Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ireland Team Talk Thread IX: Grand Slam Champions SEE MOD WARNING POST #1122

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Is there a breakdown of minutes played by the Ireland squad (province and country) over the last 2 or 2 seasons

Be interesting to see who has played the most

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Is there a breakdown of minutes played by the Ireland squad (province and country) over the last 2 or 2 seasons

I'd say almost certainly Toner, maybe Stander.

Toner played game 1 of this season. The Lions didnt reappear until end of September.

But would like to see how that fares over a few seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 irishleeds

Long time lurker. Im heading over for the 2nd and 3rd test if anyone has any decent spots to have a few before in Sydney/Melbourne. Or any advice really for the games over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,773 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

irishleeds wrote: »
    Long time lurker. Im heading over for the 2nd and 3rd test if anyone has any decent spots to have a few before in Sydney/Melbourne. Or any advice really for the games over there?

I was over for the Lions a few years back but can't remember a huge amount the pubs we went to. I found Sydney just another big city tbh. Melbourne I loved. Class place. Wander around it as much as you can because it's the kind of place that has hidden gems all over. We found a random pub that was apparently the oldest hotel in Melbourne and a protected building while we were on the way to the Victoria Market. Nice little spot for some food and beer.

But over and above everything else, get yourself into Papa Richs for some roti. That place is heaven on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

For this season I tallied up some players I felt had a lot of minutes

International/ Provincial/ Lions respectively

17/18:
    Dev Toner: (409 631 + 1426) 1835 2057
    CJ Stander: (538 + 1254 + 385) 2177
    Peter O'Mahony: (471 + 1137 + 223) 1831
    Conor Murray: (509 + 1186 + 362) 2057
    Tadgh Furlong: (362 + 1007 + 338) 1707
    Johnny Sexton: (491 + 714 + 383) 1588

Conor Murray is a machine. The amount of minutes and he's all action during that time getting to almost every breakdown, must be in incredible shape.

Toner down on the others mostly due to Lions, thought Furlong would be higher and Sexton lower.

Interesting stats though - thanks for compiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

If Lions is included, I imagine Toner's 3 starts for Ireland (which took place at the same time) should be applied also?

Serious number of minutes for Stander. He's being completely flogged and, as I said previously, his game is based on contact. Something will have to give eventually whether it's his form (which I feel definitely started to flag the longer the season went on) or an injury.

Buer wrote: »
    If Lions is included, I imagine Toner's 3 starts for Ireland (which took place at the same time) should be applied also?

Serious number of minutes for Stander. He's being completely flogged and, as I said previously, his game is based on contact. Something will have to give eventually whether it's his form (which I feel definitely started to flag the longer the season went on) or an injury.

I applied Devs 3 starts there as you've a point.

I initially left it out as Dev had a much longer pre season than the Lions tourists

Conor Murray is a machine. The amount of minutes and he's all action during that time getting to almost every breakdown, must be in incredible shape.

Toner down on the others mostly due to Lions, thought Furlong would be higher and Sexton lower.

Interesting stats though - thanks for compiling.

Furlongs big blot is the 4 minutes he played against Italy and then subsequently missing the Wales game - he'd have comfortably had another ~120 minutes.

Yeah Johnnys one suprised me too. I initially didn't include him in my list until I thought about just how much rugby he's played - especially on the Lions

Buer wrote: »

I just looked at Stander since the Lions tour. He played on July 8th last year and his next game was 30th September for Munster.

Between 30th September 2017 and May 19th 2018 (almost 8 months) he played 16 games for munster and 8 for Ireland (2 of those were off the bench)

That's 24 apps in 8 months. I think the notion he has been flogged is overplayed a little. If he needed to be left out of a game here or there he would have been. He is looking at 27 appearance max between July 8th 2017 and Mid September 2018.

