Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Omackeral wrote: »
    Think posters here said Jastine moved here with them when she was 21.

Omaackeral Think her parents were actually living here without her until she joined them. Makes it more poignant that they had been seperated for some time before she joined them, but its quite common for people from The Phillipines working here. I know somebody in the medical field here without his family and cash goes every month to support their education....just like the Irish emigrants in the 50’s/ 60’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Time

Body has now been removed

Glad they managed to get that done this evening. It salvages some dignity from the situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭SirChenjin

Let us all think for a minute about what the guards were faced with, on approaching the vile creature. It's not what many of us face in a day's work. I certainly don't. I commend their courage and their actions in an absolutely appalling situation.

May that little lass rest in peace. I don't even know where her parents can begin to get strength to cope with what has happened.

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

thebull85 wrote: »
    is it any good though?

Anything you can spray into your attackers eyes might give you a chance to escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Wheety

I'm always very wary of these fund raising pages popping up after something like this happens. Don't get me wrong, it can be a huge help to the family and can help them cover some unexpected costs but I'm sure there are some unscrupulous people who would set up a fake page for personal gain. How do you know if it's legit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

thebull85 wrote: »
    is it any good though?

I haven't had to use it but a guard friend told me it was a good alternative to pepper spray. I'm a small woman, force isn't my strong point so was a bit nervous, this was his recommendation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Has the body found been named as Jastine Valdez if so RIP, my thoughts are with her family and friends, god help them

"Gardaí believe the body is that of Ms Valdez, although no formal identification has taken place."

It's all code-speak, but basically yes.

Perhaps it should be setup by someone in the Enniskery community? A name and a face.

I suppose we don’t know what her parents intend to do yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Time wrote: »
    Glad they managed to get that done this evening. It salvages some dignity from the situation

Altough the parents and friends and family are suffering so much pain one little consolation is they have Jastines body and can grieve .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

He should be given a medal. summary justice like that isn’t an option for the judiciary.

And if it comes to light he was involved in anything else, his wife will likely realise her children's lives are better without him in it (which she will probably realise even if this was his only abduction/murder). Dunno how old they are, kids in his facebook profile look older, old enough to understand what is going on, but comments on thread suggest they're much younger. Hopefully they are, are too young to remember him and will be sheltered from this whole awful incident.

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

VonZan wrote: »

It's a pity he was killed. Shame on him. I hope he is still suffering somehow because of his actions. A coward of a man.

I get where you're coming from but it's better he was killed as he could have been released after 14ish years.

That said, I hope his death was not quick and that he suffered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

This is hilarious to read through. Surely this lad should be the target of hate here and not the garda who put a stop to him. Country would be a better place if the garda talked a little less and shot a little more in these situations. Lads go raping and murdering, get locked up and a few years later they are back out and at it. Well this lad won't be and I for one am happy knowing my home town is 1 weirdo less. Thanks to all garda involved. And sorry to all the snowflakes who can't handle the hard truths of the real world.

Nail.On.Head.

Can't believe some of the anti-garda ****e on this thread from the usual suspects. Have a look through their post histories and you can see some of them moaning about getting done for no tax while the gardaí aren't out looking after proper crime...guess what happens when they do...the kind of **** posted here calling them incompetent :rolleyes:

And the James Bond types saying they should have shot him in the leg, **** me :rolleyes:

RIP to the real victim, horrible story and hopefully the truth will come out as to what his motivation was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,352 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

And if it comes to light he was involved in anything else, his wife will likely realise her children's lives are better without him in it (which she will probably realise even if this was his only abduction/murder). Dunno how old they are, kids in his facebook profile look older, old enough to understand what is going on, but comments on thread suggest they're much younger. Hopefully they are, are too young to remember him and will be sheltered from this whole awful incident.

This is one of the very odd parts about the case. You could perhaps understand an isolated loner and misfit doing something like this but a man in his 40s with a partner and young children is definitely unusual.

Please, no more analyzing of that god damn pub video!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

The comments here are vile, congratulating and celebrating death. Parents without a child and children without a parent and it’s all about evening scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,651 ✭✭✭Infini

Jesus I'm reminded again today to stay away from twitter. Seems this is being turned into a societal issue by some, yet society is made up of individuals. I'm sick of being tarred with the same brush as rapists and murders. There is one disgraceful person responsible for these crimes. Our society is not enabling these people.

