Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Lambman

Sorry lads i took it as adam14 was the shearer and seperated the lambs and bagged the wool... not that he was the person getting them clipped my mistake... so yea 2.20 is expensive alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭stantheman1979

€2.20 it's dear when wool is 60c!! €2 here for 2 very good men with a trailer. The two of them shore 850 in 2days before lambing. Just keep sheep to them and pack the wool. I thought the days of catching sheep for them were gone and all shearers these days had a trailer. I remember doing it when I was 15 for my uncle and another man who were contract shearing. Everyone in our area had big cheviots or big suffolks and usually the pen was massive. I got 20p each sheep from the uncle and made good money but by god I worked for it. :-)

As with everything with sheep Stan - it's a numbers game...

Shearers here just turn up with the shears and stand... you catch and turn the ewes for em...
    We'd only had 60 this year for shearing, but it would usually be around that... most of their clients would be the same, or smaller... they often say it takes em longer in some places to setup and take the stands down than it does to shear...

So it would hardly be worth these lads while having a trailer, when the farmer is the one catching the ewes anyways - although it would make the job easier on the lad catching... ;)

And yes, 60 ewes is hobby numbers.. but I guess even hobby farmers need to have their sheep shorn too... ;)
    I wasn't trying to be condescending. I remember when we had only 100 sheep ourselves and like I said I was the one catching them as a boy for lots of farmers with small numbers. Just that most shearers here have a trailer and don't know of any catching them. It takes 5 minutes to set up the same as a stand. You're paying for the shearing so why catch the sheep for them as well.

Lambman wrote: »
    €2.20 it's dear when wool is 60c!! €2 here for 2 very good men with a trailer. The two of them shore 850 in 2days before lambing. Just keep sheep to them and pack the wool. I thought the days of catching sheep for them were gone and all shearers these days had a trailer. I remember doing it when I was 15 for my uncle and another man who were contract shearing. Everyone in our area had big cheviots or big suffolks and usually the pen was massive. I got 20p each sheep from the uncle and made good money but by god I worked for it. :-)
    Hardly the shearers fault wool fell badly in price did u give €3 per ewe 2 years ago when wool was €1:50? It works both ways!
    Of coarse it's not their fault they gotta make money too but €2.20 and u gotta catch them for them is on the pricey side especially now with the price of wool were are giving away a camodity to the merchants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

theres a lad in my area chargin 3 to shear...not sure whos paying him at that rate.
    regards the trailers they are a god send. 80done last night in an hour, 10 mins set up and tear down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭Lano Lynn

ganmo wrote: »
    theres a lad in my area chargin 3 to shear...not sure whos paying him at that rate.
    regards the trailers they are a god send. 80done last night in an hour, 10 mins set up and tear down

how many men shearing?

2...and a lass

thats good going 26 an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

My shearer is getting on in years. Took 8 hrs over 2 evenings to shear 109 sheep. 2 per sheep and I catch and bag wool.

Nice fella and have used him for years but think I'll look to try get a more professional set up for next year especially as need them clipped clean for breeding sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

sea12 wrote: »
    My shearer is getting on in years. Took 8 hrs over 2 evenings to shear 109 sheep. 2 per sheep and I catch and bag wool.

Same setup and cost here, I do the catching and bagging. Using a sound lad for last 2 years, and will probably use him for the next 20 yrs all going well. no issues or messing.

Before that used a gang of lads in their early 20's. They were faster but were unreliable to turn up and had the attitude of I was lucky to be getting them as they could find work nearer to home and were flat out. Second last time they were here, they asked me for money for a lad bagging a 100 ewes and were moaning about €2.20 a head. Last time they turned up a month late after cancelling twice, ( which caused me to loose a ewe to maggots) they asked €2.50 after I did all the catching / bagging and gave them their lunch. They were paid alright but never got an invite back again.

