Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Keep up. You aren't even following the "facts" the poster was stating and the questions I was posing in response.

I followed your questioning of the poster.
    Where did you hear that? The public weren't exposed to that level of information.

The general public were exposed to that level of detail.

It is YOU that needs to keep up. I've been following the story in detail.

And yes, they hold first communions on Sundays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭JayRoc

munster87 wrote: »
    Strange that someone was just recording him like that, were they expecting him to act strangely or something, even if it wasn’t recent

It's not remotely strange. People record anything at the drop of a hat nowadays.

If it wasn't for what is now known about the guy, nothing in those videos would merit a second glance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

STB. wrote: »
    I followed your questioning of the poster.

The general public were exposed to that level of detail.

It is YOU that needs to keep up. I've been following the story in detail.

And yes, they hold first communions on Sundays.

No Garda report that I came across said

"She was banging on the rear window screaming" which clearly was highlighted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

It was a man in the car not that it matters. I am not asking the driver to pull out in front of the car and intervene for **** sake. I am asking the driver to follow the car and give the guards updates on its location until they arrived. Its hardly askign someone to be heroic.

And how was he to know the guy didn't have a gun with him.? It's very easy to be all macho after the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

cml387 wrote: »
    I can't help thinking of Deirdre Jacob. She disappeared in broad daylight and was never seen again. Probably similarly bundled into a car and murdered.

And if this incident had not been seen by a witness he just might have also got away with it . The Gardai are saying she was found in very dense gorse so also might never have been found .
    Altough its only a small consolation at least her family have her back and can grieve

And how was he to know the guy didn't have a gun with him.? It's very easy to be all macho after the event.

Exactly . All macho and brave from an armchair at home .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭ProudIRISHman

Suckit wrote: »

He seems like a right creep and socially awkward.

Even the fake laughing acting like he was in on the joke when it was clear no one was even tlaking to him and the two girls beside him were ignoring him was odd.

I reckon the guy was recording him because he is such an embarassing creep on nights out.

I feel so bad for that girl. Imagine that creep dragging you up at night to a disused golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It just seems so unfair that a witness saw her attacked, witnesses saw her in the car in distress, that the attackers identity and car reg was made known relatively quickly , all in a very short space of time, and she still didnt get to live :(

This isnt America. You don't instantly think someone has a gun.

and macho?!?! following a car safely in your own car is being macho now?!?! jesus christ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Has the body been confirmed as hers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I can't help thinking of Deirdre Jacob. She disappeared in broad daylight and was never seen again. Probably similarly bundled into a car and murdered.

And if this incident had not been seen by a witness he just might have also got away with it . The Gardai are saying she was found in very dense gorse so also might never have been found .
    Altough its only a small consolation at least her family have her back and can grieve

Have been thinking of that myself. He probably had it all planned out - maybe it wasnt even the first time he'd done it...Was probably planning on goin home to the wife afterwards to live happy family life as normal -- then someone comes along and sees it happening. A witness he hadnt banked on and suddenly he's fcuked - thk God. I just wish it had been a better outvome for the poor girl, RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Even the fake laughing acting like he was in on the joke when it was clear no one was even tlaking to him and the two girls beside him were ignoring him was odd.

I reckon the guy was recording him because he is such an embarassing creep on nights out.

I feel so bad for that girl. Imagine that creep dragging you up at night to a disused golf course.

He makes a fist gesture briefly also. Looks like the women want nothing to do with him.

and macho?!?! following a car safely in your own car is being macho now?!?! jesus christ...

The Gardai had asked the public not to approach him so it was very possible he was armed . And none of us , including you , have any idea how we would deal with it . No not even brave you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

He makes a fist gesture briefly also. Looks like the women want nothing to do with him.
    Indeed a grotesque looking creature.

And whats with the videos of the guy? They are so random and irrelevant and unremarkable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

JayRoc wrote: »
    It's not remotely strange. People record anything at the drop of a hat nowadays.

If it wasn't for what is now known about the guy, nothing in those videos would merit a second glance.

