Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin bus driver attacked

• Registered Users Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Fair play to that driver. To be fair, I don't know what I would have done in that situation. I'm not tough or big. I'm all for standing up for the little guy (passengers) and upholding the law, but am I willing to get a hiding for it? Probably not. The guy knew he was getting into a bad zone by confronting what looked to be a rough lad but did anyway. Shows he has principles. Probably had a bad headache after that but he had principles and he stuck to them.

If anything he deserves a bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

KD345 wrote: »
    No, I absolutely do not accept that. We have laws for reasons - you do not get to choose which laws need to be upheld. Smoking an illegal drug on a bus is illegal, smashing in the head of a bus driver is a crime.

And as it happens, I have been on buses and trams where Gardai have arrived in minutes.

You are making excuses for a scumbag attacking a man doing his job, driving a bus through Greystones and having he head viciously punched. I honestly hope you never experience being attacked at work.

Did I question that? No. I'm all in for law and order but sometimes it seems that in this country it's not always practical to enforce the law of the land in fullest mainly due to lax law enforcement by both Gardai and the courts .

No offence but if you take precautions you will be less likely to be attacked. That doesn't take from the fact that the people who commit are scumbags but at the end of the day none of us want to be attacked or seriously injured. If the bus driver took the correct precautions by putting the perspex screen up and waited for the Gardai I'm not saying he wouldn't be attacked be it would be less likely for him to end up with serious injuries which thankfully from what he did not suffer.

That doesn't take from the fact the culprit is still a scumbags and should be locked up.

The guy knew he was getting into a bad zone by confronting what looked to be a rough lad but did anyway. Shows he has principles. Probably had a bad headache after that but he had principles and he stuck to them.

I'd be of similar thinking to you, George.

I admire that the Driver was willing to be courageous enough to stand up for what he felt was right. Situation could have been a lot uglier, had scumbag been carrying a weapon, but I completely and totally admire the driver and would applaud his actions to the end of the earth for standing up for what he felt was right.

It's easy to sit down and comment after the fact, but in the situation it takes a lot of courage to face up to unknown situations like that. I hope this is acknowledged for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

That was a really nasty incident being experienced on the bus driver. I hope that he gets he makes a full recovery from his horrible ordeal. Nobody in this country should deserve to get assualted by feral scumbags while being at their workplace. And calling for a transport police unit here will be a great thing for this society in ending shocking incidents like this one and many others in future. The volunteers who helped the driver need to be commended for their bravery and great timing in putting this incident to an abrupt end. I hope the violent little filth ball who hit the bus driver gets the book thrown at him by our own justice system. A jail sentence equal to the offence committed for the crime will make me a very happy man.

A lot of people here are calling for a transport police unit however transport police forces around the world generally only patrol railways, airports and ports rather than any form of road transport which is usually left to regular non transport police. The BTP only patrol Britain's rail network if an incident happened on a London Bus for example it would be the Met that would deal with it rather than the BTP who patrol trains/trams in the UK.

Since has a relatively small railway network I think a dedicated transport police is not nessecary at this moment in time post DU/Metrolink perhaps but now no. What is needed is a larger number of Gardai who can be deployed with short response times of under 10 mins to any serious incident whether it be on a public transport or not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Wrong thread lol. Apologies.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭dirtynosebeps

i'm not going to quote posts as theres alot.
    first of all i hope the driver makes a good recovery.

under dublin bus by laws it's illegal to eat or drink anything.
    then as we all know it's illegal to smoke anything or use any form of e-cigarette.
    certain posters asking whats the harm of smoking drugs on a bus and a driver delaying it if it's brought to their attention.
    quite simply when someone smokes drugs on a bus the fumes/ vapour can affect everyone from passengers to the bus driver. so even if the driver didn't act then it's quite possible he could've been affected by the fumes/vapour or smell.
    next time you all get on the newer buses SG/VG types have a look around the entrance/luggage area ,there are nice stand out notices to the effect of " dublin bus staff and passengers have a right to travel safely and without fear of attack etc".
    also there are notices regarding anti-social behaviour again along the lines of " if you notice anti social behaviour please inform the driver or ring ........".
    so once something is brought to the attention of the driver he must act on it there and then.
    sadly in the case of the bus driver he is damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.
    he acted and people are complaining the bus was delayed.
    how many threads are made up here of " the driver didn't act or do anything" when something does happen.

