Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

RasTa wrote: »
    Gardai story is now(on newstalk there) the officer thought the girl was in the car and he was going to stab her so he fired the shot.

P45 for that gardai, same as that other one who shot someone in Dublin in the early hours of the morning and we've heard nothing since.

Didn't realise we had the new Commissioner posting with us. Just an FYI, ''Gardai'' is plural and ''Garda'' is singular, if you're going sacking anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,203 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I just can't get over the amount of crime procedure experts and weapons experts we have here.
    Boards is blessed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

P45 will ya stop....
    Amalgam wrote: »

You can't kill people and then turn around and say I thought I saw someone in the car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I find its mental that people are spending more time criticising the cops than criticising that dope for abducting the girl in the first place.

• Could they not have shot him in the leg to disable him? She is still missing, and they would have wanted to extract information from him about her whereabouts...I know it all happens very quickly but surely in a situation like this, marksmen should be trained to disable as well as kill. If it was up to me, I'd still shoot the ****er dead but after the girl is found.
    Do you own a firearm? In particular a handgun?
    Have you ever been in a life threatening situation in response to what looks to be a madman who abducted a young woman off the side of the road?
    Imagine the split second decision and blood rush from doing something like this as the cops are being rushed with an unhinged guy with a lethal weapon in his hand

Unreal stuff I'm reading this morning, unjustified armchair nonsense and crazy criticism of a detective who was clearly trying to protect the public and his fellow colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

There was a woman on the sean o rourke show there this morning describing her attempted abduction 2 years ago.jesus if your man had succeeded god knows what he would have done to her.she fought back and he ran away.an extremely brave woman.
    I know its possibly a trite thing to say but this **** is happening here in good old Ireland. i find it very hard to grasp..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,064 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Sundew wrote: »
    Paul williams on Newstalk now. Seemingly officer was sure she was beside him in car with him holding knife so took action. Wonder has Hennessy done things previously in the Wicklow area unbeknowns to the Gardai?

Several abduction attempts in kiliney over the last year and there's the missing woman from clondalkin who's car was found in bray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I find its mental that people are spending more time criticising the cops than criticising that dope for abducting the girl in the first place.

Or coming up with the most crazy scenarios and explanations on how this garda could have not fired any shots or disabled the suspect somehow.

Considering how often we heard about gardai firing their weapons I don't think it's an unreasonable assumption perhaps he had a good reason to do so.

If there were many trigger happy gardai out there I think we'd have heard about it by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000

I just can't get over the amount of crime procedure experts and weapons experts we have here. Boards is blessed.

Yes.The Gardai should have checked here for advice before confronting him.

You can't kill people and then turn around and say I thought I saw someone in the car...

That's exactly what they should do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭woejus

Charge a gun, run from a knife

Old video but shows how someone with a knife can close 20 feet gap between you, before you can draw your gun and fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Did this man and the woman know each other? Or was this just a grab and go kidnap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Obviously, if it was me in that scenario, I would have dumbfounded the assailant with the beauty of my skills in interpretative dance. He would have put down his weapon and given himself up to the Gardai as I showed him how much hurt he was causing through my use of a mournful foxtrot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

The gardai or in particular the detective who fired, didnt ask for this to happen. He didnt wake up and say 'I fancy shooting someone today'.

Wonder what Mark Hennessy thought when he woke up before grabbing the keys of the car.

Did this man and the woman know each other? Or was this just a grab and go kidnap?

I would imagine it'll take quite some time before that information comes out (if ever). Phones, social media accounts, email accounts, web history and all that will have to be analysed.

Oh calm down.
    everyone of us in here is either surmising or just putting forward an opinion because none of us know the facts.im not criticising the gardai sorry if it seems like it and unlike you i don't play call of duty.games are for children.

I've never played a Call of Duty game in my life, ever. Secondly I believe those games are rated for adults so you're talking sh*te. Thirdly, I work in a prison and I've seen people slashed and stabbed badly with knives so I'm fairly au fait with how dangerous knives can be in the hands of a lunatic. It's a lot easier to say you'll do this that and the other until you're 5 foot away from some fellas face cut open so badly you can see his teeth glaring at you through where his cheek used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Textronic

antodeco wrote: »
    If he abducted and (potentially) murdered (assumption based on no facts) someone, then went to attack a Garda, the shooting was 100% justified. I just feel sorry for his wife and kids. No matter what sort of a person someone is, a child never thinks that of them. For them, they have lost their father, and that's what's terrible for them. (Regardless of the person he may turn out to be).

Depends if he was a monster at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Gardai story is now(on newstalk there) the officer thought the girl was in the car and he was going to stab her so he fired the shot.

So he was firing 9mm rounds into a car with the victim in it :confused:

Massive cover-up will be required if any mistakes were made here.

The gardai will have to get their story straight and issue a statement fast although they don't even seem to be able to get that right.

Watch them backtrack on the statement above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,856 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Swanner wrote: »

The gardai will have to get their story straight and issue a statement fast although they don't even seem to be able to get that right.

FFS. We don't know what he was firing yet. We know fcukall about the incident.

But you keep going with your anti-Gardaí agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

P45 for that gardai, same as that other one who shot someone in Dublin in the early hours of the morning and we've heard nothing since.

Like I said

I'd be willing to bet that some of the people that confronted him before he fled told the Gardaí she was in the car and that was the cause of the confusion about her presence earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭Odelay

Could they not have shot him in the leg to disable him? She is still missing, and they would have wanted to extract information from him about her whereabouts...I know it all happens very quickly but surely in a situation like this, marksmen should be trained to disable as well as kill. If it was up to me, I'd still shoot the ****er dead but after the girl is found.

Marks men?? What were they going to do while waiting for marks men to arrive?
    He was going for a traffics cop with a Stanley knife ffs.

Obviously, if it was me in that scenario, I would have dumbfounded the assailant with the beauty of my skills in interpretative dance. He would put down his weapon and given himself up to the Gardai as I showed him how much hurt he was causing through my use of a mournful foxtrot.

myself I would have done "the Crane" form karate kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

No, he wasn't.

Someone on the radio is claiming third-hand that's what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Go on, what have they done to you previously?

You have a horn for them doing a cover up, did they give you a speeding ticket or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Body found in Leadmines

This was posted almost 45 minutes ago, (edited to "apparently" after urging by other posters to not post something so huge unless 100%).

So what is the latest update from this "journalist" friend of yours? A very big statement that appears to have been grossly wrong

How the hell do you make that leap of 'logic'?

Even if they thought she was in the car...where do you get the information that he was in the car? Or even anywhere near the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

This thread is a horror show. still a very live situation and a lot of you should be ashamed of the way you are speculating etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

In my country we have a proverb: "After a battle everyone is a general." Quite fitting here after seeing all the firearms and combat experts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

There was a woman on the sean o rourke show there this morning describing her attempted abduction 2 years ago.jesus if your man had succeeded god knows what he would have done to her.she fought back and he ran away.an extremely brave woman.
    I know its possibly a trite thing to say but this **** is happening here in good old Ireland. i find it very hard to grasp..

My younger sister was also the victim of an attempted abduction by 2 men in a van in broad daylight a few years ago. Think I posted here about it - guards were less than helpful there aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

myself I would have done "the Crane" form karate kid

Yeah, the Gardai need to get their marching orders if they didn't try this on the suspect before going for the kill option.