and Monaghan all likely to make round 3 now as well so overall a bad draw

Tricky draw but definitely a winnable one for Mayo. Tipp are a decent side and Quinlivan & Sweeney are top class forwards. However, I'd fancy Mayo to beat them.

I'd imagine a lot of Mayo fans may not have had much opportunity to go to Thurles down through the years as well so that should be a nice experience - great atmosphere in that town for a match (for hurling anyway).

This is why I’ve really enjoyed the qualifiers
    Never been to a championship game in Semple Stadium