again people calling for the drivers head because he left the safety of his cab. something was brought to his attention ,he probably went to investigate and as he's getting back into the cab he's confronted. happens alot. yes the screen is down and by the looks of it ,it was a scorcher of a day.
    the fact is a bus driver got a hiding and is probably still recovering from his awful ordeal so lets cut the driver a bit of slack here.
    when this is over he'll still have to answer to his bosses regarding the assault.

again people calling for the drivers head because he left the safety of his cab. something was brought to his attention ,he probably went to investigate and as he's getting back into the cab he's confronted. happens alot. yes the screen is down and by the looks of it ,it was a scorcher of a day.
    the fact is a bus driver got a hiding and is probably still recovering from his awful ordeal so lets cut the driver a bit of slack here.
    when this is over he'll still have to answer to his bosses regarding the assault.

I was under the impression that it was Dublin Bus company policy that drivers were not to leave the cab under any circumstances while the bus was in service unless it's unsafe to remain eg. in the event of a crash or fire. I will another example that's non anti-social behaviour related I remember hearing a story of a man who had a medical emergency on a bus when this happened the driver did not help the man and remained in the cab and called an ambulance the man later died and it was crictised if the driver had have been first aid trained and was allowed leave the cab the man would be still alive however the driver was only following company policy which it appears the driver in this assault did not.

I am not saying that the scumbag who attacked the driver was right he absolutely should be locked up for a very long time but to me it's a little similar to not putting your alarm on and then complaining when your house gets burgaled doesn't make the bulgulars right but still you could have prevented it and your insurance will not cover you. Likewise this driver will not be defended by Dublin Bus and it will likely not get any compensation from DB whereas he could be entitled to some if he followed company procedure.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,167 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Then the passengers were idiots too. If I was on a bus and some was smoking weed I would shut up and put up. At the end of the day I take the bus because I want to get home or get somewhere I don't have the time for the bus to be delayed because the person smoking weed kicks off and refuses to get off the bus.

Jesus your some clown. I don't know if you have young kids, but what if you were on the bus with your kids and this scumbag starts smoking weed. Are you still going to sit there and let your kids be exposed to the resultant smoke? Why should the scumbag be allowed do what he wants as everyone else puts up and shuts up as you say. If everyone had this ****en attitude the place would be lawless and overrun. Actually wait. Maybe that is the problem.
    In my opinion everyone able bodied on that bus should have intervened and bet the **** out of that scumbag. But I reckon that opinion sounds about as idiotic as your opinion of put up and shutup

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

tom1ie wrote: »
    In my opinion everyone able bodied on that bus should have intervened and bet the **** out of that scumbag. But I reckon that opinion sounds about as idiotic as your opinion of put up and shutup
    More idiotic.

Perhaps the driver could have called the guards and arranged to meet them at one of the stops unbeknownst to the person causing the problem who was apparently upstairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

More idiotic.

Perhaps the driver could have called the guards and arranged to meet them at one of the stops unbeknownst to the person causing the problem who was apparently upstairs.

Perhaps.

Do you know that the Driver did'nt do this ?

Did the scenario develop in perhaps,less than controlled circumstances ?

Rule Books,recommendations and best practice responses work best in controlled and monitored circumstances,of which there can be examples every day of this working.

However,in the case of this thread,some posters appear to have made their mind up before a single punch was thrown.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭john boye

AlekSmart wrote: »

However,in the case of this thread,some posters appear to have made their mind up before a single punch was thrown.

