Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ireland Team Talk Thread IX: Grand Slam Champions SEE MOD WARNING POST #1122

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,198 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Conversion of chances from open play within the 22 remains a huge issue with this team. If it's not a set piece play from the training ground we have next to nothing beyond trying to bosh holes. Very little individual innovation in that backline.

It was enough in the 6 nations but it's been costly in the past and again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

McGrath, Herring, Furlong, Toner, Ryan, POM, Leavy, Murphy,
    Murray, Sexton, Stockdale, Henshaw, Ringrose, Larmour, Conway

Bench: Scannell, Healy, Porter, Beirne, Conan, Cooney, Byrne, Aki

Assuming Earls is injured.

Edit: Completely forgot about Beirne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Next week.

McGrath, Herring, Furlong, Ryan, Beirne, Stander, Leavy, Conan

Scannell, Healy, Porter, Toner, Jordi, Cooney, Byrne, Aki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Sephiral

I think Conan will get a start, with POM retained to pressurise their lineout again. Murphy to sit on the bench and Stander to get a week off. Beirne and Toner will likely both be involved as well. Healy, Furlong, Sexton will all come back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,747 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Beirne and Leavy should be a huge combo to combat Pocock and Hooper.

Provided Beirne can make the step up to international level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,423 ✭✭✭joseywhales

sydthebeat wrote: »
    macslash wrote: »
    Has anyone posted a next in line/injured/left out list of lads who would have been close or unlucky to not make the squad anywhere here?

Even from the 23 that beat Australia in Dublin 2 years ago, you're missing Dillane, Bealham, Best and JVF.
    Add in Jackson, Heaslip, Zebo, Trimble and Payne and that's a huge turnover of players in 20 months.

I like your thinking mac lash!..
    However, the only players I think are being usurped from your list are best, heaslip and possibly Payne.  And none of them are irreplaceable, especially seeing as best is injured. Payne and heaslip are gone, next in line are actually better
    Where is this world class number 8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭typhoony

Kearney is past his sell by date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Sephiral

typhoony wrote: »
    Kearney is past his sell by date

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Long season, shuffled deck, jetlag and a far more physical Oz team than I think we expected. The better side won, but I can see us coming back with much more next week. Carbery will learn a lot, and I think we've seen why Henshaw is preferred at 12 by Schmidt. I hope he now gives James Ryan next week off, he looked absolutely shattered at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

The streak ... is over!!!

pr2ajng62z211.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

McGrath, Herring, Furlong, Toner, Ryan, POM, Leavy, Murphy,

Bench: Scannell, Healy, Porter, Beirne, Conan, Cooney, Byrne, Aki

Assuming Earls is injured.

Edit: Completely forgot about Beirne!

Come to think of it, we could do with Beirne starting to try to stop Pocock. Somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I think James Ryan needs next week off. Toner and Henderson to start and Beirne to come in from the bench. Leavy to start.

I thought our back row was actually excellent for the first 50 minutes and we had the better of the breakdown in the first half winning some big penalties.

But they changed their approach and dominated us for most of the second half. We need to deal with that.

We also need something a bit more creative in our carrying. Conan is a potential starter simply for the different dimension he gives. I think POM should retain the 6 jersey and Stander takes a breather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Buer wrote: »
    I think James Ryan needs next week off. Toner and Henderson to start and Beirne to come in from the bench. Leavy to start.

I thought our back row was actually excellent for the first 50 minutes and we had the better of the breakdown in the first half winning some big penalties.

But they changed their approach and dominated us for most of the second half. We need to deal with that.

We also need something a bit more creative in our carrying. Conan is a potential starter simply for the different dimension he gives. I think POM should retain the 6 jersey and Stander takes a breather.

Happy with that.

Think Ringrose will make a difference too, on both sides of the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,044 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

We learned some things in defeat. John Ryan and Rob Herring are capable 2nd/3rd choice players and can be trusted. Ditto Carbery. He was unspectacular but didn't fluff his lines. Acceptable for his first start at 10 against one of rugby's premier sides. Though he needs to trust himself more and take the ball to the line like Sexton did.

Ryan and Henderson can be a world class pairing with more time together. They're all rounders so while one is going in tight the other can fan out a but for the next carry. I don't think there will need to be a strict delineation of roles for the two. I'm interested in seeing if Britney can force his way into the 2nd row or if he'll be fighting for a backrow position.

Aki is a very patchy player. Makes a lot of mistakes but is usually good for a big play. Would maybe go with Henshaw for at 12 next week. PoM and Stander play their best rugby for Ireland. They play behind a better front 5 than at Munster and Schmidt just coaches better. Best I've seen Stander play since the 6 Nations.

• Administrators Posts: 55,293 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Clegg wrote: »
    We learned some things in defeat. John Ryan and Rob Herring are capable 2nd/3rd choice players and can be trusted. Ditto Carbery. He was unspectacular but didn't fluff his lines. Acceptable for his first start at 10 against one of rugby's premier sides. Though he needs to trust himself more and take the ball to the line like Sexton did.

Aki is a very patchy player. Makes a lot of mistakes but is usually good for a big play. Would maybe go with Henshaw for at 12 next week. PoM and Stander play their best rugby for Ireland. They play behind a better front 5 than at Munster and Schmidt just coaches better. Best I've seen Stander play since the 6 Nations.
    Aki made less mistakes than Henshaw today.