Faletau was playing in Mid August last year after the very same Lions tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

irishleeds wrote: »
    Go to Glenpatricks rooftop area. Itx in The Rocks a 10 minute walk from the Opera House, and you get the most spectacular view of the Opera house, harbor bridge, ad the whole area.

If you have a spare day, get the ferry up to Manly. My absolute favourite part of Sydney, and the ferry over and back (only about a half hour each way) is full of great views. Used to get that to work for a few months, those were the days.

Avoid bondi/Waverley, I don't know if it's changed since 2012 but when I was over there it was full of Irish people who point blank refused to mix with the locals because they insisted Aussies don't like us (I came across exactly one Aussie who didn't like the Irish in my whole time there, many were just a bit perplexed why we don't integrate a bit more).

I used to live a 15 min walk from Moore Park and got to pop down to watch Del Piero playing in on the weekends, which was nice. There's not much in the immediate area but Surrey Hills is nice and walking distance away. Avoid King's Cross unless you're on a mission for pills, coke and hookers not named Sean or Rory. Complete hole.

A meat pie is also quite possibly the best drunken food ever made. Pie Face is the dominant chain but kind of crap, keep an eye out for Harry's Cafe Du Wheels near central station (it's one of those places Aussie politicians make sure to bring diplomats, heads of state, celebrities etc to... buy its basically just a food truck and isn't high priced or anything). A place called Hamlets on the corso in Manly had pies that are manna from fecking heaven.

If you like Asian food, get laksa. I've gone close to madness trying to replicate (or find) it back here but I just cannot get the spices right.

For this season I tallied up some players I felt had a lot of minutes

International/ Provincial/ Lions respectively

17/18:
    Dev Toner: (409 631 + 1426) 1835 2057
    CJ Stander: (538 + 1254 + 385) 2177
    Peter O'Mahony: (471 + 1137 + 223) 1831
    Conor Murray: (509 + 1186 + 362) 2057
    Tadgh Furlong: (362 + 1007 + 338) 1707
    Johnny Sexton: (491 + 714 + 383) 1588

Didn't Beirne have some ridiculous number too. 2500 or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

That's 24 apps in 8 months. I think the notion he has been flogged is overplayed a little. If he needed to be left out of a game here or there he would have been. He is looking at 27 appearance max between July 8th 2017 and Mid September 2018.

Faletau was playing in Mid August last year after the very same Lions tour.

It's not just the number of games but the nature of them and how Stander plays. I posted his number of carries per game in the 6N and Munster's knock out matches and he averages close to 20 carries which is ridiculous. His body is just getting hammered again and again and these aren't games against the Kings or Zebre. He's playing the top end matches continually. There are very few players playing those minutes in such high level games. Toner is probably the only one that I can think of. Beirne had a serious number of minutes but none of those were at test level.

Munster couldn't afford to leave him out and his peformances were clearly waning towards the end of the season. He was taken off very early against Edinburgh. In the chase back for Edinburgh's try he was miles off getting back into position.

Faletau sort of proves what happens when you flog guys, to be honest. He's had a poor time of it with injuries in the past few years.

Didn't Beirne have some ridiculous number too. 2500 or something
    I don't think he's quite hit 2500, but he's well north of 2000 anyway. Helpfully Scarlets don't have minutes listed.

I left him out because while all the other numbers included internationals, Beirne would have played Dragons twice, Zebre twice, Kings twice etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,305 ✭✭✭slingerz

Billy86 wrote: »
    Go to Glenpatricks rooftop area. Itx in The Rocks a 10 minute walk from the Opera House, and you get the most spectacular view of the Opera house, harbor bridge, ad the whole area.

If you have a spare day, get the ferry up to Manly. My absolute favourite part of Sydney, and the ferry over and back (only about a half hour each way) is full of great views. Used to get that to work for a few months, those were the days.

Avoid bondi/Waverley, I don't know if it's changed since 2012 but when I was over there it was full of Irish people who point blank refused to mix with the locals because they insisted Aussies don't like us (I came across exactly one Aussie who didn't like the Irish in my whole time there, many were just a bit perplexed why we don't integrate a bit more).

