Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'd also like to know if you can buy tickets at the ground, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

You'll definitely be able to buy a ticket outside the ground lads..

Big Mayo support here already. Could be a record of us outnumbering a home support in many years in The Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Cheers Bunny.....I'll always trust someone with a username from The Wire.

I'd say the Limerick support will be friends and family of the team. Local radio advertising the game as "a chance to see one of the top teams in the country up close

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Cheers Bunny.....I'll always trust someone with a username from The Wire.

I'd say the Limerick support will be friends and family of the team. Local radio advertising the game as "a chance to see one of the top teams in the country up close

We'll have to round up some Limerick bums Eric and stick them in braclets into the wagon :D

Yeah someone was saying that alright. The Aidan O'Shea appreciation Limerick fanclub will be out and that's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Ended up parking at Na piarsaigh as google maps could not get to grips with Linerick road lay out !!!

Massive massive mayo crowd in . Unbelievable . Have to say I have grown to love the qualifiers .
    Sure what else would ya be at !!!

Also just met Tom P
    His leg is not in great shape :(

Some reception for Tom P !!!!

Have a video of it but can’t post as it’s too big

km79 wrote: »
    Have a video of it but can’t post as it’s too big

What happened mate, not down in the ground yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,897 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

18-point win. Cillian scored 3-9 or something, must be some sort of record...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

Mayo simultaneously have no marquee forward and rely too heavily on Cillian... 😉 Serious showing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,321 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Thankfully that was the kind of score and performance we expected.

I doubt much else can be read into it.

Onwards to Mondays draw.

Clare please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

He'll bottle it again on the big day though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Padkir wrote: »
    Mayo simultaneously have no marquee forward and rely too heavily on Cillian... 😉 Serious showing!

The current footballer of the year is a Mayo forward so probably unfair to say no marquee forward in the team.

djPSB wrote: »

YAWN

Home an hour earlier than if it was in cbar
    Clare away next please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

km79 wrote: »
    Home an hour earlier than if it was in cbar
    Clare away next please :)
    Thankfully that was the kind of score and performance we expected.

I doubt much else can be read into it.

Onwards to Mondays draw.

Clare please.

mmmmmmm......... i see ..... not leitrim or sligo or the losers of laois v carolw .!! :p

i hope ye get clare too .... and beat clare by another 22 points just like last week and be rewarded with a trip to to the athletic grounds in armagh in round 3 where you will be welcomed with open arms just like tyrone's u20s last night :pac:

https://twitter.com/Paul_beIN/status/1005225381979459584

if ye get ye'r wish in the next round of the qualifiers you may aswell hammer in the last few remaining nails in the clare football coffin and ship us back to division 4 ..........waterford please.....at home!!!

mmmmmmm......... i see ..... not leitrim or sligo or the losers of laois v carolw .!! :p

i hope ye get clare too .... and beat clare by another 22 points just like last week and be rewarded with a trip to to the athletic grounds in armagh in round 3 where you will be welcomed with open arms just like tyrone's u20s last night :pac:

https://twitter.com/Paul_beIN/status/1005225381979459584

if ye get ye'r wish in the next round of the qualifiers you may aswell hammer in the last few remaining nails in the clare football coffin and ship us back to division 4 ..........waterford please.....at home!!!

Tbh anyone but the Ulster teams will do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Yeah, like he bottled it by scoring that brilliant point in dying seconds to take it to the replay. Or we will ignore that as it doesn't suit the agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I certainly wouldn't fancy Tipperary down in Semple stadium.

Leitrim,Sligo in particular would be nice.

Another trip down the M17 would be grand.

It was a nice day down in Ennis last year.

Trips to avoid Clones,Newry or Ballybofey.

Little to be read in the game,a mixture of the sublime and mediocre.

Lots of good movement and a few quality footpasses mixed with poor turnovers.Cillian was very good today. Hard to judge the new lads.

Some very soft goals conceded,two relatively needless penalties conceded and Zippy left isolated for the second with a quality high ball.

IMO Ger Cafferkey,Evan Regan and Stephen Coen will struggle to nail down starting positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

My first live game since the 2016 Final so I'm probably in no position to judge anything really.

Limerick are fairly dire in fairness....the scoreline flattered them imho. Seemed like their hearts weren't in it at any stage and they were content with trying to contain Mayo and keep the score respectable.

Mayo looked a bit rusty in the first half I thought,although the outcome was never even remotely in doubt.

The goals were taken very clinically...great to see some composure at that end of the pitch. Our forwards still aren't good enough I fear however to really do it when the pressure is on in a big game.

Our midfield was a bit laboured too at times but not exposed due to poor quality of opposition. All the drive and dynamism came from Boyle, Higgins and Durcan.

Obligatory AOS observation....he was ok i guess but all the arm waving, pointing, berating teammates etc was a bit silly. He got a couple of nice points and had one savage long range pass that led to a goal.

Overall a grand evening out...was impressed with some of the new (for me anyway) additions in the back and half back lines. And great to see such enormous travelling support....the cheer for Keegan was probably the highlight of the night.

