Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

Sooner or later all that piece of dirt deserved was a bullet.
    I'm sure the poor girl was already dead before they shot the c%#t. So the shooter did this country a favour. Let no one give this Garda any grief. Give him a medal.

The only thing I regret is that the man has been spared accounting for himself in a court and to his family. If there was a truly genuine psychiatric cause, not of his making, he will never get a hearing. I think of his children in future years when thinking back on the father they never knew, that they would have no accountability. More than anything, Jastine’s Parents will never have the opportunity to face her killer in court and be made account for his evil deed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Missix

This is so,so sad for both families.The parents who have lost their child forever,and the murderers family who will be tainted for generations for having a scumbag like that in their family.

It certainly sounded like a very impulsive crime,broad daylight and spotted by at least 2 parties so no attempt to be ..well,cautious for the want of a better word.Makes me wonder 2 things...A)was he under the influence of something or B)Did he think he was grabbing a child (she was tiny) and then panic when he realised she was an adult?

More information will come out in the coming days,no doubt.But God love the innocents dragged into this nightmare :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,123 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Time wrote: »
    I suppose you think Alan Hawe was just a good family man who “snapped” too :rolleyes:

since i dont know him, id have to say, i dont know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,059 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

chicorytip wrote: »
    Indeed. Who knows? The man may well have been suffering from severe mental illness (psychosis) so it would be unwise to pass judgement given that nothing is yet known about his background or character.

He was suffering from being a sex offender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

Missix wrote: »
    This is so,so sad for both families.The parents who have lost their child forever,and the murderers family who will be tainted for generations for having a scumbag like that in their family.

It certainly sounded like a very impulsive crime,broad daylight and spotted by at least 2 parties so no attempt to be ..well,cautious for the want of a better word.Makes me wonder 2 things...A)was he under the influence of something or B)Did he think he was grabbing a child (she was tiny) and then panic when he realised she was an adult?

More information will come out in the coming days,no doubt.But God love the innocents dragged into this nightmare :(

Who knows what was motivating him
    Iv heard stories he was a sex trafficker
    or he wanted a female slave
    or he thought she was a child

Mostly wild speculations but Im afraid we may never know

Where'd you get this information from that they waited for daybreak? Do you know when the body was left at site? Was it Saturday? Or did he move it there and dump it on Sunday?
    Interested to know as you seem to have this information that the guards don't.

No one knows, she could have been dead and dumped within an hour. The two sites are a few km's from each other.

Like poor Karen Buckley in Glasgow, she was killed minutes or moments after abduction and disposed of next day or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The frightening thing about this for me is the single report of the abduction. A relatively busy time of the day in the middle of a city and a surfeit of technology and only one report of this happening.

Goodness knows, has he killed other girls? Poor Jastine was “foreign”;, are there any other non-national girls missing whose parents might not realise their daughter is missing, whose work-place assumes others know where they are etc, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

The frightening thing about this for me is the single report of the abduction. A relatively busy time of the day in the middle of a city and a surfeit of technology and only one report of this happening.

Middle of a city? Unless I'm mistaken she was very much not in the middle of a city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,539 ✭✭✭✭Alun

ED E wrote: »
    Middle of a city? Unless I'm mistaken she was very much not in the middle of a city.
    Indeed, the outskirts of a small village hardly a bastion of covert surveillance and CCTV cameras!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭thomas 123

It was in a bit of a weird spot from the image they showed on the news. Main road with footpath and lots of grass, looked semi-rural.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

It was a built up area with plenty of housing.

The road she was kidnapped is not a built up area

thomas 123 wrote: »
    It was in a bit of a weird spot from the image they showed on the news. Main road with footpath and lots of grass, looked semi-rural.
    The abduction apparently took place here, just outside Enniskerry by the entrance to Powerscourt house and gardens.