I used to live a 15 min walk from Moore Park and got to pop down to watch Del Piero playing in on the weekends, which was nice. There's not much in the immediate area but Surrey Hills is nice and walking distance away. Avoid King's Cross unless you're on a mission for pills, coke and hookers not named Sean or Rory. Complete hole.

A meat pie is also quite possibly the best drunken food ever made. Pie Face is the dominant chain but kind of crap, keep an eye out for Harry's Cafe Du Wheels near central station (it's one of those places Aussie politicians make sure to bring diplomats, heads of state, celebrities etc to... buy its basically just a food truck and isn't high priced or anything). A place called Hamlets on the corso in Manly had pies that are manna from fecking heaven.

If you like Asian food, get laksa. I've gone close to madness trying to replicate (or find) it back here but I just cannot get the spices right.

+1 for the Manly shout was there this time last year and would absolutely love to be back there.

I wuld give Bondi a visit, if your on a tour you have to check it out and a surf lesson there is an experience!

Kings Cross is a dump alright!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Billy86 wrote: »

Well played Armin.

We're gonna win the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Venjur you may be onto something.
    Dream big, go big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 JA1

slingerz wrote: »
    +1 for the Manly shout was there this time last year and would absolutely love to be back there.

I wuld give Bondi a visit, if your on a tour you have to check it out and a surf lesson there is an experience!

Kings Cross is a dump alright!!

Malay Chines restaurant in hunter st Sydney for Laksa and Satay still queues out the door at lunchtime 30 years later!

I think you can make similar with Dollie mee? Laksa paste available in Asia market and Oriental emporium in Dublin. Add chicken stock to it.

Coogee to Bondi coastal walk is brilliant sums up Sydney with all its different beaches

http://www.malaychinese.com.au
    http://www.bonditocoogeewalk.com

kyushu restaurant neutral bay grove nor st. Best chicken teryaki around corner from the Oaks pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Beirne, Conan, Leavy the following week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭macslash

Has anyone posted a next in line/injured/left out list of lads who would have been close or unlucky to not make the squad anywhere here?

Even from the 23 that beat Australia in Dublin 2 years ago, you're missing Dillane, Bealham, Best and JVF.
    Add in Jackson, Heaslip, Zebo, Trimble and Payne and that's a huge turnover of players in 20 months.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,724 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

macslash wrote: »
    Has anyone posted a next in line/injured/left out list of lads who would have been close or unlucky to not make the squad anywhere here?

Even from the 23 that beat Australia in Dublin 2 years ago, you're missing Dillane, Bealham, Best and JVF.
    Add in Jackson, Heaslip, Zebo, Trimble and Payne and that's a huge turnover of players in 20 months.

I like your thinking mac lash!..
    However, the only players I think are being usurped from your list are best, heaslip and possibly Payne. And none of them are irreplaceable, especially seeing as best is injured. Payne and heaslip are gone, next in line are actually better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Wonder if Larmour is rated higher than Conway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Larmour is rated at 1.78m and Conway is rated at 1.80m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭connachta

1 min, 2 pens conceeded because of Kearney...
    otherwise good irish lineout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,747 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

connachta wrote: »
    1 min, 2 pens conceeded because of Kearney...
    otherwise good irish lineout

Shut up.

Seriously.

Shut up.

Seriously.

Quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,747 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Quotes.

I know, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭macslash

sydthebeat wrote: »
    I like your thinking mac lash!..
    However, the only players I think are being usurped from your list are best, heaslip and possibly Payne. And none of them are irreplaceable, especially seeing as best is injured. Payne and heaslip are gone, next in line are actually better

Ah Ya! I was only really looking at how quick players fall in and out of favour! I mean Ryan, Aki and Larmour were nowhere near it back then!