I know I charge €2 per ewe across all ewes lowland and hill... long tails do slow u down a bit but the hill sheep are usually well ready as farmers aren't in as much as a hurry till get them clipped because they have alot less chance off going on there back... in the lowland
    sheep charrlois are the hardest till clip by far anyone else find this?

ya charollais not to nice and crosses tend to be lunatic.
    hampshire are quieter but wool everywhere.
    texels necks wont bend.and early in season tough to clip
    suffolks grand if not to big and arses clean
    mules lovely bare bellies.
    cheviot and belclares grand to shear
    hornies if not cotty are no bother

Lano Lynn wrote: »
    ya charollais not to nice and crosses tend to be lunatic.
    hampshire are quieter but wool everywhere.
    texels necks wont bend.and early in season tough to clip
    suffolks grand if not to big and arses clean
    mules lovely bare bellies.
    cheviot and belclares grand to shear
    hornies if not cotty are no bother

Had a welsh guy shearing here a few years ago...he used a lot of uncomplimentary language about our cheviots :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭adam14

Sorry was away from this. To clarify - It was 2.20 a ewe for the shearer. I filled the trailer, bagged the wool and had lambs taken away night before. It was 2 euro last year. Steep enough, but he comes on time and is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Have hoggets sheared about 5 weeks,would a spray of 'winter dip' with a knapsack do the trick for a few weeks to lessen the chances of flystrike and maggots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

adam14 wrote: »
    Sorry was away from this. To clarify - It was 2.20 a ewe for the shearer. I filled the trailer, bagged the wool and had lambs taken away night before. It was 2 euro last year. Steep enough, but he comes on time and is good.

My shearer is getting 2.50, gives a bit of discount if they nice and well minded.
    I recommended him to a neighbour so went to give a hand, he had the first sheep on the board at 6am and no. 224 done at 12.45 before dinner.....nice mornings earning......we were lucky he didn't bring someone to shear with him

Fair going nearly 35 an hour €560 earned before dinner!! He must be a competitive shearer.

No, just thick, He'd be always doing around thirty an hour here but he had to be finished by one,
    He sheared when he was in secondary school and then had his own furniture making business... only went back to shearing when the recession hit in 2008.
    He claims to be a greedy fecker though

That's good going,very maggoty type weather last few days with us,will
    my hoggets be safe enough with a good strong spray with Winter dip?....Aim to do it in the morning if its dry.

That's good going,very maggoty type weather last few days with us,will
    my hoggets be safe enough with a good strong spray with Winter dip?....Aim to do it in the morning if its dry.

They really need to be drownded with it to be effective, before the pourons I used to use dip at a weak dilution through the power washer at low revs/pressure and, as I say, drown them with it,

rangler1 wrote: »
    They really need to be drownded with it to be effective, before the pourons I used to use dip at a weak dilution through the power washer at low revs/pressure and, as I say, drown them with it,

Only have around 30 to do so not worth buying Clik for that number imo so that's why I'm going to Knapsack spray them....will put a strongish dilution on them and wet them well.

Yea, if you pour water on a dry sponge very little goes in to it, sheeps wool likewise, it's made to throw off water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭early_riser

Anyone with any done yet? Hope to start during the week here, do my own so do a few for a couple of evenings and finish them at the weekend weather permitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Westernrock

Anyone with any done yet? Hope to start during the week here, do my own so do a few for a couple of evenings and finish them at the weekend weather permitting.

Done the hoggets last weekend and finished the ewes this week, had planed to leave the ewes later but got a few on their backs. See a good few sheared around here already, think it's early for later planning flocks yet

Done the rams month ago.... ewes being done this week weather permitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Lambman wrote: »
    Done the rams month ago.... ewes being done this week weather permitting.

Anyone recommend some one in the Laois area. My usual lad has retired. Want to get the hoggets done now so they have the wool grown back nicely for the sales

sea12 wrote: »
    Anyone recommend some one in the Laois area. My usual lad has retired. Want to get the hoggets done now so they have the wool grown back nicely for the sales

https://www.facebook.com/Irish-Sheep-shearers-Association-466398153446422/?ref=br_rs

They might have someone near ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭DJ98

Will it pay farmers to shear this year or will it be like last year where the price of the wool doesn't even cover the cost of shearing?

DJ98 wrote: »
    Will it pay farmers to shear this year or will it be like last year where the price of the wool doesn't even cover the cost of shearing?

No, same price as last year

Got hoggetts clipped there this evening €2 a sheep for Cheviot,Suffolk and Mountain x sheep.Am keeping less breeding stock.
    Two clippers had 160 done in 3 hours.One lad was a bit rough,cut several quite badly.I let him know it!....would rather they took half an hour longer and leave sheep intact.
    Some lads think you are doing yourself s big favour getting them!

I bagged the wool and kept sheep ran up the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I still have last years wool in the shed and could end up stockpiling this years on top of it as well, as no sign of recovery in market. If this continues might have a look at the easycare breed again