Welcome to the internet my friend!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

More idiotic.

You would say the same thing if the driver let him continue and start hitting on a woman or man as passengers.

Your damned if you and if ya don't.

I've been in these situations and waiting for the Gardai isn't always an option.

You would say the same thing if the driver let him continue and start hitting on a woman or man as passengers.

Your damned if you and if ya don't.

I've been in these situations and waiting for the Gardai isn't always an option.

Well the other option is to let it happen and keep your job and not be assaulted. I don't work for DB so I am not familiar with their company policies exactly but from what I would imagine correct if I'm wrong is that if the driver remains in his/her the driver will not get in any trouble.

I would seem to me if the driver remains in the cab he/she is doing the right in the companies eyes but perhaps the wrong thing in the passengers. At the end of the day when the driver remains in most situations the driver keeps their job and goes home to their family. That is what if I was in the job I would see as the most important thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 910 ✭✭✭XPS_Zero

I'm amazed at how 'quickly' passengers came to the drivers aid?

What did they think? It wasn't for real?

noodler wrote: »
    Lad in the pink shirt (seems to be a passerby rather than a passenger) is to be seriously commended for intervening.

Not one passenger helps it seems.

Hope the scumbag gets what's coming to him.

Allow my social science degree to be useful to you transport and engineering folk:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bystander_effect

The bystander effect, or bystander apathy, is a social psychological phenomenon in which individuals are less likely to offer help to a victim when other people are present. The greater the number of bystanders, the less likely it is that any one of them will help

ED E wrote: »
    John Dunne of 27 McSilly Gardens has 187 prior convictions for....

Yeah, not holding my breath there.

We BADLY need a 'habitual offender law' / "three strikes law" in Ireland. Our justice system is a total and utter farce. Suspended sentences (which are meant to be nearly as rare as a Presidential pardon) are handed out willy nilly even for violent crimes, we do 'automatic remission' where you AUTOMATICALLY without having to do anything, get 25% off your sentence, then we have really easy parole laws...but god forbid you don't pay the subscription to RTE that will get you a spell in jail.

The rule should be three violent offenses* and you get 25-life mandatory. If you are going above that you are NOT someone who just got in with the wrong crowd and made some mistakes, you are going to keep clocking up arrests, by all means do all the rehab you like between strikes but if they p1ss away their two chances throw away the key. These laws should never have been extended in the US to non violent crimes but they work, the crime rate in the US has been dropping consistently since they were introduced, it's about the only policy area where I'd copy the united states. We can go all Scandinavian until the 3rd strike do all the rehab so our conscience is clear then that's it - enough.

As for juveniles the principle should be "if you can do the cirme you can serve punishment for it", don't wanna send them to prison, fine, don't count an under 18 for the 3 strikes (except rape or murder) have a junior strike system, you get one chance, then on your second you get shipped off to a boot camp and taught some manners until you are 21.

We need to get serious, there are entire generations of vermin replicating and repeating generation after generation living like leeches off the rest of society who work and play by the rules and pay their fair way, giving bad names to their areas, wrecking their own neighborhoods, attacking and robbing people without consequences, and they get paid for it by the very society they offend against, and why would they know any different? mammy got her money from the post office not her boss cos she never had a boss. welfare reform of lifers (started by Seamus Brennan and completed by Burton much as I can't stand her or that stupid Jobsbridge program I give her credit for this) has started with the new 2 year rule where they just assign you a PT public sector job with jobseekers if you don't find your own stuff after two years, time to tackle the other side of the coin and get some decent crime reform.

*the big criticism of the 3 strikes law in the US is it packs prison with non violent drug offenders so limit it to violent crimes and use alternative punishments for non violent crimes.

Tabnabs wrote: »
    A P.E. teacher from a top Dublin private school apparently, and not unknown in the world of MMA if the rumour is true.