It's just a video from the Nissan garage promoting a deal and he happened to be collecting his 171 car, so they included him in their promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,219 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

RIP to the victim and condolences to her family.

It's a bit depressing that the 'experts' over on FB are using this to get a dig in at the Gardai' I'm sure they didn't take the decision to shoot the suspect lightly and were doing their best to try and find the victim.

I think we all know now that if you had been the witness, maybe there could have been a better outcome.

And for the record, if I saw someone in distress, I would question if there was a gun or weapon that could be used against me if I was discovered following them while I was giving updates to the gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

It's just a video from the Nissan garage promoting a deal and he happened to be collecting his 171 car, so they included him in their promotion.

The poster was referring to the other video, in the bar. I would make a guess he was being recorded by a mate as he was drunkenly making a fool of himself coming onto the women. That is what I got from the video anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

That case crossed my mind too. He would have been 20 at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

No Garda report that I came across said

"She was banging on the rear window screaming" which clearly was highlighted.

You dont need a Garda report. Do you honestly think they would put that in a bloody press release.

It was reported as a source.

"A source also revealed other witnesses observed the young woman in trouble at a number of locations"

They said: “This is deeply worrying and was a horrific experience for these witnesses.

“Bray gardai received a call a woman and her two children were driving near Enniskerry – they heard the screams of an Asian woman as she was being bundled into a car.

“Gardai attended the scene and details were sketchy at the time then a short time later another call came in from a man driving on the N11 or M50. He gave horrific details of seeing an Asian woman in the back of a black jeep banging on the windows screaming for help. The missing persons call came in after that.

“It would be an understatement to say gardai are concerned for her safety.”

And like the poster who you questioned, I also came by it (I wish I hadnt) in following the story.

I think thats called a micro-aggression? When someone betrays the emotion they are trying to hide in a very brief expression. He was obviously angry at women who rejected his advances.

You can tell even in that short clip that he is disastrous with women. Absolutely disastrous. And he took it out on that young girl. He was going to show her. If he was angry at women then I don't want to think about how he killed her.

So strange hearing these stories all over the news about Ana and Jastine. You just never hear of such brutal murders of innocent people happening here, of young girls. Its all just very shocking.

wakka12 wrote: »
    And whats with the videos of the guy? They are so random and irrelevant and unremarkable

The one in the club tells a lot about him to be honest. In that short clup you can see he is socially awkward, is creepy around women and is not successful with women. Pretty much the standard characteristics to these sort of people who can on to commit these sort of crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,068 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I can safely say you could swap him with me in that video and I'd look just as rapey... It's only with hindsight we can say he looks creepy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

I think we all know now that if you had been the witness, maybe there could have been a better outcome.

And for the record, if I saw someone in distress, I would question if there was a gun or weapon that could be used against me if I was discovered following them while I was giving updates to the gardai

I dont know anyone who would think in Ireland that a member of public might have a gun on them! and what is he going to do with a knife? Your in your car, he pulls over you go around him, its the feckin n11!

This thread is depressing. You are in minimal danger following the car and this woman is in serious danger. If you continue following the guards will be there within minutes but the tiny danger that somehow he could pull over, prevent your car from going around him on the N11 and then gain access to your car means you wont follow a girl that is in serious danger??!

I can safely say you could swap him with me in that video and I'd look just as rapey... It's only with hindsight we can say he looks creepy

Exactly. Many men are socially awkward with women, but they won't ever kidnap and murder one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Very dark coulple of weeks with regards violence against women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭JayRoc

I think thats called a micro-aggression? When someone betrays the emotion they are trying to hide in a very brief expression. He was obviously angry at women who rejected his advances.

You can tell even in that short clip that he is disastrous with women. Absolutely disastrous. And he took it out on that young girl. He was going to show her. If he was angry at women then I don't want to think about how he killed her.

There's nothing in any of these videos that even hint at him being a monster who would go on to do what he did.

People love to apply hindsight to these things and say "I always knew he was a wrong 'un", but in most cases no one had a clue.

The guy was in my class at school, and I ran into him several times over the years when he was working on sites, and the truth is he just seemed like a normal bloke.

Sometimes awful things don't make any sense.