Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

The poor Garda who took that shot. Did everything by the book and will likely be very seriously effected by this. Hopefully he has some condolence in knowing that the majority of people are thankful for his service and for removing this animal from society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Locked for a review so I can catch up. Fück nuts will be banned. No mercy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Between us mods we have removed about 100 posts. All this crap stops now. In fast moving threads like this its hard to keep up but we are doing our best. PLEASE PLEASE continue to report posts and let us deal with them. DON'T react, DON'T reply. Starve the dicks of the oxygen they crave.

Also, the 8th?. Drop that sh!te and keep it for the thread dedicated to it.
    Thread reopened

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

I honestly dont think the detective that shot this scumbag will lose many nights sleep over it. Hopefully he is treated fairly by his empolyers.

Thoughts are first and foremost with Jastine’s family. Someone mentioned setting up a go fund me page. If this family needs some help financially, I would happily support a page like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,063 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

thebull85 wrote: »
    I honestly dont think the detective that shot this scumbag will lose many nights sleep over it. Hopefully he is treated fairly by his empolyers.

Apparently he did everything above and beyond... The thing is with bullets they exit differently then they enter and that is impossible to control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ConnyMcDavid

I also feel sorry for the witness who saw the girl being shoved into the car. Can't be easy having such memories knowing what came after.

He shouldn't feel guilty at all, his conscience should be clear. Having said that, I've never killed anyone myself so amn't really in a position to comment really. There's probably loads of issues that come with that territory such as the kids that are left behind and things of that nature. Must take a certain type to have the balls for that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Thoughts are first and foremost with Jastine’s family. Someone mentioned setting up a go fund me page. If this family needs some help financially, I would happily support a page like that

Me too . If anyone hears of one can they let us know . It would be a way of showing support to her family and community

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Very good idea. Are her parents in the Philippines? It would be extremely difficult for them to fly to Ireland given the expense. A fund like that would be a big help.

Omackeral wrote: »
    He shouldn't feel guilty at all, his conscience should be clear. Having said that, I've never killed anyone myself so amn't really in a position to comment really. There's probably loads of issues that come with that territory such as the kids that are left behind and things of that nature. Must take a certain type to have the balls for that job.

Most the detectives ive met have been hardy b*stards, dubs and culchies young and old. Id imagine they would be fairly solid mentally also. Hope he's doing alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

This sad story reinforces my belief that everyone should carry some sort of self defence item.
    In Ireland most self defence items will be seen as offensive items by Garda. It wouldn't work anyway, if everyone carried a knife for example, you would just end up with a lot more innocent people being stabbed

Is it wrong of me to think that the murderers children are better off that their father was killed so quickly?

I mean, if he had been arrested and tried. That would all be done in public. Then it is possible in years to come he would apply for parole and the whole thing would be talked about again.

This way, those innocent children get to forget as quickly as possible and hopefully are not reminded of what he has done over and over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

I wouldn't be too sure about that. While trained with a firearm here means he is likely to be very psychologically sound, taking someone's life is a terrible thing for a normal person to deal with. Returning war veterans often report that the really difficult thing to be asked to do was not to sacrifice their lives, but to kill.

Terrible, terrible event. Thoughts to all the families effected.

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

Most the detectives ive met have been hardy b*stards, dubs and culchies young and old. Id imagine they would be fairly solid mentally also. Hope he's doing alright.

Most guards would not be the type to get upset by sheltered Twitter moaners.

Strazdas wrote: »
    Are her parents in the Philippines? It would be extremely difficult for them to fly to Ireland given the expense. A fund like that would be a big help.

Think posters here said Jastine moved here with them when she was 21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Me too . If anyone hears of one can they let us know . It would be a way of showing support to her family and community

+1 to this.
    The parents of Jastine must be utterly devastated. They will need every type of support possible. I'll gladly chip in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Very good idea. Are her parents in the Philippines? It would be extremely difficult for them to fly to Ireland given the expense. A fund like that would be a big help.

Her parents live in Enniskerry . But I am sure they would appreciate the support .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

He should be given a medal. summary justice like that isn’t an option for the judiciary.

Her parents live here. Whether they stay here or not after this, I wouldn’t know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Think posters here said Jastine moved here with them when she was 21.

Oh, they're here? Nonetheless, a fund set up for the family would be a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,917 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I think it was Bear1 who came up with the idea of a go fund me page ?
    If he , or anyone ,sets one up ,.I'd happily support too .

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

In Ireland most self defence items will be seen as offensive items by Garda. It wouldn't work anyway, if everyone carried a knife for example, you would just end up with a lot more innocent people being stabbed

Legal items I mean. A heavy duty torch could be very effective for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭VonZan

Her parents live in the area unfortunately. Hopefully the community rallies around them. What a shocking incident. I can't help feeling a little embarrassed at this time that their family came to Ireland for a better future and scumbag like this takes a life for absolutely nothing.

It's a pity he was killed. Shame on him. I hope he is still suffering somehow because of his actions. A coward of a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,125 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

theballz wrote: »
    I have a source in the Garda that listed the following (that RThas since confirmed so I am happy to share.)

When the Garda approached the car the man had self harmed, he had slit his wrists and legs. They went to the car and removed the knife from before he slit his own throat. He then moved to pick up something in the car (which they thought was a gun) and they shot him.

He was shot in upper arm shoulder area which exited through to his head. They did not intend to kill. The man had left a letter with details of the murder and intended to take his own life.

My source is a member of the Gardai and told me this earlier today but I didn’t want to share. It sounds like RTare doing the same now

Has the body found been named as Jastine Valdez if so RIP, my thoughts are with her family and friends, god help them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Time

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Has the body found been named as Jastine Valdez if so RIP, my thoughts are with her family and friends, god help them

They wont be able to formally identify the body until tomorrow afternoon most likely. They have yet to remove the body from the scene.

Body has now been removed

VonZan wrote: »
    I can't help feeling a little embarrassed at this time that their family came to Ireland for a better future and scumbag like this takes a life for absolutely nothing.

This is such a horrible thought but Mr and Ms Valdez were most likely among those shocked and horrified at the death of poor Ana Kriegel and were thanking their lucky stars nothing happened to their only girl only for all this to fall their way. F*cking devastating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

Legal items I mean. A heavy duty torch could be very effective for example.

Deep heat spray is totally legal.

NickD wrote: »
    Deep heat spray is totally legal.

is it any good though?