Ill be honest this is the only responce to the braindead "opinions" of the twatterati right now...

3d6.jpg

As for the guard who shot him dead..... PROMOTE THAT MAN!
    sightband wrote: »
    The comments here are vile, congratulating and celebrating death. Parents without a child and children without a parent and it’s all about evening scores.

Let me be clear. Noone is celebrating the death of an innocent here. The fact that 2 girls have been murder in what seem's horrific circimstances disgusts plenty. The only difference is that the guy who the guards put down seems for all intents and purposes from the evidence so far to have been the scrote who killed her and got exactly what he deserved. That isnt jumping for joy its satisfaction that he wont ever hurt anyone again and that the girl he murdered at least got some real justice for once rather than some short time in jail or some suspended sentence which seems to happen far too much.

Will also add there should be nothing but sympathy and support for the poor wife and kids left behind, they dont deserve to be tarred for his crimes but have had their own lives screwed up by his stupidity as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

He was in the Ramblers Rest in Ballybrack on Saturday night. That makes me think he has done this before but then leaving the note which told where her body was shows a slight semblance of remorse.

Strazdas wrote: »
    This is one of the very odd parts about the case. You could perhaps understand an isolated loner and misfit doing something like this but a man in his 40s with a partner and young children is definitely unusual.

Hadn't Larry Murphy a wife and young kids when he was arrested? Not being smart, genuinely thought I heard he had.

wellwhynot wrote: »
    He was in the Ramblers Rest in Ballybrack on Saturday night. That makes me think he has done this before but then leaving the note which told where her body was shows a slight semblance of remorse.

Do you mean after he carried out the murder?

NickD wrote: »
    Hadn't Larry Murphy a wife and young kids when he was arrested? Not being smart, genuinely thought I heard he had.

Graham Dwyer too.

NickD wrote: »

He had indeed and was living with them

Graham Dwyer

Dwyer was in some sort of a "relationship" with his victim though, that was not a random killing

Fair enough but I was refering to the part of the post about being in his 40's married with kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

If runours are to be believed he was going to end up dead either way. I’d rather the Guards take him out and wipe that last bit of control away from his hands. Dirty bastarding coward. Rather him dead to be honest than out in ten years with the freedom to start again. Mongrel belongs in the ground.
    I totally feel for his wife and children. What a shock his wife must have got.
    Rip to a beautiful girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think it's a mistake to assume anything about someone's profile in these things. From around the world we've constantly heard stories of seemingly normal families with people locked in basements, or dashing and charismatic young men who've killed dozens of people.

Psychologically, murderers probably fit a general profile but socially and visually it's impossible to tell.

No doubt the details will emerge in the days to come and some things may make more sense. Needless to say nobody in the world is more confused than the two families tonight.
    Do you mean after he carried out the murder?
    That's the rumour. But WhatsApp is worse than Twitter for this rubbish tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

wellwhynot wrote: »

Have you told Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Why would I be banned ? the women in the video arent named and their faces arent shown. I am making the point that they are evidently not 20 something fitness models and he struggles to even keep their attention. He was AWFUL with women.

That sounds like the voice of experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

Wheety wrote: »
    I'm always very wary of these fund raising pages popping up after something like this happens. Don't get me wrong, it can be a huge help to the family and can help them cover some unexpected costs but I'm sure there are some unscrupulous people who would set up a fake page for personal gain. How do you know if it's legit?

Pretty sure an unscrupulous one has already popped up on twitter. Depressingly grim that some people would take advantage of a tragedy like this one to line their pockets.

Fair enough but I was refering to the part of the post about being in his 40's married with kids.

Just had a quick Google apparently it's fairly common, there are a lot of rapists/ murders/ serial killers with seemingly normal lives. BTK And the Green River Killer were two that struck out.

It's mental to think their wives had no clue of the monsters they were married to.

*not suggesting this scum was a serial killer, just an observation.

Dinxminx wrote: »
    Pretty sure an unscrupulous one has already popped up on twitter. Depressingly grim that some people would take advantage of a tragedy like this one you line their pockets.

Scum everywhere. If I see anything from an Enniskery community page I’ll post here.