Cartman78 wrote: »
    My first live game since the 2016 Final so I'm probably in no position to judge anything really.

Limerick are fairly dire in fairness....the scoreline flattered them imho. Seemed like their hearts weren't in it at any stage and they were content with trying to contain Mayo and keep the score respectable.

Mayo looked a bit rusty in the first half I thought,although the outcome was never even remotely in doubt.

The goals were taken very clinically...great to see some composure at that end of the pitch. Our forwards still aren't good enough I fear however to really do it when the pressure is on in a big game.

Our midfield was a bit laboured too at times but not exposed due to poor quality of opposition. All the drive and dynamism came from Boyle, Higgins and Durcan.

Obligatory AOS observation....he was ok i guess but all the arm waving, pointing, berating teammates etc was a bit silly. He got a couple of nice points and had one savage long range pass that led to a goal.

Overall a grand evening out...was impressed with some of the new (for me anyway) additions in the back and half back lines. And great to see such enormous travelling support....the cheer for Keegan was probably the highlight of the night.

One hundred percent agree on the first point.

I found it bizarre when he gave Kevin Mc an earful for a mislaid pass that was solely his own fault in the first half but it was an isolated incident from my viewpoint.

I thought Aidan O Shea was decent today and that ball inside for the second half goal was superb.Some of the footpassing was very good today.

TBF Limerick weren't up to much.

Kudos to all for providing such a quality surface for the players.A true hurling carpet.

Parked the car up in the very plush surrounds of the Na Piarsaigh club,a setup it appears that is a credit to all.

seligehgit wrote: »
    One hundred percent agree on the first point.

I found it bizarre when he gave Kevin Mc an earful for a mislaid pass that was solely his own fault in the first half but it was an isolated incident from my viewpoint.

I thought Aidan O Shea was decent today and that ball inside for the second half goal was superb.Some of the footpassing was very good today.

TBF Limerick weren't up to much.

Kudos to all for providing such a quality surface for the players.A true hurling carpet.

Parked the car up in the very plush surrounds of the Na Piarsaigh club,a setup it appears that is a credit to all.

I ended up parking there too !!!
    Was an unintended masterstroke .
    Straight out after no hold up getting onto main road.
    They also seem to have a bar inside so maybe next time I’ll arrange to be a passenger :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Got straight out of dunnes.

I seen another mayo man come home with more points as he jumped the red light and was blocking a junction with half of limerick beeping at him. Unfortunately the traffic corps were coming up to the junction and happened upon the scene.lights on and that was that.

What was up with Regan free kicking. He almost seem to be getting a bad contact. You could hear it in the stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Enjoyable trip down to Limerick. In all honesty I wouldn't have bothered only for the new motorway, mighty road. Will pick a different parking spot next time though. Should have heeded the advise here as I parked up in the soccer pitch near the hotel. Took awhile getting out.

Anyhow on the game itself and as as many have said already it's hard to judge the game on overall performance as the opposition were effectively a junior side.

But it was good to see COC find his scoring touch again. 3-9 is a great return in any game.

Out of the new lads... Hanley I thought was quite subdued but finished well. Ring rusty, has the physical attributes but needs football and lots of it to reach the promising level he had underage. Young durcan was lively hit a few mad kicks but linked well with the forwards overall.

Regan frustrating again but ok. Another player who needs extra games to find his confidence but we don't have that luxury now

Overall yeah have to be content with that but the Limerick goals were sloppy as hell. But we rarely do complete performances :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

Yeah, like he bottled it by scoring that brilliant point in dying seconds to take it to the replay. Or we will ignore that as it doesn't suit the agenda

Or the fact that he scored 7 points in the 2017 final...the same amount of points that Dean rock scored, so is Dean Rock a bottler too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Two questions...
    I was sitting pitchside in line with the 3rd penalty. The foul didn't look to me to have been anywhere near the penalty area. Was there something else?
    What was going on with AO'S? He was carrying on like my cranky 9 year old at times. I usually give him the benefit of the doubt but yesterday took the biscuit.

Call me Al wrote: »
    Two questions...
    I was sitting pitchside in line with the 3rd penalty. The foul didn't look to me to have been anywhere near the penalty area. Was there something else?
    What was going on with AO'S? He was carrying on like my cranky 9 year old at times. I usually give him the benefit of the doubt but yesterday took the biscuit.

I thought Stephen Coen fouled him outside the large rectangle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

seligehgit wrote: »
    I thought Stephen Coen fouled him outside the large rectangle.

I was sitting facing on to 20yd line, which is where I thought it happened, but then I thought I might have missed something else as I had half an eye on my son who was standing waiting to get on to the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

muddle84 wrote: »
    Or the fact that he scored 7 points in the 2017 final...the same amount of points that Dean rock scored, so is Dean Rock a bottler too?

Or the 9 he scored in the 2016 final.

He's now 22 points away from becoming the top championship scorer of all time despite only being 26, and not even a marquee forward. ;)