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.1882274,-6.1697703,3a,75y,338.81h,87.24t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m5!1sUfnow6n5HN4OnNWjSsiagw!2e0!6s%2F%2Fgeo0.ggpht.com%2Fcbk%3Fpanoid%3DUfnow6n5HN4OnNWjSsiagw%26output%3Dthumbnail%26cb_client%3Dsearch.TACTILE.gps%26thumb%3D2%26w%3D96%26h%3D64%26yaw%3D330.38266%26pitch%3D0%26thumbfov%3D100!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Truly shocking and tragic. RIP Jastine Valdez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Imagine being the search team trying to recover the body at the moment. Apparently they cant even get to it physically yet

Reported as being about 50 metres in from the road, so dare say they could get to very quickly if they wanted. Delays likely due to need to gather evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Hardly anywhere close to being described as the middle of the city where he abducted her. Where do you think it was? I was thankful and surprised at the time that the incident was spotted where it happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

So very sad. What a waste of a life. I know people who know Mark Hennessy and they seem to have a lot more information than seems to be in the press. I am not going to say it here but if true I am sure it will come out over the coming days. My thoughts are with the poor innocent woman he murdered and her family.

The small section of road is quite dark with trees, quite narrow, and any time I driven by on my way to Powerscourt my eyes are focused on looking for traffic coming round corners near Enniskerry village. I could imagine myself missing the moment where that happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

It wasnt in the middle of a city ? It was outside a village in Wicklow on a country road .

The small section of road is quite dark with trees, quite narrow, and any time I driven by on my way to Powerscourt my eyes are focused on looking for traffic coming round corners near Enniskerry village. I could imagine myself missing the moment where that happened.
    You do get quite a few tourists walking up the hill out of Enniskerry up to Powerscourt or vice versa plus there's a school and a church very near by, so it's not completely deserted. The road does get very narrow further on past the Powerscourt entrance though.

Missix wrote: »

B) could be the case! The guards will go through his online history with a fine tooth comb and this could well turn out to be a possibility or probability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Reported as being about 50 metres in from the road, so dare say they could get to very quickly if they wanted. Delays likely due to need to gather evidence.
    Yep. The entire scene needs to be examined. If they go in and collect her they could end up walking on and destroying evidence. Although he's dead, it's still a crime scene which requires investigation to determine what happened, ensure that it was him and to rule out the involvement of anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭sillysocks

They mentioned on the news she worked in a restaurant in Bray where he lived. I’d wonder whether there was any interaction there that annoyed him and he went to find her. Horrendous for her poor parents, and also for his wife and kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

sillysocks wrote: »
    They mentioned on the news she worked in a restaurant in Bray where he lived. I’d wonder whether there was any interaction there that annoyed him and he went to find her. Horrendous for her poor parents, and also for his wife and kids.

God knows. It’s scary if it was truly random but whether it was or not doesn’t really matter for the poor girl at this stage. Horrendous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Alun wrote: »
    You do get quite a few tourists walking up the hill out of Enniskerry up to Powerscourt or vice versa plus there's a school and a church very near by, so it's not completely deserted. The road does get very narrow further on past the Powerscourt entrance though.

Indeed, it's a busy enough road. Regular traffic on it. You'd think it'd be quite safe to walk on from an abduction point of view, notwithstanding the danger from passing cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

5star02707 wrote: »
    Video of the man, looks very disturbed

Ah c'mon. I'm sure he was, but that video is just an awkward video of a guy who didn't really feel that comfortable taking part in a sales pitch, like most of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I don't think you'd have said that if it wasn't for knowing what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭recyclops

Hurrache wrote: »
    Ah c'mon. I'm sure he was, but that video is just an awkward video of a guy who didn't really feel that comfortable taking part in a sales pitch, like most of us.

yeah my phone is hopping with this and another video of him out, i am watching neither as both will be taken out of context completely

all that video is now is unlucky advertising for windsor herbert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭spakman

That tells you nothing. It's a guy looking a bit awkward/tense which I probably would be too if a car salesman started recording me asking about a car if I knew fck all about motors.