Not to be pedantic but I think there is only one private school in Ireland, what are commonly called "private" are actually fee paying. All schools get govt funding in Ireland just some also get it for tuition and some dont'

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

XPS_Zero wrote:
    *the big criticism of the 3 strikes law in the US is it packs prison with non violent drug offenders so limit it to violent crimes and use alternative punishments for non violent crimes.

Hard to argue with that.

They put people in jail in california under the 3 strikes law for having drugs for personal use on them - that's insane, I'd decriminalize all drug use (I'd go further than that actually but start there) and pardon anyone convicted of just possession.

People seem to think you either go psyco fascist or total pushover, I don't see any problem with going psyco fascist on the violent criminals and using all sorts of lovely Scandinavian restorative justice concepts for the other types of crime (ie you rob someones car and burn it out after a joyride your punishment is to pay the original purchase cost of the car back even though they got their insurance pay out, through seized income, welfare, goods, whatever or you work it off for the person in question with a geo-tag on your ankle).

I think Bertie Ahern gets a lot of undeserved crap, and as a supporter of his party I am probably predisposed to like him, though I think he cut taxes way too much leaving us very vulnerable fiscally to that crash (though he did it with the rest of the Dail complaining he wasn't reckless enough) but an interview still sticks in my mind and it made me want to reach through the radio and strangle him. After a murder where someone walked out on parole after 7 years I think it was, the journalist asked him did he think life imprisonment should mean life (ie no parole) and he said wistfully 'yes it would be better if it did'....NO FOLLOW UP QUESTION! No "so why not make that happen?". All I could think was 'gee Bertie if only you were in some position of executive power that also allowed you to be a member of parliament, you might be able to in a position to change the law like that...maybe someday..

Our system is crazy, Larry Murphy, a guy the specialist missing persons unit is/was convinced is a serial killer responsible for at least 6 murders, was caught one night by two hunters with a naked woman in his trunk in the woods with a bag over her head about to murder her and by luck guys in a jeep with scoped rifles turned up. He got 15 years...then Judge Carney (thnkfully retired) starts lashing suspensions off each charge and before you know it he's doing a walk in the park for attempted murder and rape, when the law allowed a life sentence for both...he was LITERALLY CAUGHT RED HANDED SECONDS from murdering someone, the cops missing person unit told the judge (jury not allowed to hear this part, this is at sentencing) that he's a suspected serial killer....and he decides to give him a slap on the wrist and release him back into the community in no time. Now think about that people - if that's how the courts deal with a f
    g serial killer, is it any wonder vermin like this ^ clock up 100+ convictions and develop no fear of the justice system?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭worded

I can’t watch this video

Bit can someone find him a set up a go fund me account if he is injured?

It’s very commendable that he was giving his all for the public. Fair fcuks

Is throw in a tenner ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 168 ✭✭dublinbuster

Heard the driver was not the only one punched, word is the scum bag punched a passenger upstairs as well

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭dirtynosebeps

I was under the impression that it was Dublin Bus company policy that drivers were not to leave the cab under any circumstances while the bus was in service unless it's unsafe to remain eg. in the event of a crash or fire.
    there are plenty of times when a bus driver leaves his cab to deal with situations, other than those you've mentioned.
    i've seen drivers over my many years of using dublin bus

leave their cab to speak to passengers discreetly ,an example is when asking someone to fold their buggy if a wheelchair is trying to get on.

we've all been is this situation where a bus drives past us. bus full downstairs and basically empty upstairs or bags and coats taking up valuable passenger seats. yet there are some drivers who care about their passengers and leave their cabs to check the seats upstairs.

driver leaves his cab to open wheelchair ramp if it's stuck.

i found this article.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/good-bus-driver-and-a-cyclist-on-dublins-quays-1539826-Jun2014/

i dont see any complaints about dublin bus policy when drivers go out of their way to help people.
    it's not for us to judge what policies any driver breaks.