If you're going to label Aki patchy on the back of today then it's hard to escape the fact that Henshaw was all at sea in his channel.

awec wrote: »
    Clegg wrote: »

If you're going to label Aki patchy on the back of today then it's hard to escape the fact that Henshaw was all at sea in his channel.
    Henshaw hasn't been a 13 for a long time. When we're looking to play a high risk, shooting defensive style I want someone who plays there regularly. He played 13 against Glasgow this season who throw it around too and they also completely roasted him in defence.

He's a far better 12 these days. Aki, like all of our backs, had a few nice moments along with a few very poor errors. The only certainty is that we need Ringrose back at 13 on both sides of the ball.

awec wrote: »

There's no argument there. Henshaw was clearly under instruction to shoot up and in to stop wide passes. He was successful a few times but not enough. Henshaw is a better inside centre than outside. The mistakes he makes at 13 aren't there when he plays 12 where he makes very few errors. Ringrose is comfortably the best 13 we have and must play next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

However, the only players I think are being usurped from your list are best, heaslip and possibly Payne. And none of them are irreplaceable, especially seeing as best is injured. Payne and heaslip are gone, next in line are actually better

I'm not sure if Carberry is better than Jackson tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Would agree that Henshaw and Ringrose have to be first choice. Aki is a great backup to have and won’t let us down at all, but feel the other two have a little more quality at this level

mfceiling wrote: »
    However, the only players I think are being usurped from your list are best, heaslip and possibly Payne. And none of them are irreplaceable, especially seeing as best is injured. Payne and heaslip are gone, next in line are actually better

I'm sure of the exact opposite. Jackson is on a completely different level to any outhalf in Ireland, Sexton aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,920 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

As it stands, Jackson is clearly the second best Irish outhalf. He's closer to Sexton than Carbery is to him, I reckon.

James Ryan's stats:

18 carries for 40 metres
    1 clean break
    16 completed tackles (most for Ireland)

He's world class already and there's no argument to be made against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Next week:
    1. Healy, 2. Herring, 3. Furlong,
    4. Henderson, 5. Toner,
    6. Beirne, 8. Conan, 7. Leavy,
    9. Cooney, 10. Sexton,
    12. Henshaw, 13. Ringrose,
    11. Stockdale, 15. Kearney, 14. Conway.

16. Cronin, 17. McGrath, 18. Porter,
    19. Roux, 20. Murphy,
    21. Murray, 22. Carbery, 23. Larmour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Don't think anyone comes out of that looking great tbh. Murray was lucky, a less tolerant ref would have sent him off for swearing at him. Joe got it wrong in the selection, went too weak for a first test, the backrow in particular. We got killed at the breakdown as a result. Our strong bench made the wrong kind of impact, none of them looked great coming on. Finishing was piss poor and we didn't make our good play count.

Ref and TMO were ****e but they're a fair bit down the pecking order of who i'd blame.

No ****ing around next week, time to bring in Beirne and go for the strongest backrow combination available along with him. Herring and McGrath i'd be okay with seeing again, especially the former. I'd go for:

McGrath
    Herring
    Furlong
    Ryan
    Beirne
    POM (c)
    Leavy
    CJ
    Murray
    Sexton
    Stockdale
    Henshaw
    Ringrose
    Earls (if he passes concussion tests, Larmour if not)
    Kearney

For the most part I'm impressed that we stood up to the quality of play and intensity Australia delivered today. I think the All Blacks would have put them away but only because they would have converted the few chances they produced, much like ourselves being unable to build a score because of a lack of composure at key moments.

The experimentation cost us today but will pay off in Japan and whilst it's hard to be positive about that after a loss, that benefit will still be paid back.

The one thing I was disappointed about was our scrum in the second half. Herring did a great job with the darts and our line out was strong, but I was surprised to have turnover on our own put in on our 22 at such a critical point.

I wonder is the fact that Feek is double jobbing starting to cost us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭shootermacg

There is one fact to be taken from this game. Carbery, John Ryan, Herring, PoM etc handed over a winning margin to their replacements, our first choice picks.

Picking apart players who were actually winning the game doesn't make sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,058 ✭✭✭✭bilston

You're not sure? I am sure he isn't.

Nevertheless it's a pointless debate Jackson isn't available, Carbery is, and he did ok today. With more gametime at Munster he will get better.

For the most part I'm impressed that we stood up to the quality of play and intensity Australia delivered today. I think the All Blacks would have put them away but only because they would have converted the few chances they produced, much like ourselves being unable to build a score because of a lack of composure at key moments.

The experimentation cost us today but will pay off in Japan and whilst it's hard to be positive about that after a loss, that benefit will still be paid back.

The one thing I was disappointed about was our scrum in the second half. Herring did a great job with the darts and our line out was strong, but I was surprised to have turnover on our own put in on our 22 at such a critical point.

I wonder is the fact that Feek is double jobbing starting to cost us?

The scrum on our line was a seriously dubious call. Watch it again. The scrum simply went through 90. There was almost no forward/backward movement. Every other scrum was completely rock solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,805 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

There is one fact to be taken from this game. Carbery, John Ryan, Herring, PoM etc handed over a winning margin to their replacements, our first choice picks.

Picking apart players who were actually winning the game doesn't make sense to me.

Do you actually think PoM isn’t first choice behind Conan?

Buer wrote: »
    The scrum on our line was a seriously dubious call. Watch it again. The scrum simply went through 90. There was almost no forward/backward movement. Every other scrum was completely rock solid.

I'll watch it again, I thought we had compressed and then gone back a bit. I thought Australia were definitely dominant in the scrum, even if it wasn't a penalty.

Regardless, I felt it was an area where we would dominate in the final 20 and that wasn't at all the case.