there are plenty of times when a bus driver leaves his cab to deal with situations, other than those you've mentioned.
    i've seen drivers over my many years of using dublin bus

leave their cab to speak to passengers discreetly ,an example is when asking someone to fold their buggy if a wheelchair is trying to get on.

we've all been is this situation where a bus drives past us. bus full downstairs and basically empty upstairs or bags and coats taking up valuable passenger seats. yet there are some drivers who care about their passengers and leave their cabs to check the seats upstairs.

driver leaves his cab to open wheelchair ramp if it's stuck.

i found this article.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/good-bus-driver-and-a-cyclist-on-dublins-quays-1539826-Jun2014/

i dont see any complaints about dublin bus policy when drivers go out of their way to help people.
    it's not for us to judge what policies any driver breaks.

Some may do but they're not meant to. If they do they are doing so at their own risk and if they get attacked it's considered their fault and they will not be entitled to any compo if they are attacked.

The drivers that do leave their cab to assist passengers are going beyond their call of duty and they are doing so on their own dicreation. lso there is no needs for a driver to leave their cab to check seats upstairs when they have a camera showing the upstairs of the bus in the cab.

A driver would not get into trouble unless there is an incident.

Deedsie wrote: »
    How many more times do you intend to make this point?

It's not getting through to certain people

This is true.

You have made a point of repeatedly advising the thread of your understanding of Bus Atha Cliath policies,and your opinions on what this individual driver did.

Your opinions are noted,and valued,but it does not necessarily follow that they are correct in every case.
    I would suggest that constantly revisiting the mantra is grossly unfair to this particular Driver,in this particular case.

It is beginning to appear somewhat of a fixation.

No set of rules,regulations or guidelines can ever hope to cover all eventualities,even more so in a mobile and very fluid environment such as Public Transport.

Please confirm that you understand,as my colleagues do, that always keeping the assault screen up is a recommendation,which can and does,enhance the protection of Drivers.

There will always be situations where the recommended actions,will not be advisable or sufficient to deal with the specific occurence at the time.

You are not in a position to deliver judgement upon a Busdriver in these siutations,which I hope is not your intention.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

XPS_Zero wrote: »
    We BADLY need a 'habitual offender law' / "three strikes law" in Ireland. Our justice system is a total and utter farce. Suspended sentences (which are meant to be nearly as rare as a Presidential pardon) are handed out willy nilly even for violent crimes, we do 'automatic remission' where you AUTOMATICALLY without having to do anything, get 25% off your sentence, then we have really easy parole laws...but god forbid you don't pay the subscription to RTE that will get you a spell in jail.

The rule should be three violent offenses* and you get 25-life mandatory. If you are going above that you are NOT someone who just got in with the wrong crowd and made some mistakes, you are going to keep clocking up arrests, by all means do all the rehab you like between strikes but if they p1ss away their two chances throw away the key. These laws should never have been extended in the US to non violent crimes but they work, the crime rate in the US has been dropping consistently since they were introduced, it's about the only policy area where I'd copy the united states. We can go all Scandinavian until the 3rd strike do all the rehab so our conscience is clear then that's it - enough.

As for juveniles the principle should be "if you can do the cirme you can serve punishment for it", don't wanna send them to prison, fine, don't count an under 18 for the 3 strikes (except rape or murder) have a junior strike system, you get one chance, then on your second you get shipped off to a boot camp and taught some manners until you are 21.

We need to get serious, there are entire generations of vermin replicating and repeating generation after generation living like leeches off the rest of society who work and play by the rules and pay their fair way, giving bad names to their areas, wrecking their own neighborhoods, attacking and robbing people without consequences, and they get paid for it by the very society they offend against, and why would they know any different? mammy got her money from the post office not her boss cos she never had a boss. welfare reform of lifers (started by Seamus Brennan and completed by Burton much as I can't stand her or that stupid Jobsbridge program I give her credit for this) has started with the new 2 year rule where they just assign you a PT public sector job with jobseekers if you don't find your own stuff after two years, time to tackle the other side of the coin and get some decent crime reform.

Not to be pedantic but I think there is only one private school in Ireland, what are commonly called "private" are actually fee paying. All schools get govt funding in Ireland just some also get it for tuition and some dont'

Excellent post.

With Assault Screens now apparently a hot topic on this forum,I would suggest that the very presence of the Assault Screen sends a message that we are fearful,and dependent upon a sheet of perspex for our protection.

I would very much prefer that any potential attacker would be fully aware that ANY attack upon a Public Transport Worker,during their working day,would automatically attract a significantly harsher sentence.

However,as this particular judgement earlier in the week proves,most of our Judiciary remain fearful of breaking ranks and actually standing up for the Ordinary People......

http://connachttribune.ie/mugger-jailed-for-pizza-knife-attack-on-couple-at-spanish-arch-009/
    He took out a pizza knife which had a curved four-inch blade and demanded the girl hand over her handbag and that both of them hand over their phones and all of their cash.

The couple refused and a struggle ensued, during which McDonagh sliced across the man’s neck, inflicting a deep 13 cm laceration from just below his left earlobe to the middle of his neck at the front.

The young woman went to the man’s aid and McDonagh sliced the knife downwards through her left ear from the top, right down to the lobe.

He then sliced the knife again across the left-hand side of her neck.

She fell to the ground, bleeding heavily.

This individual has 90 previous convictions,and was out on bail,when he attacked this couple.

He will serve substantially less than 6 years.

This guy would well end up sitting beside YOU or your family & friends next time.

3 Strikes is a very sensible methodology for the Irish Criminal Justice system to embrace.

AlekSmart wrote: »
    This is true.

You have made a point of repeatedly advising the thread of your understanding of Bus Atha Cliath policies,and your opinions on what this individual driver did.

Your opinions are noted,and valued,but it does not necessarily follow that they are correct in every case.
    I would suggest that constantly revisiting the mantra is grossly unfair to this particular Driver,in this particular case.

It is beginning to appear somewhat of a fixation.

No set of rules,regulations or guidelines can ever hope to cover all eventualities,even more so in a mobile and very fluid environment such as Public Transport.

Please confirm that you understand,as my colleagues do, that always keeping the assault screen up is a recommendation,which can and does,enhance the protection of Drivers.

There will always be situations where the recommended actions,will not be advisable or sufficient to deal with the specific occurence at the time.

You are not in a position to deliver judgement upon a Busdriver in these siutations,which I hope is not your intention.

I get that things can change very quickly but I was under the assumption that the perpetrator was caught smoking weed at the back of the bus as a number of posters seemed to suggest earlier in the thread. Perhaps I was a little rash in my judgement.

I'm certain drivers may think differently but I always thought that the security screens looked fairly hard for someone to potentially assault a driver. There may be a way but I can't see how its easy it is for someone to say punch a driver with the security screen up.

https://youtu.be/YZyzWF4OZiA

A common sense approach to me would be for a driver would be avoid getting assaulted and put their own safety ahead of the safety of passengers in this type of situation. If I saw a confrontation that did not involve me I would ring the Guards but would not get involved physically or verbally barring self defence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 168 ✭✭dublinbuster

A common sense approach to me would be for a driver would be avoid getting assaulted and put their own safety ahead of the safety of passengers in this type of situation. If I saw a confrontation that did not involve me I would ring the Guards but would not get involved physically or verbally barring self defence.

Jimmy Savile on the bus assaulting a young child, what would you do?

But what if Jimmy Savile has a knife or a gun or is violent and ready to attack you and you have no experience of self defence or fighting or you are 5'7 small and light and Jimmy Savile is 6'4 and heavy.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

There is a guy who I will no longer carry as he will get up and sit beside school girls and stare at them while making weird sounds.

No way I will tolerate that.

Oh and the smell of piss etc is another reason.